SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )

Heres Rixxy

Midloth_Iain
6 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

What he saying? Can u post please.

David Southern has slammed the “crocodile tears” shed by SPFL clubs for Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer. 

The former Tynecastle chief believes the reaction of other clubs since court action was announced has exposed the idea of a “football family” as myth.

Hearts and Thistle’s joint legal petition will be heard at the Court of Session in Edinburgh this morning, when it will be decided if the challenging of their respective relegations is a matter for the courts or to be arbitrated by the SFA.

Former Hearts managing director Southern believes many of their rivals have shown their true colours since the Jambos and the Jags decided not to accept their fate lying down.

And that talk of co-operation and working together for the great good was just that.

As a result, they could regret dismissing the concerns of Ann Budge and Jacqui Low.

Southern told Record Sport : “There were a lot of crocodile tears for Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer. 

“Stranraer have been a bit forgotten in this. Partick not so much but there have been a lot of crocodile tears for all three of them.

“As has been the way in Scottish football for years, people then just turn their back and move on. Invariably there doesn’t tend to be any consequences.

“But given the gross injustice that there’s been here, you can’t blame Hearts and Partick Thistle for taking this legal route.

“It’s very unusual but you certainly can’t blame them. I saw Craig Gordon ’s comments and I’d just back up what he said as well. 

“To underestimate Ann and Jacqui Low, you do that at your own peril. I know both of them and they’re good operators in their own business world and also in football.

“Football’s fluid – it’s difficult to be right or successful all the time – but in this case, they’re completely justified to go legal.

“There’s not really been any comfort from many clubs or people within the game so they had no choice.

“Over the last few weeks the narrative has been, ‘let’s move on, we must move on, let’s talk together, work together and be the football family’. There is no such thing as the ‘football family’.

“As much as certain clubs and club chairmen want to cover their tracks, I’m afraid it’s not going to be possible until the court case is heard and judged one way or another.”

Hearts’ decision to fight the drop by legal means sparked an immediate response from the sides that were promoted as a result of the season being called early.

Dundee United, Raith and Cove have launched their own, separate actions to try to ensure they’ll remain in a higher division.

But Southern, who was chief operating officer at Tannadice between 2014 and 2019, is adamant no one would have had to lose out had the initial resolution on whether to end the campaign early not been bungled so badly.

He said: “I honestly believe that the right decision should have been taken on April 10.

“The mistake that was made then was that the reconstruction debate should have been included in that resolution.

“In terms of the money being distributed and the league being called to an end, there shouldn’t have been relegation.

“That was completely unfair. But I also believe that promotion should have happened.

“So there is still an opportunity and it’s within the SPFL’s power to carry it out, for a 14-10-10-10.

“It’s still there, it still exists and it would have avoided the unnecessary move to the courtroom. So it’s whether people see sense.

“But positions are entrenched now so it’s unfortunate. But Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer have basically been cornered, the only route out for them is now via the courtroom.

“They’re completely justified in taking it outwith football because as I said, there’s no such thing as the football family. It’s one of these myths that exists.

“It’s a very couthy thing to say and a very convenient thing to say when it suits your particular agenda in the game.

“But it doesn’t exist and we’re finding that out. The supporters of not just Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer but of all clubs across the country, are finding out that there’s no such thing as the football family.

“It’s very unfortunate that they’ve had to go to court but it’s very necessary.”

Should it be the Championship for Hearts, Southern believes they’ve made the signing of the summer in Robbie Neilson as the man to get them out of it quickly.

He said: “The scale and stature and Hearts would’ve been a huge draw to him.

“It’s very secure, he’ll have a good budget and will be well backed by Ann.

“I honestly think it’s one of the best signings of the summer transfer window.

“I worked with him at Hearts when he was a player, when he started as a coach with Ann.

“I helped bring him in with Mike Martin, chairman then at Dundee United and he was first class.

“First class as a player, first class as a coach and first class as a manager. He will do a very good job. It just so happens he’s seen as a Championship specialist, which is unfair.

“I believe that he could take his place at pretty much any team in Scotland.”

• Replies 93.5k

• Ethan Hunt

Whatsthefuture
6 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

What he saying? Can u post please.

