***** Official St Mirren v Heart Of Midlothian Match Thread *****

cookieboy

11 hours ago, CornhillHearts said:

Aaron’s Vlog from the game today.

😆Great stuff from Aaron again. I hadn't realised that big Craig had come all the way up the park to congratulate wee Cammy on his goal, brilliant.

• Replies 1.3k

• Watt-Zeefuik

• King prawn

• Hearts007

5 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Nah, not a sitter. 

We're butchering the meaning of the word sitter to describe any good chance missed or good save here. 

Not having it. 

Boyces weren't sitters imo. 

Chances like that get missed/ saved up and down the country every game. 

Every chance missed in the box isn't a sitter. 

We're just throwing phrases about now with no regard. 

1 minute ago, John Findlay said:

His first header was a sitter.

Boyce is not an instinctive finisher.

He takes too long, especially in getting shots off.

1 minute ago, whodanny said:

😆Great stuff from Aaron again. I hadn't realised that big Craig had come all the way up the park to congratulate wee Cammy on his goal, brilliant.

Devlin scoring was most pleasing ! 

Just now, Bazzas right boot said:

Devlin scoring was most pleasing ! 

You can see he loved it, milking the crowd for all he was worth 😂

That's 4 games in recent weeks I've watched where players have simulated head knocks that didn't exist.

Giakoumakis against us and Motherwell, Porteous against us with rumours that was the 3rd game on the trot he did it and Alnwick yesterday.

I know most pros will have feigned the extent of injury at some point but since head knocks have been introduced as 'game stoppers' there also has to be consequences. 

Firstly, any head knock has to be a 10 minute sub allowed HIA.

Secondly, if TV evidence suggests there has clearly been no head injury, a 6 game ban.

Edited by DETTY29

8 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

That's 4 games in recent weeks I've watched where players have simulated head knocks that didn't exist.

Giakoumakis against us and Motherwell, Porteous against us with rumours that was the 3rd game on the trot he did it and Alnwick yesterday.

I know most pros will have feigned the extent of injury at some point but since head knocks have been introduced as 'game stoppers' there also has to be consequences. 

Secondly, if TV evidence suggests there has clearly been no head injury, a 6 game ban.

Yeah, it's getting used to break up the play now and stop momentum. 

6 game ban or they actually get a heed Injury dished out - baseball bat across the napper. 

23 minutes ago, Ex member of the SaS said:

Not being too picky but a poster above has a formula ( magic number ) for gaining third by looking at the other teams previous results etc. He states that 3 wins and 2 draws means third is secured so your claim that one more win and it's done is false.

Yup. In January I had the target for us to get to 61 points and we would guarantee third. To do that we need 5 wins from 10 games. But having reviewed the league 3 wins and 2 draws should be fine. It requires all the teams below us to have at least 2.2 points per game. In fact with the required level points need from other teams, we will probably be fine with 2 wins and 2 draws.

If can get a win against Aberdeen and Dundee United this week, then we have effectively wrapped up third place (unless something drastically goes wrong.)

30 minutes ago, Ex member of the SaS said:

Not being too picky but a poster above has a formula ( magic number ) for gaining third by looking at the other teams previous results etc. He states that 3 wins and 2 draws means third is secured so your claim that one more win and it's done is false.

Not being too picky but Karipidis and Ted Lasso were both just stating their opinions on what we're likely to need. Neither is correct or false.  

Strictly speaking, at the moment we need 22 more points to secure third, as Motherwell or the weeteam could get to 67 points by winning all their remaining games, and 22 more points would take us to 68.

CornhillHearts
40 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Thanks mate, junior was a happy lad last night. Think he was chuffed  with his title for this one! 

35 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

It's a dangerous path for players to go down. A rule designed to protect them, being used to try to cheat by some. The least wee brush against the head, or no contact at all with the head, resulting in lying down holding your head with a wee look now and again to see if anyone has noticed. Similar to this ludicrous attitude of feeling a touch, no matter how soft, to justify collapsing in a heap in the penalty box.

The 2 that we have seen have been obvious attempts at stopping play or being awarded a non foul. As said, Porteous has been seen to do it 3 times recently, and the St Mirren goalkeeper was actively looking for the ball until he saw it hit the net. Then he collapsed, which he had also tried earlier though not for a head knock.

Definitely something to knock on the head 😉 before a referee plays on when a player is indeed suffering from a head knock, because he thinks the player is play acting. Then that referee will be accused of ignoring players' welfare, whereas the players themselves are equally culpable.

We need retrospective citations again for simulation.

Faking a head knock to get the game stopped is just as bad if not worse than diving to get a pen.

12 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

As per my original point if you need to beat a goalkeeper (definition - whose special role is to stop or prevent the ball from entering the goal) then you will ( generally) need direction / and or power to beat such a specialist. 

Is a penalty not a sitter then? 

There's generally outrage if we miss a penalty - if the taker does his job properly, he scores.

I think you may be confusing 'open goal' with 'sitter'. Boyce didn't miss any open goals. But he was closer in than the penalty spot when he missed his sitters/excellent chances.

Cruickie's Moustache

Punishment for faking head knocks should be having to play front row at Murrayfield against that huge French pack and have 20 stone guys trample over you.

Lord knows you can get a sore one at football but outwith kicks to legs and ankles and true head clashes, modern day footballers, while being more fit and 'built' than they ever were are either cheats or are soft as shite.

Robinson should apologise for talking shite. Should of been 2 red cards. Possibly 3 with that arse having a go at Devlin (of which I hope we are appealing his yellow). And their goalkeepers pathetic cheating at our second goal.

simulation in their penalty claim , another yellow. 
sportscene pundits called it out 100% correct.  Robinson is struggling with that outburst.

Just now, 1971fozzy said:

Robinson should apologise for talking shite. Should of been 2 red cards. Possibly 3 with that arse having a go at Devlin (of which I hope we are appealing his yellow). And their goalkeepers pathetic cheating at our second goal.

sportscene pundits called it out 100% correct.  Robinson is struggling with that outburst.

You can't appeal a yellow.

2 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

6 game ban or they actually get a heed Injury dished out - baseball bat across the napper. 

There needs to be a hard line taken on this. Head injuries are serious and if folk are feigning them then something needs to be done to seriously dissuade them from doing that. Perhaps enforced subs if play needs to stop? Suppose part of the issue is sometimes exaggeration is needed to bring attention to things like forearms or elbows to the head/face. 

Its a tough one, but something needs to change. 

Takeshi kovac
2 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Nah, not a sitter. 

We're butchering the meaning of the word sitter to describe any good chance missed or good save here. 

Not having it. 

Boyce has a free header from 6 yards with the full goals to aim at and headers it wide. That's a sitter. Remember a centre forward is a specialist role who's job it is to put the ball in the back of the net

2 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

the alnwick one was that at devlins goal? if so you can see once the ball comes off him when simms challenges for the ball and it breaks to devlin, alnwick watches devlin hit it then holds his head. if it had been cleared he would not have held his head

29 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

Certainly two red cards.  The one on GSM as well as the one on Beni.

Just now, milky_26 said:

the alnwick one was that at devlins goal? if so you can see once the ball comes off him when simms challenges for the ball and it breaks to devlin, alnwick watches devlin hit it then holds his head. if it had been cleared he would not have held his head

There may have been some contact with his upper body but certainly not the head and also no foul.

And yes, se got up after the intial challenge to try to go for the ball but as soon as Devlin shot was going in, he held his head.

There was a 'stramash' a few minutes earlier when he had his hands on the ball on the ground and Boyce, I think took it off him.  Ref played on but it should have been a free kick.

47 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

There may have been some contact with his upper body but certainly not the head and also no foul.

And yes, se got up after the intial challenge to try to go for the ball but as soon as Devlin shot was going in, he held his head.

There was a 'stramash' a few minutes earlier when he had his hands on the ball on the ground and Boyce, I think took it off him.  Ref played on but it should have been a free kick.

completely agree no head contact and no foul

1 hour ago, Takeshi kovac said:

Boyce has a free header from 6 yards with the full goals to aim at and headers it wide. That's a sitter. Remember a centre forward is a specialist role who's job it is to put the ball in the back of the net

Nah, just a shite finish, poor execution. 

How did Robinson end up there anyway. 

Wasn't he cheerkeaded by many on here to be Hearts manager and take us to the next level?

4 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

And another one today in the 2nd half of the game against Celtic.

5 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Nah, not a sitter

Not having it. 

2 minutes ago, EH11_2NL said:

Big Freddie L 's miss. 🤣

Some funny ones in thee anaw. 

But aye, many of them are sitters, nah goalie, yards out, boom! 

5 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

I almost think it went back our Celtic game where (?) Madden stopped the game while we were moving forward because of concern about a "serious injury", then gave the ball to Celtic to restart. 

Precedent set. 

3 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

Folk Appoligising for talking shite will never catch on. 

😁

7 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

hit him on the heed , hit him on the heed, hit him on the heed wae a baseball bat Oh yeah Oh yeah 

2 hours ago, schillaci said:

I almost think it went back our Celtic game where (?) Madden stopped the game while we were moving forward because of concern about a "serious injury", then gave the ball to Celtic to restart. 

Precedent set. 

Aye, a pulled muscle. He was limping for days.

7 hours ago, Takeshi kovac said:

I counted 4 missed headers by Boyce. In front of the goal in plenty space. For a striker that’s mince. Simms you could see made an instant impact. I noted that SImms would rather shoot than pass to him. No offence but I don’t blame him. I remember that when I played football. Usually meant you were pish and a liability. 

10 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said:

Not being too picky but Karipidis and Ted Lasso were both just stating their opinions on what we're likely to need. Neither is correct or false.  

Strictly speaking, at the moment we need 22 more points to secure third, as Motherwell or the weeteam could get to 67 points by winning all their remaining games, and 22 more points would take us to 68.

After today's results, the best anyone below us can get to now is 66 points (St Liedown) so we need 21 more to get to an unassailable 67 point total.  Obviously, that 67 point target will reduce further as the teams below us continue to drop points! 

I'm going to predict that the team finishing 4th will finish on 50 points, meaning that we need 5 more for 3rd (a target we'll smash)!  Obviously, I'll be changing that prediction numerous times before the season is out!

48 minutes ago, Aussie Jambo said:

I counted 4 missed headers by Boyce. In front of the goal in plenty space. For a striker that’s mince. Simms you could see made an instant impact. I noted that SImms would rather shoot than pass to him. No offence but I don’t blame him. I remember that when I played football. Usually meant you were pish and a liability. 

I resemble that remark!

9 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

Booking Devlin for being throttled was a joke!

Don't know why people are upset with the keeper, he got kicked in the face, looked around to see if there was any hope for the rebound, then went down again because his face hurt. Robinson is talking shite that it was Simms fault, but that doesn't make the keeper at fault either or mean that his face didn't get a kick.

...andFulton'sBaggio
13 hours ago, whodanny said:

This is brilliant, @whodanny

I was away in London this weekend so missed the game. This brings me as close to being there as you can imagine.

Thank you Arran, keep up the great work!

3 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said:

After today's results, the best anyone below us can get to now is 66 points (St Liedown) so we need 21 more to get to an unassailable 67 point total.  Obviously, that 67 point target will reduce further as the teams below us continue to drop points! 

I'm going to predict that the team finishing 4th will finish on 50 points, meaning that we need 5 more for 3rd (a target we'll smash)!  Obviously, I'll be changing that prediction numerous times before the season is out!

I thought at the start of January that the target for us is 61 points. It would require our nearest rivals at the time to double their points in less games than they had played. Not impossible but would require teams to have a run on par of the Old Firm.  We are now at a point where for us to reach that target we need 5 wins from 10 games. For our closest rivals (Hibs, Dun Utd and Motherwell all on 35) would require a points per game ratio of 2.6. Never say never but requires one of the greatest runs to happen.

If we were get 3 wins and 2 draws from our final 10 games, then it puts us on 57. Then those 3 teams on 35 would require 20 points from 10 games so a 2 points per game rate, can happen but they have gone through the season on 1.3 points per game. It would require a team to have amazing form.

Seeing your 50 points for 4th, I thought that was too low, but again going into points per game, it would require the teams on 35 points to have a 1.5 points per game. We are currently on 1.6 which though we have had bumps has been a great season. I think the fact the gap between 4th and 10th is 5 points means that teams will take points off each other stopping any team going on a real run.

If we can get a win against Aberdeen and Dundee United this week, then its pretty likely thats us got 3rd, as it would require a collapse and one team to go through an amazing run to deny us.

6 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

I thought at the start of January that the target for us is 61 points. It would require our nearest rivals at the time to double their points in less games than they had played. Not impossible but would require teams to have a run on par of the Old Firm.  We are now at a point where for us to reach that target we need 5 wins from 10 games. For our closest rivals (Hibs, Dun Utd and Motherwell all on 35) would require a points per game ratio of 2.6. Never say never but requires one of the greatest runs to happen.

If we were get 3 wins and 2 draws from our final 10 games, then it puts us on 57. Then those 3 teams on 35 would require 20 points from 10 games so a 2 points per game rate, can happen but they have gone through the season on 1.3 points per game. It would require a team to have amazing form.

Seeing your 50 points for 4th, I thought that was too low, but again going into points per game, it would require the teams on 35 points to have a 1.5 points per game. We are currently on 1.6 which though we have had bumps has been a great season. I think the fact the gap between 4th and 10th is 5 points means that teams will take points off each other stopping any team going on a real run.

If we can get a win against Aberdeen and Dundee United this week, then its pretty likely thats us got 3rd, as it would require a collapse and one team to go through an amazing run to deny us.

I did this on another thread but funny you got to 57. The best 10 game run any of the rest of the teams have done this season is 21 points, which means the best any of them could do is 56. 11 points, or 3 wins and 2 draws, just as you say, will put us above that.

7 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said:

I resemble that remark!

Yes Now I do. Once Kenny Dalglish now Kenny Dodd. Da diddy man. 

On 26/02/2022 at 20:49, Bazzas right boot said:

I have a clear picture of what a sitter is. 

Folk need to use words and phrases properly. 

Too many phrases like shock, unnacaptable, sitter, must win etc get thrown about too easily. 

Sitter is worse than a bad miss and Tbh if it is blocked or saved it just makes a mockery of the usage of the word. 

If it was saved it was never a sitter. 

Nonsense. 😜

I blame the Internet and folk needing attention by creating drama. 

I'd never do that. 

Sitter just means an easy chance when used in a sporting context. Literally, this is the definition.

So if you believe it was an easy chance to score, as many do, then you can say it was a sitter.

Not sure why you've given it your own specific meaning and spent a whole day telling everyone that they are wrong to claim otherwise.

Edited by spacerjoe

17 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

How did Robinson end up there anyway. 

Wasn't he cheerkeaded by many on here to be Hearts manager and take us to the next level?

Think it was at a time we just wanted a manager who picked a solid formation with players playing in their proper positions. 

Probably would have kept us up after Levein just by doing the simple things. 

See also: Tommy Wright. 

I forgot how much Robinson's constant whinging grated me when he was at Well.  He's back 5 minutes and still playing the same song.  

2 hours ago, spacerjoe said:

Sitter just means an easy chance when used in a sporting context. Literally, this is the definition.

So if you believe it was an easy chance to score, as many do, then you can say it was a sitter.

Not sure why you've given it your own specific meaning and spent a whole day telling everyone that they are wrong to claim otherwise.

Then the term "easy" is being branded about too willy nilly. 

All discussed above tho. 

Not going repeat the discussion. 

Must say I'm thoroughly enjoying the St Midden meltdown on social media today. Such a warm glow to bask in. :greggy:

The pie and bogroll admin has went totally off on one on twitter, digging out all sorts of stats to justify his belief that they were hard done by. 

The fact they tried to create some sort of fake rivalry with us after we were ejected from the league was laughable. Well, they ain't laughing now. 

I do hope they enjoy Robinson's tenure, his 'well team were dirty as feck and he's started off exactly the same here. 

I actually thinking GMS had a much better game on Saturday when he’s on the wing and not asking to play a 10 role which he can’t. He put 2 superb crosses into the box for Boyce which should have scored both. 

15 hours ago, jamboinglasgow said:

The 50 point prediction for 4th is a bit finger-in-the-air tbh, but loosely based on the fact all of the seven teams below us have a current points per game figure that amounts to between 41 and 48 points (rounding up) from 38 games, then factoring in the likelihood that points will be a little harder to come by after the split without any games against bottom 6 teams, and then also factoring in that inevitably they won't all match their current ppg over the rest of the season anyway, some will do a bit better and some a bit worse. Whoever gets 4th will have finished the season at least a little stronger than they've been over the course up to now.

Of course, the likelihood is that my 50 points prediction will end up being a bit out, but I reckon it'll probably only be by a point or two!

5 hours ago, KyleLafferty said:

I actually thinking GMS had a much better game on Saturday when he’s on the wing and not asking to play a 10 role which he can’t. He put 2 superb crosses into the box for Boyce which should have scored both. 

He wore down as the game went on and started to get beat more in the second half, but he did much more going forward with the WB position than Cochrane normally does.

1 hour ago, Led Tasso said:

He wore down as the game went on and started to get beat more in the second half, but he did much more going forward with the WB position than Cochrane normally does.

Cochrane has never bet a man down the wing, he always passes back the way. I like him but it’s something he needs to improve on

3 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said:

The 50 point prediction for 4th is a bit finger-in-the-air tbh, but loosely based on the fact all of the seven teams below us have a current points per game figure that amounts to between 41 and 48 points (rounding up) from 38 games, then factoring in the likelihood that points will be a little harder to come by after the split without any games against bottom 6 teams, and then also factoring in that inevitably they won't all match their current ppg over the rest of the season anyway, some will do a bit better and some a bit worse. Whoever gets 4th will have finished the season at least a little stronger than they've been over the course up to now.

Of course, the likelihood is that my 50 points prediction will end up being a bit out, but I reckon it'll probably only be by a point or two!

Given the run-ins each team has, Motherwell have, on paper, the best chance of catching us. Not impossible for them to win all five matches between now and the split. Of course, they won’t. Even if they did they would still probably be 4/5 points behind us minimum. 4/5 points is a huge advantage at the split.  I expect we will be double figures ahead at the split. 

56 minutes ago, KyleLafferty said:

Cochrane has never bet a man down the wing, he always passes back the way. I like him but it’s something he needs to improve on

He needs to work on it and it will probably be somewhere else.

I don't want to slag him as he's largely done a job but I also think we can upgrade that spot over the summer.