• ¼½¾

4 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

five parts of Edinburgh you may not know are haunted.jpeg

Church hill at Morningside rd
Bobby Kirk had a wee physio place roughly where the car is parked if it is 

1 hour ago, ArcticJambo said:

Where is this?  Initial thoughts were St James Place or something similar but now don't think so, unless that's the banana flats?

Yes,that’s mill lane

1 hour ago, 3fingersreid said:

Church hill at Morningside rd
Bobby Kirk had a wee physio place roughly where the car is parked if it is 

1018530697_fivepartsofEdinburghyoumaynotknowarehaunted.jpeg.f9f24b6e4923c5f720a83eab3cafc341.jpeg

Always wondered what these carts were that man crossing the road is pushing

Edited by Maroon Sailor

56 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

1018530697_fivepartsofEdinburghyoumaynotknowarehaunted.jpeg.f9f24b6e4923c5f720a83eab3cafc341.jpeg

Always wondered what these carts were that man crossing the road is pushing

Carts like that were used by many businesses to transfer goods, as well as some tradesmen for their tools. Of course scaffies had one to put their sweepings in when cleaning their given area. Barrows and carties were common means of transportation in times like the picture because of the tram lines was probably pre 1956. Used the particular tram line a lot to go to school in Viewforth and again to work in Viewforth. The 13 and 14 Granton Circle routes, and the #5 Morningside to Piershill route. It seems and I guess it is so long ago.

3 minutes ago, bobsharp said:

Carts like that were used by many businesses to transfer goods, as well as some tradesmen for their tools. Of course scaffies had one to put their sweepings in when cleaning their given area. Barrows and carties were common means of transportation in times like the picture because of the tram lines was probably pre 1956. Used the particular tram line a lot to go to school in Viewforth and again to work in Viewforth. The 13 and 14 Granton Circle routes, and the #5 Morningside to Piershill route. It seems and I guess it is so long ago.

I think Edinburgh like most UK cities must have been a better place then. Less stress and anger.

Can you imagine elephants walking along Princes Street now ? Now it's just protest marches 

11 hours ago, GinRummy said:

Might be getting mixed up with a flat I had at Wester Hailes Drive but I'm sure the flat I was in had 3 flats on one side and 2 flats and a drying area on the other. It was a long time ago so might be remembering it wrong.

Was the drying area not next to the door for the stairs and bin chute?

Just now, Herbert said:

Was the drying area not next to the door for the stairs and bin chute?

Possibly aye. I’m getting jumbled between two different flats I’ve lived in I think. 

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

John Menzies and Smalls

What shops are there now ?

There's a Next where Menzies was. A new building though.

On 25/11/2019 at 08:19, Maroon Sailor said:

4639601905_79557189b7_m.jpg

I remember having my heid split open from a similar situation when I was a kid. We were in the back "gardens" in Davie Street, with some occupying the strategically superior higher ground and chucking stanes at each other when I was hit by a brick.

My mother about fainted when I showed up at the door and hauled me over to the Deaconess for stitches.

Was told afterwards that the brick had broke in half. :(

2 hours ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Related image

2 hours ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Does this qualify as Edinburgh’s history, looks like it was taken yesterday.

Edited by luckyBatistuta