Bottom of previous page

eyesandears
57 minutes ago, stevieboobs said:

David Southern blasts SPFL crocodile tears as former Hearts chief pinpoints explosion of 'football family' dream

The businessman has been in high profile jobs within Scottish football and feels the treatment of relegated clubs has been abysmal.

David Southern has slammed the “crocodile tears” shed by SPFL clubs for Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer. 

The former Tynecastle chief believes the reaction of other clubs since court action was announced has exposed the idea of a “football family” as myth.

Hearts and Thistle’s joint legal petition will be heard at the Court of Session in Edinburgh this morning, when it will be decided if the challenging of their respective relegations is a matter for the courts or to be arbitrated by the SFA.

Former Hearts managing director Southern believes many of their rivals have shown their true colours since the Jambos and the Jags decided not to accept their fate lying down.

And that talk of co-operation and working together for the great good was just that.

As a result, they could regret dismissing the concerns of Ann Budge and Jacqui Low.

Southern told Record Sport : “There were a lot of crocodile tears for Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer. 

“Stranraer have been a bit forgotten in this. Partick not so much but there have been a lot of crocodile tears for all three of them.

“As has been the way in Scottish football for years, people then just turn their back and move on. Invariably there doesn’t tend to be any consequences.

“But given the gross injustice that there’s been here, you can’t blame Hearts and Partick Thistle for taking this legal route.

“It’s very unusual but you certainly can’t blame them. I saw Craig Gordon ’s comments and I’d just back up what he said as well. 

“To underestimate Ann and Jacqui Low, you do that at your own peril. I know both of them and they’re good operators in their own business world and also in football.

“Football’s fluid – it’s difficult to be right or successful all the time – but in this case, they’re completely justified to go legal.

“There’s not really been any comfort from many clubs or people within the game so they had no choice.

“Over the last few weeks the narrative has been, ‘let’s move on, we must move on, let’s talk together, work together and be the football family’. There is no such thing as the ‘football family’.

“As much as certain clubs and club chairmen want to cover their tracks, I’m afraid it’s not going to be possible until the court case is heard and judged one way or another.”

Hearts’ decision to fight the drop by legal means sparked an immediate response from the sides that were promoted as a result of the season being called early.

Dundee United, Raith and Cove have launched their own, separate actions to try to ensure they’ll remain in a higher division.

But Southern, who was chief operating officer at Tannadice between 2014 and 2019, is adamant no one would have had to lose out had the initial resolution on whether to end the campaign early not been bungled so badly.

He said: “I honestly believe that the right decision should have been taken on April 10.

“The mistake that was made then was that the reconstruction debate should have been included in that resolution.

“In terms of the money being distributed and the league being called to an end, there shouldn’t have been relegation.

“That was completely unfair. But I also believe that promotion should have happened.

“So there is still an opportunity and it’s within the SPFL’s power to carry it out, for a 14-10-10-10.

“It’s still there, it still exists and it would have avoided the unnecessary move to the courtroom. So it’s whether people see sense.

“But positions are entrenched now so it’s unfortunate. But Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer have basically been cornered, the only route out for them is now via the courtroom.

“They’re completely justified in taking it outwith football because as I said, there’s no such thing as the football family. It’s one of these myths that exists.

“It’s a very couthy thing to say and a very convenient thing to say when it suits your particular agenda in the game.

“But it doesn’t exist and we’re finding that out. The supporters of not just Hearts, Partick Thistle and Stranraer but of all clubs across the country, are finding out that there’s no such thing as the football family.

“It’s very unfortunate that they’ve had to go to court but it’s very necessary.”

Should it be the Championship for Hearts, Southern believes they’ve made the signing of the summer in Robbie Neilson as the man to get them out of it quickly.

He said: “The scale and stature and Hearts would’ve been a huge draw to him.

“It’s very secure, he’ll have a good budget and will be well backed by Ann.

“I honestly think it’s one of the best signings of the summer transfer window.

“I worked with him at Hearts when he was a player, when he started as a coach with Ann.

“I helped bring him in with Mike Martin, chairman then at Dundee United and he was first class.

“First class as a player, first class as a coach and first class as a manager. He will do a very good job. It just so happens he’s seen as a Championship specialist, which is unfair.

“I believe that he could take his place at pretty much any team in Scotland.”

Very good article. We need all the defence we can get in the media. He nails it and is obviously someone that has been there.

Can someone please PM me the details to listen to the court hearing? Thanks in advance

35 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Come on the legal team, a place in the Hearts Hall of Fame awaits...

🙏🤞

Statue outside the main stand

On this day in 1916, 11 footballers from our football club, along with 100’s of their comrades in the Sporting Battallion stepped foot on the battlefield in the battle of the Somme. It was a battle like no other and one which they didn’t think they could win.

But they did.

1 hour ago, Newton51 said:

He’s spot on here. This idea that as long as you start with “I’ve a lot of sympathy for... “, before jumping up and down on someone’s throat, it will somehow excuse your behaviour is a nonsense. 

lost in space

What is the best way to follow the proceedings??

I dont want the court code to listen to the hearing - too much of it I wont understand (referencing documents I wont have etc).

Is there a twitter account that is best to follow - from a "sensible jouro"?

Will there be someone like FF or Ethan Hunt doing a simplified update on here?

Edited by lost in space
mis spell

5 minutes ago, Nicholas Brody said:

Is it not public? What's with the secrecy and PM's?

The court have asked people not to share the access code.

You can ask the court for one and will be given it but if someone shares it then they could be found in contempt of court.

Neil Dongcaster
17 minutes ago, ShedBoy said:

On this day in 1916, 11 footballers from our football club, along with 100’s of their comrades in the Sporting Battallion stepped foot on the battlefield in the battle of the Somme. It was a battle like no other and one which they didn’t think they could win.

But they did.

Cringe.

8 minutes ago, lost in space said:

What is the best way to follow the proceedings??

I dont want the court code to listen to the hearing - too much of it I wont understand (referencing documents I wont have etc).

Is there a twitter account that is best to follow - from a "sensible jouro"?

Will there be someone like FF or Ethan Hunt doing a simplified update on here?

Probably best to follow Barry Anderson initially for updates.

Only journalists can live tweet, which as in public can be shared here.

Public listening in cannot publicly state what was said until hearing over or will be in contempt of court.

1 minute ago, DETTY29 said:

Public listening in cannot publicly state what was said until hearing over or will be in contempt of court.

Seems like dodgy ground to be on as someone is bound to blab. 

Kylejordan

Thought would have a look on Hibs.net as need some laughter in my life and see what those numpties are saying about It. 
they have a whole thread dedicated to this court case and have amassed 66 pages of utter drivel. 
never knew so many of them could read or write let alone were experts in legal proceedings. 
I have no idea how any of this is going to turn out. As usual when it comes to supporting the famous it is prepare for the worst and hope for the best but my god it would be glorious to win this and to see the anger that will spill over across there. 

FTH forever in our shadow. 

lost in space
4 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

THANKS - sound advice. 

alicante jambo
57 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Just glad something is finally happening. 

Me too. We all really need this sorted one way or another. Fingers crossed it will be in our favour.

3 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Just glad something is finally happening. 

Same here. Getting some butterflies and trying not to get my hopes up too much. Although I honestly hope it goes in our favor and at the same time put many clubs about of business!

5 minutes ago, Kylejordan said:

Thought would have a look on Hibs.net as need some laughter in my life and see what those numpties are saying about It. 
they have a whole thread dedicated to this court case and have amassed 66 pages of utter drivel. 
never knew so many of them could read or write let alone were experts in legal proceedings. 
I have no idea how any of this is going to turn out. As usual when it comes to supporting the famous it is prepare for the worst and hope for the best but my god it would be glorious to win this and to see the anger that will spill over across there. 

Don't give a **** what Hibs fans say/think. Simple fact is, if they were in the same boat they'd be wanting their club to fight this and any of them saying otherwise is a lying ****.

Just now, alicante jambo said:

Me too. We all really need this sorted one way or another. Fingers crossed it will be in our favour.

Yep. I know it’s just the beginning, but I’ll take actual events, over weeks of grandstanding and speculation, every day of the week. This thread was getting unreadable with some of the guff being posted by folk presenting themselves as some kind of authority on matters. :lol:

7 minutes ago, Kylejordan said:

It was an entertaining read, filled with utter pish

Daydream Believer
1 hour ago, eyesandears said:

Very good article. We need all the defence we can get in the media. He nails it and is obviously someone that has been there.

I don't much trust the media but I assume they have their own legal advisors. Hopefully they have looked at the chances and decided to try to get on the right side before it starts.

alicante jambo
1 hour ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Yep. I know it’s just the beginning, but I’ll take actual events, over weeks of grandstanding and speculation, every day of the week. This thread was getting unreadable with some of the guff being posted by folk presenting themselves as some kind of authority on matters. :lol:

Its kickback mate bring it on. The more guff the better.🤣🤣

Just now, alicante jambo said:

Its kickback mate bring it on. The more guff the better.🤣🤣

I should be used to it by now, but it was really starting to grate. :lol:

25 minutes ago, mutley said:

The court have asked people not to share the access code.

You can ask the court for one and will be given it but if someone shares it then they could be found in contempt of court.

Where have the courts said that?

8 hours ago, graygo said:

There's no big secret to listening to a virtual court hearing, you just need to ask for the access code which they will give you. This information is readily available on their website.

How do I access a case?
Dial +44-20-7660-8149.
You will be asked for an access code or meeting number. Use the unique number for the hearing followed by #.
When asked to key in an attendee number or press # – press #.

Hopefully they will send me the access code for the case in the morning but if some kind soul could pm me it that would be great. 👍

for this who were concerned about how much this call would cost. 020 is London based landline so I you have free minutes.   It’s free.  

22 minutes ago, The Old Tolbooth said:

Seems like dodgy ground to be on as someone is bound to blab. 

Exact same rules as if it was a normal court day mate, anybody can usually sit in on a hearing and would be told not to send updates from the courtroom.

Folk saying you could be in contempt for giving out the access code are wrong, just like if you told someone the case was in "courtroom number 3".

4 minutes ago, graygo said:

In the email you get back from the court when you apply for an access code.

Apologies for the legal naivety and sorry if this has been covered, it's a hard thread to follow, but do we expect some kind of resolution today? 

Presumably nothing will be finalised after one day in court?

2 minutes ago, Loorimer said:

Apologies for the legal naivety and sorry if this has been covered, it's a hard thread to follow, but do we expect some kind of resolution today? 

3 minutes ago, Loorimer said:

I believe the decision will be if it goes to court or dealt with by football authorities. If goes to court huge for us 

12 minutes ago, graygo said:

I thought it was in the initial email that was screenshot and posted. If wrong I apologise

Sent email at 4am this morning and just received details from court. Fingers crossed the decision in or favour.

HHGH

9 minutes ago, SUTOL said:

In the email you get back from the court when you apply for an access code.

Just now, mutley said:

I thought it was in the initial email that was screenshot and posted. If wrong I apologise

No it doesn't, there is the standard blab about "if you are not the intended recipient of this email"

Courts are not some private member's club, the public have a right of access. In fact this will probably be the way forward as more can actually virtually attend than could physically.

Heartsmad1874

Anyone know if its a standard networking rate? Got the code but not keen on paying a small fortune when i can possibly follow Banderson on twitter.

Just now, Heartsmad1874 said:

Anyone know if its a standard networking rate? Got the code but not keen on paying a small fortune when i can possibly follow Banderson on twitter.

It's a London dialling code, if you have inclusive minutes then there's no cost involved.

1 minute ago, graygo said:

No it doesn't, there is the standard blab about "if you are not the intended recipient of this email"

Courts are not some private member's club, the public have a right of access. In fact this will probably be the way forward as more can actually virtually attend than could physically.

So on this note anyone know the code 🤣

Nicholas Brody
1 minute ago, graygo said:

Yeah I'm not sure I believe you can be in contempt of court for sharing an access code that's readily available if you want it from the court.

JamboRossi79

E-mailed last night but not had a reply yet, so would appreciate a code too

Edit: Never mind it was in my other e-mail folder

Edited by JamboRossi79

• jkbmod 9 changed the title to SPFL declare league (2019/20) due to Covid (Arbitration panel upholds SPFL decision )
  • davemclaren changed the title to SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )