Inflation

jamb0_1874

Just now, Dazo said:

We will never agree because you think get government is there to pay our bills. 

1653580652493.thumb.png.c9eb669e83bd7bc7236dfa114f88e7de.png

• Replies 3k

• ri Alban

• Unknown user

• The Mighty Thor

• JudyJudyJudy

So somebody with near million pound holiday home in Elie gets 400 off their utility bills on their first home and another 400 off their second home?

And on top of that even if only one of them is a pensioner they get another 300 quid?

That has got to be good for them.  Free money.  Or is it fair that they get all this even though they are that well off, in asset terms well off anyway, they could be cash poor.

Interesting way he has done this but guess everyone should benefit to some degree if he is taking a windfall tax as a way of raising the cash or at least some of the cash.

Edited by joondalupjambo

4 hours ago, Smithee said:

It doesn't go far enough. 400 quid off a bill that just went up by 800 quid and will likely rise by the same in October is pathetic.

It isnt enough . I agree. 

1 hour ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

Your labelling of the poorest in society is somewhat ‘unfortunate’.

A £400 energy grant for people such as yourself is fine.

A £400 energy grant plus £650 Cost of Living lump sum = “Scrounger”.

Deary me.

I cant remember what i was going to say here :) 

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

People on benefits and low earners get more. £400 really shouldn’t be scoffed at by anyone outside those groups imo. Maybe it should be means tested so those that really need it get even more and those that don’t need any get nothing ? Plenty families don’t need the £400, I’m more than that in credit so I’d happily miss out. I don’t think everyone should just get it without having to apply, money to be saved there and passed on.

We will never agree because you think get government is there to pay our bills. 

I think the reason it isn't means tested is that it would be too beauracrtic ( i cant spell it )  to work and maybe too costly.?  Maybe the more affluent  virtue signallers * there are plenty on this ( check the I hate the Tories thread)  , could forgo their share of the money and donate it to charities or other organisation which would help poorer people.  ?  They could also have a new Avatar on this or Facebook etc  stating " I donated my £400  Energy payment back to the needy".  its a win win . The poor get the money and the virtue signallers get the kudos of being a "really nice person"   

4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I think the reason it isn't means tested is that it would be too beauracrtic ( i cant spell it )  to work and maybe too costly.?  Maybe the more affluent  virtue signallers * there are plenty on this ( check the I hate the Tories thread)  , could forgo their share of the money and donate it to charities or other organisation which would help poorer people.  ?  They could also have a new Avatar on this or Facebook etc  stating " I donated my £400  Energy payment back to the needy".  its a win win . The poor get the money and the virtue signallers get the kudos of being a "really nice person"   

:gok: you're on fire today Jamsey 

14 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

image-23-10-21-12-07-1.gif

WorldChampions1902
25 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Apart from his acknowledged memory lapse ☺️

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

People on benefits and low earners get more. £400 really shouldn’t be scoffed at by anyone outside those groups imo. Maybe it should be means tested so those that really need it get even more and those that don’t need any get nothing ? Plenty families don’t need the £400, I’m more than that in credit so I’d happily miss out. I don’t think everyone should just get it without having to apply, money to be saved there and passed on.

*We will never agree because you think get government is there to pay our bills. 

*Rather than rob us blind.

40 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

What's your account number?

As I posted on the other thread;

Scotland's oil and gas bailing out the exchequer again.

Sponging Jocks but.

Amirite?

Jambo_jim2001
3 hours ago, Dazo said:

People on benefits/low earners will rightly get more don’t they ?  I know you struggle to get your head round this but the government isn’t here to pay peoples bills. 

That's true, surely any government rules with the consent of the people. The majority of whom now are getting miffed off with what's going on 

Jambo_jim2001
23 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Sponging Jocks but.

Amirite?

Not our oil, Thatcher seen to that along with a fair few national assets 

1 hour ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

Apart from his acknowledged memory lapse ☺️

OH yes ! still cant remember what i was going to write...might come back at 5 am. or something :) 

50 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Sponging Jocks but.

Amirite?

image-23-10-21-07-07-6.jpeg

4 hours ago, Smithee said:

The unemployed are people, although they'll get more. But no, 400 isn't enough. It doesn't cover anything like the rise, never mind the original amount, so your paying the bill pish is just that. 

It's good to see some action, but that's all it is, some action, and purely to take pressure off bawjaws, they're definitely not thinking of my best interests, and you're just a useful tool.

The UK is sick, the problems are much, much bigger than what this does. The system needs fixed. 

I  suspect  the government will  come up with another household energy subsidy plan before the end of the year.  A rise in the Energy Cap just before winter is going to make them very unpopular if they don't do something to mitigate it.  

25 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

I  suspect  the government will  come up with another household energy subsidy plan before the end of the year.  A rise in the Energy Cap just before winter is going to make them very unpopular if they don't do something to mitigate it.  

And another in January!

Put NI up, then reduce it (still above pre rise rate)and claim you have cut NI. Same thing will happen with fuel of all types. Increase, then drop it and claim you have cut it.

8 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

I think your correct.

The hope, I think/believe, is that prices are peaking out. There are a few economist, especially in US, who think inflation is topping out; especially if oil stays at same levels to what is now. 

Not sure I see it the same(mainly because Ukraine) but there is a logic to follow around that view in fairness There is a bit data pointing to this view now. 

I think we see WM try to hedge their bets and do nothing until they have no option but to do something. 

I think they will end up trying to take the hit on cost over and above where it will settle. Which is more than moment but not as high as will be. 

I’ve talked a bit about breaking demand, the issue is your trying to break demand in the upper end who are responsible for most the spends. (Approx 10% are responsible for about 70% in spending terms depending where are etc.) So to break demand, the lower end goes through severe hardship in the meantime. Albeit short term pain for long term gain logic

Personally would have liked to have seen a bit more help for lower end of society as breaking their demand is not a problem. I can understand reluctance around due to the QE we’ve indulged in but……needs must and all that, 

I would have also possibly looked about playing about with capital gains or something for individuals just to break or temper demand at upper end where it needs stoped. (Probably wouldn’t do it but just float idea to make things move). Might even float the idea of a wealth tax; albeit wouldn't seriously entertain it. 

Im also think we may see some more targeted price controls come in the future. Been little noise around it but it may well come and from the tories 😂

So those who were interested in my views bet your bored now. 😴

Something else will need to be done as windfall tax won’t work longer term. Big businesses will get rid of those unexpected profits soon enough. All those too costly projects and infrastructure will be actioned to drive down profits. It will be a 1 or 2 hit wonder. 

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

We done the opposition and Sue Grey. Otherwise this would not have happened.

Amazing how the ‘magic money tree’ will cough up when Spaffer and Sunak’s reputations/careers are on the line. 

Rees-Mogg will have been on the telegraph to Nanny to seek solace over this disgusting government socialism. 

Jambo-Jimbo

As much as yesterday's packages are helpful and they are helpful, but they are a just a sticking plaster, as these high energy prices are expected to be around for another 2 or 3 years at least. 

We need something more long term, I don't know what tbh, but we're going to be in the same or an even worse position next year as there will be even more people whose finances are stretched even further by then, and then if as expected we go into a recession then even more people will be struggling.

I would hope that they are working on something more long term.

17 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

I was planning on doing this (similar to my council tax rebate) until I realised they're handing out additional money to people based on their age, not the wealth. So I'll be keeping it now.

13 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

I think your correct.

The hope, I think/believe, is that prices are peaking out. There are a few economist, especially in US, who think inflation is topping out; especially if oil stays at same levels to what is now. 

Not sure I see it the same(mainly because Ukraine) but there is a logic to follow around that view in fairness There is a bit data pointing to this view now. 

I think we see WM try to hedge their bets and do nothing until they have no option but to do something. 

I think they will end up trying to take the hit on cost over and above where it will settle. Which is more than moment but not as high as will be. 

I’ve talked a bit about breaking demand, the issue is your trying to break demand in the upper end who are responsible for most the spends. (Approx 10% are responsible for about 70% in spending terms depending where are etc.) So to break demand, the lower end goes through severe hardship in the meantime. Albeit short term pain for long term gain logic

Personally would have liked to have seen a bit more help for lower end of society as breaking their demand is not a problem. I can understand reluctance around due to the QE we’ve indulged in but……needs must and all that, 

I would have also possibly looked about playing about with capital gains or something for individuals just to break or temper demand at upper end where it needs stoped. (Probably wouldn’t do it but just float idea to make things move). Might even float the idea of a wealth tax; albeit wouldn't seriously entertain it. 

Im also think we may see some more targeted price controls come in the future. Been little noise around it but it may well come and from the tories 😂

So those who were interested in my views bet your bored now. 😴

tldr.

Joking, another interesting post, cheers 👍

12 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I was planning on doing this (similar to my council tax rebate) until I realised they're handing out additional money to people based on their age, not the wealth. So I'll be keeping it now.

Galahad - ALDI Stores UK - Untappd

9 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

Galahad - ALDI Stores UK - Untappd

That's what this one's going on!! Joking aside, my flat is horrifcly insulated so I will probably actually need this on come winter. Is a beer jacket real? 😂

12 minutes ago, Taffin said:

That's what this one's going on!! Joking aside, my flat is horrifcly insulated so I will probably actually need this on come winter. Is a beer jacket real? 😂

:D Aye, beer jackets are for real, just don't go falling asleep outside in the snow.

I benefited from one of those government funded insulation schemes that are going on in Edinburgh where they wrap council and ex-council houses in 100m of insulation then render over the top of it.  Made a huge difference, but I really need to upgrade the windows, conservatory, and French doors to triple glazing. That wont be cheap.

Are there no insulation schemes/discounts available round your manor?

Edited by Dirk McClaymore

36 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Yes im keeping mine too. Get myself a rig ooot. 

1 minute ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

Made a huge difference, but I really need to upgrade the windows, conservatory, and French doors to triple glazing. That wont be cheap.

image-23-10-21-07-01-10.jpeg

3 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

:D Aye, beer jackets are for real, just don't go falling asleep outside in the snow.

I benefited from one of those government funded insulation schemes that are going on in Edinburgh where they wrap council and ex-council houses in 100m of insulation then render over the top of it.  Made a huge difference, but I really need to upgrade the windows, conservatory, and French doors to triple glazing. That wont be cheap.

Are there no insulation schemes/discounts available round your manor?

I've a high ceiling which makes it worse. I've been looking to move for ages so keep putting it off but I'll see if there's anything on offer round here as feck paying to heat the beams at these prices!

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes im keeping mine too. Get myself a rig ooot. 

I've been away from Scotland a while, but I must admit to not ever recalling the phrase 'a rig ooot'...I assume it's booze related? 

Edited by Taffin

3 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I've a high ceiling which makes it worse. I've been looking to move for ages so keep putting it off but I'll see if there's anything on offer round here as feck paying to heat the beams at these prices!

I've been away from Scotland a while, but I must admit to not ever recalling the phrase 'a rig ooot'...I assume it's booze related? 

Getting a  " rig oot" is purchasing a brand. new set of clothes.  Giving yourself a treat, We always got a rig oot when we started each new year of high school sorry secondary school 

2 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

AliveRemarkableFairyfly.webp:

:greggy:

oh wow  One of them looks like me when i am normal and the other when i have done drag....! :)

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

oh wow  One of them looks like me when i am normal and the other when i have done drag....! :)

:wub:

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

Getting a  " rig oot" is purchasing a brand. new set of clothes.  Giving yourself a treat, We always got a rig oot when we started each new year of high school sorry secondary school 

Ah okay, never heard that, I like it though...rig oot! Good thing to spend it on, always feels great getting a new outfit or piece of clothing. I wore my new shoes last weekend for their first outing. Felt magnificent.

Never heard of that one, what area was this?

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

The area between his ears.

3 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Ah okay, never heard that, I like it though...rig oot! Good thing to spend it on, always feels great getting a new outfit or piece of clothing. I wore my new shoes last weekend for their first outing. Felt magnificent.

Not bought anything new for a while. So might look about. However it will help to pay the bills too so im not being flippant or insensitive to others who will genuinely need it to pay their energy bills. Id rather it had been means tested and then more money was given to those most in need to be honest. 

5 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Merchiston 😁

Edited by JamesM48

Just now, Dirk McClaymore said:

The area between his ears.

Oxgangs ?

Merchiston 😁

Rich boy, eh. Explains your detachment form reality.

3 minutes ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

Rich boy, eh. Explains your detachment form reality.

R (12).gif

14 minutes ago, Smithee said:

IM just joking Smithee. I'm a working class boy from humble beginnings really but don't like saying too much about myself on this .   Identity theft and all 😮 

3 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

In fact I thought it was a boys school and that may have explained something

3 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Not many working class families doing that unless you were exceptionally gifted at something; seems unlikely 😏

when did you sharpen your claws... :) 

image-23-10-21-06-58-6.gif

6 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I thought you went to a private school? In fact I thought it was a boys school and that may have explained something 😂 My bad if misread something or confused you with someone else. 

As someone who sends their kids to private school, I know the finances and it's not cheap. Not many working class families doing that unless you were exceptionally gifted at something; seems unlikely 😏

Not that it really changes anything. You are what you are and your background really doesn't change that. 

Also, I'm not having a pop just slightly surprised was all. That said half oxgangs goes to my kids school and is a fecking dump. The property prices and Edinburgh affluence in general I guess facilities that. 

Speaking of oxgangs. I miss @guvernortarkin, has he changed user name or no longer post? Guy cracked me up and seemed a decent switched on sort tbh. Need more posters like that. 

Governor Tarkin is alive and well 👍 but no longer posts on here.

Pans Jambo
On 26/05/2022 at 13:45, Smithee said:

It doesn't go far enough. 400 quid off a bill that just went up by 800 quid and will likely rise by the same in October is pathetic.

Correct. The yoons on here are off their trolleys. Its going up by £830 not £400!!!

Heres a novel idea, get the UK gov to re-introduce the cap and keep it there!!!