energy prices

Masonic

Seen an ad for an app call Hugo that acts as a Smart Meter on your phone. Won't save you any money but will be much easier to check o  your usage at any time and projected costs. 

Edited by hughesie27

• Replies 4.1k

• ri Alban

• Jambo-Jimbo

• Unknown user

• Victorian

I've been paying my daughters power for the past few months .

Not all but a fair chunk.

She has a prepayment meter so there's no room for any action .

My energy.

I used to pay quarterly.Then switched to direct debit at the start of the year.

Stopped that.I now pay monthly on meter readings.

When the shit really hits I shall pay only what I can afford and what I believe is reasonable.

Also if I have to help any neighbours friends on prepayment I will be deducting it from my bill.

Not including my daughter as she's family and my responsibility.

Anyone got plans for how they will deal with what's coming?

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Well well,  unless I'm mental,  I'm fairly sure that France and Germany exist in the same reality of war existing in Ukraine.  Yet their energy prices haven't risen anything like the UK.

It just demonstrates how easily the hopelessly gullible are deceived.  As seen in the embarrassing rant above.

We are being shafted and the "government" is complicit.

7 minutes ago, frankblack said:

We are being shafted and the "government" is complicit.

It's a rare thing but we 100% agree on that 👍

Truss said these things on the BBC this morning.

The UK is too reliant on the energy market.

The UK is not reliant on Russian gas supply.

The UK is going to expand it's oil and gas,  nuclear and renewables supply.

1.  All of the 'planned' expansion of UK supply will not power homes or power stations for some time.  Some of it will take years before it comes online.

2.  The suggestion is that the UK already generates most of it's domestic demand,  albeit we still need to import gas.

3.  If we're "too reliant" on the market,  the only implication,  other than more bare faced lies,  is that,  in order to not be reliant on the market,  Truss will prevent our domestic generation from being sold on the wholesale market,  or to prevent the energy from being subjected to the market price.  

That is fairly large scale state intervention.  The very thing that right wing ideologues profess to detest.  To intervene on a large and important sector of the free market economy.  The perception of socialist ideology.

She's not going to do that.  Her party wouldn't let her do that.  So what's left?  The lies.  It's just confused and contradictory bullshit for the consumption of the 'diddums the prices are going up' zombies.

Psychedelicropcircle
2 hours ago, Ked said:

I've been paying my daughters power for the past few months .

Not all but a fair chunk.

She has a prepayment meter so there's no room for any action .

My energy.

I used to pay quarterly.Then switched to direct debit at the start of the year.

Stopped that.I now pay monthly on meter readings.

When the shit really hits I shall pay only what I can afford and what I believe is reasonable.

Also if I have to help any neighbours friends on prepayment I will be deducting it from my bill.

Not including my daughter as she's family and my responsibility.

Anyone got plans for how they will deal with what's coming?

I have a guy coming to quote me for a biomass boiler next week. Honestly don’t know if it’s doable but the Scottish gov (energy Saving trust)have a 10k loan of which you repay 2.5K interest free. So it might cost 7k ish. Pretty much hedging that this bullshit will be here for a while. My wee pad is not the type of hoose you’d consider this a good idea in normal times.

I can genuinely see civil unrest and disturbances over the winter if something isn't done.

Crime and domestic abuse is going to go through the roof as a result of this. Needs fixed pronto.

Very fortunate that I reckon I can ride this out, maybe, but won't be easy however have family that (through no fault of their own) rely on the state and really worry that they will majorly struggle. Tax cuts, etc I don't believe will help the lower paid, etc. Sick at the thought. 

Not knowledgeable about it all but how can we produce 95% of our energy and still face this? I have a good guess...

37 minutes ago, pablo said:

I can genuinely see civil unrest and disturbances over the winter if something isn't done.

Crime and domestic abuse is going to go through the roof as a result of this. Needs fixed pronto.

It's being fixed. Truss is cutting tax and NI for the most wealthy.

Sorry did you mean for the proles? 

In that case freeze or starve or both.

Keep voting Tory though 👍

dobmisterdobster
5 hours ago, Victorian said:

Well well,  unless I'm mental,  I'm fairly sure that France and Germany exist in the same reality of war existing in Ukraine.  Yet their energy prices haven't risen anything like the UK.

It just demonstrates how easily the hopelessly gullible are deceived.  As seen in the embarrassing rant above.

French taxpayers are subsidising energy prices to keep them lower. EDF is suing the French Government over mandatory losses.

I will never understand this weird grass is greener syndrome. People with a shallow understanding of other countries will only look at the positives.

On 02/09/2022 at 21:20, FWJ said:

Sorry to keep going on about it but - but where is the tidal power?  The one in France has been on the go for decades and there’s a bigger one in S Korea but why are there no others?

Big hydro is just about done in Scotland - unless you want to flood scores of glens.

Batteries?  The biggest battery in the world is orders of magnitude to small to power (never mind heat ) the country and I can’t see that changing much in 15 years - aside from anything else how do we get the minerals required to construct it?

I’m not dismissing renewables, far from it, but they’re still decades away from providing the reliable power we’ll need not only to light our homes but heat them too - and charge all the cars.

Here you go:

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2010/aug/13/world-largest-tidal-turbine

more:

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/07/28/worlds-most-powerful-tidal-turbine-starts-to-export-power-to-grid-.html

That picture below is currently Invergordon live with dozens of tidal turbines awaiting completion, lots more to be constructed as well (read above), all be it’s not a quick fix but, if we get our heads around wave power the west coast of Scotland is one of the main areas to tap into.

137FB1BA-7477-4A71-825D-FEDF9137C004.jpeg

Edited by highlandjambo3

8 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

French taxpayers are subsidising energy prices to keep them lower. EDF is suing the French Government over mandatory losses.

I will never understand this weird grass is greener syndrome. People with a shallow understanding of other countries will only look at the positives.

I'd refer you to Abraham Lincoln's oft repeated quote from his Gettysburg Address:

"....... government of the people, by the people, for the people ....."

The Tory version for the UK is " ........ government of the people, by the elite, for the elite ......."

France may not get everything right, but they almost always act to uphold the values of their own national motto: "Liberté, Égalité, and Fraternité "

I'd rather that the UK government acted more like the French regarding the energy crisis. 

6 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Oh diddums, prices going up. We're in start of war against Russia so what did people expect.

If you don't like it, campaign for support to Ukraine to stop or refuse to pay bill and see what happens.

More likely though, you'll sit back, do nothing apart from come on here and cry.

I've thought (and said) for a while now that you are an arrogant and selfish person.  

I have now added thoughtless and stupid to that.

Well done.

Jambo_jim2001

The first five minutes,wonder if this is to scare folk bypassing the leccie due to high prices🤔🤔 I thought the electric companies were only legally liable to the meter??

9 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Here you go:

more:

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/07/28/worlds-most-powerful-tidal-turbine-starts-to-export-power-to-grid-.html

That picture below is currently Invergordon live with dozens of tidal turbines awaiting completion, lots more to be constructed as well (read above), all be it’s not a quick fix but, if we get our heads around wave power the west coast of Scotland is one of the main areas to tap into.

Well that’s good - genuinely - but 1MW?  You’d need 1,500 of these to equal what Torness generates.

I wish, as well, they’d include how many homes they could heat as well as light - as gas is phased out this will become far more relevant.  Back-of-a-fag-packet calculation shows I use 5x as much energy heating my house (& hot water) than I do lighting & powering it.

Edited by FWJ

29 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's being fixed. Truss is cutting tax and NI for the most wealthy.

Sorry did you mean for the proles? 

In that case freeze or starve or both.

Keep voting Tory though 👍

She said the highest earners deserve the most returned. A fecking *****.

12 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

As a bare minimum in the absence of national control over energy supply,  this is necessary here.  You said that as if it's a poor choice.  It isn't.  The entire economy relies on viable,  sustainable businesses,  of all sizes and across all sectors.  All of business relies on affordable energy.  If nothing is done to control price then businesses will fail.  The economy will suffer unprecedented damage,  causing 3rd world type of inflation.  Plus widespread shortages of goods and services.

The public purse has to act as the underwriter to prevent economic collapse.  The burden to pay for the public money investment is then shared throughout a settlement of the range of taxation.

On domestic energy needs.  People are going to suffer health implications of not keeping warm enough and/or not eating sufficiently.  That as well as huge numbers of people who will default on their mortgages and rent obligations.

The wealthy can keep their heads in the sand for now but they will suffer eventually from a wider economic collapse.  It will blow back on everyone.  Jobs.  Property.  Pensions.  Savings.  The works.

1 minute ago, FWJ said:

Well that’s good - genuinely - but 1MW?  You’d need 1,500 of these to equal what Torness generates.

It’s a start……

If this can be identified as a major contributor to our future needs then I’m sure production can be massively ramped up………………. I’d imagine over the last decade or so most of the R&D has been completed with the odd tweak so, if it’s now being viewed as successful (on a small scale) surly the turbine construction and installation can be hugely increased………..not without hurdles to jump but, hurdles will be at the forefront of any new power venture.

6 hours ago, Victorian said:

Or alternatively, it shows how some think they are knowledgeable on matters they clearly have no idea on.

So desperate to blame the big bad Tories that they ignore any and all other events.

Still, after tomorrow, we will see what new PM plans to do about it.

1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Or alternatively, it shows how some think they are knowledgeable on matters they clearly have no idea on.

So desperate to blame the big bad Tories that they ignore any and all other events.

I'm surprised you showed back up after your shitshow post.

People have no choice but to blame the Tories.  Last time I looked it was them running the country and them doing nothing of any use to intervene on the energy cost crisis.  If someone else takes over and fails on the same things,  I'll blame them instead.

44 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I'd refer you to Abraham Lincoln's oft repeated quote from his Gettysburg Address:

"....... government of the people, by the people, for the people ....."

The Tory version for the UK is " ........ government of the people, by the elite, for the elite ......."

France may not get everything right, but they almost always act to uphold the values of their own national motto: "Liberté, Égalité, and Fraternité "

I'd rather that the UK government acted more like the French regarding the energy crisis. 

No no no. When you’re engl…sorry British you’ve to hate all things French😐

Psychedelicropcircle
53 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Your starting to look like the “jambo in Hamilton” of this thread.

1 hour ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Fair comment 

The Tories are supposedly the party of business, this energy price farce is killing businesses left right and centre.

Who has control of any mitigation? That'd be the arsing Tories so aye, they are to blame as well as being incompetent charlatans.

You’re no’ shy.

3 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

The Tories are supposedly the party of business, this energy price farce is killing businesses left right and centre.

Who has control of any mitigation? That'd be the arsing Tories so aye, they are to blame as well as being incompetent charlatans.

This is what is going to force the new leader into action.  If small businesses collapse en masse as looks likely if nothing is done, then they will be seen to have failed their own, while collapsing the economy at the same time.

Captain Lithuania
2 hours ago, Jambo_jim2001 said:

The first five minutes,wonder if this is to scare folk bypassing the leccie due to high prices🤔🤔 I thought the electric companies were only legally liable to the meter??

Because the tamper which allows the energy to be stolen is preventing the stolen energy from reaching the meter you are effectively stealing from the supplier as it is them who are missing out on the money you would pay the bill for.

On 30/08/2022 at 10:15, Cade said:

Reducing your usage is always a good thing, but there is only so much you can cut and with Standing Charges being a thing, you're not really going to save a huge amount.

Aug 2021 £13 standing charge combined for Elec/gas

Aug 2022 £15 standing charge combined for Elec/gas

That's Octopus. btw.

On 30/08/2022 at 09:58, Dazo said:

I’ve been on at the family for a while and just looking at out usage compared to last year is quite startling. Hopefully keeping like that will help through the winter. Obviously more difficult to make savings in the winter due to lights actually having to be on. 🙄

F9880768-BF7E-4400-92DA-9AEDBCC5FE23.jpeg

Our Aug 2022 usage for electricity is 129kwh. I see you have gone from 900 to 300, which of course is great going.

To everybody, these consumption totals that Dazo has posted, are they typical, or 'averages'?

Really quite curious, what was your usage for Aug 2022 ... that's to anybody that cares to participate?

26 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

Our Aug 2022 usage for electricity is 129kwh. I see you have gone from 900 to 300, which of course is great going.

To everybody, these consumption totals that Dazo has posted, are they typical, or 'averages'?

Really quite curious, what was your usage for Aug 2022 ... that's to anybody that cares to participate?

My electricity use in August was 203 kwh. That is the lowest single month it has ever been. Going by my monthly DD, I'm paying 89% of the "average" user.

Over the last year (to 31/8/22) it was 3,101 kw, which is down 12.25% on the previous 12 month period.

There are only the wife and I in the house and it's only recently that we have made a conscious effort to cut down on usage, e.g. limiting use of the tumble dryer and dishwasher. 

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

This is what is going to force the new leader into action.  If small businesses collapse en masse as looks likely if nothing is done, then they will be seen to have failed their own, while collapsing the economy at the same time.

And it's bloody well going to be forced on her rather than  proactively doing anything about it for the good of the population.

Edited by DETTY29

Jambo_jim2001
1 hour ago, Captain Lithuania said:

Because the tamper which allows the energy to be stolen is preventing the stolen energy from reaching the meter you are effectively stealing from the supplier as it is them who are missing out on the money you would pay the bill for.

What gives them the right to see where it goes to bit I can't understand,I thought that was the cops job to find the hash crop. Their warrant was only for access to the house where the bypassed meter is🤔🤔. Tbh I can see a fair amount of meters getting bypassed this winter...you know any good sparkies??😂😂

3 hours ago, Victorian said:

Last time I looked it was them running the country and them doing nothing of any use to intervene on the energy cost crisis.  If someone else takes over and fails on the same things,  I'll blame them instead.

If the last time you looked was within the last 3 months then nobody has been running the country.

Fat arse has been on a 3 month sesh and the other two have been pretending the brown guy has a chance against the pound shop Thatcher with the constituency of 160,000 racist pensioners. 

Captain Lithuania
8 minutes ago, Jambo_jim2001 said:

What gives them the right to see where it goes to bit I can't understand,I thought that was the cops job to find the hash crop. Their warrant was only for access to the house where the bypassed meter is🤔🤔. Tbh I can see a fair amount of meters getting bypassed this winter...you know any good sparkies??😂😂

The warrant allows for them to investigate as part of revenue protection. 

There’s probably a guide online which explains how to do it. :D 

47 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

My electricity use in August was 203 kwh. That is the lowest single month it has ever been. Going by my monthly DD, I'm paying 89% of the "average" user.

Over the last year (to 31/8/22) it was 3,101 kw, which is down 12.25% on the previous 12 month period.

There are only the wife and I in the house and it's only recently that we have made a conscious effort to cut down on usage, e.g. limiting use of the tumble dryer and dishwasher. 

Thanks for that, FF. You're averaging about 270odd a month then which isn't an awful lot more than what you've just used for one of the more 'easy' months. Seems to suggest you're quite consistent throughout the year.  We're a family of four, with washing machine on 3-4 times a week but have managed to not use dryer since probably May, and even then we only use it selectively throughout the winter preferring instead to use the clothes horse beside the radiator. The dishwasher maybe goes on between 1-2 times a week. Telly only really on when son is using his xbox. Otherwise it's laptops, chromebooks and tablets/phones. Minimal use of lights but we have quite a few portable led motion detected lights that are quickly usb-charged strategically placed around the house so don't really need to turn lights on moving throughout.

Our combined bill for Aug was made up of 2 parts leccy and 1 part gas.  The gas is relatively cheap compared to the electrical costs. Would almost be better to keep your gas hobs on for heat than use an electric means of heating. Mental!

Anyway, I'm just trying to get my head around how folks pay so much for their energy bills. For Aug 2021 we paid £50, for Aug 2022 we paid £90, despite using marginally less elec/gas this month.  Nothing much we can do about the prices charged but I do find it difficult to understand how the average cost might be £5K, or >£500 pm.

My current plan to deal with the price rises is to say no. I'm with Octopus and they tried to double my direct debit earlier in the year and I told them to bolt and paid what I wanted to. They actually owe me money now based on my latest meter readings. 

They aren't on the mainstream news but there are already huge protests taking place in Europe around the cost of living. I don't think people are going to sit back and just put up with choosing between heating and buying food this winter. 

1 hour ago, Captain Canada said:

My current plan to deal with the price rises is to say no. I'm with Octopus and they tried to double my direct debit earlier in the year and I told them to bolt and paid what I wanted to. They actually owe me money now based on my latest meter readings. 

They aren't on the mainstream news but there are already huge protests taking place in Europe around the cost of living. I don't think people are going to sit back and just put up with choosing between heating and buying food this winter. 

Think it all hinges on what Truss comes up with this week. 

Germany just announced a 65bn euro package to help the poorest and energy intensive industries  earlier today. That takes their spending up to 100bn euros on the energy crisis (approx a third of what they spent on covid support measures).

I'd hope that the UK government is looking to to at least match that sort of commitment.

6 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

Germany just announced a 65bn euro package to help the poorest and energy intensive industries  earlier today. That takes their spending up to 100bn euros on the energy crisis (approx a third of what they spent on covid support measures).

I'd hope that the UK government is looking to to at least match that sort of commitment.

Apparently Truss is set to announce her plans to set an artificial cap on what consumers will pay. The support package could be around £100bn. 

Obviously her recent rhetoric was to win support from the party members and when in power, govern for the whole country? Doesn't do her image any good in terms of trustworthiness. Perhaps pragmatic?

13 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Here you go:

more:

I gave him facts about wave power in Scotland the day before, never replied funnily enough

9 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

Thanks for that, FF. You're averaging about 270odd a month then which isn't an awful lot more than what you've just used for one of the more 'easy' months. Seems to suggest you're quite consistent throughout the year.  We're a family of four, with washing machine on 3-4 times a week but have managed to not use dryer since probably May, and even then we only use it selectively throughout the winter preferring instead to use the clothes horse beside the radiator. The dishwasher maybe goes on between 1-2 times a week. Telly only really on when son is using his xbox. Otherwise it's laptops, chromebooks and tablets/phones. Minimal use of lights but we have quite a few portable led motion detected lights that are quickly usb-charged strategically placed around the house so don't really need to turn lights on moving throughout.

Our combined bill for Aug was made up of 2 parts leccy and 1 part gas.  The gas is relatively cheap compared to the electrical costs. Would almost be better to keep your gas hobs on for heat than use an electric means of heating. Mental!

Anyway, I'm just trying to get my head around how folks pay so much for their energy bills. For Aug 2021 we paid £50, for Aug 2022 we paid £90, despite using marginally less elec/gas this month.  Nothing much we can do about the prices charged but I do find it difficult to understand how the average cost might be £5K, or >£500 pm.

I was 250kwh for August. That seams pretty consistent with my summer usage. It was up at 900kwh back in February...but that seemed at outlier and also when my account got moved so I'm no sure I trust it. It was about 700 in April.

I'm straight electric in the flat, so that's my entire usage.

1 hour ago, pablo said:

Apparently Truss is set to announce her plans to set an artificial cap on what consumers will pay. The support package could be around £100bn. 

Obviously her recent rhetoric was to win support from the party members and when in power, govern for the whole country? Doesn't do her image any good in terms of trustworthiness. Perhaps pragmatic?

The Labour and Jkb comrades response will be 

welcome but not enough blah blah blah 

The general public response will be thank goodness let’s crack on 

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

I was 250kwh for August. That seams pretty consistent with my summer usage. It was up at 900kwh back in February...but that seemed at outlier and also when my account got moved so I'm no sure I trust it. It was about 700 in April.

Yes, electric seems to be the kicker, when it comes to the significant portion of a household's energy costs anyway. Your cooking probably constitutes a good ratio of that usage, although that will decrease significantly into the colder months. Just heard on the radio that 40% of the UK's national electricity grid's output comes from gas sources, so it seems to me on a very basic level, that there's a big leap in costs through the generation process, from pumping in the raw gas. Bit of a racket really!

We have a tenement flat in Leith (been in the family since the mid 30s) that became empty last year. Over the course of the year while we were sorting out the transfer of accounts I would regularly go up and take readings for the energy supliers, although the gas had been turned off and there was obviously no electric used.  What struck me was that it was never cold, that I had no worries about any likelihood that pipes would freeze, etc.  The previous tenant, who had been there for 7 yrs, said that his energy costs, heating anyway, were minimal.

Edited by ArcticJambo

12 hours ago, ArcticJambo said:

I'm at around 160kwh per month. Not put my meter readings in for August yet, suspect it'll be a bit higher as I had workmen in most of the month and they were using the leccy for tools.

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

We were 565KW/h for August. 435KW/h was Electricity.

Never used any heating obviously but we have an electric shower with a broken thermostat so it's essentially always roasting, sometimes too hot for me!

Edited by hughesie27

9 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

Think it all hinges on what Truss comes up with this week. 

Maybe hinges isn't the best word to use when the idiot can't find her way out a room with a door !

😕

18 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I'm at around 160kwh per month. Not put my meter readings in for August yet, suspect it'll be a bit higher as I had workmen in most of the month and they were using the leccy for tools.

15 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

We were 565KW/h for August. 435KW/h was Electricity.

Never used any heating obviously but we have an electric shower with a broken thermostat so it's essentially always roasting, sometimes too hot for me!

Really seems to be the leccy that's the money guzzler!

29 minutes ago, Boab said:

Maybe hinges isn't the best word to use when the idiot can't find her way out a room with a door !

😕

She'd get lost in her own house.