National rail strikes planned by RMT

IronJambo

Just now, Ked said:

As greedy as they are that won't cover the new uniforms they were greeting about not getting on the other thread.

You're probably right. 

• Replies 1.9k

• IronJambo

• ri Alban

• Ked

• The Real Maroonblood

So 1 to 3 billion .

Could add another 60 pounds tax to every household a year?

Slash the NHS budget?

Cut the help being offered for rising energy bills?

If you all support their wage claim please at least say where the extra billion or 3 should come from.

And I say 1 billion that's if you pit in the 100 million to shareholders and the 400 million reinvestment.

17 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Didn't take you long. I'm pretty sure people will find a way to get to work. There are things called cars and buses.

Maybe they’ll just stay in their cars and buses.

1 hour ago, theshed said:

Must have picked him up wrong as no train driver in the uk is under 50k anywhere 

Might be 20k + for a railway worker but that could be someone who works on ticket barriers ect but deffo not driving trains on that wage 

Could've been that 👍

I'm seeing a lot of mention of train drivers wages. This is an RMT strike on national rail, they don't represent many drivers. ASLEF have been waiting back whilst RMT do the dirty work and have only just sent ballot papers out.

The staff balloted average something like a £24k salary. That's quoting Eddie Dempsey.

Just now, IronJambo said:

I'm seeing a lot of mention of train drivers wages. This is an RMT strike on national rail, they don't represent many drivers. ASLEF have been waiting back whilst RMT do the dirty work and have only just sent ballot papers out.

The staff balloted average something like a £24k salary. That's quoting Eddie Dempsey.

Nae wonder they're struggling to keep up with the cost of living FFS.

56 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Mibbes mate. Mibbes they'll all stay working from home like they didn't last time. Mibbes people just won't go anywhere ever again. In all honesty, the railway was previously overcrowded with everyone trying to get to the same places at the same time. It needed addressing. It's fast becoming the same way again.

Japan Jambo
8 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Someone told me yesterday, that it's 8 quid a pint in London. Is that true. 

pub nearby does a pint and pizza for 12 quid. think a punk IPA is around the 8 quid mark, stella I think is 6 quid.

noticed a huge difference in prices when I was up for the final.

Hence the need for a perfectdraft in the flat!!

Edited by Japan Jambo

9 hours ago, Ked said:

So 1 to 3 billion .

Could add another 60 pounds tax to every household a year?

Slash the NHS budget?

Cut the help being offered for rising energy bills?

If you all support their wage claim please at least say where the extra billion or 3 should come from.

And I say 1 billion that's if you pit in the 100 million to shareholders and the 400 million reinvestment.

We don't have to pay for track and trace this year so there's a few billion not being shuffled into some tory ***** pocket.

There's always cash until its the workers who want a payrise. 

6 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

We don't have to pay for track and trace this year so there's a few billion not being shuffled into some tory ***** pocket.

There's always cash until its the workers who want a payrise. 

Interesting take on it.

Last I checked the rail network isn't nationalised.

Why don't we all strike for more money and pay for it with ehhh our own money.

Equating a corrupt government with this dispute might suit your view of my argument .

It's just not relevant.

2 minutes ago, Ked said:

Interesting take on it.

Equating a corrupt government with this dispute might suit your view of my argument .

It's just not relevant.

3 minutes ago, Ked said:

Interesting take on it.

Why don't we all strike for more money and pay for it with ehh our own money.

It's just not relevant.

Network rail is publicly owned.

You are asking if they want the NHS budget slashed or every household to be taxed to pay for the payrise.

I'm pointing out there's plenty of cash when it's needed for anything other than paying the workers. 

11 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

You are asking if they want the NHS budget slashed or every household to be taxed to pay for the payrise.

I'm pointing out there's plenty of cash when it's needed for anything other than paying the workers. 

Define the term workers?

11 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Define the term workers?

Pretty self explanatory. 

6 hours ago, Ked said:

Interesting take on it.

It's just not relevant.

Last time I checked, it is in Scotland.

5 hours ago, 1874robbo said:

Ked is an angry wee man 

I’m guessing he is a disgruntled ex railway employee who got emptied.

Wrong on both .

6 hours ago, fabienleclerq said:

Plenty of cash if borrowed.

45 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Last time I checked, it is in Scotland.

Yes that's correct.

7 hours ago, Ked said:

Interesting take on it.

It's just not relevant.

It kind of is on a technicality. The government pays the expenses and the tocs to run the lines. The government then collects all the ticket money.

It's not the first thing you've got wrong. All rail staff on £28k+ aye 🤣🤣🤣

AlimOzturk

Anyone who supports big corporate or Governments in worker disputes have clearly never had to live on the breadline or have to scrimp and save for everything they have ever had. 

Imagine begrudging your fellow man a decent fecking pay rise from greedy ***** who most likely don’t want to give them it because it threatens their million pound bonuses. 😂

Arseholes. 

2 hours ago, IronJambo said:

It kind of is on a technicality. The government pays the expenses and the tocs to run the lines. The government then collects all the ticket money.

It's not the first thing you've got wrong. All rail staff on £28k+ aye 🤣🤣🤣

Happy to be corrected mate.

I'm wrong quite a lot.

There's no doubt the trains in the UK are not as good as they can be.

That's no fault of the workforce.

However your union leadership includes communists ,Russian sympathisers,anti semitic Pro Ira .

They imo don't serve the workforce nor the industry well.

And yes rail infrastructure needs investing in and no I don't expect people to live on a shit wage but resisting much needed change which includes unfortunately staff reduction has to happen.

Happy to be corrected at anytime as I'm all to aware of my limited knowledge on......well just about everything.

😄👍

12 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Anyone who supports big corporate or Governments in worker disputes have clearly never had to live on the breadline or have to scrimp and save for everything they have ever had. 

Imagine begrudging your fellow man a decent fecking pay rise from greedy ***** who most likely don’t want to give them it because it threatens their million pound bonuses. 😂

Arseholes. 

Well that's a load of pish.

Don't begrudge anyone anything and every penny I've not got I've worked for.

I am sick of how much tax I pay though its obscene.

27 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Arseholes. 

Fair comment.

15 minutes ago, Ked said:

I'm wrong quite a lot.

However your union leadership includes communists ,Russian sympathisers,anti semitic Pro Ira .

And yes rail infrastructure needs investing in and no I don't expect people to live on a shit wage but resisting much needed change which includes unfortunately staff reduction has to happen.

Happy to be corrected at anytime as I'm all to aware of my limited knowledge on......well just about everything.

😄👍

Glad you cleared up your views on union leadership.

Let’s people see where you’re really coming from.

19 hours ago, FWJ said:

And if the reduced timetables/strikes go on long enough people will get out the habit of using the trains, less passengers long term will mean that the timetables will reduce permanently so while rails workers will get an extra couple of % on their basic, the overtime they have become accustomed to will not be there   

1 hour ago, Ked said:

Well that's a load of pish.

Don't begrudge anyone anything and every penny I've not got I've worked for.

I am sick of how much tax I pay though its obscene.

Well if you pay that much tax you must be making a fair wedge.

57 minutes ago, Ribble said:

And if the reduced timetables/strikes go on long enough people will get out the habit of using the trains, less passengers long term will mean that the timetables will reduce permanently so while rails workers will get an extra couple of % on their basic, the overtime they have become accustomed to will not be there   

Just like they got used to not using them the last 1 and a half years when they were told to refrain from using them if they could.

take it youve not been on the trains recently.

they are bursting at the seams.

id say definitely back up with pre pandemic levels imo.

1 hour ago, Boab said:

Glad you cleared up your views on union leadership.

Let’s people see where you’re really coming from.

And where is that?

Not wanting some jumped up thieving communist on a 100 grand a year spouting shit about Jews and terrorists?

Aye ye can see me coming round the corner then.

10 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

Well if you pay that much tax you must be making a fair wedge.

I paid 40% last year.

I worked most days and long shifts.

I have people who rely on me who have fell on hard times.

I resent it.

I'm happy to pay a qtr of what I earn .

I'm happy to live in a society where those with broader shoulders pull a bit more weight.

What grinds my gears is those who think the world owes them a life.

Taxing me on every fekin turn might be alright in your entitled view but I'd like to keep at least 75% of it.

If that's OK with you .

28 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

Nope, down by about 20-25%. You must be using popular train. People will find other ways to travel or wfh and therefore reduction in use will continue.

End result, less trains required therefore lessons required.

16 minutes ago, Ked said:

And where is that?

Not wanting some jumped up thieving communist on a 100 grand a year spouting shit about Jews and terrorists?

I paid 40% last year.

I resent it.

I'm happy to live in a society where those with broader shoulders pull a bit more weight.

Taxing me on every fekin turn might be alright in your entitled view but I'd like to keep at least 75% of it.

If that's OK with you .

I’d like to read it if you’ve got a link.

11 hours ago, fabienleclerq said:

Pretty self explanatory. 

Is it? Not nowadays, so indulge and enlighten me.

49 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

Just like they got used to not using them the last 1 and a half years when they were told to refrain from using them if they could.

take it youve not been on the trains recently.

As someone who is now in their 17th year in the rail industry, I can assure you they are not bursting at the seams.

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

As someone who is now in their 17th year in the rail industry, I can assure you they are not bursting at the seams.

John quick question we are going to Coventry and our return journey is on the 21st so a bit of a bummer we are going to come back a day early can we still use our tickets. Cross Country trains

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Is it? Not nowadays, so indulge and enlighten me.

People like the cleaner's,guards,gateline,network rail guys,fittersetc.

I would've said dispatchers but not so sure🙃

There's managers picking up huge payrises and shareholders getting big dividends,they can afford to look after the staff.

2 hours ago, Ked said:

And where is that?

I paid 40% last year.

I resent it.

If that's OK with you .

I pay 41% pal 

32 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

John quick question we are going to Coventry and our return journey is on the 21st so a bit of a bummer we are going to come back a day early can we still use our tickets. Cross Country trains

I’m assuming you’re on the family and friends tickets?

if so yeh they’ll be fine mate.

8 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

I’m assuming you’re on the family and friends tickets?

if so yeh they’ll be fine mate.

Cheers Baz will we be able to reserve seats 

Just now, **** the SPFL said:

Cheers Baz will we be able to reserve seats 

No sure ray, give al a shout and see if he can sort something out for you.

Just now, 1874robbo said:

No sure ray, give al a shout and see if he can sort something out for you.

4 hours ago, Ked said:

I'm wrong quite a lot.

😄👍

Complete nonsense. Just more pish that's off topic and nothing to do with what's going on.

1 hour ago, **** the SPFL said:

As Baz said Ray. Regards booking seats.

I would do it direct on Crosscountry's own website.

1 hour ago, fabienleclerq said:

People like the cleaner's,guards,gateline,network rail guys,fittersetc.

I would've said dispatchers but not so sure🙃

There's managers picking up huge payrises and shareholders getting big dividends,they can afford to look after the staff.

Not the drivers then?

32 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

As Baz said Ray. Regards booking seats.

I would do it direct on Crosscountry's own website.

:thumbs_up:

30 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Not the drivers then?

Absolutely the drivers, is that what you were looking for?

The drivers deserve a payrise like everyone else but to me it's the lower paid ones who need it more.

4 hours ago, Cade said:

ASLEF union accepts a 5% pay rise for ScotRail drivers.

Members to be balloted next week.

Will RMT agree to the same rise (presuming it is offered) or agitate for more? Big decision to be made.

1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Will RMT agree to the same rise (presuming it is offered) or agitate for more? Big decision to be made.

Totally different dispute. The drivers 5% is for Scotrail only but this thread is network rail and rmt.. this is uk wide and they haven’t been offered anything at the moment i don’t think 

4 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Nope,rejected without giving members a vote.

2 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Need to check with Moscow first