TYNECASTLE STADIUM UPGRADE POTENTIAL - UEFA category 4 granted ( updated/merged )

rickyjambo

Just now, Philfigo said:

I am convinced after seeing the additional lights they are the Euro disco lighting, they look nice compact LED ones. I am a sparky so will probs be wrong lol

When I saw them today I was convinced they are just additional floodlights 🤷🏼‍♂️,.as the look exactly the same as the existing floodlights. I don't think they are disco lights (sadly).

• Replies 6.6k

• Sooks

• Watt-Zeefuik

• OTT

4 minutes ago, tazhearts said:

When I saw them today I was convinced they are just additional floodlights 🤷🏼‍♂️,.as the look exactly the same as the existing floodlights. I don't think they are disco lights (sadly).

Aye you may be right, just really strange having to put that many additional lights in if it is for Euro compliance. As you think the disco lighting would be great as it would really add to the big atmosphere. 

Edited by Philfigo

16 minutes ago, tazhearts said:

I think you could be right. They look quite similar to these white stadium lights - https://www.inui.co.uk/collections/led-sports-stadium-lights-1/products/750-w-led-sports-stadium-light

Space Mackerel

The lights have been added because the European League's sponsors have a minimum amount of lumens stated for the matches.

As far as I know Hearts have had to do loads to be UEFA compliant even having to double the media suit and it was either do this or play at Murrayfield 👍🏻

2 hours ago, tynietigers said:

As far as I know Hearts have had to do loads to be UEFA compliant even having to double the media suit and it was either do this or play at Murrayfield 👍🏻

Doesn’t surprise me in the slightest. I remember reading some of the UEFA conditions (Years ago!) and some of the stipulations are baffling. Even the amount of time goal music is played and how it’s announced being one of them!

8 hours ago, campbell said:

When are the screens due to go in? 

Hoping to have them in by a week on Thursday, according to previous reports 👍🏼

36F8A9B5-8BDB-418C-A8C1-7331E0CC6C25.jpeg

Hearts of Vladland
9 hours ago, JALBO said:

I think you could be right. They look quite similar to these white stadium lights - https://www.inui.co.uk/collections/led-sports-stadium-lights-1/products/750-w-led-sports-stadium-light

They are Philips lights. 

https://www.lighting.philips.com/main/prof/outdoor-luminaires/sports-and-area-floodlighting/high-end-sports-floodlighting/arenavision-led-gen3.5

Here is a example of the arenavision being used in a lighting show.

We might not have the coloured lights installed but the floodlights theirselves can be used in lighting shows. Around 0.40 seconds gives you an example, you can also have the lights running around the pitch one light at a time. I’ll try find more examples later.

Signify are involved with the install, that is their video.

Hearts of Vladland
10 hours ago, Philfigo said:

Aye you may be right, just really strange having to put that many additional lights in if it is for Euro compliance. As you think the disco lighting would be great as it would really add to the big atmosphere. 

FWIW, we really cheaped out when we installed the first set, we went from 2000 lux to 800 lux, from 52 fittings down to 14 LEDs which is are like for like replacement roughly.

27 minutes ago, Hearts of Vladland said:

They are Philips lights. 

https://www.lighting.philips.com/main/prof/outdoor-luminaires/sports-and-area-floodlighting/high-end-sports-floodlighting/arenavision-led-gen3.5

We might not have the coloured lights installed but the floodlights theirselves can be used in lighting shows. Around 0.40 seconds gives you an example, you can also have the lights running around the pitch one light at a time. I’ll try find more examples later.

Cheers for this. I know some Couldnae care less about things like this but I find it really interesting. So you reckon we’ve got the capability to have these strobe/disco light effects should we want to? 

As an aside, I noticed yesterday that the floodlight lamps looked exactly like the lamps that are now running the length of the stands. Have the floodlights been like that for a while, or have they just recently been replaced (perhaps when these new standside lights were being installed?)

A strobe show and big screens, on a dark European night in Gorgie? Oooft 😊👌🏼

Hearts of Vladland
4 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Cheers for this. I know some Couldnae care less about things like this but I find it really interesting. So you reckon we’ve got the capability to have these strobe/disco light effects should we want to? 

As an aside, I noticed yesterday that the floodlight lamps looked exactly like the lamps that are now running the length of the stands. Have the floodlights been like that for a while, or have they just recently been replaced (perhaps when these new standside lights were being installed?)

A strobe show and big screens, on a dark European night in Gorgie? Oooft 😊👌🏼

The lights are 100% capable of doing shows, it just depends what controls have been installed, the lights are DALI controlled which means each light is addressable and can be individual controlled, it just depends what controller they install, it’s not a big job to change that it’s probably pretty costly. Give how the lights have been installed around in a circle I’d be shocked if we don’t see light shows in Europe this season.

Here is a better example;

1 hour ago, KyleLafferty said:

Disco lights would be good for other events we could hold at tynecastle like boxing etc.

JKB box office event right there 

1 hour ago, Hearts of Vladland said:

The lights are 100% capable of doing shows, it just depends what controls have been installed, the lights are DALI controlled which means each light is addressable and can be individual controlled, it just depends what controller they install, it’s not a big job to change that it’s probably pretty costly. Give how the lights have been installed around in a circle I’d be shocked if we don’t see light shows in Europe this season.

I noticed the new installations in the stands yesterday for the first time, were they there for the Ross County game? If they can do the kind of stuff the video shows dark Saturdays and hopefully Sundays in December and January are going to be fun. 

2 hours ago, Hearts of Vladland said:

Brilliant. Hopefully we utilise these to their maximum capacity going forward 🙏🏼🙏🏼

Looking forward to the new lighting system .only problem is it won't be properly dark at 7-30 pm for about another 6 weeks yet 

2 hours ago, kila said:

Light shows might help scare away the seagulls 

Joking aside, can we not do something about that?

Perth to Paisley

A couple of [covid] years ago we had a small 'bird of prey' flying around and that scared the seagulls away.

Shouldn't cost a lot to arrange again.

44 minutes ago, pablo said:

Joking aside, can we not do something about that?

See the source image

Just now, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

See the source image

We need a massive fecker like this

5 hours ago, Hearts of Vladland said:

They are Philips lights. 

Great, should be good!

16 hours ago, Philfigo said:

I am convinced after seeing the additional lights they are the Euro disco lighting, they look nice compact LED ones. I am a sparky so will probs be wrong lol

New lights are identical to the ones we installed on the pylons last year. Doubt we will be seeing any discolight shows off them.

Space Mackerel
19 hours ago, tynietigers said:

Yup. And increase the commentary booths by loads. 
I was talking to the stadium manager at Lockies testimonial for a wee while after. 

4 minutes ago, Chaps said:

Disco lights and football together is shite and tacky.

Keep them for other events as previously mentioned.

I do not know …………. I think before our home Euro group games it could add a bit of atmosphere and get people quite up for it

8 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

I noticed the new installations in the stands yesterday for the first time, were they there for the Ross County game? If they can do the kind of stuff the video shows dark Saturdays and hopefully Sundays in December and January are going to be fun. 

What about Thursday nights in October and November? 

From the photo posted on the previous page it looks like only one of each pair of lights are focussed on the pitch which could be a clue they’re not just for pitch illumination. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

From the photo posted on the previous page it looks like only one of each pair of lights are focussed on the pitch which could be a clue they’re not just for pitch illumination. 

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. 

Its very exciting 

Disco lights would be nothing short of sensational. 

If these aren't said lights we should get some FoH money invested in making them a priority. 

7 minutes ago, Sarah O said:

Disco lights would be nothing short of sensational. 

If these aren't said lights we should get some FoH money invested in making them a priority. 

Good quality IP rated lights of that type don’t come cheap. Then add the coat of control desks etc it builds up quickly. 

44 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Good quality IP rated lights of that type don’t come cheap. Then add the coat of control desks etc it builds up quickly. 

Worth every penny. 

8 hours ago, Perth to Paisley said:

A couple of [covid] years ago we had a small 'bird of prey' flying around and that scared the seagulls away.

Shouldn't cost a lot to arrange again.

Seems a tad  OTT 

Mob_Klingon_Bird-of-Prey_2.png

Edited by Bazzas right boot

1 hour ago, Chaps said:

Disco lights and football together is shite and tacky.

Keep them for other events as previously mentioned.

I thought so too,  but they are quality. 

Murrayfield show is brilliant. 

1 hour ago, SUTOL said:

What about Thursday nights in October and November? 

Also be great if we should have a money spinning replay on a Wednesday. 

andythejambo
2 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Also be great if we should have a money spinning replay on a Wednesday. 

Have replays not just been scrapped ?

Hearts of Vladland
1 hour ago, Tazio said:

I’m sure the contractor that won the job fitted all the lights then got a specialist in to aim them so I suspect this photo was just taken in between times, they all looked to be aimed at the pitch on Sunday.

2 minutes ago, Hearts of Vladland said:

I’m sure the contractor that won the job fitted all the lights then got a specialist in to aim them so I suspect this photo was just taken in between times, they all looked to be aimed at the pitch on Sunday.

I have a photo from yesterday but it's too large to upload. They do all appear to be pointing at the pitch. 

FarmerTweedy
10 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

But can we afford to? The way leccy prices are going, the lighting could soon cost almost as much as the window cleaning. 🥺

43 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

I have a photo from yesterday but it's too large to upload. They do all appear to be pointing at the pitch. 

You can reduce the size of the photo. 

2 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Yes, you can reduce file size. 

You just taught me something.

Will take a bit zooming in to see the lights mind.

20220814_150003.jpg

• davemclaren changed the title to TYNECASTLE STADIUM UPGRADE POTENTIAL - UEFA category 4 granted ( updated/merged )