U.S. Politics megathread (merged)

trex

10 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

While a conviction would have been the ideal it's still by no means a win for Trump. I expect there to be civil law suits brought against him by the likes of the families of those who died during the Trump directed attack on the Capitol.

And what will the lawyers of those families say in court? Well for one thing they're pretty certain to quote the words of Republican senate minority leader Mitch McConnell.

Trump wont so easily wriggle out of that when faced with a non loaded jury. And another fact is that a majority of the senate still voted to convict him while an even bigger majority of the nation think he should have been convicted.

This demonstrates to federal and state prosecutors that bringing criminal charges against Trump is politically safe.

Again, this was no win for Trump. And the value in carrying out the procedure regardless of the reality we all knew how it would end lies in these facts.

You are expressing my fears but in a completely different way. I just don't feel that Trump is prepared to say  You got me I done wrong so do what you have to. He will continue what he has said , MAGA is still around and its not finished. He will add to that by appealing to his rabid support and violence will escalate, the politicians will argue about what has to be done, senior personnel in required functions who are supporters will delay planning to counteract riots and acts of disorder, I still feel that was the case in the recent Capitol Hill fiasco where I have seen better defences planned in a street hockey game. Mr United States of America an old man looks at what is happening to your Country, it is in a mess, and for the first time in my life you are in state of having people elected to look after your interests who are more  intent  on promoting their own. You have a nice man as President, but I am not sure he is the man to handle these crises The Impeachment was rushed to a conclusion because of the fears that control of this situation which is further compromised by the presence of the Covid would be lost and possibly as much as weeks could be lost in the fight against the Covid Pandemic so the decision of Not Guilty was not a judicially reached decision but one of need. 

Having watched many National situations arise over the years, they all seemed to start as an annoying pimple before being identified and having to be exorcised like a cancer.

• Replies 32.4k

• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

• Watt-Zeefuik

40 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

I just don't feel that Trump is prepared to say  You got me I done wrong so do what you have to. He will continue what he has said

I don't think anybody would argue with that, I certainly wouldn't. But he would have said exactly the same things even if they had convicted him.

It would have been better for him if there had been no impeachment at all and that's exactly why it had to happen despite everyone knowing how it would end.

This procedure had to take place and what we got out of it was a majority of the senate voting to convict him while a majority of the nation wanted him convicted.

And further what we got out of it was the highest ranking Republican stating he's guilty as sin.

McConnell.

There is no question that President Trump is practically and morally responsible for provoking the events of that day.

In the circumstances this is a win. No matter what Trump tries to say that quote will always be thrown in his face. And noted in the history books.

I believe Trump is a total idiot who when he does speak again will ultimately dig himself into an even deeper shithole. There are smarter people around him who try to ameliorate his stupidity but it's a losing battle.

He's a stupid dog who can't be trained. He might give you a paw from time to time but will still shit on the carpet more frequently than that.

The Republican party and I mean even those who voted against conviction would be ecstatic if Trump dropped dead tomorrow. Imagine the irony in that. He's more of a friend to Democrats than Republicans because he could make the Republicans unelectable for a very long time to come.

He's going to continue saying crazy shit while Republicans will be asked to comment on the crazy creating further division among them. He's tearing them apart and the Democrats must be happy about that.

Put my foot in it.  Asked one of our customers, an elderly male, what he thought of the Trump trial.  Real bunch of weirdos these Democrats he replied.  Do you mean Republicans I responded.  No he said, these democrats just hate trump.

I thought about the gallows and the noose and had to restrain myself from smashing him on the mouth.

Hope I never say eyes on him again.

1 hour ago, Kiwidoug said:

Put my foot in it.  Asked one of our customers, an elderly male, what he thought of the Trump trial.  Real bunch of weirdos these Democrats he replied.  Do you mean Republicans I responded.  No he said, these democrats just hate trump.

I thought about the gallows and the noose and had to restrain myself from smashing him on the mouth.

Hope I never say eyes on him again.

I have family members in Michigan who think that Trump is the greatest POTUS in history.  At least they did 6 months ago, which was the last time I talked to them.

10 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I have family members in Michigan who think that Trump is the greatest POTUS in history.  At least they did 6 months ago, which was the last time I talked to them.

Any explanations of what Trump has supposedly done that makes him such a great? I can't think of a single thing. Do they know things I do not?

I predict he will be rated by history as not just among the worst but the actual worst ever. Not just bad but disastrous. The nation will be suffering the after effects of his tenure for many years to come.

Personally I always feel that the people who say such things don't really believe that. Unless they're low IQ/total nutcases and I think I remember you mentioning before that they aren't in that category.

Might be what I would deem to be a pretty deceitful and lame excuse for ever supporting such an obviously incompetent and malicious total idiot in the first place. 

46 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

I have a grandchild and two great grandchildren in Michigan, never hear from her, but her mother in law was all over Facebook for a while, she also has been conspicuous by her absence lately.

1 hour ago, JFK-1 said:

Any explanations of what Trump has supposedly done that makes him such a great? I can't think of a single thing. Do they know things I do not?

I predict he will be rated by history as not just among the worst but the actual worst ever. Not just bad but disastrous. The nation will be suffering the after effects of his tenure for many years to come.

Personally I always feel that the people who say such things don't really believe that. Unless they're low IQ/total nutcases and I think I remember you mentioning before that they aren't in that category.

Might be what I would deem to be a pretty deceitful and lame excuse for ever supporting such an obviously incompetent and malicious total idiot in the first place. 

I hear ya!  They're all university grads, with good steady jobs, some in senior management positions in major corporations.  They're all devout Christians.

To be honest, there are topics I avoid when I'm in their company, and they know that I'm a left-leaning Canadian, so we never get into discussions on American politics.  I know that they distrust concepts like socialism, liberalism, gay rights, abortion rights, gun controls, anti capital punishment etc., and see Trump as a champion against those 'Commie" attitudes.

Maybe when we let Americans cross the border again we'll have a good chat about it.

2 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

I hear ya!  They're all university grads, with good steady jobs, some in senior management positions in major corporations.  They're all devout Christians.

To be honest, there are topics I avoid when I'm in their company, and they know that I'm a left-leaning Canadian, so we never get into discussions on American politics.  I know that they distrust concepts like socialism, liberalism, gay rights, abortion rights, gun controls, anti capital punishment etc., and see Trump as a champion against those 'Commie" attitudes.

Maybe when we let Americans cross the border again we'll have a good chat about it.

Quote from a New York Times article.

Over the course of the Trump presidency a lot of Republicans repeatedly — sometimes daily — quarantined their conscience in order to justify to others, and to themselves, their support for an unscrupulous man.

For people who are not themselves deviant to publicly defend a person who is creates cognitive dissonance and psychological conflict. It puts people at war with themselves. 

But over time, one step at a time, people condition themselves to make compromises. They twist themselves into moral knots as a way to justify their stance.

They create a community to reinforce their rationalizations. And with each step down the moral staircase, it gets easier.

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/02/14/opinion/trump-impeachment-trial-republicans.html

6 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

Without the pandemic, Trump would have been re-elected.  The public bought into the America first agenda. He put tariffs on Chinese and EU imports which were vote winners. Similarly he put pressure on US corporations not to move jobs overseas.  That created more jobs in the home market, thus middle America felt good about the economy.

The fact that he ballsed up the response to the pandemic was his undoing.  He lost control of the economy. Despite that the Republicans did not suffer losses in the House of Representatives, effectively confirming that the American people were comfortable with the Republicans in charge.  Their failing was a personal one against Trump's own conduct, which ultimately cost the Republicans control of the Senate in the Georgia run-offs  

Edited by Footballfirst

1 hour ago, Footballfirst said:

Without the pandemic, Trump would have been re-elected.

Possibly, but we will never know.

He put tariffs on Chinese and EU imports which were vote winners.

Raising the prices of these imported products is a vote winner? People like paying more for them? Why?

Similarly he put pressure on US corporations not to move jobs overseas.  That created more jobs in the home market.

Where? What jobs are we talking about? I know Trump says these things but I also know he's a serial liar. He said covid-19 would just disappear, "like a miracle".

In fact miracles were plan A, the only plan. How did that work out? He said the election was rigged, stolen. In fact still saying it. You believe that?

middle America felt good about the economy

The economy had been showing a steady increase for years before Trump. Trump inherited a strong economy from Obama he didn't create one.

And that was despite the fact Obama had inherited a crashing economy when he was first elected in 2008 right at the beginning of the financial crisis.

When Trump took office in January 2017, he inherited an economy in its 91st month of economic expansion.

No, the economy didn't suddenly get strong under Donald Trump

The current regime in charge of America will be as tragic as the previous Trump regime. Only difference I can see is they will be less vocal about it.

Anyone who believes America is capable of nothing more than utter lunacy based on a regime change is a fantasist sadly. It would take fundamental changes in the structure of the entire process of governing America to mark any significant difference.

10 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

The current regime in charge of America will be as tragic as the previous Trump regime. Only difference I can see is they will be less vocal about it.

Anyone who believes America is capable of nothing more than utter lunacy based on a regime change is a fantasist sadly. It would take fundamental changes in the structure of the entire process of governing America to mark any significant difference.

27 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Possibly, but we will never know.

Raising the prices of these imported products is a vote winner? People like paying more for them? Why?

Where? What jobs are we talking about? I know Trump says these things but I also know he's a serial liar. He said covid-19 would just disappear, "like a miracle".

In fact miracles were plan A, the only plan. How did that work out? He said the election was rigged, stolen. In fact still saying it. You believe that?

The economy had been showing a steady increase for years before Trump. Trump inherited a strong economy from Obama he didn't create one.

And that was despite the fact Obama had inherited a crashing economy when he was first elected in 2008 right at the beginning of the financial crisis.

When Trump took office in January 2017, he inherited an economy in its 91st month of economic expansion.

No, the economy didn't suddenly get strong under Donald Trump

I think you misunderstand where I am coming from. Trump is and always was a buffoon.

My point was that the US economy was performing pretty well before the pandemic and I believe that it was highly likely that he would have been re-elected had he not had to face its consequences on health and jobs.

You can make as many comparisons on job numbers as you like.  The US economy lost 8.5m jobs in 2008 and 2009. It took until the middle of 2014 before the Obama managed to get job numbers back to pre recession levels. He was then able to grow the jobs market in his last three years, which is to his credit.  Trump continued to build on that base in his first three years. In some respects it is more difficult to sustain growth following an upturn. 

The America First mantra and tariffs on foreign goods were welcomed.

3 hours ago, Justin Z said:

image.png.2a52d72dadfc2d138d9b534070507749.png

Justin, I know that you think that people like Biden inevitably lead the USA to people like Trump. And the Dems and Republicans are just two sides of the same coin.  I'm even prepared to concede that you're probably right ... you know more about it than me.

But don't you think that post is an absurd false equivalence?

I find myself walking about in DC tonight (no flights from Philly to Houston because of weather so took a little sidetrip). 

Streets are essentially empty, and can't get anywhere near the WH for a picture because there is an 8 foot reinforced fence around the entire area. Arseholes ruining my layover because Trump couldn't concede he lost.

13 minutes ago, trotter said:

I find myself walking about in DC tonight (no flights from Philly to Houston because of weather so took a little sidetrip). 

Streets are essentially empty, and can't get anywhere near the WH for a picture because there is an 8 foot reinforced fence around the entire area. Arseholes ruining my layover because Trump couldn't concede he lost.

And tens of millions of his cult members agree with him.

Good luck with your layover.  It could be a miserable night for you. Your weather is just arriving here in Ontario. 15 centimetres of snow by morning.

Just finished my hour of channel jumping watching CNN, MSNBC and Fox. Some want an investigation of the riots others want an investigation and charges agains now citizen Trump. Republicans want Pelosi investigated, its not the inmates running this asylum, but it would probably be an improvement if they did. Its not political disagreement over some matters with agreement or some after discussion and some concession, its a word and emotion I dislike intensely but there is no other word for the present climate in the U.S. political world, its hate, and that can only lead to, yes my pet theme it seems nowadays, disorder, violence and death. Hate is without doubt the most terrible of terrible motivators, because it gives the weak minded, the weak physically, the opportunity to join with their contemporaries and give them a feeling of power and achievement, e.g January 6, 2021. The next episode is coming and I am sure sooner than we think or hope.

6 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Justin, I know that you think that people like Biden inevitably lead the USA to people like Trump. And the Dems and Republicans are just two sides of the same coin.  I'm even prepared to concede that you're probably right ... you know more about it than me.

But don't you think that post is an absurd false equivalence?

It is, yeah. That's why that social media character is called Mr. Wrong (based on an old book series). This one captures perfectly how ridiculous it is to make a "both sides are just as bad as each other" argument when it comes to the alt-right and efforts to improve social justice.

Yet we have seen that in this thread in response to the events at the Capitol, we saw it in the BLM threads over the summer, etc. Vapid, privileged whining about "woke" culture leading to the downfall of western civilisation set in false equivalence to insurrection and murder. 93% peaceful marches for justice, with many incidents traceable to alt-right provocateurs, and zero cops killed at hundreds of protests (while many protesters were maimed and killed by the selfsame cops), versus a police officer beaten to death and half a dozen people dead in an attempt to overthrow democracy = somehow the same thing.

It's among the dumbest shit ever claimed on this forum (a true accomplishment, tbf) and it deserves to be called out.

7 hours ago, Cade said:

So armed insurrection and murder is the same as renaming streets and buildings.

Those things are equivalent?

:getout:

But if you read some posts in this thread from when the Capitol invasion was going on, you'll see exactly that.

Edited by Justin Z

6 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

Justin, I know that you think that people like Biden inevitably lead the USA to people like Trump. And the Dems and Republicans are just two sides of the same coin.

Also . . .

May be an image of 1 person and text that says "You Retweeted TheCh”f The Riff @nastyriff Pelosi: 10.2016 "We need a strong Republican party" 1.2019 "America needs needs a strong Republican party" 9.2020 "America needs a strong Republican party" 2.2021 "America needs a strong Republican party" This may not in fact be what we need."

And Pelosi. Yes, they do admit it all the time. :smile:

Anyone see Real Time this week with Adam Kinzinger as the guest ? 

He came across quite sensible and made reference to his family sending letters disowning him.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9264005/Kinzinger-releases-letter-family-saying-joined-devils-army-backing-Trumps-impeachment.html

Some incredible brainwashed stuff in the letters.

I know probably a wee bit to most minimally important ,but to me seems strange. Biden appoints a man as part of his press team who if I am reading things properly had been diagnosed with stage four cancer. This suffering individual goes off the deep end at a female reporter using profanities and insults.  He is punished with a one week suspension and later resigns admitting his actions were very wrong. I just wonder the wisdom of Biden and his advisers in putting a man in such a position while having to cope with such a frightening stressful diagnosis. Having been in the past diagnosed with stage 2, I appreciate how devastating these situations are, and have every sympathy  and empathy for the man but was it a good decision to give him the position he had, under the circumstances, and does it indicate sound judgemental abilities in Biden and his advisers.

1 hour ago, Mysterion said:

Anyone see Real Time this week with Adam Kinzinger as the guest ? 

He came across quite sensible and made reference to his family sending letters disowning him.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9264005/Kinzinger-releases-letter-family-saying-joined-devils-army-backing-Trumps-impeachment.html

Some incredible brainwashed stuff in the letters.

Thanks for sharing, Mysterion.

Really can't understate how common this nuttery is in the US. By the millions.

Millions in Texas are currently or have been without power in the coldest weather in a century there, thanks to it being folk like @JJ93's de-regulation wet dream.

Indeed, the Texas power grid was de-regulated, privatized, and removed from interconnected networks (and the associated backups) in order to avoid federal regulation and increase profits for a small number of already wealthy individuals. Libertarianism wins again.

Wonder how many people are going to die thanks to the "freedom" Texas enjoys and the state's abandonment of its duty of care to its citizenry. Wonder how many already have.

5 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

Millions in Texas are currently or have been without power in the coldest weather in a century there, thanks to it being folk like @JJ93's de-regulation wet dream.

Indeed, the Texas power grid was de-regulated, privatized, and removed from interconnected networks (and the associated backups) in order to avoid federal regulation and increase profits for a small number of already wealthy individuals. Libertarianism wins again.

Wonder how many people are going to die thanks to the "freedom" Texas enjoys and the state's abandonment of its duty of care to its citizenry. Wonder how many already have.

Is it quite common in Texas to have snow?

P.S. In before blame is laid at the feet of

- The Green New Deal, which has never passed—and even if it did, as already mentioned Texas went out of its way to exempt itself from federal regulation, thus leading to this crisis.

- Renewable energy, such as wind turbines which have failed. They failed because Texas (de)regulators, bought and paid for with lobbying dollars, decided cold-weather countermeasures weren't necessary, in order to squeeze a few more dollars of profit out of the industry for the already wealthy. Fossil fuel power plants have also failed due to the weather, for what it's worth.

There's always an excuse when the magic wand of fictional Von Mises economics fails, as it always does. Just being prepared.

Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

Not until recently. They, and places all over the States, keep having "once-in-a-generation" weather events pretty much every year. But not because of climate change, mind. :Aye:

1 minute ago, Justin Z said:

P.S. In before blame is laid at the feet of

- The Green New Deal, which has never passed—and even if it did, as already mentioned Texas went out of its way to exempt itself from federal regulation, thus leading to this crisis.

- Renewable energy, such as wind turbines which have failed. They failed because Texas (de)regulators, bought and paid for with lobbying dollars, decided cold-weather countermeasures weren't necessary, in order to squeeze a few more dollars of profit out of the industry for the already wealthy. Fossil fuel power plants have also failed due to the weather, for what it's worth.

There's always an excuse when the magic wand of fictional Von Mises economics fails, as it always does. Just being prepared.

Not until recently. They, and places all over the States, keep having "once-in-a-generation" weather events pretty much every year. But not because of climate change, mind. :Aye:

Of course it’s nothing to do with climate change.😃

When Americans say "FREEDOM!",  what they think it means is: 
"freedom to do whatever I want" but what it actually means is: 
"the state doesn't give a shite about you, so you have to provide everything yourself, from basic utilities to healthcare and the market is free to take the pish out of you and your life is actually the worst kind of financial slavery you can imagine"

4 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I guess it was 20 below in certain spots. That's the kind of temps we can get up here although, thanks to the good old polar vortex, it's been between 10 to 20 degrees caulder than that for about 10 days.

Shorts weather now though, -5. 👍

5 hours ago, Justin Z said:

This is a pretty good example why America impacts on so many areas , products, military assistance and general involvement with other Countries. There was a pretty ominous warning on our local news today that the problems in Texas will probably because of the weather lack of power cause a severe lowering of oil supplies, the warning is that our Gasoline prices which are very high just now will rise even further. I went and filled up my tank, I am a heavy user of the product had to replace two thirds of the tank,  and I only filled up early last November . I have a Honda Civic. 2014 model and it has suddenly jumped up to 15,765Kilos on the gauge.

5 hours ago, Sharpie said:

I am a heavy user of the product had to replace two thirds of the tank,  and I only filled up early last November . I have a Honda Civic. 2014 model and it has suddenly jumped up to 15,765Kilos on the gauge.

:lol: Careful you don't run her into the ground now, Bob.

6 hours ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

I guess it was 20 below in certain spots. That's the kind of temps we can get up here although, thanks to the good old polar vortex, it's been between 10 to 20 degrees caulder than that for about 10 days.

Shorts weather now though, -5. 👍

Being a Southsider has set you up well.😀

12 hours ago, Justin Z said:

Millions in Texas are currently or have been without power in the coldest weather in a century there

In Oklahoma they have bene cutting off our power for a couple of hours at a time because there isn't enough to meet the demand. Recorded the lowest temperature sine 1899 yesterday.

I note they are blaming the green new deal now for power cuts and suggesting it's the fault of some wind turbines that are frozen.

Wind turbines generate 10% of the power mix. 

People who make false claims in public office that contribute to a large part of America's decline. 

2 hours ago, Justin Z said:

May be a Twitter screenshot of text

He is reported to have resigned, but . . .

It's the government's duty to have the infrastructure  for you to go about your business. 

As for water, just fill buckets with snow, not yellow mind. 

1 hour ago, Cade said:

HAVING BASIC INFRASTRUCTURE IS COMMUNISM!

:lol: Mentalists. And the right-wing media is already lying.

May be an image of 6 people and text that says "LIVE THE FIVE - FOX FOX GREEN ENERGY FAILURE NEWS WIND TURBINES FREEZE ACROSS TX DURING WINTER STORM 5:05ET THE WEEKNIGHTS 10PM ET STARLINK IS CONSTELLATION OF SATELLITES THAT HELPS BOOST INTERNET COVERAGE AROUND THE INGRAHAM ANGIE"

The most heavily propagandised country on planet Earth. No idea how to solve this.

5 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

May be an image of 6 people and text that says "LIVE THE FIVE - FOX FOX GREEN ENERGY FAILURE NEWS WIND TURBINES FREEZE ACROSS TX DURING WINTER STORM 5:05ET THE WEEKNIGHTS 10PM ET STARLINK IS CONSTELLATION OF SATELLITES THAT HELPS BOOST INTERNET COVERAGE AROUND THE INGRAHAM ANGIE"

The most heavily propagandised country on planet Earth. No idea how to solve this.

Dearie me. 

18 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

I don't think it will, or can be solved.  The USA became an empire in the 20th century.  Not a traditional empire,  but a socio / economic / cultural empire. So far, every empire that has ever been has eventually fallen.  Why would this one be any different? 

I think what we are seeing,  have been seeing for a few decades now, is the beginning of the end, or maybe the end of the beginning of America as we know it.  

It just seems too monumentally ****ed up to be viable long term in its current form.

49 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

It just seems too monumentally ****ed up to be viable long term in its current form.

And why is it so ****ed up? Opposition like this.

5 hours ago, Justin Z said:

:lol: Careful you don't run her into the ground now, Bob.

Oh good you saw the humor I was trying to inject, when I was writing the post I thought you silly old fool it will cost you nothing but I was speaking not as an individual but in general. 

7 hours ago, Justin Z said:

May be a Twitter screenshot of text

He is reported to have resigned, but . . .

Is it possible for any American politician, anywhere and at anytime, to make an announcement without mentioning God?

It's like they're trapped in an earlier century.

5 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

Is it possible for any American politician, anywhere and at anytime, to make an announcement without mentioning God?

Pretty much not, no. :sad:

Meanwhile Biden is striving for Trump levels of Covid misinformation. :facepalm:

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

That does really get on my wick.

Also veterans is used regularly.

Weird behaviour.

• Maple Leaf changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (merged)
  • Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (title updated)