Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

JKB incredibly slow for me today, so hopefully this gets through.

Scottish numbers: 13 February 2021

Summary

• 908 new cases of COVID-19 reported [+78]
  • 22,259 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 4.9% of these were positive [+3,075; -0.3%]
  • 45 new reported deaths of people who have tested positive [-22]
  • 110 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-5]
  • 1,449 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-23]
  • 1,173,445 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 14,009 have received their second dose [+59,820; +443]

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

23 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

75-79 now at 92% - 5% increase on yesterday

70-74 now at 64% - 10% increase on yesterday.

So still on track to get a v.high %age of first dose vaccinated in the key cohort groups with 4 days to go.

As at 8:30am on Friday 12 February:

• 1,113,625 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 13,566 have received their second dose
  • 30,027 care home residents (exceeding the initial target for residents in older adult care homes and 94% of residents in all care homes)
  • 40,791 care home staff (91% of staff in older adult care homes and 78% of staff in all care homes)
  • 244,374 people aged 80 or over living in the community (98%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 279,718 frontline health and social care workers exceeding the initial target of 230,000 staff provided by Health Boards.
  • 175,425 people aged 75-79 living in the community (92%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 178,543 people aged 70-74 living in the community (64%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately.  

75-79 now at 96% - 4% increase on yesterday.  Pretty steady 4% or 5% increase day on day.  Should get close to 98% take up by close Monday.

70-74 now at 72% - 8% increase on yesterday.  First fall in a few days (10% yesterday; 9% day before;  8% day before that and 8% before that.  So over next 3 days getting to that high 90s% may be a challenge.  Could be the impact of the weather or as the population gets more diverse, take up not as high.  I have 4 neighbours and a pals mum at 73 all booked in tomorrow.

Still fantastic take up.  England target is 88% take up for the top 4 cohorts as a comparison.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

As at 8:30am on Saturday 13 February:

• 1,173,445 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 14,09 have received their second dose
  • 30,063 care home residents (exceeding the initial target for residents in older adult care homes and 94% of residents in all care homes)
  • 40,847 care home staff (91% of staff in older adult care homes and 79% of staff in all care homes)
  • 245,981 people aged 80 or over living in the community (98%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 280,466 frontline health and social care workers exceeding the initial target of 230,000 staff provided by Health Boards
  • 182,917 people aged 75-79 living in the community (96%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 202,110 people aged 70-74 living in the community (72%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately

The latest 7-day stats:

Pre- 7-day per-100,000 cases                  
Council Area Tier Lockdown Today Yesterday     11 Feb 10 Feb 9 Feb 8 Feb 7 Feb ... 20 Dec  
Scotland     104 104 0   105 111 114 113 111 ... 98  
East Ayrshire 4 3 284 254 +30   204 156 145 145 139 ... 153  
Clackmannanshire 4 3 227 211 +16   208 211 211 213 210 ... 148  
West Dunbartonshire 4 3 201 182 +19   183 177 182 171 168 ... 120  
Falkirk 4 2 190 183 +7   186 221 239 227 239 ... 60  
North Lanarkshire 4 3 161 160 +1   162 173 184 179 171 ... 119  
Stirling 4 3 160 153 +7   158 160 151 149 139 ... 70  
South Lanarkshire 4 3 150 147 +3   145 148 149 148 156 ... 120  
Renfrewshire 4 3 147 152 -5   137 147 156 160 156 ... 116  
Glasgow City 4 3 144 145 -1   149 157 166 166 159 ... 129  
North Ayrshire 4 3 135 129 +6   136 132 127 134 122 ... 175  
Na h-Eileanan Siar 4 1 116 124 -8   101 109 97 112 97 ... 22  
East Renfrewshire 4 3 106 106 0   120 134 134 130 134 ... 101  
West Lothian 4 3 100 106 -6   106 124 115 108 107 ... 83  
Inverclyde 4 2 99 104 -5   93 102 109 103 114 ... 59  
Midlothian 4 3 98 98 0   96 108 100 88 90 ... 136  
South Ayrshire 4 3 91 94 -3   103 111 116 108 103 ... 98  
Dumfries & Galloway 4 1 87 93 -6   101 91 87 85 80 ... 32  
Argyll & Bute 4/3 2 83 87 -4   98 109 115 102 95 ... 29  
East Dunbartonshire 4 3 83 96 -13   104 111 122 117 122 ... 70  
East Lothian 4 3 73 81 -8   82 96 94 99 86 ... 148  
Moray 4 1 72 77 -5   75 78 82 82 72 ... 13  
St John’s Toun & Aroon’ 4 3 71 59 +12   59 66 65 65 61 ... 126  
Angus 4 2 67 79 -12   94 107 118 120 118 ... 37  
Edinburgh City 4 3 61 63 -2   63 67 67 66 66 ... 109  
Highland 4/3 1 59 61 -2   66 59 67 62 51 ... 17  
Fife 4 3 53 52 +1   49 55 57 61 66 ... 97  
Aberdeenshire 4 3 49 41 +8   48 56 55 56 57 ... 88  
Aberdeen City 4 3 43 40 +3   47 52 54 57 58 ... 163  
Dundee City 4 3 40 54 -14   70 83 97 105 121 ... 113  
Scottish Borders 4 1 31 35 -4   36 48 52 52 58 ... 85  
Orkney Islands 3 1 27 27 0   18 9 4 4 4 ... 0  
Shetland Islands 3 1 9 9 0   9 9 9 4 4 ... 0  

7-day averages                            
Tests     17754 17137 +617   17531 18038 18515 18450 17583 ... 16839  
Positivity rate %     5.4 5.5 -0.1   5.5 5.6 5.7 5.7 5.9 ... 5.2  
Hospital (non-ICU)     1455 1494 -39   1539 1581 1626 1668 1703 ... 975  
ICU     111 112 -1   113 115 118 122 127 ... 50  
Deaths     40 40 0   40 40 46 47 47 ... 25  
All Vaccinations     55852 53631 +2221   51262 48669 45946 41981 39412      
1st Dose     55288 53016 +2272   50629 48044 45349 41575 39014      
2nd Dose     564 615 -51   633 625 597 406 398      

23 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

Correction:

Further to the case count in Kilmarnock, the number of cases over the most recent 7 day period was 80, and not 50 as I had typed incorrectly. It has increased rapidly over the last week, and may have further to go.

7 days ending:

5 Feb - 10

6 Feb - 11

7 Feb - 16

8 Feb - 38

9 Feb - 80

Not sure if been mentioned but I heard this morning that there'#s a big outbreak (of Covid!) at HMP Kilmarnock.

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Received, over.

And is that 59,820 vaccinations that were administered yesterday?

Yep,

Well pedantically, 60263 with 2nd doses.

👌

Considering weather brilliant take up.

Edited by DETTY29

6 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said:

Not sure if been mentioned but I heard this morning that there'#s a big outbreak (of Covid!) at HMP Kilmarnock.

Sounds perfectively plausible.  In the Kilmarnock South Central and Carpington neighbourhood, it is now 152 cases in the week to 10 February, with the 7day/100k rate up to an eyewatering 5,425.

Edited by Footballfirst

5 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said:

Ah, that might in part explain the East Ayrshire spike. I've just read that they've had 162 cases there.

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Ah, that might in part explain the East Ayrshire spike. I've just read that they've had 162 cases there.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/6674443/coronavirus-scotland-prisoners-outbreak-kilmarnock-jail/

MORE than 160 lags have tested positive for Covid-19 after a major outbreak at a Scots nick.

Prison bosses confirmed 162 cases have been diagnosed at HMP Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, in the biggest behind bars outbreak since the pandemic began.

Hundreds of prisoners have been forced to self-isolate as a precaution after almost 30 per cent of the nick's 550 population tested positive.

Jail chiefs also confirmed 20 lags have tested positive at HMP Dumfries and another 6 at Addiewell jail, in West Lothian.

More than 765 prisoners are self-isolating at jails across the country as a result of the outbreaks.

Insiders said the virus spread rapidly through HMP Kilmarnock in recent days — but a "high proportion" of inmates who tested positive are not displaying any symptoms.

A large-scale mobile testing regime is underway at nicks across Scotland in a bid to bring the sudden surge in cases under control.
Meanwhile, staff at HMP Barlinnie in Glasgow and Glenochil nick, near Alloa are on alert after one prisoner at each site tested positive yesterday.

A Scottish Prison Service spokesman said: "There are currently 767 individuals who are self-isolating across 11 establishments.

Edited by Footballfirst

45 minutes ago, jonesy said:

The Pandemic or the Union, ri? ;) 

But yes, unless it turns out that mutations take the virus beyond the reach of the vaccine, no reason not to be back to significant normal by the summer at the latest. 

Pandemic, bud. 

Did I read that it's 1/150 in Scotland? That's a big improvement. 

A guy my wife knows, who has been proper shielding throughout this due to health reasons, got his vaccine at the start of the week. 

He's now in hospital after testing positive. 

Maybe a wee reminder why we're still under lockdown despite the vaccine rollout. 

Edited by Norm

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

You mean he caught it while out getting his vaccine? How many ladders did the poor guy walk under on his way to the vaccine centre? Hope he recovers.

I dunno. Possible he caught it just before the vaccine?

But just goes to show you, even if you do take precautions and shield, you're still not 100% safe. 

1 hour ago, Horatio Caine said:

HMP Grampian has a number self isolating also after positive cases were identified not sure numbers though. 

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

The latest 7-day stats:

Pre- 7-day per-100,000 cases                  
Council Area Tier Lockdown Today Yesterday     11 Feb 10 Feb 9 Feb 8 Feb 7 Feb ... 20 Dec  
Scotland     104 104 0   105 111 114 113 111 ... 98  
East Ayrshire 4 3 284 254 +30   204 156 145 145 139 ... 153  
Clackmannanshire 4 3 227 211 +16   208 211 211 213 210 ... 148  
West Dunbartonshire 4 3 201 182 +19   183 177 182 171 168 ... 120  
Falkirk 4 2 190 183 +7   186 221 239 227 239 ... 60  
North Lanarkshire 4 3 161 160 +1   162 173 184 179 171 ... 119  
Stirling 4 3 160 153 +7   158 160 151 149 139 ... 70  
South Lanarkshire 4 3 150 147 +3   145 148 149 148 156 ... 120  
Renfrewshire 4 3 147 152 -5   137 147 156 160 156 ... 116  
Glasgow City 4 3 144 145 -1   149 157 166 166 159 ... 129  
North Ayrshire 4 3 135 129 +6   136 132 127 134 122 ... 175  
Na h-Eileanan Siar 4 1 116 124 -8   101 109 97 112 97 ... 22  
East Renfrewshire 4 3 106 106 0   120 134 134 130 134 ... 101  
West Lothian 4 3 100 106 -6   106 124 115 108 107 ... 83  
Inverclyde 4 2 99 104 -5   93 102 109 103 114 ... 59  
Midlothian 4 3 98 98 0   96 108 100 88 90 ... 136  
South Ayrshire 4 3 91 94 -3   103 111 116 108 103 ... 98  
Dumfries & Galloway 4 1 87 93 -6   101 91 87 85 80 ... 32  
Argyll & Bute 4/3 2 83 87 -4   98 109 115 102 95 ... 29  
East Dunbartonshire 4 3 83 96 -13   104 111 122 117 122 ... 70  
East Lothian 4 3 73 81 -8   82 96 94 99 86 ... 148  
Moray 4 1 72 77 -5   75 78 82 82 72 ... 13  
St John’s Toun & Aroon’ 4 3 71 59 +12   59 66 65 65 61 ... 126  
Angus 4 2 67 79 -12   94 107 118 120 118 ... 37  
Edinburgh City 4 3 61 63 -2   63 67 67 66 66 ... 109  
Highland 4/3 1 59 61 -2   66 59 67 62 51 ... 17  
Fife 4 3 53 52 +1   49 55 57 61 66 ... 97  
Aberdeenshire 4 3 49 41 +8   48 56 55 56 57 ... 88  
Aberdeen City 4 3 43 40 +3   47 52 54 57 58 ... 163  
Dundee City 4 3 40 54 -14   70 83 97 105 121 ... 113  
Scottish Borders 4 1 31 35 -4   36 48 52 52 58 ... 85  
Orkney Islands 3 1 27 27 0   18 9 4 4 4 ... 0  
Shetland Islands 3 1 9 9 0   9 9 9 4 4 ... 0  

7-day averages                            
Tests     17754 17137 +617   17531 18038 18515 18450 17583 ... 16839  
Positivity rate %     5.4 5.5 -0.1   5.5 5.6 5.7 5.7 5.9 ... 5.2  
Hospital (non-ICU)     1455 1494 -39   1539 1581 1626 1668 1703 ... 975  
ICU     111 112 -1   113 115 118 122 127 ... 50  
Deaths     40 40 0   40 40 46 47 47 ... 25  
All Vaccinations     55852 53631 +2221   51262 48669 45946 41981 39412      
1st Dose     55288 53016 +2272   50629 48044 45349 41575 39014      
2nd Dose     564 615 -51   633 625 597 406 398      

30 minutes ago, sadj said:

HMP Grampian has a number self isolating also after positive cases were identified not sure numbers though. 

Aberdeenshire case figures have been low of late, so it looks like HMP Grampian hasn't been badly affected.

1 hour ago, Norm said:

I dunno. Possible he caught it just before the vaccine?

But just goes to show you, even if you do take precautions and shield, you're still not 100% safe. 

Or even in the days following the vaccine. Takes around a week to start having an effect. Even then, a single dose doesn't give full protection. 

57 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Aberdeenshire case figures have been low of late, so it looks like HMP Grampian hasn't been badly affected.

40 prisoners self isolating at hmp grampian.  Maybe helps understand the increase in Aberdeenshire today.

29 minutes ago, Barack said:

"He also echoed comments made earlier by Health Secretary Matt Hancock that Covid-19 could become an illness that we live with - like the flu - by the end of the year."

"Dr Sarah Pitt, a virologist at the University of Brighton, told the BBC: "It's not a type of flu. It's not the same sort of virus. It doesn't cause the same sort of disease, it's very, very nasty."

Now, I think Hancock has been a bit of a pleb throughout all of this. Bit of a Tim Nice But Dim, caricature if you will.

But what he's meaning there, is patently not what she's getting at. And it doesn't take a virologist to point that out. It's patronising and spectacular in its point missing.

The point is that we have to live with it like flu. David Davis made that very point earlier. Flu mutates in a far greater way than Covid so we should be able to tweak the vaccines as we do each year with flu.  Another big difference is, with flu, you know you have it. None of the asymptomatic pish we hear about with Covid. For the vast majority of folk, getting flu would be the worst option of the two. The most vulnerable to Covid will be protected so, going forward, past April/May we have to learn to accept cases, infection, illness and some deaths,  in the same way we do with all respiratory illnesses.  

15 minutes ago, Barack said:

I'm not sure if I made that make sense. I also agree that we'll have to live with it. Like the flu, definitely. That's what Hancock was meaning. Nothing to do with comparing the two in terms of infection and virulence.

But she's jumped on it, without taking it for what it is. A closet example of what we live with day to day, especially in the Winter.

"It's NOT the FLU! DUUUUHHH!"

Aye, he knows...🙄

Sorry, my mistake.  Yes, I know what you mean; she assumed Hancock was comparing the symptoms rather than how we should deal with them, and live with them.

13 minutes ago, Barack said:

I've no truck with being inoculated every year. It's a tiny price to pay, to be able to see my parents safely. I'm not overly bothered about my chances of getting it. Missus is suffering long term Covid, atm. But getting better as the weeks go by. After the summer, and once I've had my jab(s) my patience will be at its last with Covid-19 restrictions & mixed messaging. Despite working through it all & complying. I know I'm not alone. 

Yes, completely agree. Once we get to May and all over 50s have had their jab, I think most of us will be running out of patience with restrictions.  I think the PM knows that and he seems to be formulating a plan that will see us return more or less to normality by the summer. 

Hope your missus has a speedy recovery👍

57 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

The point is that we have to live with it like flu. David Davis made that very point earlier. Flu mutates in a far greater way than Covid so we should be able to tweak the vaccines as we do each year with flu.  Another big difference is, with flu, you know you have it. None of the asymptomatic pish we hear about with Covid. For the vast majority of folk, getting flu would be the worst option of the two. The most vulnerable to Covid will be protected so, going forward, past April/May we have to learn to accept cases, infection, illness and some deaths,  in the same way we do with all respiratory illnesses.  

The vast majority of flu is asymptomatic pish ;-), at least according to this 5 year study. 77% of people who had flu confirmed by a blood test didn't have any symptoms.

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/news/2014/mar/three-quarters-people-seasonal-and-pandemic-flu-have-no-symptoms

CavySlaveJambo
1 hour ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Yes, completely agree. Once we get to May and all over 50s have had their jab, I think most of us will be running out of patience with restrictions. 

There are two other high risk groups you are willing to say their lives mean nothing because they are not in the priority vaccination schedule.   
Those with a disability and those with a learning disability.  Not many of whom come under a priority group 4 or 6. 

Edited by CavySlaveJambo

6 hours ago, fancy a brew said:

The vast majority of flu is asymptomatic pish ;-), at least according to this 5 year study. 77% of people who had flu confirmed by a blood test didn't have any symptoms.

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/news/2014/mar/three-quarters-people-seasonal-and-pandemic-flu-have-no-symptoms

Never heard of asymptomatic flu but there you go, 77%, who would have thunk it?? Thank feck we don't go searching for it in the same way we do with Covid.  Anyway, moving forward,  symptomatic Covid, principally cases resulting in hospitalisation should be where our focus lies.

6 hours ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

There are two other high risk groups you are willing to say their lives mean nothing because they are not in the priority vaccination schedule.   
Those with a disability and those with a learning disability.  Not many of whom come under a priority group 4 or 6. 

Where does this "lives mean nothing" line we keep hearing, come from?  If they are a high risk group then they will be vaccinated ahead of others. But do I think we should lock down the entire country until every single high risk individual has been vaccinated? No, I don't.  Individual decision making and shielding, if necessary,  would take over until the vaccine is administered. 

CavySlaveJambo
7 hours ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

37 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

No, I don't.  Individual decision making and shielding, if necessary,  would take over until the vaccine is administered. 

What support have disabled people actually had!  Except Discrimination?!  Point to support for disabled people who have voluntarily been shielding for the last year, and that that support will continue? Oh wait - there isn’t any. And there won’t be. 

Oh and you lose your independence to be told - it’s ok you can carry on voluntarily shielding for Longer with no support.  And try NOT to wish you were dead. 

8 hours ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

What kind of disabilities do you mean though? 

It’s vague enough for me to ask: why would they be more susceptible to harm than others in their age group? (I appreciate there are issues with mask wearing with certain disabilities and they need to be prioritised, yes)

9 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Yes, completely agree. Once we get to May and all over 50s have had their jab, I think most of us will be running out of patience with restrictions.  I think the PM knows that and he seems to be formulating a plan that will see us return more or less to normality by the summer. 

Hope your missus has a speedy recovery👍

If we get to May with all over 50s vaccines then the pressure to fully open up will be immense. 

Keep the airports restricted though. 

43 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

If we get to May with all over 50s vaccines then the pressure to fully open up will be immense. 

Keep the airports restricted though. 

Yes, I agree, the airports may be the trade off. I would still prefer to keep airports open though and allow travel to continue, with testing on departure and arrival and the use of vaccine passports.  A stamp on an existing passport would be the best option imo

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
47 minutes ago, Rupert Pupkin said:

Areas in NZ to go back into Lockdown in a few hours for 3 days... 🤔

I thought they had beaten covid - is this a result of a traveller slipping though the quarantine net or something?

2 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

I thought they had beaten covid - is this a result of a traveller slipping though the quarantine net or something?

Anyone tests positive, they react and sort it out. Here...  they let it rip and then react too late. 

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
33 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Anyone tests positive, they react and sort it out. Here...  they let it rip and then react too late. 

i don’t disagree that the uk appear to have made a pigs ear of what was a very very difficult situation in the first place - one with many completely different challenges to what nz face too

4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

I guess that begs the question: how is anyone testing positive if they've been so strict on incomers?

I have no idea. Goods in? illegal immigration? Animals? I don't have the foggiest, but they don't feck about when they do. 

18 minutes ago, jonesy said:

I think the NZ/Oz approach, while obviously working in the short term, is somewhat akin to kitting out your home in lovely white carpets, then shite yerself everytime anyone carries a cup of coffee or glass of red wine to the sofa.

Exactly.  That's no way to live. Imagine running a business and being told to close at the drop if a hat anytime someone sneezes. 

I suppose all of us could avoid colds or flus in winter by never leaving our houses, but that's existing not living. At some point NZ will have to accept reality

4 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Where does this "lives mean nothing" line we keep hearing, come from?  If they are a high risk group then they will be vaccinated ahead of others. But do I think we should lock down the entire country until every single high risk individual has been vaccinated? No, I don't.  Individual decision making and shielding, if necessary,  would take over until the vaccine is administered. 

totally agree every death does matter but so far 0.2% of the UK population have died where Covid has been mentioned as a cause or possible cause that leaves 99.98 of the population having to lockdown etc etc if we don't open up as much as possible there will be a very different landscape after Covid. We will just have to live with it, get on with life especially getting kids back to school asap. FWIW my in laws 88 and 84 are both in a nursing home and both have serious underlying health problems and could succumb any time soon nothing related to Covid but as they tested positive in the last three weeks and if they were to pass away of their underlying health problems it would be put down as a Covid death when in all probability it was natural causes. They both had their vaccinations just before xmas so hopefully that has protected them. Even they have both said that they have enjoyed life but they want to see grandkids/great grandkids two born during Covid that they haven't been able to hold them this really upsets them. hopefully things get back to some sort of normality soon.

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

If it's goods in, then they need to identify the product that it lives on, sharpish.

Illegal immigration? Don't see too many Afghans and Syrians paddling out to NZ on a dinghy, but good luck to them if they do.

Must be the bats.

Illegals? I'm sure a few Brits have fled to Aus/NZ within the last year. 

👮‍♂️

New Zealand have considerably less deaths, their economy grew 14% in the last quarter and they can go to the pub, live sport etc..

Sounds terrible, glad we didn't copy their deluded approach.

24 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

FWIW my in laws 88 and 84 are both in a nursing home and both have serious underlying health problems and could succumb any time soon nothing related to Covid but as they tested positive in the last three weeks and if they were to pass away of their underlying health problems it would be put down as a Covid death when in all probability it was natural causes. They both had their vaccinations just before xmas so hopefully that has protected them. Even they have both said that they have enjoyed life but they want to see grandkids/great grandkids two born during Covid that they haven't been able to hold them this really upsets them. hopefully things get back to some sort of normality soon.

Do you know how they contracted the virus? That in itself should be a serious issue for the nursing home. 

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
15 minutes ago, Costanza said:

New Zealand have considerably less deaths, their economy grew 14% in the last quarter and they can go to the pub, live sport etc..

Sounds terrible, glad we didn't copy their deluded approach.

like I’ve said above I don’t believe the uk have dealt with this very difficult situation well but do you recognise any fundamental differences between the 2 countries which might have still resulted in a significant different outcome for both (albeit probably to some degree better than we have now) ?

6 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

like I’ve said above I don’t believe the uk have dealt with this very difficult situation well but do you recognise any fundamental differences between the 2 countries which might have still resulted in a significant different outcome for both (albeit probably to some degree better than we have now) ?

They have Jacinda Ardern we have Boris Johnson? 😏

17 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Sounds like a decent plan. Fed up with the snow.

Yup , we don’t have the pink and white terraces...They def get snow in NZ though....think its only June to October and in the mountains though bar the occasional flutter on the South Islands. 

11 minutes ago, sadj said:

They have Jacinda Ardern we have Boris Johnson? 😏

Nah, we have Nicola fecking Sturgeon :muggy:

19 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

To answer both you and Jonesy, I agree that you can't simply implement another countries approach (say NZ or Sweden) and just plonk it down in the UK, due to numerous factors like population density, household demographics,  cultural norms, social care and  public health infrastructure, but if you look at the UK with our half and half approach, countries with an elimination strategy or countries who have effectively let it rip through the population, it seems the elimination strategy is the one we should have gone for.

The initial UK population buy in to the first lockdown backed with a proper test and trace system (not used for cronyism) could I think have made it work.

That's an opinion of course but I haven't seen another approach that has convinced me it would have worked better.

11 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

I agree that an adapted New Zealand type of approach would see is in a much better position than we are currently. As you can see the virus still finds ways to get in but at least then you can immediately lockdown the area and investigate what has happened and deal with it, then on you go again. There would be no 5 month long 16 day circuit breakers.

Yup, it's the repeated lockdowns and tiers that is the problem in the UK. Doesn't bear thinking about where we'd be without a vaccine.

Scottish numbers: 14 February 2021

Summary

• 903 new cases of COVID-19 reported [-5]
  • 13,808 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 7.3% of these were positive [-8,451; +2.4%]
  • 4 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive (noting that Register Offices are now generally closed at weekends). [-41]
  • 104 people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-6]
  • 1,442 people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19 [-7]
  • 1,223,774 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 14,281 have received their second dose [+50,329; +272]

23 hours ago, DETTY29 said:

75-79 now at 96%, 4% increase on yesterday.

70-74 now at 72%, 8% increase on yesterday.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

As at 8:30am on Saturday 13 February:

• 1,173,445 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 14,09 have received their second dose
  • 30,063 care home residents (exceeding the initial target for residents in older adult care homes and 94% of residents in all care homes)
  • 40,847 care home staff (91% of staff in older adult care homes and 79% of staff in all care homes)
  • 245,981 people aged 80 or over living in the community (98%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 280,466 frontline health and social care workers exceeding the initial target of 230,000 staff provided by Health Boards
  • 182,917 people aged 75-79 living in the community (96%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 202,110 people aged 70-74 living in the community (72%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately

75-79 now at 99%, so virtually complete outside of few stragglers.

70-74 now at 78%, 6% increase on yesterday.  Will be a push to get into 90s by close Monday.

--------------------------------

As at 8:30am on Sunday 14 February:

• 1,223,774 people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 14,281 have received their second dose
  • 30,076 care home residents (exceeding the initial target for residents in older adult care homes and 94% of residents in all care homes)
  • 40,877 care home staff (91% of staff in older adult care homes and 79% of staff in all care homes)
  • 246,455 people aged 80 or over living in the community (99%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 280,927 frontline health and social care workers exceeding the initial target of 230,000 staff provided by Health Boards.
  • 187,666 people aged 75-79 living in the community (99%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately
  • 219,074 people aged 70-74 living in the community (78%) – this excludes care home residents who are reported separately.  

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

Agree on that. But the horse has bolted.

The fact that the government(s) didn't do so has meant that anything they do now will be too little too late. They'd be better off opening up sooner rather than later in order to get things going and putting all their efforts into supporting the vulnerable, as @CavySlaveJambo's posts above suggest they are not doing anything to help those needing shielded.

I, along with the vast majority of working-age punters, don't need shielded, and neither do my family, and yet I can't go to work - and am being paid not to work - while my kids can't go to school and receive the education which is their right.

Clusterf***k.

I agree the horse has bolted there sadly.

I don't agree on opening up too soon until transmissions are very low.

Even after vaccinating the vulnerable, if we open up too soon you still run the risk of ICU's filling up, creating mutations that the vaccine isn't effective against and increased long covid, including in children.

The last thing we want is opening up and then having another lockdown.

We have to make this the last lockdown as we can't keep repeating these cycles.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic