National rail strikes planned by RMT

IronJambo

7 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

I'll bow out there. Comparisons between UK and Nazi Germany with its concentration camps is a hell of a jump, even for here.

Have a good night.

Cynicial branding to persuade a falsehood. It can have it's uses.

The world is a basket case of war and abuse and folk get irked as if the 1930s were an aberration

Edited by Riccarton3

• Replies 1.9k

• IronJambo

• ri Alban

• Ked

• The Real Maroonblood

Posters being angry that a trolley person gets paid more than a nurse should direct their anger at our government for underpaying nurses. Be shocked by wages not keeping with inflation for over a decade across all sectors rather than being pissed the rail folks are standing up to it.

Also automation is replacing jobs. Technology is nice and offers the consumer some convenience, but that comes at a cost to jobs. And when do we consumers ever see any price drop from automation anyway...

21 minutes ago, kila said:

Posters being angry that a trolley person gets paid more than a nurse should direct their anger at our government for underpaying nurses. Be shocked by wages not keeping with inflation for over a decade across all sectors rather than being pissed the rail folks are standing up to it.

Also automation is replacing jobs. Technology is nice and offers the consumer some convenience, but that comes at a cost to jobs. And when do we consumers ever see any price drop from automation anyway...

Its interesting, no predictable,  Shapps went straight to the emotive stuff and not the argued practicalities or rationalism behind the employers offer. Prefers to encourage division and rancour. I guess any other approach would require acknowledging the cost of living, if not years of  stagnant wages

Edited by Riccarton3

3 hours ago, Ked said:

RMT cannae be short of a bob or two.

Giving its members a couple of hundred quid to continue strike action.

Those Russian gas fields must come in handy.

You need to dry your eyes.

you are a bitter wee man.

Anyway my union Aslef aren’t on strike as of yet but bring balloted for it and it will be an overwhelming yes vote.

Some state ked is in over workers asking for a payrise, either Hedley has been riding his Mrs or he got knocked back for a railway Job.

1 hour ago, 1874robbo said:

You need to dry your eyes.

you are a bitter wee man.

Anyway my union Aslef aren’t on strike as of yet but bring balloted for it and it will be an overwhelming yes vote.

Good for you.

My eyes are dry.

I'm not the one acting like a downtrodden worker expecting and begging for the other workers to subsidise my wages for driving in a straight line rotating a wee know for speed .

52 minutes ago, fabienleclerq said:

Some state ked is in over workers asking for a payrise, either Hedley has been riding his Mrs or he got knocked back for a railway Job.

No state at all .

Enjoy your pish patter of misogyny instead of explaining how this lot expect a wage rise on already above average wage from an industry that doesn't cut it.

And perhaps if you want to bring wife's into it then I'd suggest you haven't got a clue about the subject.

Fekin nick of ye .

2 hours ago, kila said:

So shall we just up everyone's wages and in turn up the cost of living.

Of course wages should reflect the skills of the job.

Do you lot not pay attention.

The socialist method of paying a cleaner the same as a doctor doesn't equate to a rise in living standards for the cleaner ffs.

Get real it's like devating with fekin students except they're unlikely to say yer wife slept with a socialist.

Which is unlikely as they're commonly know to be small in the department that counts.

Folk thinking the railworkers and train drivers give a single fek about their fellow working class.

They do not.

They are represented by a mentality that sees the place they live and work as a cash cow.

Privatise the whole lot and let then see how they get on.

5% of the people who subsidise their self importance are left to rot while the rest of us pay 600 pounds to listen to their begging for more.

Due to travel on the 16.00 train from Bmham to Edinburgh keeping fingers crossed it’s still goes as I can see that trains will be winding down and finishing earlier. Everyone is looking to achieve as big a pay rise as possible I have no issue with that being a civil servant we never get any sympathy and will probably get the usual 1% or more likely a pay freeze

7 posts in a row, absolute state🤣

Edited by fabienleclerq

By the way, the industry saying talks are possible a day before a strike. Just  cynical attempt to seem positive hence folks clearly being advised to expect action. They couldn't give a **** about your travel disruption. The hard of thinking will believe the govt isn't advising.  

10 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

You do realise the banks paid it back.

I'd love to see the proof that the banks paid  back all the 2008/09/10/11/12 bail out cash. 

17 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'd love to see the proof that the banks paid  back all the 2008/09/10/11/12 bail out cash. 

I don't think you will ever see that as it's not like you can see a receipt issued.

I know it's natural to be suspicious though.

Agency staff to the rescue by mid July did I hear?

Phew. I'm visiting family in August and don't want to take the car. The Lotus can be a bit cramped for a long drive

9 hours ago, Ked said:

Good for you.

My eyes are dry.

I'm not the one acting like a downtrodden worker expecting and begging for the other workers to subsidise my wages for driving in a straight line rotating a wee know for speed .

A wee what? 

9 hours ago, Ked said:

Folk thinking the railworkers and train drivers give a single fek about their fellow working class.

They do not.

They are represented by a mentality that sees the place they live and work as a cash cow.

Privatise the whole lot and let then see how they get on.

5% of the people who subsidise their self importance are left to rot while the rest of us pay 600 pounds to listen to their begging for more.

I certainly don’t give a feck about you.

just you keep paying your taxes like a good little boy and I’ll keep driving the iron road,  enjoy your shift Ked 

2 hours ago, fabienleclerq said:

7 posts in a row, absolute state🤣

He definitely failed the interview process.

And I can see why.

7 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

He definitely failed the interview process.

And I can see why.

He seems unable to control his emotions, probably a good shout from the interviewers. 

1 minute ago, fabienleclerq said:

He seems unable to control his emotions, probably a good shout from the interviewers. 

Imagine him behind the controls!!!😱😱😱 ffs talk about a loose cannon

21 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Agency staff to the rescue by mid July did I hear?

Phew. I'm visiting family in August and don't want to take the car. The Lotus can be a bit cramped for a long drive

What paper is that in?, absolute nonsense 🤣

9 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

Imagine him behind the controls!!!😱😱😱 ffs talk about a loose cannon

Frightening tbh.

30 minutes ago, escobri said:

What paper is that in?, absolute nonsense 🤣

thought I heard it on the wireless; why would it be so far fetched? P&O did it. Govt looking to change rules re ability to replace workers with agency staff

Edited by Riccarton3

24 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

thought I heard it on the wireless; why would it be so far fetched? P&O did it. Govt looking to change rules re ability to replace workers with agency staff

Yeh cos agencies have staff on tap that are sitting about all qualified and ready to go work trains.

as soon as the drivers strike nothing will move anyway, there’ll be no managers and no agency staff coming out to cover those shifts.

14 minutes ago, 1874robbo said:

Yeh cos agencies have staff on tap that are sitting about all qualified and ready to go work trains.

as soon as the drivers strike nothing will move anyway, there’ll be no managers and no agency staff coming out to cover those shifts.

Same for the signallers,if they strike its not possible to bring in others to keep a meaningful service going.

skinnybob72
3 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Can’t speak for RBS but the GOV got shares in Lloyds Banking Group which they sold over a number of years making a profit on the ‘bailout’ they put in. 

53 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

What jobs could agency staff do on the rail network.

9 minutes ago, skinnybob72 said:

Can’t speak for RBS but the GOV got shares in Lloyds Banking Group which they sold over a number of years making a profit on the ‘bailout’ they put in. 

Can you get them to send Thor a receipt stamped 'paid in full'? Also, if receipt could be countersigned by Sturgeon, that would be ideal.

2 minutes ago, benny said:

Lots of agency staff work on the railways every week, though mostly engineering works and not the actual running of trains.

24 minutes ago, escobri said:

Same for the signallers,if they strike its not possible to bring in others to keep a meaningful service going.

Yeh exactly, their managers can cover a wee bit but very limited 

12 minutes ago, benny said:

Better question .. What jobs DO agency staff do on the rail network?

Riccarton3 gives a good answer. Gatelines can also be covered this way. 

10 minutes ago, escobri said:

Lots of agency staff work on the railways every week, though mostly engineering works and not the actual running of trains.

So no good then.

52 minutes ago, benny said:

They do mainly non safety critical jobs.

Gateline and ticket examination at stations. 

Inflation busting increase would lead to a downward spiral and higher prices with all other unions claiming the same level

the unions want to draw the government into disputes as Labour is so shit the comrades want to try and help them oot - the government should just keep out and let the rail industry sort out the squabble 

53 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Inflation busting increase would lead to a downward spiral and higher prices with all other unions claiming the same level

the unions want to draw the government into disputes as Labour is so shit the comrades want to try and help them oot - the government should just keep out and let the rail industry sort out the squabble 

Not sure how they manage that if they are in charge now.

6 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

I don't think you will ever see that as it's not like you can see a receipt issued.

I know it's natural to be suspicious though.

So it never happened then? 

You just made it up. 

Agency spokesman saying can't see agency staff responding when they can get jobs that don't have the added issue of replacing striking workers. There will be some, though, who don't have any issue, ironically because if the cost of living, partly.

Change of the laws though on the cards bad enough

One Nation

Edited by Riccarton3

skinnybob72
31 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You just made it up. 

For Lloyds it did happen - see the link I put a couple of posts back. 
GOV still own shares in RBS as far as I know so not all paid back there. 

57 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You just made it up. 

No, I didn't. I just don't reckon you will ever believe any confirmation that is on media or is issued.

I don't think subsidies to railways will ever be repaid though.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga

21 minutes ago, skinnybob72 said:

For Lloyds it did happen - see the link I put a couple of posts back. 
GOV still own shares in RBS as far as I know so not all paid back there. 

I guess it receives income by way of dividends from its shares. No idea if plan to eventually sell its holding and to be honest, I don't care.

Thor does though cause it's example of Tories helping their mates.

Yes, I know it was all done under Labour government but that doesn't suit the narrative.