Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

1 minute ago, Dennis Denuto said:

But using terms like "Chief Mamma" is designed for debating differing opinions though, it is to try and trigger a response.

I also suspect what you define as positive may not be the same as me.

😂 Ffs come on have you seen some of the names all sides of the fence Chuck an out on here ? 

Of course your positive will be different from mine, that’s okay. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

6 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

In the mean time carry on with life as we all see fit, within the rules as they are.

Exactly 👍🏻 Logical and sensible advice imo

2 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

It’s curious that this thread was on-topic and interesting until the arrival of certain posters…

This thread has been a playground from day 1. Bounces about on/off topic with some really good posts chucked in. So when a poster starts playing that card they know their behaviour hasn’t been the best. 

2 minutes ago, Dazo said:

😂 Ffs come on have you seen some of the names all sides of the fence Chuck an out on here ? 

have you seen some of the names they call Boris? 

5 minutes ago, Dennis Denuto said:

But using terms like "Chief Mamma" is designed for debating differing opinions though, it is to try and trigger a response.

I also suspect what you define as positive may not be the same as me.

That’s exactly it. The ridiculous hyperbole and Elsie Krankie shite just takes the thread off-topic. It obviously ties in with this thread but save it for the SNP thread if you want to debate Sturgeon at length or just try to troll.

Edited by Alex Kintner

6 minutes ago, Dazo said:

And yet the two of you are among the first down his throat. Constantly picking up every little thing he posts, trying to humiliate, smear or discredit. Full of encouragement for others to join in. James is James but **** knows what that makes you and the rest of your little gang. 

Ignoring the exaggeration, I've already explained why people respond to him in this way.

1 minute ago, Dazo said:

This thread has been a playground from day 1. Bounces about on/off topic with some really good posts chucked in. So when a poster starts playing that card they know their behaviour hasn’t been the best. 

There’s many degrees of off-topic posts. Some improve a thread, others ruin it. 👍🏻

Just now, Dazo said:

He only prefers people who agree with whatever he says. He becomes very angry and irate when someone dares to have an opposing view and then uses various strategies to embarrass, discredit  or humiliate them. Anyway I've said my bit. 

Dennis Denuto
1 minute ago, Dazo said:

I don't think it is helpful for any discussions on this particular thread because it just shows that peoples opinion is overly influenced by their political leanings. 

I fall foul of it too because I get triggered by some of the ridiculous comparisons of Nicola or the SNP with other regimes around the world, which is annoying because I am not even that big a fan of Nicola Sturgeon.

10 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

It's amazing how much brexiters know about foreign countries - when it suits them. What a shame they didn't spend so much time getting to know the truths & lies behind brexit. But here we are - being told about life in S Africa. Unreal. 

Indeed. All well informed by such truth tellers as the BBC, Daily Mail etc. 

Dennis Denuto
4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

have you seen some of the names they call Boris? 

That is equally unhelpful on this thread, although you only use "funny" names for one of them, why is that?

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Do we need this psycho-drama again?  

No and since we are in playground lingo.  " i didn't start it " the usual suspect started it. Scroll back dad. :) 

Dennis Denuto
1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Do we need this psycho-drama again?  

Agreed, it is too easy to get dragged into it though.

I am off to drill some holes in walls instead.

1 minute ago, Dennis Denuto said:

That is equally unhelpful on this thread, although you only use "funny" names for one of them, why is that?

Elsie ? is hardly the same as " scum"  and other terms he is regularly called. Not a fan of his but some of the language used about him is disgraceful. 

2 hours ago, Taffin said:

Why is there such a rush for booster jabbing just now? 

I don't tend to do a lot of socialising in January so whether I get it now, or in Jan seems somewhat irrelevant and instead more risky having these huge queues of people scrambling to get one.

People want to post it on their facebooks that they have had it.  Probably post a film of them waiting in the queue also.  Probably with some tagline like "doing my bit" or "Here goes".

6 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

There’s many degrees of off-topic posts. Some improve a thread, others ruin it. 👍🏻

Doesn’t really ruin it though as people either ignore it or are all over it. Rather than escalate it if you feel something is ruining a thread best ignore it. 👍

I'm off too but i certainly wont be bullied into not posting on this thread no way. I've taken on board some of the comments today regarding my  " combative" style and ill try and temper that.  Some others need to think about their style of posting too. 

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

No and since we are in playground lingo.  " i didn't start it " the usual suspect started it. Scroll back dad. :) 

You don't half make it hard on yourself... mum.  Just try to practice what you preach because every poster you're at odds with will reciprocate. 

1 minute ago, i8hibsh said:

People want to post it on their facebooks that they have had it.  Probably post a film of them waiting in the queue also.  Probably with some tagline like "doing my bit" or "Here goes".

There already is a Facebook banner " I've had my booster" Its the same kind of slacktvism  of the " love is love " type of axiom 

aye bolt...lol. I never ever use those Facebook virtual signalling banners but was sorely tempted to with this one  " i don't give a f** if you are vaccinated" 

9 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Ignoring the exaggeration, I've already explained why people respond to him in this way.

You’re basically justifying bully. It’s okay to pile on James because of his posting style. 

If James really is the way he is being treated I wouldn’t give him my time of day and happily skim over his posts. I certainly would use 5 of my mates to constantly berate a guy who’s opinion means so little to me. 

Anyway James I’m sure is a big boy who can defend himself. 

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

There already is a Facebook banner " I've had my booster" Its the same kind of slacktvism  of the " love is love " type of axiom 

aye bolt...lol. I never ever use those Facebook virtual signalling banners but was sorely tempted to with this one  " i don't give a f** if you are vaccinated" 

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Wow. What a pile of steaming pish so far this morning (and I should know, I usually post it...).

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaanyways... looking for more Covid travel advice.

Having a quick trip to Malta next month (fingers crossed) and cannot see anything on their travel advice site about having to test before departure. However, will I have to test before the return trip? I just seem to find conflicting out of date info from the UK Gov sites. Anyone travel there (or elsewhere in the EU) recently?

A few people in my work are travelling back from Spain in early January. If they're vaccinated they need to  book a test as soon as they return and isolate until a negative pcr. Some are paying 130 for a guaranteed 24 hour result. If unvaccinated they have to isolate for 10 days and book a PCR on day 8. 

2 minutes ago, Dazo said:

You’re basically justifying bully. It’s okay to pile on James because of his posting style. 

If James really is the way he is being treated I wouldn’t give him my time of day and happily skim over his posts. I certainly would use 5 of my mates to constantly berate a guy who’s opinion means so little to me. 

it is . Its that simple really. People should just ignore my comments. I mean those who don't agree. I am a big boy and can handle myself but it is draining. No doubt about that. Thanks for that support ( queue the comments that I'm playing the victim card etc. I really cant win even when I am being very genuine) 

Dennis Denuto
8 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Wow. What a pile of steaming pish so far this morning (and I should know, I usually post it...).

Having a quick trip to Malta next month (fingers crossed) and cannot see anything on their travel advice site about having to test before departure. However, will I have to test before the return trip? I just seem to find conflicting out of date info from the UK Gov sites. Anyone travel there (or elsewhere in the EU) recently?

I disagree, I posted an excellent thing about Hospital rates (IMHO) to James, which he chose to ignore!!!!

9 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Drivel. 

10 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Malta appears to only require proof of vaccination for entry from the uk. Coming back you need to test before you fly and test within 2 days of your return. 

Sky News reporting from South Africa (again) and John Sparks was saying that 3 weeks since the Omicron variant was identified and whilst there is a huge increase of infections the hospitals are not seeing any major increase in hospitalsations, with most people reporting mild cold like symptoms.  The infection rate is probably even higher in SA than being reported, but most people don't bother getting tested because they think they only have a cold.  A lot of South African doctors and scientists think the UK has over reacted.

14 minutes ago, Dazo said:

I'm doing no such thing. I don't know a single other person on this forum, they certainly aren't my mates and I don't "use" anyone.

Jenny Harries was suggesting that the doubling rate might even be accelerating.  Maybe regionally.  I think it's becoming fairly clear that whatever is due to hit us is going to hit us.  It really shouldn't take long to see some real time evidence of the effects.  Should be ample evidence within 2 to 3 weeks.

10 minutes ago, Savage Vince said:

A few people in my work are travelling back from Spain in early January. If they're vaccinated they need to  book a test as soon as they return and isolate until a negative pcr. Some are paying 130 for a guaranteed 24 hour result. If unvaccinated they have to isolate for 10 days and book a PCR on day 8. 

They wouldn't be unvaccinated if they are travelling back from Spain, as you need to be vaccinated to get in.

Unless they have been over there for a month

8 minutes ago, Alex Kintner said:

Staggering as in loads of cases but no great increase in hospitalisations, or what?

Professionals really need to qualify their statements as this leaves it open for interpretation, which in turn leads to disagreement.

Still don't get how SA doctors so relaxed about it while ours are running around in panic.

4 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

I'm doing no such thing. I don't know a single other person on this forum, they certainly aren't my mates and I don't "use" anyone.

It’s a virtual world Ray, not your actual mates. 👍

See they were set to decommission the Highland Centre vaccination hub due to a commercial booking and have only now got round to realising how bad an idea it is.  Woeful.

This sums it up

https://news.sky.com/story/jethro-comedian-dies-after-contracting-covid-19-family-say-their-lives-will-never-be-the-same-without-him-12496225

Sensationalism by the media and just another exaggerated statistic for government.

"Died after contracting COVID"

"Died with covid"

"Died with recently having covid in the past month"

Sadly, people die but now for some ****ed up reason we are citing the word "Covid" on any death we can get away with.  Is no one asking what the motivation is for the exaggeration of death reasons?  

I am absolutely convinced this is intentional.

The desperation from the NHS, government and media to stamp people with the covid tag is staggering.

I had to phone an ambulance last year because a man was conked out in the street from the bevvy.   It took me 10 minutes to actually get past the covid questionnaire.  They were desperate for it to be a covid case.  I kept advising them it is just alcohol related.

My eyes were opened to this global hoax some time ago - and I stand proud from this fact.  I may be wrong of course but I don't think I am.

Edited by i8hibsh

So on topic. What is the script regarding work night outs? We have one booked for this weekend but have now had an email from management asking us to " postpone " it. Its an interesting one really.  What workers do outwith work should not be any employers business as such ( unless criminal etc). After all its is only guidance from Miss Nicola Sturgeon. Our First Minister. :) 

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

Off to enjoy the newly legalised marijuana type post.

You will need to test to get into Malta, as I understand, its now a now a requirement throughout the EU for travel. You will need to test prior to returning to the UK and you will need to PCR test within two days of return to UK.

So it will be 3 tests in total.

For both journeys you will need to fill in locator forms which will provide your details including testing references. 

Currently booking my testing for our festive break, whilst debating the merits of going. The concern of popping outside the UK does not fill me with joy. However, on basis I’m booking testing I’m, clearly  committed to going.

Everything I’ve read doesn’t suggest a test for Malta. You sure about that lbj ?

4 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Staggering as in loads of cases but no great increase in hospitalisations, or what?

Professionals really need to qualify their statements as this leaves it open for interpretation, which in turn leads to disagreement.

Still don't get how SA doctors so relaxed about it while ours are running around in panic.

Think she’s giving evidence to a committee so probably elaborated but the headline word was ‘staggering’. I’d guess it’s cases due to the hospital admission lag.

2 hours ago, Dazo said:

What are those symptoms ? I’d imagine most of us could pick out 2 or 3 and wilfully ignore at this time of year. 

Sorry mate. I'm having to graft a bit today ☹

Anyhow

Like I said, I can probably tick all them off at this time of year 😂

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

See they were set to decommission the Highland Centre vaccination hub due to a commercial booking and have only now got round to realising how bad an idea it is.  Woeful.

That’s ridiculous! 😳

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

They were planning on having a rave I believe. Could have just combined both and danced way to vaccine.

You do wonder how they never noticed before now though.

27 minutes ago, jonesy said:

My mum isn't long back from malta and found the whole thing relatively painless, that said rules are being changed across the continent and with regard to UK return frequently at the moment. Find this UK government website the most consistently reliable;

Entry requirements - Malta travel advice - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Sorry mate. I'm having to graft a bit today ☹

Anyhow

Like I said, I can probably tick all them off at this time of year 😂

Ffs that’s a usual night for me. 😂😂

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

So on topic. What is the script regarding work night outs? We have one booked for this weekend but have now had an email from management asking us to " postpone " it. Its an interesting one really.  What workers do outwith work should not be any employers business as such ( unless criminal etc). After all its is only guidance from Miss Nicola Sturgeon. Our First Minister. :) 

I’m guessing the employer doesn’t want to risk you all being off with Covid at the same time. Seems sensible. 🤷🏻‍♂️

5 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Mental. A massive sell-out dance music event was scheduled for the weekend and cancelled with just a few days notice. Absolutely ridiculous that they didn't realise it would still be needed several weeks ago.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic