Council elections 2022

New Town Loafer

2 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Won't somebody think of the motorists??

That will make our city an absolute nightmare for working class folk trying to go to work or go about their business.

Fortunately I've retired and but  can totally get the anger for those who it affects. 

• Replies 931

• JudyJudyJudy

• maroonlegions

• Unknown user

• New Town Loafer

Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

Fortunately I've retired and but  can totally get the anger for those who it affects. 

As usual the most affected will be the least well off.

Way of the world now regardless of political party.

11 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

22 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Do you not even know who are running Edinburgh Council :rofl:

I think you're oblivious to the fact that it was local elections that were held :cornette_dog:

Yip.

Was talking about the overall share of the vote in Scotland.:rofl:

Obviously you were oblivious to that.:1132:

Must be shite though being a Tory and getting it really dry up here and doon south.:rofl:   

16 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

What like yer butler..:rofl:

23 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Won't somebody think of the motorists??

That will make our city an absolute nightmare for working class folk trying to go to work or go about their business.

Whereas the middle and upper classes just teleport where they want to go?

20 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Is it significant that apart from the thick Leithers SNP haven't finished first in any other ward declared so far?

last days of the Murrell Radge 

Edinburgh 2017

Tories - 17

SNP - 16

Labour - 11

Greens - 8

Lib Dems - 6

Ind - 5

With 16 of 17 wards declared here's where Edinburgh stands:

SNP - 17 seats

Lib Dems - 12 seats

Labour - 12 seats

Greens - 10 seats

Conservatives - 8 seats

Edited by Footballfirst

AlimOzturk
1 minute ago, Footballfirst said:

Edinburgh 2017

Tories - 17

SNP - 16

Labour - 11

Greens - 8

Lib Dems - 6

Ind - 5

With 15 of 17 wards declared here's where Edinburgh stands:

SNP - 16 seats

Lib Dems - 12 seats

Labour - 11 seats

Greens - 9 seats

Conservatives - 7 seats

Glad the Lib Dems have made inroads. **** the tories. 

SNP - 17 seats

Lib Dems - 12 seats

Labour - 12 seats

Greens - 10 seats

Conservatives - 8 seats

Just now, AlimOzturk said:

Glad the Lib Dems have made inroads. **** the tories. 

Just updated the previous post with the result from the penultimate ward included.

Final totals for Edinburgh

SNP - 19 seats (+3)

Labour - 13 seats (+2)

Lib Dems - 12 seats (+6)

Greens - 10 seats (+2)

Conservatives - 9 seats (-8)

Independent 0 seats (-5)

Edited by Footballfirst

Mikey1874
1 hour ago, maroonlegions said:

Coalition??

Are the SNP not streets ahead ??

Very unusual for any party to have a majority of seats. Due to proportional system. 

None at last election. Coalitions or minority rule nearly always. 

Mikey1874
2 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

SNP - 18 seats

Lib Dems - 13 seats

Labour - 13 seats

Greens - 10 seats

Conservatives - 9 seats

Note that last time the SNP Labour coalition didn't have an overall majority. Which led to them losing some votes. 

PortyJambo
3 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

SNP - 18 seats

Lib Dems - 13 seats

Labour - 13 seats

Greens - 10 seats

Conservatives - 9 seats

EdinburghElects Twitter account has it as below. They had the last ward, Liberton/Gilmerton as 2 SNP, 1 Lab, 1 Cons.

SNP - 19 seats

Labour - 13 seats

Lib Dems - 12 seats

Greens - 10 seats

Conservatives - 9 seats

1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

Note that last time the SNP Labour coalition didn't have an overall majority. Which led to them losing some votes. 

I miscounted the last result so have amended the previous post.

SNP 19

Labour 13

Lib Dems 12

Green 10

Tories 9 

2 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Tories taking an absolute pasting. Best thing for the *****. 

:thumb:

But but but, only moderate gains for SNP and Labour ...:rofl:

5 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Tories taking an absolute pasting. Best thing for the *****. 

Luvly jubbly.

AlimOzturk
1 minute ago, maroonlegions said:

:thumb:

But but but, only moderate gains for SNP and Labour ...:rofl:

Anyone but tory was what I was taught by my dad and grandad. It rings true today.

I haven’t been happy with any of the parties butI still would rather take a running dive into a pit of barb wire before voting tory.  

3 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Anyone but tory was what I was taught by my dad and grandad. It rings true today.

I haven’t been happy with any of the parties butI still would rather take a running dive into a pit of barb wire before voting tory.  

Yip my late dad to said it too. :thumb:

Mikey1874
11 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I miscounted the last result so have amended the previous post.

SNP 19

Labour 13

Lib Dems 12

Green 10

Tories 9 

SNP / Labour have  been in coalition in Edinburgh for 15 years. Be a change not to continue. 

32 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Yip.

Was talking about the overall share of the vote in Scotland.:rofl:

Obviously you were oblivious to that.:1132:

Must be shite though being a Tory and getting it really dry up here and doon south.:rofl:   

You must have been talking to yourself or those wee green men in your heid :cornette:

Obviously I wasn't :welldone:

Don't know if it is or isn't, but I'll take your word for it though :thumb:

jamboy1982
35 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Hahaha you wish! You continue your moronic posts but the snp and ms sturgeon are going nowhere 

6 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

"Never trust the Tories" from mine.

