Inflation

jamb0_1874

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

If minimum wage earners can't live a nice life, society can't expect them to prop up a system that takes advantage of their sweat.

The whole social contract's ****ed.

Yeah, my oldest has a summer job delivering for dominoes.

hes 19 so about £7.50 ph, £1 per delivery on top which kind of doesn’t cover the car costs of delivering the pizza.

30p more per delivery if you put the sign on your car.

zero hours contract .

how anyone can live on that is beyond me .

it doesn’t cover the rent on his flat over the summer while he’s not at uni, so I’m paying that and all the petrol etc otherwise he’s as well not working at all .

• Replies 3k

• ri Alban

• Unknown user

• The Mighty Thor

• JudyJudyJudy

5 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

Yeah, my oldest has a summer job delivering for dominoes.

hes 19 so about £7.50 ph, £1 per delivery on top which kind of doesn’t cover the car costs of delivering the pizza.

30p more per delivery if you put the sign on your car.

zero hours contract .

how anyone can live on that is beyond me .

it doesn’t cover the rent on his flat over the summer while he’s not at uni, so I’m paying that and all the petrol etc otherwise he’s as well not working at all .

that is awful. Like you say what is the point ? 
I know a few who are off sick because they can’t afford to get to work etc with the costs of travel, childcare etc

7 hours ago, That thing you do said:

7m households in UK are either in default for one or more bills or borrowed 1to pay bills/used a credit card.

A further 1.2m will be insolvent by years end

That is for May and is absolutely mental 

Go **** yourself.

And stick your shite idea

for a business up your hoop.

I hope you fail miserably.

That thing you do
15 minutes ago, Trigger said:

Go **** yourself.

ok...

Edited by That thing you do

Let's see how the energy price reduction,  goes.

Why can't labour promise to put this back to before the cap was lifted? It's criminal what's been going on.

That thing you do
5 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Let's see how the energy price reduction,  goes.

Why can't labour promise to put this back to before the cap was lifted? It's criminal what's been going on.

Labour are literally living up to being a shadow government. Their strategy is be a bawhair short of the tories so tories fancy voting for them.

Same with Brexit etc. Expecting labour to offer a genuine alternative will leave you waiting a long long time.

It is a shame they dont aspire to offer a real alternative but theres a reason they are called Red Tories.

1 minute ago, That thing you do said:

Labour are literally living up to being a shadow government. Their strategy is be a bawhair short of the tories so tories fancy voting for them.

Same with Brexit etc. Expecting labour to offer a genuine alternative will leave you waiting a long long time.

It is a shame they dont aspire to offer a real alternative but theres a reason they are called Red Tories.

The Tories should offer an english independence referendum.  It would win the election and get Scotland its independence. 

That thing you do
Just now, ri Alban said:

The Tories should offer an english independence referendum.  It would win the election and get Scotland its independence. 

It would. So strange they wont...

Unless....

Just now, That thing you do said:

It would. So strange they wont...

*Unless....

*:Agree:

1 hour ago, Trigger said:

Go **** yourself.

FB_IMG_1688266471459.jpg.e5d1d85354f21a382fab2130232bc8d1.jpg

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

FB_IMG_1688266471459.jpg.e5d1d85354f21a382fab2130232bc8d1.jpg

Who did they used to be. Some unionist who doesn't do irony, most probably. 

I'm up early for a game of golf.

Posts from 4.30 on a Sunday morning.

What are you guys up to at that time on a Sunday :hae36:

9 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

I'm up early for a game of golf.

Posts from 4.30 on a Sunday morning.

What are you guys up to at that time on a Sunday :hae36:

My dog's got an infected paw so I'm up early to clean it, give her her medication and make sure she's ok. The rest is just bonus

5 hours ago, Trigger said:

Go **** yourself.

:olly:

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Getting ready to play Caldwell.  Too excited to sleep. 😊 

@Tommy Brown

Best wishes to your dog

5 hours ago, Smithee said:

My dog's got an infected paw so I'm up early to clean it, give her her medication and make sure she's ok. The rest is just bonus

Good luck at the golf

Competition and Markets Authority confirms that supermarket fuels ripped us off by 6p a litre in 2022 due to lack of competition. 

54 minutes ago, Ribble said:

Competition and Markets Authority confirms that supermarket fuels ripped us off by 6p a litre in 2022 due to lack of competition. 

Action taken by the regulator.........

Hammer the supermarkets for price gouging?

Nope. create a website to show where fuel is cheaper.

Operating a cartel.  There is no good reason to believe that they're not doing likewise on groceries.  

Quite funny to see Grant Shapps raging about people ripping other people off though.  Orly?

These supermarkets will be fined, probably, but who benefits from the fines? Not the people who were overcharged. 

So the supermarkets have been at it . I said that months ago and got poo pooed on this by some . Vindicated yet again. 😎

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

So the supermarkets have been at it . I said that months ago and got poo pooed on this by some . Vindicated yet again. 😎

You really do talk fecking shine. Away you go and bow down to your new found overlords and the jug eared King. 

Everyone and their blun cat knows what they've been doing, so be quiet, go to your alphabet thread and talk down your fellow minorities. 

10 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

You really do talk fecking shine. Away you go and bow down to your new found overlords and the jug eared King. 

Everyone and their blun cat knows what they've been doing, so be quiet, go to your alphabet thread and talk down your fellow minorities. 

Bolt . I’ve always been  a republican . I Just don’t blow a gasket any time Charles or the royals are mentioned . Unlike you . Keep the blood pressure low. . You’ll need to for Wednesday 😂

periodictabledancer

Welcome to "treasure island" where effective competition in the market place has been wiped out and retailers shamelessly  lie to or mislead parliament ...

ArcticJambo

Petrol 1.36.7 and diesel 142.7, Asda/Shell in Montrose, and a penny more at Esso in Arbroath, today.

Edited by ArcticJambo

So it seems Halifax has priced itself out the market for remortgages. Very dangerous precedent if banks don't want the risk of taking on new business etc.

11 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

So it seems Halifax has priced itself out the market for remortgages. Very dangerous precedent if banks don't want the risk of taking on new business etc.

It’s herd mentality from mortgage lenders.

I heard a mortgage broker talking on the radio about how a small mortgage lender hadn’t been raising its rates then found it was now top of the best buy mortgage tables.  They panicked because of the applications they were receiving and raised rates to get off top position.

52 minutes ago, Ked said:

Out on the balcony .Cup of tea and a puff.

I love the weather that's on its way.

Aye that smell in the air

3 hours ago, Ked said:

Out on the balcony .Cup of tea and a puff.

I love the weather that's on its way.

That should bring down inflation.  👍

11 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I'm away to the weather thread to discuss the next BOE meeting schedule!

6 hours ago, Smithee said:

Aye that smell in the air

3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

The disappointing thing is it never amounted to now 😄

The weather

45 minutes ago, Ked said:

The disappointing thing is it never amounted to now 😄

The weather

I hope you're not suggesting that the weather is going up in price.  :biggrin: 

3 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

I hope you're not suggesting that the weather is going up in price.  :biggrin: 

Hey mind the two Ronnie sketch about water.

I got lost on kickback I'm fekt I honestly am.

🤪

1 minute ago, Ked said:

Hey mind the two Ronnie sketch about water.

I got lost on kickback I'm fekt I honestly am.

🤪

I had, to quote Taylor Swift, a bottle of "cheap-ass screwtop rosé" tonight, and I'm feeling OK.  

(Same price as last year, just saying) 

Just now, Ulysses said:

I had, to quote Taylor Swift, a bottle of "cheap-ass screwtop rosé" tonight, and I'm feeling OK.  

(Same price as last year, just saying) 

I like vodka mate.

Russian bottle for a Russian bot.

Let's derail the fek oot this thread.

Kgb style

Just now, Ked said:

Let's derail the fek oot this thread.

Kgb style

JKB posts are the same price as they've always been, so that's kind of relevant to a thread about inflation.  

3 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

JKB posts are the same price as they've always been, so that's kind of relevant to a thread about inflation.  

Now I feel guilty cos I get it for free the state of me claiming ti be conservative. 

😆

15 minutes ago, Ked said:

Now I feel guilty cos I get it for free the state of me claiming ti be conservative. 

😆

7 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's a global problem likesy

:kirk:

Good news this means rates in US probably peaked.

If you compare US and UK interest rates they tend to follow the same path so expect UK rates to peak lower than currently expected.

1 minute ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Good news this means rates in US probably peaked.

If you compare US and UK interest rates they tend to follow the same path so expect UK rates to peak lower than currently expected.

UK inflation is nearly 3 times the US rate and doesn't seem to be shifting.

Interest rates will be going up. 

Noticed in Tesco recently that Diesel & petrol prices are the same now. Diesel was usually around 10p per Litre more than petrol. 
Diesel cheap or perol expensive???

Yeah, petrol is expensive!

Theyre taking the piss and this shite is EXACTLY what’s contributing to high inflation rates. 

Its not wage increases for the masses anyway. Thats for sure!!!

Edited by Pans Jambo

32 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

UK inflation is nearly 3 times the US rate and doesn't seem to be shifting.

Interest rates will be going up. 

I think UK inflation will start falling soon the Government and BOE will claim they were correct all along but in reality they would have fallen anyway as last years price rises fall out of the calculation.

I happened to switch on the Jeremy Vine show today and that repugnant, tory loving, far right, brainwashed, hoor Carole Malone (if she was any further to the right she would have a swastika on her neclace) was talking shite about how wage increases are the cause of high inflation and thats why the BoE are having to raise interest rates!

Roon ye ya ex-News of the world, GB News regular Bint!!!

Most of Britain havent had a proper wage increase for 10 years whilst Corporations have been raking in Billions of profit recently! Aye, the wee lassie in M&S is the reason your mortage rate has went for £500/month to £2500/month! 

Get the tory boaby oot yer gub ya munter!!!

Corporate greed is why inflation has went mental. Just look at Teacos profits on food. And the profits made by the greedy energy bosses Which is exactly what inflation is measured by!!!

Corporate greed!!!

Are yer dividends taking a hit if wages go up like???

Edited by Pans Jambo

35 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

I happened to switch on the Jeremy Vine show today and that repugnant, tory loving, far right, brainwashed, hoor Carole Malone (if she was any further to the right she would have a swastika on her neclace) was talking shite about how wage increases are the cause of high inflation and thats why the BoE are having to raise interest rates!

Nah it's definitely still Putins war and Covid according to Oliver Dowden in HoC this lunchtime.

Not impacting the USA though

45 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Roon ye ya ex-News of the world, GB News regular Bint!!!

Most of Britain havent had a proper wage increase for 10 years whilst Corporations have been raking in Billions of profit recently! Aye, the wee lassie in M&S is the reason your mortage rate has went for £500/month to £2500/month! 

Get the tory boaby oot yer gub ya munter!!!

Corporate greed is why inflation has went mental. Just look at Teacos profits on food. And the profits made by the greedy energy bosses Which is exactly what inflation is measured by!!!

Corporate greed!!!

Are yer dividends taking a hit if wages go up like???

Excellent post. 

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

Noticed in Tesco recently that Diesel & petrol prices are the same now. Diesel was usually around 10p per Litre more than petrol. 
Diesel cheap or perol expensive???

Yeah, petrol is expensive!

Theyre taking the piss and this shite is EXACTLY what’s contributing to high inflation rates. 

Its not wage increases for the masses anyway. Thats for sure!!!

The wholesale price of diesel has been cheaper than petrol since March, but the ****s have not passed it on until they were shamed.

Even then they are still screwing us for every last penny

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's a global problem likesy

:kirk:

Every cloud. The pound reached 1.30 to the dollar on the news :whistling:

Maybe they'll knock a few pence of a litre of petrol seeing crude is bought in US Dollars :no: