National rail strikes planned by RMT

IronJambo

ArcticJambo
7 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

They probably can't get on a train without a ticket in many cases. Or even find the train they want to get on.

Must admit I'm sure it's a bit more tricky for some than my usual Brunstane to Nitten trips but I'm sure they'll iron out the creases and make it simple for those less technologically-inclined. As mentioned previously, it's the way things are heading.

• Replies 1.9k

• IronJambo

• ri Alban

• Ked

• The Real Maroonblood

3 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

Must admit I'm sure it's a bit more tricky for some than my usual Brunstane to Nitten trips but I'm sure they'll iron out the creases and make it simple for those less technologically-inclined. As mentioned previously, it's the way things are heading.

It is, but should it be? 

I really hope they close the ticket office in Barrow in Furness because my in-laws would never be on a train again

ArcticJambo
1 minute ago, IronJambo said:

It is, but should it be? 

I really hope they close the ticket office in Barrow in Furness because my in-laws would never be on a train again

That's the spirit! :lol:

17 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

No they're not facts. You believe them as that if you want. Say hi to Peter Pan for me.

So the BBC are lying along with the ONS to help the Tories.

Despite your own union agreeing with the figures but claiming a 500 pounds discrepancy?

The person you say earns 22 grand are they part time?

11 minutes ago, Ked said:

So the BBC are lying along with the ONS to help the Tories.

Despite your own union agreeing with the figures but claiming a 500 pounds discrepancy?

The person you say earns 22 grand are they part time?

That's a full time salary. Maybe a grand more but nothing like £33k.

Edit: and my line manager earns £42k. 

Edited by IronJambo

A gate line assistant - £26k'ish

A dispatcher - £26k'ish

A customer host/trolley dolly £32k'ish

To try and make the public believe your average rail worker is making £44k is nonsense.

Just now, IronJambo said:

A gate line assistant - £26k'ish

A dispatcher - £26k'ish

A customer host/trolley dolly £32k'ish

To try and make the public believe your average rail worker is making £44k is nonsense.

It's median pay .

If you read the article I posted the BBC fact check takes the drivers pay out.

The RMT uses cleaners pay to drive this median pay down to 33 k.

The truth is in between.

A median pay of 37k.

8k more than the median pay in the UK.

I'm all for people being paid fairly.

Right now the average pay in the railway sector is fairly paid.

And that's before their generous pensions ,sick pay entitlement and above average holiday entitlement.

It's an absolute disgrace their strike which they are entitled to do.

But some of the rubbish now being spouted about tea and sandwiches .

Meanwhile no one who supports the strike can tell me where the billions would come from to finance it.

Because it isn't from any profits.

So either a tax hike or cutting expenditure from somewhere else.

And it's several billion.

1 minute ago, Ked said:

It's median pay .

The truth is in between.

A median pay of 37k.

And that's before their generous pensions ,sick pay entitlement and above average holiday entitlement.

Meanwhile no one who supports the strike can tell me where the billions would come from to finance it.

You're obsessed with what we get paid but actually got no idea. Sat on your high horse whilst earning enough to pay 40% tax which you cry about. 

The companies that run the trains are making profit. I work for first group, not the government. First group are making profit, they literally just announced their profits. 

You're obsessed with the government having put £16b into the railways. 

Here's perspective, the government spent £70b in furlough to keep every other industry going. You're not crying because people in other sectors have had pay rises are you?  You were probably paid on furlough and have had a rise yourself since. 

36 days holidays plus depending on length of service

Full sick pay for 12 weeks under 5 years

Final salary pensions

Above average pay.

Let's not pretend this strike is reasonable

3 minutes ago, Ked said:

It's median pay .

The truth is in between.

A median pay of 37k.

Not disagreeing with you but there is always money for war, planes to deport asylum seekers and fraudulent contracts for private companies. Then we can start on tax avoidance for big business, Sweeteners for donators and friends then aid for countries with space programmes. But the working man can do one because there is no money. It stinks. As for most public bodies, they are drowning with inep, corrupt, incompetent management and advisors, mainly put in place through nepotism and cronyism. ****ing country stinks from top to middle, everyone else can suck on one. Joke.

Just now, IronJambo said:

You're obsessed with what we get paid but actually got no idea. Sat on your high horse whilst earning enough to pay 40% tax which you cry about. 

The companies that run the trains are making profit. I work for first group, not the government. First group are making profit, they literally just announced their profits. 

You're obsessed with the government having put £16b into the railways. 

Here's perspective, the government spent £70b in furlough to keep every other industry going. You're not crying because people in other sectors have had pay rises are you?  You were probably paid on furlough and have had a rise yourself since. 

They made half a billion profit.

Of which 150 million was paid to shareholders.

The taxpayer rolled out 16 billion pounds last year.

Paid your wage with no job losses.

Aye yer fekin right I'm greeting about 40% .

600 pound of that went towards propping up the railways .

While you get a final salary pension full sick pay and 36 plus paid holidays .

Your strike is as selfish as it gets.

2 minutes ago, tightrope said:

Not disagreeing with you but there is always money for war, planes to deport asylum seekers and fraudulent contracts for private companies. Then we can start on tax avoidance for big business, Sweeteners for donators and friends then aid for countries with space programmes. But the working man can do one because there is no money. It stinks. As for most public bodies, they are drowning with inep, corrupt, incompetent management and advisors, mainly put in place through nepotism and cronyism. ****ing country stinks from top to middle, everyone else can suck on one. Joke.

All of that's true.

But even if we didn't have this lot governing us the fact remains that the railway workers are in no way under paid or have poor working conditions.

And the real world unfortunately runs on a budget.

Just now, Ked said:

They made half a billion profit.

Of which 150 million was paid to shareholders.

The taxpayer rolled out 16 billion pounds last year.

Paid your wage with no job losses.

Aye yer fekin right I'm greeting about 40% .

600 pound of that went towards propping up the railways .

While you get a final salary pension full sick pay and 36 plus paid holidays .

Your strike is as selfish as it gets.

I get no public holidays. 32 days after that. That's basically what, 22 days?

And your 40%, you should be clever enough to realise when you move there from 20% that you're national insurance payments drop down 10% so you only actually pay an extra 10%. Dry your eyes.

My railway pension isn't final salary.

£70b paid in furlough to keep you in a job, how much of your last rise are you using to pay it back?

That's what fekin annoys me about socialists .

Tell me I'm greeting about wanting to keep my money whilst they greet about wanting more of my money .

Just invent another day of the week I can work to subsidise that lot.

Pfffft

I get no public holidays. 32 days after that. That's basically what, 22 days?

And your 40%, you should be clever enough to realise when you move there from 20% that you're national insurance payments drop down 10% so you only actually pay an extra 10%. Dry your eyes.

My railway pension isn't final salary.

£70b paid in furlough to keep you in a job, how much of your last rise are you using to pay it back?

I worked apart from two weeks through the pandemic.

The company I work for scraped through the last 2 years.

You must be the only railway worker who doesn't get what your rabble of a union says you do.

It says 

28 days plus 8 public holidays.

Which you can sell.

It says you get a final salary pension

It says you get 12 weeks sick pay rising to 6 months.

All good well done.

Just dont expect any support from me as your communist leaders bite the hand that feeds them.

7 minutes ago, Ked said:

I worked apart from two weeks through the pandemic.

The company I work for scraped through the last 2 years.

You must be the only railway worker who doesn't get what your rabble of a union says you do.

It says 

28 days plus 8 public holidays.

Which you can sell.

It says you get a final salary pension

It says you get 12 weeks sick pay rising to 6 months.

All good well done.

Just dont expect any support from me as your communist leaders bite the hand that feeds them.

My pension is average salary as they ****ed us over with it a few years ago.

As stated before, I get 32 days and no public holidays. Some of my colleagues in the same job get 34 days (but not many of them as most of them with that have retired). 

I get 6 months full sick pay and 6 months half pay. That amounts to ¾ for the year. I've been grateful for it once when I needed it in the ten years I've been there. 

Terms are different from TOC to TOC and there can be differences within the same TOC also due to networks having merged together in the past. 

Maybe you should give up part of your salary to help your company, I can't imagine you sleep well at night whilst taking home so much money from them. Maybe whatever you give you you could split 50/50 with the government and your employer.

My pension is average salary as they ****ed us over with it a few years ago.

As stated before, I get 32 days and no public holidays. Some of my colleagues in the same job get 34 days (but not many of them as most of them with that have retired). 

I get 6 months full sick pay and 6 months half pay. That amounts to ¾ for the year. I've been grateful for it once when I needed it in the ten years I've been there. 

Terms are different from TOC to TOC and there can be differences within the same TOC also due to networks having merged together in the past. 

Maybe you should give up part of your salary to help your company, I can't imagine you sleep well at night whilst taking home so much money from them. Maybe whatever you give you you could split 50/50 with the government and your employer.

Maybe I could just pay 20% of my money.

Maybe I wouldn't have to pay as much tax if your industry dragged itself into the 21st century.

Every penny I got was worked for I doubt going by what I've seen much of your union members have ever broke sweat.

Bottom line I am not begging for your hard earned just would like to keep the majority of mine.

Somebody contact Bob geldof .

Those poor railway workers.

Some lassie passing oot tickets should get paid more than a teacher or nurse.

RMT cannae be short of a bob or two.

Giving its members a couple of hundred quid to continue strike action.

Those Russian gas fields must come in handy.

8 minutes ago, Ked said:

Maybe I could just pay 20% of my money.

Maybe I wouldn't have to pay as much tax if your industry dragged itself into the 21st century.

Every penny I got was worked for I doubt going by what I've seen much of your union members have ever broke sweat.

Bottom line I am not begging for your hard earned just would like to keep the majority of mine.

You only lose ten percent more than those that aren't fortunate enough to earn as much do.

I've got colleagues that were victims in the Ladbroke Grove crash. I've got colleagues that suffered injuries in the more recent crash in Plymouth.

I've got several colleagues that have dealt with fires onboard their trains. One, safely decanting 13 or so people off his burning train at around 2am and getting them to a safe place away from the railway (McDonald's in this case, where he bought them drinks). 

Not a sweat broken eh.

Edited by IronJambo

5 minutes ago, Ked said:

Somebody contact Bob geldof .

Those poor railway workers.

Some lassie passing oot tickets should get paid more than a teacher or nurse.

But you should?

9 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Good luck with your industrial action.

Cheers bud. I fear it's going to be a long haul. 

I thought the Tories wanted a high wage economy and to stop workers being exploited. They announced that to sell brexit. Yet at the first opportunity they back the employer without even taking  any part in negotiations.

Edited by Riccarton3

Just now, Riccarton3 said:

I thought the Tories wanted a high wage economy and to stop workers being exploited. They announced that to sell brexit. Yet at the first opportunity they back the employer without even taking  any part in negotiations.

Technically it's the second opportunity. 

They stood back and watched the P&O staff get it dry because Spaffer's Saudi donors own the group. 

10 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Technically it's the second opportunity. 

They stood back and watched the P&O staff get it dry because Spaffer's Saudi donors own the group. 

Easy for me to forget the short burst of outrage from Shapps over P&O as much a reaction by him being asleep at the wheel (across any number of sectors, in reality) rather than any genuine concern for P&O workers. That's planes, trains and ferries so far. 

Edited by Riccarton3

16 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Did boris no stand up just a couple of months back demanding he wanted high wages for the workers?
First sign of people asking for a rise and he’s not willing to negotiate as you say 

Edited by theshed

8 minutes ago, theshed said:

Did boris no stand up just a couple of months back demanding he wanted high wages for the workers?
First sign of people asking for a rise and he’s not willing to negotiate as you say 

Yes, the lack of euro bureaucracy was going to suddenly encourage companies to pay workers more rather than look to the profit margin and greed; a sort of benevolent capitalism. Exploitation was over cos we would get rid of those that were being  exploited cos there will be no exploitation without THEM. One for the Brexiteers.

Edited by Riccarton3

Strikers have every right to withdraw their labour. When customers stop using trains because they make alternative travel arrangements, and train usage plummets, then those who run trains have every right to reduce workforce.

With reduced workforce, tax payer won't have to subsidise railways as much and the money saved can go to health service who would be grateful in sure of extra cash.

Meanwhile, those specialised workers who aren't required on railways are welcome to try and get job in private sector. I'm sure they'll thank their union bosses for that.

north wales jambo

Calling railway workers wrong for voting for industrial action, is unbelievably out of order.. Why shouldn’t they have the democratic right to voice their opinion.. 

Some of you lot seem to think it’s ok to moan about cost of living but moan when a group of individuals try and do something about it for themselves and families.. 

Im sure for a lot of workers it was not an easy decision. 

All of you what go on the t&c’s, what’s that got to do about it, as far as I was aware there was no threshold for what someone can earn or benefit from, that rules them out of industrial action. 

10 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Strikers have every right to withdraw their labour. When customers stop using trains because they make alternative travel arrangements, and train usage plummets, then those who run trains have every right to reduce workforce.

With reduced workforce, tax payer won't have to subsidise railways as much and the money saved can go to health service who would be grateful in sure of extra cash.

Meanwhile, those specialised workers who aren't required on railways are welcome to try and get job in private sector. I'm sure they'll thank their union bosses for that.

2% pay increase with another 1% based on accepting job losses with inflation at 10% and rising? It's  also irrelevant to discuss current wages across the sector. Workers have a living standard based on their wages against the cost of living. Cost of living goes up, demands go up to maintain living standards. It's natural. Government has the option to tax more collectively so we all contribute to the healing, not **** people over through division.

Edited by Riccarton3

5 minutes ago, north wales jambo said:

Calling railway workers wrong for voting for industrial action, is unbelievably out of order.. Why shouldn’t they have the democratic right to voice their opinion.. 

Some of you lot seem to think it’s ok to moan about cost of living but moan when a group of individuals try and do something about it for themselves and families.. 

Im sure for a lot of workers it was not an easy decision. 

All of you what go on the t&c’s, what’s that got to do about it, as far as I was aware there was no threshold for what someone can earn or benefit from, that rules them out of industrial action. 

Fully agree. Striking is their right. Losing job when train usage by customers falls is the inevitable outcome, but then again, they won't have to look far from mirror when looking for someone to blame. 

1 minute ago, Riccarton3 said:

2% pay increase with another 1% based on accepting job losses with inflation at 10%? It's even it or relevant discuss current wages across the sector. Workers have a living standard based on their wages against the cost of living. Cost of living goes up, demands go up. Government has the option to tax more collectively so we all contribute to the healing, not **** people over through division.

So we tax everyone more to pay for workers on a service that is seeing its use decline. Well, that's one opinion.

The other is to reduce workforce as they aren't all required anymore.

Another is to reduce benefits, cut aid to external countries and charge for health services. That won't be popular.

We could also start charging companies that are successful more tax. Good luck retaining jobs when they all **** off elsewhere.

We could scrap green initiatives as time not right for them, but then green party will squeal about that as they are all for the future and not for the now.

7 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

So we tax everyone more to pay for workers on a service that is seeing its use decline. Well, that's one opinion.

The other is to reduce workforce as they aren't all required anymore.

Another is to reduce benefits, cut aid to external countries and charge for health services. That won't be popular.

We could also start charging companies that are successful more tax. Good luck retaining jobs when they all **** off elsewhere.

We could scrap green initiatives as time not right for them, but then green party will squeal about that as they are all for the future and not for the now.

Do you know what the pay demands of the Union is? I don't. Does the offer look shit? There seems to be disagreement even in the extent of negotiations taking place. Actual blame re engaging in negotiations never mind actually getting to an agreement. We have a govt which has told us which side they are on without being willing to intervene or hear arguments

Edited by Riccarton3

They should go on strike for a week just to piss off the muppets on this thread .

3 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Do you know what the pay demands of the Union is? I don't. Does the offer look shit? There seems to be disagreement even in the extent of negotiations taking place. Actual blame re engaging in negotiations never mind actually getting to an agreement. We have a govt which has told us which side they are on without being willing to intervene or hear arguments

You're never going to know. Union days it had to act, railways say they jumped gun. 

What is fact is new railway organisation being formed and strike timed to get in before it's set up. Poor management and a union spotting an opportunity is taking us to this position.

Neither side wants to cave in or show weakness. 

How will it end in short term, with bitterness and recriminations most likely.

How will it end in long term, most likely with a reduction in train services and job losses.

They can't be subsidised forever.

1 minute ago, Jeffros Furios said:

They should go on strike for a week just to piss off the muppets on this thread .

They can strike for weeks if they want. As long as they know they are risking their long term jobs, it is their right.

12 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

You're never going to know. Union days it had to act, railways say they jumped gun. 

What is fact is new railway organisation being formed and strike timed to get in before it's set up. Poor management and a union spotting an opportunity is taking us to this position.

How will it end in long term, most likely with a reduction in train services and job losses.

What does jumped the gun mean, that the employer was looking to improve the offer? If so, there's nothing  stopping them.

BANKS were bailed out to the tune of billions, allowed to grow so large and influential. Where there's a political will, money and resources are found. Every ducking time. You must see that?

