Black Lives Matter Protest.

Ainsley Harriott

7 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Nobody is going to erect a statue of Jimmy Savile though ya roaster. 

And nobody is ignoring the offences these arseholes made who have had statues erected. Certainly not even saying they shouldn't be removed. But people cannot take the law into their own hands. 

You are advocating anarchy. What happens if that statue they tore down landed on someone and killed them?

There was a statue and a plaque.

https://www.thenational.scot/news/16033718.glasgows-wooden-jimmy-savile-statue-has-been-destroyed/

C46413B5-9502-409D-87E7-727C166E0815.jpeg

• Replies 2.5k

• Justin Z

• Dawnrazor

• Spellczech

36 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Agreed, but it's the MO of some, they have some perfectly valid opinions but if you don't agree with them, you're a racist.

One video I posted was of a homeless man having his possessions set on fire by rioters, one poster immediately sarcastically asked if it was from a far right web site, because it didn't suit his narrative it had to be far right propaganda!

That video was a disgrace. People can say what they like but if a bunch of coppers burnt down some person's house, it'd be ****ing everywhere. But to be fair, InfoWars as a source is normally akin to the Daily Mail times a billion. 

And yeah, some interesting stuff said by a lot of folk. I think today, black people, by and large, have the same opportunities to progress as white people. Certainly here in the UK.

However, I do think, most definitely in the US, that the police and the justice system are particularly discriminatory against non-whites. I also wonder what was left out of those interviews. There's plenty out of stuff that gives Freeman's, Washington's etc views on racism that appear to counter what's on that clip. 

Basically, there's a lot of ***** everywhere who'll do a lot of shit during all this mentalness. They're *****. But that shouldn't take away or distract from the fact that a large part of the US police force appears to be an even bigger bunch of *****. And if they're not *****, they're ****ing shite at their job and should be fired anyway. 

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

That is essentially the nonsense of the BLM movement in the UK - They know our police aren't quite as bad as the US police, so they are bashing the monuments of rich men from 200 years ago knowing that even those of us who disagree with them on a matter of principle are not so bothered that we will come out and fight for the statues. The truth is that they are as self-seeking and "on the up" as these 250 year old men were. They want the wealth, the jobs, the Western lifestyle and freedoms. Don't mention to them that there are women from the Balkans being traded as prostitutes even in the UK, even in some BAME communities... 

Today I listened to guys on Talk Sport bemoaning the lack of black managers in football  and pitying multi-millionaire Jermaine Defoe who suggests there is no point in him doing his coaching badges as there may not be a top job for him in management...What effing planet are these people on?

They want slavery to be about being black, but it isn't. They mention slavery to guilt trip us on the deaths of people in the Caribbean and USA in the 16th to 19th centuries as if that is pertinent to the problems in society today, and some people are going for it...BLM seems like this big mish-mash of dissatisfactions - is it slavery, racism, education, jobs & opportunity, poor housing, policing? Simple observation is that the UK opened its borders in the 50s and the Asian communities appear to have made a far better fist of getting a piece of the pie than the Afro-Carribean communities...That cannot be due to racism.

The back story of the Bristol statue has been well documented.

The story of the complaints and vote to have Rhode's statue removed from Oxford equally so.

And a sweeping generalisation about Asian communities" for good measure.

In both  cases the democratic processes were thwarted but apparently it's all about BLM folks getting uppity because the UK police are a bunch of pussies. Jesus wept. 

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

Agreed, but it's the MO of some, they have some perfectly valid opinions but if you don't agree with them, you're a racist.

One video I posted was of a homeless man having his possessions set on fire by rioters, one poster immediately sarcastically asked if it was from a far right web site, because it didn't suit his narrative it had to be far right propaganda!

Where they throw the mattress on the fire? - those guys were identified as being with InfoWars and from what I saw/read on Twitter you would have known that at the time too. 

"InfoWars is a far-right American conspiracy theory and fake news website owned by Alex Jones" 

8 hours ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Oh aye, they were all on the living wage in Egypt :rofl:

Better lives than the Scots of Barbados. But both the Scots slaves and Egyptian slaves certainly weren't worked to death like the slaves of America. 

MR INCREDIBLE

Football fans in England are getting together on Saturday to protect their monuments from the great unwashed and we should do the same if there is any more acts of vandalism planned. 

Some criminal gets killed in America and this is going on here... It's madness. 

8 minutes ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Football fans in England are getting together on Saturday to protect their monuments from the great unwashed and we should do the same if there is any more acts of vandalism planned. 

Yes, I read this earlier. How predictably depressing, but I guess it was inevitable once war memorials were targeted.

Talk about divide and conquer though. Black people angry and on the streets. White middle classes falling over themselves to lend support, to show empathy (safe in the knowledge.......) and now white working classes and football hooligans out and spoiling for a fight. Meanwhile, the politicians and the oligarchs are probably thinking, ya beauty nobody cares what we're up to.

Great.

3 minutes ago, pablo said:

Yes, I read this earlier. How predictably depressing, but I guess it was inevitable once war memorials were targeted.

Talk about divide and conquer though. Black people angry and on the streets. White middle classes falling over themselves to lend support, to show empathy (safe in the knowledge.......) and now white working classes and football hooligans out and spoiling for a fight. Meanwhile, the politicians and the oligarchs are probably thinking, ya beauty nobody cares what we're up to.

Great.

aye its some carry on pablo, ftr i think they are starting flying too soon, imho.

Edited by Harry Potter

55 minutes ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Aw naw, not the football lads alliance :facepalm:

Ainsley Harriott

Bot sure if mentioned earlier but that numpty Sean Clare attended Saturdays protest in London. 

"BLACK LIVES MATTER" is in it's self racist, what about the rest of us, have Asians, not black, not also suffered racism.

anyway, if we scots want to get on a bandwagon and riot about racism perhaps we should start here

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-52967650

A footballer has been remanded in custody after being convicted of coughing at police officers and telling them he had coronavirus.

James Hurst, 28, flew into a rage in the garden of a woman's home in Glasgow's Drumchapel in April.

He admitted acting in a threatening or abusive manner towards the officers.

A court heard the ex-West Brom and Wrexham defender initially contacted the police claiming to be the victim of domestic abuse.

Hurst, who was previously convicted of drink driving, later claimed the matter was resolved but officers became aware of a possible outstanding warrant against him.

But Glasgow Sheriff Court was told that when police confronted Hurst, he yelled: "Get my lawyer first."

'Scottish slaves'

The ex-England youth international was told to calm down.

But he was arrested after swearing at officers, claiming they worked for him and branding them "Scottish slaves".

Prosecutor Mark Allan said: "He immediately stated: 'I've got Covid. I'm going to cough and spit all over you.'

"At that point, he began to cough in the faces of both officers as they were placing handcuffs on him.

"As he did this, he shouted: 'Have that.'"

Mr Allan added: "He said he is from the Queen's country and all Scottish are slaves to him."

'I am superior'

Hurst repeatedly threatened to spit on the officers and continued to hurl abuse.

He said: "You are not the law, you are civilians in uniform, Queen's country rules, you live in Scottish slums, I am superior."

He challenged an officer to a fight and repeated claims he had Covid-19.

In January non-league Hednesford Town confirmed Hurst had left the club after requesting the cancellation of his contract to move to Scotland.

Keith Tuck, defending, told the court Hurst had aspirations of becoming a player/manager.

He added: "He is a man who in the past has had a successful career as a professional footballer and has qualifications in football as a coach in England."

Sheriff Tony Kelly deferred sentence until the end of the month for background reports.

I wonder if they wish they'd just added 'too' to the black lives matter slogan. The current one seems to confuse the hard of thinking. 

Can we stop blaming the common man for the Slave trade. Men and especially women had no rights back then and sure as hell didn't purchase any slaves from African Chiefs. The Elite were slave traders and ruled over the plebs of Britain as well. 

Just now, Mauricio Pinilla said:

I wonder if they wish they'd just added 'too' to the black lives matter slogan. The current one seems to confuse the hard of thinking. 

Now,

I haven't researched or looked up links to to verify but there was a woman of Asian descent on 5Live last week calling out racism within the BAME community, notably Asians against Blacks, who they believe they are far superior human being to.

Across the world there are inequalities but being black and of black african descent does appear to be the most prejudiced against.

10 hours ago, jonesy said:

Where does it end, though? Take down all statues? Have a government department given over to 'correct thinking 2020 version' check all street names?

Are all the NHS workers we've been clapping for the last few weeks angels without criminal records, never voted BNP, never uttered P**i or N****r, never slapped a girlfriend/boyfriend in an argument? Are we checking the Tweets of all the pensioners and key workers who get in early to supermarkets to be sure they're ok to laud?

This social media age of instant outrage is childish. Nelson Mandela was not squeaky clean, but we've got streets named after him.

The world is made up of degrees of understanding, something which the social media-driven insta-outrage world doesn't cope too well with.

Excellent post.

9 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

"Wellington isn't relevant today" ? "Those who forget history are condemned to repeat it ... The first time is tragedy the second farce". Or words to that effect. Attributed variously to I think Hegel and Karl Marx. 

^^^^ Also worth bearing in mind.

1 hour ago, pablo said:

Great.

Depressing, isn't it.

8 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Can we stop blaming the common man for the Slave trade. Men and especially women had no rights back then and sure as hell didn't purchase any slaves from African Chiefs. The Elite were slave traders and ruled over the plebs of Britain as well. 

Due to the relative demise of Christianity in these Isles we need a new 'original sin' to beat ourselves up about.

The abominable actions of imperialist oligarchs and mercantilists from a couple of hundred gears ago ought to do the trick.

We need more guilt imo.

7 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

The back story of the Bristol statue has been well documented.

The story of the complaints and vote to have Rhode's statue removed from Oxford equally so.

And a sweeping generalisation about Asian communities" for good measure.

In both  cases the democratic processes were thwarted but apparently it's all about BLM folks getting uppity because the UK police are a bunch of pussies. Jesus wept. 

Only if you are not very good at interpreting what someone writes. Religious people often are like this, which is why they quote selectively in order to twist the words of the Bible to suit...

Edited by Spellczech

3 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Only if you are not very good at interpreting what someone writes. Religious people often are like this, which is why they quote selectively in order to twist the words of the Bible to suit...Like you do above, you break up an argument rather than break it down. It's cheating and often done on JKB - this is just a very obvious example...

39 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

When I was being an obnoxious teenager (ok ok as opposed to an obnoxious adult!) I once talked about the way "we" had exploted people referring to slavery  the empire and all that. My mother rarely got angry with me but she did then and pointed out that her family (from West Lothian shale and coal mining communities) had never exploited anyone. 

And as you know if you visit Barbados you will come across the "Red Legs" close to a hilly area known as Scotland, descendents of indentured labourers from Scotland whose lives were little if any better than those of slaves. The Red Legs are to this day one of the poorest communities on the island.

But unless you are into "sins of the fathers" religious ideas the descendents of slave owners should be judged on their merits also. I saw one statue defaced with the words "son of a slave owner"

Edited by Francis Albert

9 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

When I was being an obnoxious teenager (ok ok as opposed to an obnoxious adult!) I once talked about the way "we" had exploted people referring to slavery  the empire and all that. My mother rarely got angry with me but she did then and pointed out that her family (from West Lothian shale and coal mining communities) had never exploited anyone. 

And as you know if you visit Barbados you will come across the "Red Legs" close to a hilly area known as Scotland, descendents of indentured labourers from Scotland whose lives were little if any better than those of slaves. The Red Legs are to this day one of the poorest communities on the island.

But unless you are into "sins of the fathers" religious ideas the descendents of slave owners should be judged on their merits also. I saw one statue defaced with the words "son of a slave owner"

Getting rich tends to be done either by exploitation or opportunism. Sometimes it is done legitimately, but once you have a lot of money, the next choice is retaining it or continuing to grow it, or using it for self-aggrandisement, and whichever of these you do, there are more moral and legal choices attached...That is one aspect of capitalism - getting more than others have. To me this wish, this aspiration is the message I'm hearing from the BLM protests. The vast majority of people are not in a postion to hold the black community back whether they are raving racists or not...We are all just competing for a piece of the same pie. Capitalism is not utopian, but so far it has been proved to suit human nature better than Communism...

2 minutes ago, Furious Styles said:

What a shambles. Another slap in the face to those who have observed government guidelines throughout, and another waste of hundreds of emergency service workers’ time who could be doing far more useful things.

These protesters will fade away when the pubs open up. Most are just probably bored and fancy a day out socialising.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

You sure your ancerstors didn't own slaves ? It's easy to check.

40% of UK owners were women btw, and within the UK - most owners were Scots.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jul/12/british-history-slavery-buried-scale-revealed

The slavery issue is a misnomer to me as the trade existed way before any European landed in West and Central Africa and blacks themselves were heavily involved in it. Added to that slavery was much worse in the Islamic world and went on far longer but nobody wants to talk about that either. No abolitionists existed there as the justification was written in bold in the Koran. Everybody has a sob story in their history.

1 hour ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Due to the relative demise of Christianity in these Isles we need a new 'original sin' to beat ourselves up about.

The abominable actions of imperialist oligarchs and mercantilists from a couple of hundred gears ago ought to do the trick.

We need more guilt imo.

24 minutes ago, felix said:

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jul/12/british-history-slavery-buried-scale-revealed

Elitists. There'll be female heirs, I'm sure. 

59 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Cromwell. Get his statue tae feck! :)

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

Only if you are not very good at interpreting what someone writes. Religious people often are like this, which is why they quote selectively in order to twist the words of the Bible to suit...

You appear to be not defending your previous execrable post and that's a start. I won't be biting at your attempted deflection from  it. 

35 minutes ago, felix said:

I don't really care whether my ancestors owned slaves or not.

Their exploits have no bearing on my path through life.

7 minutes ago, Adam Murray said:

It seems in their effort to be 'right on' and take a virtual knee, facebook banned pages related to ska, skinhead and northern soul.

Big Nev from The Specials banned 😂

https://www.rt.com/news/491308-facebook-bans-ska-accounts-neville-staple/

Aye, Bombskare were wondering where all their mates had disappeared to last night. 😂

6 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

You appear to be not defending your previous execrable post and that's a start. I won't be biting at your attempted deflection from  it. 

I don't need to defend it. You failed to attack it. Highlighting bits, saying that people had been campaigning against a statue for years and then writing "Jesus wept" is not a coherent argument! Just as using adjectives like execrable without saying why is meaningless...I'm not "deflecting" as you haven't actually said anything yet...

Billybuffjaw
3 hours ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

The anarchist left will jump on any excuse for a riot, watch the statues fall at the w/e at their hands  Not sure what it has to do with football though.

Just now, Spellczech said:

I don't need to defend it. You failed to attack it. Highlighting bits, saying that people had been campaigning against a statue for years and then writing "Jesus wept" is not a coherent argument! Just as using adjectives like execrable without saying why is meaningless...I'm not "deflecting" as you haven't actually said anything yet...

Take out "Jesus wept" if it helps you but it's crystal clear you're not defending it. 

9 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Where they throw the mattress on the fire? - those guys were identified as being with InfoWars and from what I saw/read on Twitter you would have known that at the time too. 

"InfoWars is a far-right American conspiracy theory and fake news website owned by Alex Jones" 

Oh aye.

Jambo-Jimbo
38 minutes ago, felix said:

I've found the link, anybody can check to see if any of their ancestors owned slaves.

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/lbs/

Best way to search is by address, just put the city or town and you get everyone from that city/town who owned slaves, you can then scroll through the names to see if any of your ancestors owned any.

I have not found any of my ancestors who owned slaves, yet, not really a surprise as most barely managed to scratch a living down the pits or of the land, but I'm still searching, I'll let you know soon enough what I find.

1 minute ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Take out "Jesus wept" if it helps you but it's crystal clear you're not defending it. 

Ok 

"The back story of the Bristol statue has been well documented. Agreed but why are you telling me this?

The story of the complaints and vote to have Rhode's statue removed from Oxford equally so. Agreed but this is not related to my post either

And a sweeping generalisation about Asian communities" for good measure. Generalisations, like offensive jokes and stereotypes are all underpinned by at least a little bit of truth. Again you are not acutally saying anything here.

In both  cases the democratic processes were thwarted but apparently it's all about BLM folks getting uppity because the UK police are a bunch of pussies. What democratic processes exactly? Some people complaining about statues and the people who own the statues saying, "No we're keeping it as these men built the buildings around here that educate you, and bequeathed the grants which fund you""

23 minutes ago, Adam Murray said:

It seems in their effort to be 'right on' and take a virtual knee, facebook banned pages related to ska, skinhead and northern soul.

Big Nev from The Specials banned 😂

https://www.rt.com/news/491308-facebook-bans-ska-accounts-neville-staple/

FFS!! Things are getting ridiculous now.

26 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Cromwell. Get his statue tae feck! :)

Agreed - the amount of damage that man did to the historic culture of the UK, he's the last person to deserve a monument...

Just now, manaliveits105 said:

is the Wallace Mercer statue still going in the New St James Quarter ?

I'm not sure, but the Police in Dundee are out in force this morning in full riot gear to protect the "Desparate Dan' statue from far left atifa militant vegans for his decades of animal abuse.

1 hour ago, felix said:

That's because after the Union Scots discovered that London was a bit of a closed shop, so they went out into the Empire to seek their fortune - as soldiers, engineers, administrators and traders. Read any decent book about the British Empire and it will have a chapter asking "Was the British Empire a Scottish Empire?". 

11 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Ok 

"The back story of the Bristol statue has been well documented. Agreed but why are you telling me this?

The story of the complaints and vote to have Rhode's statue removed from Oxford equally so. Agreed but this is not related to my post either

And a sweeping generalisation about Asian communities" for good measure. Generalisations, like offensive jokes and stereotypes are all underpinned by at least a little bit of truth. Again you are not acutally saying anything here.

In both  cases the democratic processes were thwarted but apparently it's all about BLM folks getting uppity because the UK police are a bunch of pussies. What democratic processes exactly? Some people complaining about statues and the people who own the statues saying, "No we're keeping it as these men built the buildings around here that educate you, and bequeathed the grants which fund you""

Let's start at the begining and your statement about UK policing and we can go from there. 

2 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Let's start at the begining and your statement about UK policing and we can go from there. 

Still you are not saying anything!

You're just spamming now and ruining the thread. Sorry but you go on ignore for the benefit of others who are using this site correctly.

Just now, Spellczech said:

Still you are not saying anything!

You're just spamming now and ruining the thread. Sorry but you go on ignore for the benefit of others who are using this site correctly.

Not spamming. I'm asking you to explain your comments about UK policing and why this is relevant to what is happening. If you don't want to that's fine , just say so. 

11 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

I sincerely hope that the word “******” etc is removed from all music that is sang by black people. 
a horrendous word that rightfully should never be used but seems to be acceptable in music. If times should be updated then this word should also be banished . Awful word

Disgusting word, really is. Folk will argue your point saying that they are actually saying n#g#a, which they say is a black man with a gold rope around his neck. This in my opinion is not acceptable either.

11 hours ago, Spellczech said:

That is essentially the nonsense of the BLM movement in the UK - They know our police aren't quite as bad as the US police, so they are bashing the monuments of rich men from 200 years ago knowing that even those of us who disagree with them on a matter of principle are not so bothered that we will come out and fight for the statues. The truth is that they are as self-seeking and "on the up" as these 250 year old men were. They want the wealth, the jobs, the Western lifestyle and freedoms. Don't mention to them that there are women from the Balkans being traded as prostitutes even in the UK, even in some BAME communities... 

Today I listened to guys on Talk Sport bemoaning the lack of black managers in football  and pitying multi-millionaire Jermaine Defoe who suggests there is no point in him doing his coaching badges as there may not be a top job for him in management...What effing planet are these people on?

They want slavery to be about being black, but it isn't. They mention slavery to guilt trip us on the deaths of people in the Caribbean and USA in the 16th to 19th centuries as if that is pertinent to the problems in society today, and some people are going for it...BLM seems like this big mish-mash of dissatisfactions - is it slavery, racism, education, jobs & opportunity, poor housing, policing? Simple observation is that the UK opened its borders in the 50s and the Asian communities appear to have made a far better fist of getting a piece of the pie than the Afro-Carribean communities...That cannot be due to racism.

The NFL have been discussing a new rule whereby any team who were to hire an ethnic minority coach would get a higher draft pick of the best players coming out of college and thus gaining an advantage over their opponents. 

70% of all players in the NFL are black. Of the 32 starting Quarterbacks in the 2020 NFL, 9 are black. Yet all I constantly hear is that there is racial inequality against black Quarterbacks 

The new ruling also states that you must now interview at least 2 ethnic minorities for any head coaching position.