January transfer window ( Now closed )

1 hour ago, Ccjambo1874 said:

Callachan probably would have featured more under Stendel in all honesty with his energy and his style of play. Probably would have done well in that respect, all be it he doesn't have that much finesse to his game.

Would still like to see us take a chance on the boy Campbell from Motherwell if we were looking at ejecting a couple midfielders in the summer. He'd do well beside Irving in the middle and provide the bite that Halliday/Haring try to provide but with much more mobility and speed to his game.

Campbell wouldn't be a "chance". He'd be our best central midfielder.

For the record, Ross Callachan is absolutely guff. No matter how many penalties he scores. It's absolutely laughable some are suggesting he would be an acceptable signing. 

Edited by Ari Gold

• Replies 11.6k

• Cruyff

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

SomethingAboutObua
Just now, Hearts007 said:

yep maybe get him for start of next season?

If Barnsley don't want him, why not. The new EFL salary cap has thrown the availability of older-young development and depth players up in the air tbf so who knows, could happen .

1 hour ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

There are 2 posters total on the forum I've seen who've been "ITK" but both have patchy records. Everyone will respond to them if they post something. One of them has posted something earlier this thread that we're "in advanced talks with a Scotland capped striker and a Scotland capped winger". The other strong rumour is we're trying to get O'Donnell in on a pre contract which presumably would spell the end for Smith. Other than that yes it's as you describe.  

Cheers buddy. Appreciate the synopsis of the 35 pages. 

2 minutes ago, Hampden Demolition said:

he is now back at Barnsley.

dont think he is playing though is he?

Edited by Hearts007

1 minute ago, SomethingAboutObua said:

If Barnsley don't want him, why not. The new EFL salary cap has thrown the availability of older-young development and depth players up in the air tbf so who knows, could happen .

yep i'd deffo take him

2 minutes ago, Ari Gold said:

For the record, Ross Callachan is absolutely guff. No matter how many penalties he scores. It's absolutely laughable some are suggesting he would be an acceptable signing. 

We could do with someone with Callachan’s effort and energy but with a bit more skill. 

1 minute ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Is this a transfer window thread or a game of name former players we liked?

Defo the latter - like every transfer window thread.

Dr. Sheldon Cooper
46 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

We absolutely ARE in a worse state than you thought mate. I wouldn’t be mentioning a name like callachan if we were in a good state. We are unable to beat sides like Hamilton and st mirren last season or Dundee and Dunfermline this season. We are JUST good enough to win the championship, just 

This squad beat Hibs in a semi final and then took Celtic to penalties in the final. Same squad put 6 past Dundee on the opening day. I'd fancy us to beat the majority of Premiership sides with this team to be honest.

The quality of the Premiership outside the top 4 is very poor this season, and even then Hibs aren't great and Aberdeen are Aberdeen. We shouldn't be targeting players just because they play every week for a team the league above us. You mention Callachan in that bracket and someone who wouldn't break the bank, surely if we are crying out for some much needed quality in the middle of the park then we should be stretching the budget as much as possible? You get what you pay for.

Saturday's result and performance were both terrible, but the over reaction has been quite staggering to be honest. We are crying out for pace out wide and a real creative spark. A winger and a striker need to be the priorities but we have more than enough in our locker to win this league comfortably.

11 hours ago, Dr. Sheldon Cooper said:

What's with the obsession of re-signing former players?  Ross Callachan ffs. He would make our midfield even slower than it currently is.

Got shipped out once we signed better players in his position, two of which are still first team regulars. That tells you all you need to know.

Can't stand it. The Facebook groups are horrendouse for it. If someone posts on one of the groups about who we should sign, the comments thread almost always looks like this:

Cummings

Cummings 

"I bet Zeefuik could still do a job"

Cummings

Sow

Sibbick

Zeefuik

Zeefuik

Cummings

Sow

Sow

Sibbick

Cummings

Cummings

"What's Zeefuik up to these days?"

Sow

Cummings

No thank you!! 

Cummings - had one good season with Hibs, that's literally all he's done. Since then (including his time at Rangers) he's played 91 competitive games and scored just 13 goals. No thank you. Not even a wee bit. 

Zeefuik - hasn't kicked a ball in over 2yrs. Early retirement from the game a few months ago due to health issues. Impossible. Not gonna happen. 

Sow - struggled for form and fitness for Dundee Utd in the Championship, looking much the same for Dundee. Utter pish against us. No thanks. 

Sibbick - had one good game v Rangers, people think he'll play like that every week, but hasn't returned to full fitness since failling ill when he was here, and had a loan to a Belgian 2nd tier team cut short without playing a single game due to a lack of fitness. No thanks.

And now Callaghan is coming up!! Remember Gogic looked good at Hamilton. He's been found out at Hibs and is basically pish. 

Yes players can crack on after leaving Hearts and can improve, but come on - we've been there with him, he was never good enough, and at what is probably his absolute peak he's only managing to play for Hamilton. Remember Gogic looked good at Hamilton. Some of us even wanted to sign him. But he's been found out at Hibs and is basically pish.

I can only think of two ex-Hearts players who I would gladly re-sign, and that's Calum Paterson and Jimmy Dunne. 

4 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

We could do with someone with Callachan’s effort and energy but with a bit more skill. 

He's a poor man's Andy Halliday and I don't think Halliday has been that great (yet anyway). 

3 hours ago, Dr. Sheldon Cooper said:

He takes penalties which helps his goal tally. He looked good for the first few games but his performances really tailed off towards the end of that season. That mistake in the cup tie at Motherwell was unforgivable.

The way Hamilton play might suit him but that doesn't make him good enough for us. Wouldn't get a game ahead of any our current midfielders.

Let's hope we are widening our scope for new signings a bit more than ex-players having a decent little run of form.

Yeah he missed a penalty too, still scored as many goals as that diving Celtic ***** whose worth £3 apparently. 
Ive already said he is a different type to what we have, much quicker with energy and gives 100%. We need to be looking at different types of midfielder than the dreadfully slow bunch we have just now, I pointed this out after the semi final where it was glaring obvious. To sign Halliday for instance to add to what we already had seems like a strange signing. 
That mistake at Motherwell was awful but unlike Levein one mistake shouldn’t mean you are banished for life. 

Those expecting us to sign any promising young players from Scotland are living in goo goo land we will again go for the foreign freebie journeymen pot 

Vlad the impaler
2 minutes ago, Ramagio87 said:

Jordan Jones on loan is a no brainer surely?

Exactly the type we should go for,whether he’d want to drop a division I don’t know

1 minute ago, kimosavi said:

Those expecting us to sign any promising young players from Scotland are living in goo goo land we will again go for the foreign freebie journeymen pot 

Duh naw we won't.

1 minute ago, Dr. Sheldon Cooper said:

This squad beat Hibs in a semi final and then took Celtic to penalties in the final. Same squad put 6 past Dundee on the opening day. I'd fancy us to beat the majority of Premiership sides with this team to be honest.

The quality of the Premiership outside the top 4 is very poor this season, and even then Hibs aren't great and Aberdeen are Aberdeen. We shouldn't be targeting players just because they play every week for a team the league above us. You mention Callachan in that bracket and someone who wouldn't break the bank, surely if we are crying out for some much needed quality in the middle of the park then we should be stretching the budget as much as possible? You get what you pay for.

Saturday's result and performance were both terrible, but the over reaction has been quite staggering to be honest. We are crying out for pace out wide and a real creative spark. A winger and a striker need to be the priorities but we have more than enough in our locker to win this league comfortably.

Tell you what mate. See when we go away to Inverness,Ayr and Raith I’m willing to bet we see the exact same slow abject performance as we have seen at both Dundee and Dunfermline. 
We will win the league because of home form more than likely but we are an absolute joke away from home. It won’t change and many people knew that Dundee result was coming before we played the game. After 5 mins of watching the game it was an absolute certainty we would lose it. We are certainly nowhere near good enough to be in the top half of the Premier League. Miles off it in fact!! 

10 minutes ago, Dr. Sheldon Cooper said:

First time on here ?

Just now, Vlad the impaler said:

Exactly the type we should go for,whether he’d want to drop a division I don’t know

Not sure what sort of money he would be on there but he is exactly what we need in the wide areas.

From his perspective its a chance to put himself in the shop window, play for a team that will have the lionshare of possession most games and get back in the Northern Ireland squad.

When does the window close?  Ross Callachan surely not.  Even with Boyce , Smith and Gino missing we should have got a draw with Dundee. Main issue was our tactics in the first 45 minutes.  

33 minutes ago, kimosavi said:

It’s impossible due to Brexit. 

51 minutes ago, Ari Gold said:

Don't disagree with any of that.

We badly need another striker and winger . Wighton was awful at weekend and need a fit winger with energy. Need other things too. But they two must be priority!

Vlad the impaler
21 minutes ago, Ramagio87 said:

Not sure what sort of money he would be on there but he is exactly what we need in the wide areas.

From his perspective its a chance to put himself in the shop window, play for a team that will have the lionshare of possession most games and get back in the Northern Ireland squad.

You’re last point is the interesting one,northern Ireland manager already watches us to check on Smith and Boyce which could sway him

22 minutes ago, Dr. Sheldon Cooper said:

We will win this league due to the bottom half part time teams taking around 10 more points off Dundee and Dunfermline, than they will from us. In the premiership we are a bottom 3 team. Yes we need quality, yes we need pace, yes we need creativity AND we also need premiership standard hard working squad bodies brought in. We have none of the above.

The cup games, we scrapped and did well, worked hard and fought for the jersey. Well done to the players. Thanks, good bye, and all the best to this group of nearly men: Berra, Halkett, Haring, Lee, Damour, Halliday, Walker, Roberts, Frear, Ginelly, Moore, Henderson, Popescu. Maybe goodbye to Smith, Kingsley and Irving as well but would hope not as would definitely want to keep all of them to at least have some continuity. But they are out of contract so quite conceivable they will leave and need to be replaced. Hello to at least 10 new players to replace them plus 1-2 new blood youth graduates. Good enough for the premiership is an absolute piss take if you’re talking about that lot. Callachan is a step up in class of player. And I’m not saying that because Callachan is good I’m saying that because our squad, is absolutely 100% the worst Hearts squad I’ve ever seen. The boys from 2013-14 squad get a pass because it was basically a youth team with a transfer ban and administration. Talking actual Hearts squads that have had money spent - this is the worst since the 70s which was before my time, and even though it wins this tin pot league, would struggle to stay up. We’ll still beat Hibs as that’s the natural order. But in the other games? Straight back to a sub 20% win percentage if this mob had to play at full time level. 

Thankfully as has been mentioned above, the signs are that Robbie Neilson is aware of the scale of the job. That’s why this seasons signings have been mostly on short term contracts. Get the job done with this lot, get Berra to earn his last seasons wages and go out on his shield, but keep as much finance as possible set aside for the major job. IMO he has worked a minor miracle to get this number of wins out of this squad. We just need I reckon 10-12 more wins out of the next 17 league fixtures and that will be job done, finish 10 points clear and we won’t have to watch half these shite bags again.

1 hour ago, Billy Hoyle said:

Tell you what mate. See when we go away to Inverness,Ayr and Raith I’m willing to bet we see the exact same slow abject performance as we have seen at both Dundee and Dunfermline. 
We will win the league because of home form more than likely but we are an absolute joke away from home. It won’t change and many people knew that Dundee result was coming before we played the game. After 5 mins of watching the game it was an absolute certainty we would lose it. We are certainly nowhere near good enough to be in the top half of the Premier League. Miles off it in fact!! 

The squad is good enough, as proved v Celtic/Hibs IF they are allowed to go out and play on the front foot.

59 minutes ago, Ramagio87 said:

Jordan Jones on loan is a no brainer surely?

Based on the raw ability shown at killie alone then yes you are correct, if you also factor in the attitude and disciplinary issues since moving to Ibrox then wouldn't touch him with a bargepole.

Spoke with a hun supporting mate the other day and talking about covid he said that his old man had messaged him when the news broke that 2 players had breached covid rules and his old man named Jones, as no names had been released at that point my mate asked how his old man knew that one of them was jones and his response was simply that it was bound to be him.

1 hour ago, Batistuta87 said:

Can't stand it. The Facebook groups are horrendouse for it. If someone posts on one of the groups about who we should sign, the comments thread almost always looks like this:

Cummings

Cummings 

"I bet Zeefuik could still do a job"

Cummings

Sow

Sibbick

Zeefuik

Zeefuik

Cummings

Sow

Sow

Sibbick

Cummings

Cummings

"What's Zeefuik up to these days?"

Sow

Cummings

No thank you!! 

Cummings - had one good season with Hibs, that's literally all he's done. Since then (including his time at Rangers) he's played 91 competitive games and scored just 13 goals. No thank you. Not even a wee bit. 

Zeefuik - hasn't kicked a ball in over 2yrs. Early retirement from the game a few months ago due to health issues. Impossible. Not gonna happen. 

Sow - struggled for form and fitness for Dundee Utd in the Championship, looking much the same for Dundee. Utter pish against us. No thanks. 

Sibbick - had one good game v Rangers, people think he'll play like that every week, but hasn't returned to full fitness since failling ill when he was here, and had a loan to a Belgian 2nd tier team cut short without playing a single game due to a lack of fitness. No thanks.

And now Callaghan is coming up!! Remember Gogic looked good at Hamilton. He's been found out at Hibs and is basically pish. 

Yes players can crack on after leaving Hearts and can improve, but come on - we've been there with him, he was never good enough, and at what is probably his absolute peak he's only managing to play for Hamilton. Remember Gogic looked good at Hamilton. Some of us even wanted to sign him. But he's been found out at Hibs and is basically pish.

I can only think of two ex-Hearts players who I would gladly re-sign, and that's Calum Paterson and Jimmy Dunne. 

Definitely,  do the best offer to try and get them ,

3 hours ago, Ex member of the SaS said:

Only ever seen him play lately for the national team and he has been dug sh!t. Will never give the ugly hobbo any praise.

Gordon Ramsay
41 minutes ago, johnking123 said:

We badly need another striker and winger . Wighton was awful at weekend and need a fit winger with energy. Need other things too. But they two must be priority!

That's it for me. Striker and a winger with pace and the balls to take a man on! None of this Frear/Roberts pass the ball backwards as soon as they see a defender. 

Aberdeen are in talks with Gary Mackay-Steven about a possible return to Pittodrie. Hearts are also keen on the New York City FC winger.

Anthony Joseph -Sky Sports News.

2 hours ago, Hashimoto said:

If Callachan is the way forward we really are up **** creek.

Funny how ex players suddenly take on this magical aura when no longer kicking around the club....Whilst we are at it....why no a cheeky wee bid for Templeton?

The only two to have come back that I rated.....Robertson and Skacel.....Make that 3 - Craig Gordon

There's enough out there without picking up ex mediocre players.

Add to your list Colquhoun, McPherson, & Webster. Agree about Callachan though: he might well add much-needed energy and drive to our midfield right now, but is nowhere near the "qvality" we'll need back in the top league.

Hungry hippo
3 hours ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Peter Haring has spent the last 2 years on the treatment table and now looks finished based on his Dens effort where he was the worst player on the pitch and hooked at half time.

So yes, obviously it would have been very handy to have Callachan over the last 2-3 years wouldn't it. And today would walk in our team. 

Edit - and also, I'd talk about Callachan in the context of also signing 2 other Premiership standard CMs as well.

So Lee, Haring, Damour all out. Halliday as well to be honest but he'll see out his contract. Prem CM + Prem CM + Prem CM is part of the Jan and Summer business for me. Callachan I would take as one of 3. The 2 others would need to be different types of player. 

Bit of a leap to say a player is finished after his first ever shocker for the club.

Not going to disagree that it is concerning why Haring dropped out of the team pre the final and he was also disappointing against Arbroath. He fully deserved to be subbed at half time on Friday however even in the first few months of this season he showed his quality.

6 minutes ago, Hungry hippo said:

Bit of a leap to say a player is finished after his first ever shocker for the club.

Not going to disagree that it is concerning why Haring dropped out of the team pre the final and he was also disappointing against Arbroath. He fully deserved to be subbed at half time on Friday however even in the first few months of this season he showed his quality.

I'd play Haring at the back until a recruit is signed, and/or Souttar recovers

34 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Thankfully as has been mentioned above, the signs are that Robbie Neilson is aware of the scale of the job. That’s why this seasons signings have been mostly on short term contracts. Get the job done with this lot, get Berra to earn his last seasons wages and go out on his shield, but keep as much finance as possible set aside for the major job. IMO he has worked a minor miracle to get this number of wins out of this squad. We just need I reckon 10-12 more wins out of the next 17 league fixtures and that will be job done, finish 10 points clear and we won’t have to watch half these shite bags again.

I wonder if that's right.

Firstly signing negotiations are a 2 way street and maybe players would only sign short term contracts because we are in the Championship.  Add to that the financial restraints existing/looming because of Covid and you could see why the club, not just Robbie, would be less than keen to dish out long term contracts.

Folk think Jimmy Dunne and Toby Sibbick would come and play in the Scottish Championship? Aye? 

giphy.gif

Ross Callachan? 🤔 Really? 🙄

Haring is finished because he had a shit game? 

giphy.gif?cid=82a1493bm6h4y8db2dm072inoe

This place is mental. 🤣

10 minutes ago, Hungry hippo said:

He was shite for 112 minutes of the league cup disgrace against Alloa as well. I hit unsubscribe on Peter Haring when Charlie Adam nutmegged him. Seen enough now to know. Just the same as it only took 3 or 4 games after Berra’s comeback from his injury to know. Unfortunately Levein didn’t see it and Berra’s still at the club 2 years after he should have been let go. 

Edited by A_A wehatethehibs

Exactly. If Hearts even avoid defeat at these 3 games I will be amazed. Players attitudes can be changed though, just look at how Lennon toughened up Hibs. 

10 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

Sibbick a must. 

Naw he's no. He's not fit. Hasn't been fit and hasn't kicked a ball since he left us. 

5 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Folk think Jimmy Dunne and Toby Sibbick would come and play in the Scottish Championship? Aye? 

giphy.gif

Ross Callachan? 🤔 Really? 🙄

Haring is finished because he had a shit game? 

giphy.gif?cid=82a1493bm6h4y8db2dm072inoe

This place is mental. 🤣

Bananas sometimes, 'int it. 

:jambobanana:

I only mentioned Dunne as someone I would have back, not as a realistic target but he's making the bench for Burnley every week and if Tarkowski or Mee got a knock, he'd be playing in the Premier League! Absolutely no way he's going to give that up to come up here and play against Arbroath on a Tuesday night is there. 

And I would avoid Sibbick with a barge pole considering his (extreme lack of) fitness. 

Edited by Batistuta87

6 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Naw he's no. He's not fit. Hasn't been fit and hasn't kicked a ball since he left us. 

Training okay. 

Hungry hippo
12 minutes ago, David Black said:

Exactly. If Hearts even avoid defeat at these 3 games I will be amazed. Players attitudes can be changed though, just look at how Lennon toughened up Hibs. 

Neil Lennon's Hibs won 19 games out of 36 when they were promoted. Less than 5 wins per quarter and they were being lauded and still being used as an example. I'm very confident we will exceed that rate in the reduced season.

Edited by Hungry hippo

Dr. Sheldon Cooper
1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

Yeah he missed a penalty too, still scored as many goals as that diving Celtic ***** whose worth £3 apparently. 
Ive already said he is a different type to what we have, much quicker with energy and gives 100%. We need to be looking at different types of midfielder than the dreadfully slow bunch we have just now, I pointed this out after the semi final where it was glaring obvious. To sign Halliday for instance to add to what we already had seems like a strange signing. 
That mistake at Motherwell was awful but unlike Levein one mistake shouldn’t mean you are banished for life. 

£3 sounds about right for a player like Callachan.

I'm not sure what your memories of him are but he was certainly not quick. Olly Lee is basically a better version of what you think Callachan is. It would be interesting to see how their goal and assist stats compare too.

That's an issue with how Neilson is setting us up away from home. Signing Callachan wouldn't change that. FWIW I like Neilson but he does need to change things on the road.

1 hour ago, john thomas said:

First time on here ?

The over reaction gets me every time.

54 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

We will win this league due to the bottom half part time teams taking around 10 more points off Dundee and Dunfermline, than they will from us. In the premiership we are a bottom 3 team. Yes we need quality, yes we need pace, yes we need creativity AND we also need premiership standard hard working squad bodies brought in. We have none of the above.

The cup games, we scrapped and did well, worked hard and fought for the jersey. Well done to the players. Thanks, good bye, and all the best to this group of nearly men: Berra, Halkett, Haring, Lee, Damour, Halliday, Walker, Roberts, Frear, Ginelly, Moore, Henderson, Popescu. Maybe goodbye to Smith, Kingsley and Irving as well but would hope not as would definitely want to keep all of them to at least have some continuity. But they are out of contract so quite conceivable they will leave and need to be replaced. Hello to at least 10 new players to replace them plus 1-2 new blood youth graduates. Good enough for the premiership is an absolute piss take if you’re talking about that lot. Callachan is a step up in class of player. And I’m not saying that because Callachan is good I’m saying that because our squad, is absolutely 100% the worst Hearts squad I’ve ever seen. The boys from 2013-14 squad get a pass because it was basically a youth team with a transfer ban and administration. Talking actual Hearts squads that have had money spent - this is the worst since the 70s which was before my time, and even though it wins this tin pot league, would struggle to stay up. We’ll still beat Hibs as that’s the natural order. But in the other games? Straight back to a sub 20% win percentage if this mob had to play at full time level. 

Bottom 3 😂 based on what exactly? Who do you consider to be the (only) 2 Premiership clubs to have worse squads than us?

Your post is exactly what I mean about the over reaction from Saturday. We'll win the league comfortably and the defeats at Dunfermline and Dundee will be blips along the way. Players we are interested in will want assurances of top flight football so we'll see the quality improve in the summer. Realistically we won't need to make any signings to win the league but there is obvious improvement required in certain areas.

• davemclaren changed the title to January transfer window ( Now closed )