*****Official Heart of Midlothian Vs Alloa thread ******

Bongo 1874

Btw just for comparison. I'm a cricket fan and been watching the stream on YouTube of Middlesex v Somerset. So what? Well, Prince Philip was a patron of Middlesex CC and a former MCC President. The cricket is carrying on regardless. Seems nuts that a Scottish Championship match is affected in any way whatsoever

• Replies 2.7k

• sadj

• Hearts007

• Bongo 1874

lost in space
26 minutes ago, Hearts007 said:

big deal

I think it is a big deal when posters are factually incorrect - like you were.

I think some folk have missed this guy was married to head of state. 

This is what happens, irony not lost we are now complaining about not getting to watch the shite we have been complaining about for months. 

Head scratcher  :lol:

Just now, lost in space said:

I think it is a big deal when posters are factually incorrect - like you were.

in your opinion

image.jpeg.f4b7240e30c73b8ed3e879e5555a6594.jpeg                                            2003, ‘You look like you’re ready for bed’ to President of Nigeria in National dress.

lost in space
12 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

How come he was  a Duke anyway. Why is he not the King if he’s married to the queen?

Ha. Lineage. Actually Queen was Duchess of Edinburgh before she was Queen.

Jambo in Bathgate

Ah now I realise why the TV coverage of tonight’s game is cancelled. Because BBC Scotland channel are doing their own coverage from a Scottish prospective and Alba are doing it in Gaelic . That’s what happens when you have irrelevant TV channels. They drop their best viewed programmes to be more Scottish than BBC One Scotland.
Glad I have two season tickets 😂

Edited by Jambo in Bathgate
Additional info

Not sure I understand why BBC Scotland is impacted when BBC One is going to be wall to wall coverage.    Seems to be enough channels to cover live sporting events and the sad passing of the Duke of Edinburgh.   It's not like live sport is being cancelled out of respect.     I guess the BBC need to err on the side of caution and they are trying to 'out do' other broadcasters.    Never thought for a second the live coverage would be under threat until popping on here just now.

2 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Btw just for comparison. I'm a cricket fan and been watching the stream on YouTube of Middlesex v Somerset. So what? Well, Prince Philip was a patron of Middlesex CC and a former MCC President. The cricket is carrying on regardless. Seems nuts that a Scottish Championship match is affected in any way whatsoever

BBC. It will be written into their constitution. Other channels it wouldn't matter, strange BBC 4 hasn't changed but doesn't mean it won't 

14 minutes ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

It's all a bit over the top the TV coverage. 

How much can you possibly say for hours and hours in a row about one man. 

Exactly. Thank god the Masters is still on - I was planning on watching that and the darts instead of us anyway. 

Just now, lost in space said:

Ha. Lineage. Actually Queen was Duchess of Edinburgh before she was Queen.

If it were a king that got married would his wife be queen?

Just now, Gmcjambo said:

Not sure I understand why BBC Scotland is impacted when BBC One is going to be wall to wall coverage.    Seems to be enough channels to cover live sporting events and the sad passing of the Duke of Edinburgh.   It's not like live sport is being cancelled out of respect.     I guess the BBC need to err on the side of caution and they are trying to 'out do' other broadcasters.    Never thought for a second the live coverage would be under threat until popping on here just now.

I guess its their job to mark the occasion respectfully. 

Old fashioned perhaps, personally I don't have a problem with that, so little respect for anything these days 

lost in space
2 minutes ago, Hearts007 said:

in your opinion

You are being silly now. You made a statement that was factually incorrect.

You can't seem to accept your mistake.

Is your name Bob, Rob........?

AllyjamboDerbyshire
15 minutes ago, Libertarian said:

Just called BBC Scotland on 0141 422 6000. The call was answered by an old lady who sounded as though she were 103. When I asked her if they still showing the game she became all confused and told me she doesn't know. Honestly the BBC is really atrocious. 

Is the Queen working for BBC Scotland now? 

lost in space
3 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Yes. And yes, it is sexist.

1 minute ago, sadj said:

Why would she be a queen but he wouldn’t be a king?

I think its because if he was King he would have to be the Monarch because a Kink top trumps a Queen,  so it's not possible if he wasn't the heir to the throne. 

8 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Exactly. Thank god the Masters is still on - I was planning on watching that and the darts instead of us anyway. 

Stand up, if you love the darts!!!

2 minutes ago, Gmcjambo said:

I think its because if he was King he would have to be the Monarch because a Kink top trumps a Queen,  so it's not possible if he wasn't the heir to the throne. 

Make sense, kings beat queens in card games. Both worth ten in blackjack though. Far more politically correct game. 

8 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

She'd probably also be his cousin.

Just now, martoon said:

A bit like being a Hibs fan then?

1 minute ago, martoon said:

Just now, Morgan said:

😀💕

2 hours ago, jbee647 said:

I can actually see tonight’s game actually being cancelled 

He was after all the Duke of Edinburgh 

Starting to get farcical now.........

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Just now, GinRummy said:

😀💕

:jambobanana:

Wouldn't have watched the game in the first instance, I know a fair few of my mates were in the same frame of mind, I've watched a couple of games this year, absolute garbage, learned a lesson to not allow the current team and their form to hold me to household ransom. 

Different if we were allowed into the stadium then more options are on the table to choose from. 

b5c04b84-ba97-4eed-bc23-3edafa87d6c3-2036x2040.jpeg

mw09290.jpg

41548624-9453423-image-a-503_1617979070456.jpg

30 minutes ago, Hearts007 said:

well people can talk about Neilson on here,  every hour, every day, every week ,every month on here  🤣

😂 Aye true enough. 

maroonblood

Apologies if already mentioned but showing as live for video on the Heartspass site. 

16 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Old fashioned perhaps, personally I don't have a problem with that, so little respect for anything these days 

2 minutes ago, Gmcjambo said:

Nothing wrong with a bit of kink! 😆

Especially on a ‘sunny afternoon’.  :greggy:

Just read its a script, known as Operation Forth Bridge, protocol following his death. 

Don't think they legislate for Scottish Championship football in the plan

AllyjamboDerbyshire
2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Especially on a ‘sunny afternoon’.  :greggy:

With 'Lola'?

14 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

What about the BBC showing a bit respect to the people who pay their inflated wages ? 

Most people in this country couldn't give a 4xxxx about Prince Philip. 

Get the fitba and the rest of the programmes on. 

They're using this as a dress rehearsal for Auld Lizzie popping her clogs. 

Sycophantic arseholes. 

17 minutes ago, sadj said:

Why would she be a queen but he wouldn’t be a king?

Because a King outranks a Queen. The Queen in this monarchy is the highest position and cannot be outranked. 

2 minutes ago, luckydug said:

What about the BBC showing a bit respect to the people who pay their inflated wages ? 

Sycophantic arseholes. 

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Sycophantic arseholes. 

Be a much bigger deal when she goes..

2 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Sycophantic arseholes. 

1 minute ago, luckydug said:

Sycophantic arseholes. 

Really don't think you're getting it. Think the chappies at the BBC are telt down to their every word.

Its not just anyone who has died, whether we like it or not, this is what happens when Royal people peg it

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

I've got a Samsung S20+ - isn't that built in?

No idea, sorry. I've got an iphone. But if the built in one doesn't work then the chromecast app would be a good back up.

5 minutes ago, AllyjamboDerbyshire said:

With 'Lola'?

Of course.

All day and all of the night.

1 minute ago, leipzig76 said:

Be a shutdown for a week