Inflation

jamb0_1874

18 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

jkb experts inflation rate remains high shock :greggy:

Didn't you just post a post to make a positive comment regarding the drop in inflation?  Ergo you must be one of those jkb experts that you're trying to ridicule.

What does one call a person who makes fun of themselves?

🤡

• Replies 3k

• ri Alban

• Unknown user

• The Mighty Thor

• JudyJudyJudy

So one of the key things that effect increases in inflation is power costs. 

Hey pals at the corporate level utility companies gonna reduce costs for a while so it can help hit our 5% target by end of the calendar year?  Aye nae bother Hunty boy but can we raise them again in January?  Sure nae bother because we will have hit our political goal by then.  Oh cheers Hunty.  And sit tight because no doubt our profits will help with all your buddies share dividends next spring.  True dat corporate matey.

On 19/07/2023 at 10:19, manaliveits105 said:

Inflation rate is down though - fact 

Tories getting the country back on track

onwards and upwards 

:lol: love it

£6.99 for Andrex  toilet roll. 9 rolls mind you.  You cant really scrimp on toilet rolls really. Quality over quantity. I was in " pound stretcher" last week and an assistant tried to flog me 9 rolls for£2.99 and got one free.  NO thanks.  The quality was rank. 

2 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

£6.99 for Andrex  toilet roll. 9 rolls mind you.  You cant really scrimp on toilet rolls really. Quality over quantity. I was in " pound stretcher" last week and an assistant tried to flog me 9 rolls for£2.99 and got one free.  NO thanks.  The quality was rank

How did you gauge it in the shop?

Just now, OBE said:

How did you gauge it in the shop?

I just guessed that 18 rolls of bog roll at around a fiver might not be of the highest standard,  one has to be careful what we put near our bums, 

54 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I just guessed that 18 rolls of bog roll at around a fiver might not be of the highest standard,  one has to be careful what we put near our bums, 

Many times I've wiped my erse with old newspapers in stinking, dilapidated bogs when I worked on building sites.

Mind you, they're pampered nowadays with fancy portaloos with running hot water

henrysmithsgloves
3 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

£6.99 for Andrex  toilet roll. 9 rolls mind you.  You cant really scrimp on toilet rolls really. Quality over quantity. I was in " pound stretcher" last week and an assistant tried to flog me 9 rolls for£2.99 and got one free.  NO thanks.  The quality was rank. 

Homemade bidet???

th-2839386688.jpg

23 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Many times I've wiped my erse with old newspapers in stinking, dilapidated bogs when I worked on building sites.

Mind you, they're pampered nowadays with fancy portaloos with running hot water

🤮 😂

15 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Talking of quality……..I’m off to Canada soon and hiring an RV, the guidelines in the description when using the toilet says you can only use one ply toilet paper in case the plumbing gets blocked……one ply wft!!……….there is a high probability that my fingers will go through this feeble digit to hoop barrier.  And, they sell the stuff at the RV pick up depot….a fortune no less.  I got to discussing this with the mrs…..so, I run off 8 sheets of single ply and fold that in half, it then becomes double ply, I fold it again it’s 4 ply yes? (or am I missing something) so, my conclusion is, they can ram this single ply rule right.

11 hours ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

Homemade bidet???

th-2839386688.jpg

I’d suggest it’s an emergency stand in based on how much toilet roll is left on that roll 😳

33 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Talking of quality……..I’m off to Canada soon and hiring an RV, the guidelines in the description when using the toilet says you can only use one ply toilet paper in case the plumbing gets blocked……one ply wft!!……….there is a high probability that my fingers will go through this feeble digit to hoop barrier.  And, they sell the stuff at the RV pick up depot….a fortune no less.  I got to discussing this with the mrs…..so, I run off 8 sheets of single ply and fold that in half, it then becomes double ply, I fold it again it’s 4 ply yes? (or am I missing something) so, my conclusion is, they can ram this single ply rule right.

Yes ram it where the sun don’t shine ,pardon the pun . Or alternatively once u have done a whoopsie put the used toilet rolls in a bag then dump

at rubbish bins en route ? 

That thing you do
On 19/07/2023 at 03:57, Victorian said:

Even if inflation does continue to trend downwards,  it's still not enough to help the cost of living.  Until it comes down to near the basic target of 2%,  it merely means that everything is still rising at a slighly lower rate than it might have.  Food inflation turbulence and variation is likely to exist for some time therefore it may be impossible to stabilise the overall rate of inflation as a result.  The BofE are not likely to greatly reduce interest rates if inflation continues to bob around well above the target.

So when the government inevitably crows about small reductions in the rate of inflation,  they're really just continuing their tendency to piss down your back and tell you it's not even raining.

Exactly. it means its going up a bit less rather than coming down. Anyone expecting a return to previous pricing is in for a shock.

2 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

General Caravan/Motorhome/RV rule - You dont poo in your own loo.

Use Site facilities for major deposits

26 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

General Caravan/Motorhome/RV rule - You dont poo in your own loo.

Use Site facilities for major deposits

No can do for good reasons:

1.  There are bears everywhere.

2. Everywhere there are bears.

3. And wolves.

If I need a whinnie the poo…..my loo will do.

Campsites in Canada tend to be huge with pitches often secluded down tracks with its own clearing often 50+ meters apart and often a few hundred meters from any facilities.

Also, I have hired a huge RV with a huge pump out loo…..not the small cassette (carry) type we have.

pics below:

IMG_5369.webp

IMG_5367.jpeg

IMG_5368.jpeg

Edited by highlandjambo3

14 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

3. And wolves.

Campsites in Canada tend to be huge with pitches often secluded down tracks with its own clearing often 50+ meters apart and often a few hundred meters from any facilities.

Also, I have hired a huge RV with a huge pump out loo…..not the small cassette (carry) type we have.

pics below:

IMG_5369.webp

IMG_5367.jpeg

IMG_5368.jpeg

looks amazing. hope you have a great time. 

1 minute ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

looks amazing. hope you have a great time. 

I’ll be closely tuned into the football at times…..wife thinks there is no Wi-Fi signal…..I know better👍

3 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

I’ll be closely tuned into the football at times…..wife thinks there is no Wi-Fi signal…..I know better👍

👍👍👍

37 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

3. And wolves.

pics below:

IMG_5369.webp

IMG_5367.jpeg

IMG_5368.jpeg

Better hope a grizzly doesn't need a Winnie, might want to use your loo, too.

£3.95 for a small bottle of ketchup or mayo in tesco, 

£2.50 for a wee bottle of franks hot sauce in Scotmid. 

Shocking. 

On 24/07/2023 at 21:50, Nucky Thompson said:

Or round the back of wall-head chimneys.

11 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Or round the back of wall-head chimneys.

In an emergency :biggrin2:

henrysmithsgloves
21 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

3. And wolves.

pics below:

IMG_5369.webp

IMG_5367.jpeg

IMG_5368.jpeg

😳 You tow a caravan with that? Have a good one,watch out for sasquatch 😁

The last cash point has closed in the village near us, there was four when we moved here, we're now thirty five minutes from the nearest one.

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

The last cash point has closed in the village near us, there was four when we moved here, we're now thirty five minutes from the nearest one.

The only time you'll need cash is a pound coin for the locker at the swimming pool.

3 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

The only time you'll need cash is a pound coin for the locker at the swimming pool.

Cash is King Guv'

1 hour ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-66368580.amp

Banks getting richer on the back of interest rate rises.

I saw Carol Vorderman and others saying their should be a windfall tax on the banks but I think they should just stop taking money off people with little to give to people who have a lot.

That's where you're going wrong. Why on earth would anyone listen to Carol Vorderman? One of the champagne socialists Cambridge educated people who seem to believe that being extremely wealthy gives them the right to speak for others.

She's part of problem, not the solution finder.

28 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

And a penny for Stephen Mulherns’s show.

7 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

That's where you're going wrong. Why on earth would anyone listen to Carol Vorderman? One of the champagne socialists Cambridge educated people who seem to believe that being extremely wealthy gives them the right to speak for others.

She's part of problem, not the solution finder.

Still would. 

3 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

If putting up the BoE interest isn't working why keep making the same mistake over and over again?

Forecast .5 increase this week and then further one in Sept. It worked in past as people who had mortgages to pay were impacted immediately. As most are now on tracker mortgages, the impact isn't as immediate as it was years ago and they panic because according to their training manual, what they're doing works. Trouble is the training manual is out of date and hasn't been updated for decades.

They haven't a clue what to do as if they did, they wouldn't be working for BofE, they'd be in private company making money.

16 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Educated people who seem to believe that being extremely wealthy gives them the right to speak for others.

So are you educated, wealthy, or both?

24 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Still would. 

That's a different question. Prefer something more natural myself like her countdown replacement.

3 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

That's a different question. Prefer something more natural myself like her countdown replacement.

:clap:

periodictabledancer
1 hour ago, Stuart Lyon said:

If putting up the BoE interest isn't working why keep making the same mistake over and over again?

Because the only other option is to raise taxation (to even higher levels) and the tories don't like that idea as that would make them look like Labour (but worse, much worse).  If tories raised taxes equating to the level of losses suffered by the average mortgage payer   there'd be riots. 

Much better to create poverty & homelessness for ordinary people - no one ever lost votes because of that. 

4 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

All deliberate to force us cashless . B********

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

Just now, JudyJudyJudy said:

All deliberate to force is cashless . B********

We went down the Twickenham and the only thing I could buy with cash was a programme on the way in, everything else, food, drink or clothing, was card only.

4 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

We went down the Twickenham and the only thing I could buy with cash was a programme on the way in, everything else, food, drink or clothing, was card only.

Even people collecting for charity on the High Street accept contactless.

9 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Shocking 

11 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Even people collecting for charity on the High Street accept contactless.

Never knew, I'm not really surprised though, seems to be a generational thing, my son and his mates never carry cash, I can't leave the house without my wallet with a few quid in it.

2 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Never knew, I'm not really surprised though, seems to be a generational thing, my son and his mates never carry cash, I can't leave the house without my wallet with a few quid in it.

I’m getting into the habit of sometimes leaving the house without cash.

To be fair it does seem weird when I do this.

4 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I’m getting into the habit of sometimes leaving the house without cash.

To be fair it does seem weird when I do this.

I just can't get my head around paying for things with a phone or a watch.

Just now, Dennis Reynolds said:

I barely leave the house with a wallet anymore.

Do you use your phone to pay for things?