I was an independent wee dick and questioned everything I was taught. I didn't get far with this one though.

Cheers da!

Jambo-Jimbo
3 hours ago, maroonlegions said:

Labour looking like they are taking over from the Tories as the main opposition to the SNP up here. 

Not in the Borders they ain't, not one single Labour council seat.

Scottish Borders Council result.

Tories = 14 (-1)

SNP = 9 (=)

Independent = 7 (-1)

Lib Dem = 3 (+1)

Greens = 1 (+1)

Fife Results. No party majority. No Change.

SNP 34+5

Labour 20-4

Lib Dems 13+6

Cons 8-7

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

So will it still be the same SNP/Labour council in Edinburgh?

Rumours are greens and SNP. If things are bad now, they're about to get a whole lot worse. At least my vote didn't go to waste as a new councillor elected in my ward. Couldn't vote for any member of existing council as they are running Edinburgh into ground.

All ignored though by a mentality of ignoring local issues.

The thing to look at in council elections is turnout.

Usually these have very low turnout so can't be used to judge anything on a national scale.

A rise in turnout is usually a bad thing for a sitting government, as it means people are using local elections to give them a bloody nose.

Mikey1874
6 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Rumours are greens and SNP. If things are bad now, they're about to get a whole lot worse. At least my vote didn't go to waste as a new councillor elected in my ward. Couldn't vote for any member of existing council as they are running Edinburgh into ground.

All ignored though by a mentality of ignoring local issues.

The numbers are against SNP and Greens though the SNP does have experience of minority governments. SNP and Labour would have a majority. 

1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

:tlj:

Any sign of wee Doogz and the 'message' he was sending to the SNP?

7 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

The numbers are against SNP and Greens though the SNP does have experience of minority governments. SNP and Labour would have a majority. 

We shall have to wait and see. Guess a fair bit of negotiation will be taking place.

As usual, they will sell their souls for power, so anything promised by specific parties will be dropped if it gives them control, a cushy job and some financial rewards.

7 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

So the best bet is the SNP and Greens coalition with Labour being pissed off and voting with the other parties to block their proposals 

1 hour ago, jamboy1982 said:

Hahaha you wish! You continue your moronic posts but the snp and ms sturgeon are going nowhere 

Exactly they haven’t done as well as they hoped with their single policy of Tories are crap - the union parties have done quite well and could have been worse for Tories

Elsie won’t be going for Indy any time soon but then she is happy with going nowhere merci beaucoup 🤣

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

You must have been talking to yourself or those wee green men in your heid :cornette:

Obviously I wasn't :welldone:

Don't know if it is or isn't, but I'll take your word for it though :thumb:

I will not rise to your insults mate.:bolt:

For the record you lost the argument when i anal probe you of the FACT that i was talking about the over all results across Scotland.:vrface:

:bolt:

You have anger issues i take it..:whistling:

Tories taking it dry..:rofl:

You seem quite thick in not understanding that point or you have a trolling issue, i am married just to let you know sweet heart.

25 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

So the best bet is the SNP and Greens coalition with Labour being pissed off and voting with the other parties to block their proposals 

And blocking the reptile Tories, you seem upset..:rofl:

1 hour ago, Footballfirst said:

Edinburgh 2017

Tories - 17

SNP - 16

Labour - 11

Greens - 8

Lib Dems - 6

Ind - 5

SNP - 17 seats

Lib Dems - 12 seats

Labour - 12 seats

Greens - 10 seats

Conservatives - 8 seats

:sweeet:

Jambo_jim2001

Replaced an ex labour crook here with an even bigger snp one,plus the sectarian vote puts a Tory into second,new labour candidate third,so no surprise here🤬

2 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

The vermin Tories have taken an utter scudding in Scotland. ❤️

You love to see it. 

Tories have taken an absolute beasting in Wales too. 62 councillors down so far and counting.

:glorious:

12 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

The vermin Tories have taken an utter scudding in Scotland. ❤️

Ross says it’s to do with “Partygate.”

What a slavering erse.

50 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Can't see SNP, Green and Labour joining together so we need to wait and see.

The Greens and SNP will be inseparable as ever, so Labour are the ones who have decision to make.

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Ross says it’s to do with “Partygate.”

What a slavering erse.

Weird, I thought everyone just wanted to move on.

:interehjrling:

19 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

I will not rise to your insults mate.:bolt:

For the record you lost the argument when i anal probe you of the FACT that i was talking about the over all results across Scotland.:vrface:

:bolt:

You have anger issues i take it..:whistling:

Tories taking it dry..:rofl:

You seem quite thick in not understanding that point or you have a trolling issue, i am married just to let you know sweet heart.

You're off your rocker mate :rofl:

I'm not in the slightest bit angry

I couldn't give a feck about councils in the rest of Scotland, it's all about Edinburgh for me, as I live here.

I couldn't give a shit about the Tories, at the end of the day Boris is still the PM and they can still do what the feck they want unopposed.

You'll still have to put up with them for at least the next 2 years.

As for your last point :cornette_dog:

Just now, Ray Gin said:

Weird, I thought everyone just wanted to move on.

:interehjrling:

It’s nothing to do with Johnson’s compulsive lying.😀