Edited by Riccarton3

There were crunch talks on the 16th. RMT weren't invited but were represented. The instruction was not to enter pay discussions until assurances were made over jobs and conditions. Nothing constructive was put forward and they didn't even reach pay talks. The 3 unions present left the talks with the decision to ballot their members for industrial action. 

8 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

The government isn't taking over any franchises though. They're just rehashing what already exists. First Group were only just handed yet another management contract for GWR a few days ago. https://www.railway-technology.com/news/dft-national-rail-contract-gwr-2025/

8 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

What does jumped the gun mean, that the employer was looking to improve the offer? If so, there's nothing  stopping them.

BANKS were bailed out to the tune of billions, allowed to grow so large and influential. Where there's a political will, money and resources are found. Every ducking time. You must see that?

You do realise that if government, and it was a Labour government, had not bailed out banks, then pension funds would have collapsed and workers would have lost everything. People who had saved for years would have lost everything. Tens of thousands of people would have lost jobs. 

You do realise the banks paid it back.

Thousands of jobs were cut in UK banks during the crisis. It was the normal folk in branches and behind the scenes that lost them. Did they deserve it? 

We have bailed out railways for years, only it's called subsidies. Not much difference but that one word, 'subsidised' instead of 'bailed' seems to make everything okay 

If you have issue with investment banks, that's a different issue.

The industry wants to talk now. Were they waiting to see if Industrial action was an empty threat? If they'd only said this a bit earlier , there could have been no jumping the gun. 

29 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

More likely they will piss off the few customers they have left.

Although the reason you give is about as justifiable as the reasons they are striking for.

3 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

You do realise that if government, and it was a Labour government, had not bailed out banks, then pension funds would have collapsed and workers would have lost everything. People who had saved for years would have lost everything. Tens of thousands of people would have lost jobs. 

Thousands of jobs were cut in UK banks during the crisis. It was the normal folk in branches and behind the scenes that lost them. Did they deserve it? 

We have bailed out railways for years, only it's called subsidies. Not much difference but that one word, 'subsidised' instead of 'bailed' seems to make everything okay 

The railways are subsidised because despite their privatisation, the government still has some responsibility towards them. A private company wouldn't run trains on a branch line where staff are abused and nobody pays a fare unless it was subsided. The government is meant to make sure these lines are served to avoid the places in it from falling into further depravation. Have a look at Thamesmead. Utter shithole. A complete failing because they failed to put it on a tube line as promised. It'll improve in time now that it finally has a train station. 

Not everything the government does should need to make money. Destroying public services is a tory specialty and there's an alarming amount of support for them in this forum. 

3 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

The industry wants to talk now. Were they waiting to see if Industrial action was an empty threat? If they'd only said this a bit earlier , there could have been no jumping the gun. 

I was supposed to be travelling down South this week to meet up with work colleagues. In all, about 40 or 50 of us were travelling by rail from all over country.

Now we are using minibuses and some by air. That's lost revenue and now we know we can travel together by coach, that's us saying bye to rail travel.

The same will be happening all over country.

Neither rail workers or rail management will win.

5 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

It's all political will or blatant necessity. And there will always be individuals and entities benefiting from other peoples misery in One Nation Britain. An absolute abomination. Reminds me of the cynicism of Arbeit Macht Frei. 

Subsidised? It's been run doon, neglected and impoverished at a time now it should be a highlight of the transport sector. 

Remember the policy to get homeless off the streets in years turned into weeks! during Covid. Political will.

8 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

It's all political will or blatant necessity. And there will always be individuals and entities benefiting from other peoples misery in One Nation Britain. An absolute abomination. Reminds me of the cynicism of Arbeit Macht Frei. 

Subsidised? It's been run doon, neglected and impoverished at a time now it should be a highlight of the transport sector. 

Remember the policy to get homeless off the streets in years turned into weeks! during Covid. Political will.

I'll bow out there. Comparisons between UK and Nazi Germany with its concentration camps is a hell of a jump, even for here.

Have a good night.

11 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

I was supposed to be travelling down South this week to meet up with work colleagues. In all, about 40 or 50 of us were travelling by rail from all over country.

Now we are using minibuses and some by air. That's lost revenue and now we know we can travel together by coach, that's us saying bye to rail travel.

The same will be happening all over country.

Neither rail workers or rail management will win.

I think you always knew you could travel by coach

Just now, Riccarton3 said:

I think you always knew you could travel by coach

Not going to reply anymore after the comparison above.

Don't normally use ignore function but debating with someone paraphrasing Nazi slogans isn't for me.