• Francis Albert

• jake

• Boris

• Ulysses

Any reasonable opposition would clear these comedians out. 

Sadly they're an even bigger shower of charlatans 

11 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

We don't need a second ref- we can have a GE  with one party saying they will keep us IN- that would give us the mandate to reverse the Brexit vote

Now, where did Corbyn leave his convictions........

Consistent with his long held views  Corbyn probably feels creating a workers paradise may not be compatible with EU membership.

Edited by Francis Albert

2 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Is just choosing to stay in even an option?

NO but they could have a ref about either a " soft" or " hard" spin about how we exit?  There was so much lies and spin from both sides but certainly more with the Leave so now we can really make an informed judgement. Id seriously bet most people would go for  a soft Brexit

5 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

I suspect like a divorce there are still final papers to sign

In any case we can just get remarried after the divorce :pleased:

12 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Consistent with his long held views  Corbyn probably feels creating a workers paradise may not be compatible with EU membership.

Creating a workers paradise is not compatible with the real world

However protecting the rights of citizens is best served by remain

Heartsofgold
Just now, JamesM48 said:

NO but they could have a ref about either a " soft" or " hard" spin about how we exit?  There was so much lies and spin from both sides but certainly more with the Leave so now we can really make an informed judgement. Id seriously bet most people would go for  a soft Brexit

I don't think that's correct.  I'm pretty sure we can recind our decision to leave.  Parliament just have to grow a set and send a 2nd letter to the EU President to say so.

Heartsofgold
1 minute ago, CJGJ said:

I suspect like a divorce there are still final papers to sign

In any case we can just get remarried after the divorce :pleased:

Yeah but on much worse terms than we previously had including the fact that, as a new member, we would have to accept the Euro as our currency.  The pound would be lost completely.

2 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

As I understand it, legally there is nothing to stop us reversing our invocation of Article 50.

Captain Sausage

Surely to **** we can just cancel the whole shebang. 

The tories who who want to leave are a shower of elitist arseholes who want the empire back and have so much money that it makes little odds whether the plebs and peasants get destroyed in the interim. 

The people who voted leave were simpletons who either got caught up in the rule Brittania rhetoric or are racist and wanted to stop them UMMUGRUNTS. 

Even the most basic of opposition would capitalize on this and force a rerun and general election, sadly we’ve got Corbyn and co who are so farcically hopeless that May has managed to remain in power. 

What an absolute shambles. One thing is for sure; if any of those Weasley ****s from the pro Brexit side (Johnson, Davis, Gove, etc) end up in power, I’ll never vote conservative again. It’s a shame that the lib dems aren’t seeing any gains as they’re the only ones with a sensible policy on Brexit. 

Has Tony Blair spoken on today's events? He's been pretty spot on about Brexit matters throughout. 

1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

The problem is though that a vote for the SNP would encourage the feckers again and might spiral us into another ill thought out blind divorce war of hyperbole and lies

Sorry, in a GE a labour party with a "stay" message would pump the living feck out the tories

Can't agree. 

Allot of labour's core support are leavers. 

Core tories remainers won't switch to labour. 

Labour are between a rock and a hard place. 

Any UK government, despite this shambles will be pissing in the wind if it goes against a referendum result, so labour cannot do it.  The press would murder them. Labour know this. 

Lib dems are perfectly placed to woo soft tory voters and even centralist Labour voters. 

Labour don't have a brexit strategy either, that much is clear and young pro EU voters may have realised this now. 

I'd be more comfortable with a Labour government post brexit as they'll likely protect public services and workers rights more, but they are still a bit away from being elected. 

Lib dem are perfectly geared to gain, they can position themselves as the only remain party, keep their core support and gain from all parties, even in Scotland. 

Even the SNP are upsetting some of their support with their overwhelming pro EU stance, the lib dens are perfectly placed-

Only pro (UK) Eu party-48% of the electorate. 

Not too left or right to attract voters from both tory/lab. 

Can campaign on a pro EU agenda without isolating  core support. 

Really is set up for them. Can really only make massive gains. 

Lib dem resurgence would hurt both Labour and tories, but likely tories more and with a majority dependent on the DUP, lib dem like in 2010 could help form the government of their choosing, likely Labour and SNP this time giving the tories far right backbenchers and influence. 

There's no point yet in Labour trying to bring about a parliamentary vote of no confidence in the government because it could be perceived as opportunism and also that,   other than personnel changes,    nothing has changed in the government's Brexit position since the Chequers meeting.       A fundamental change would occur if the Tories bring about their own motion of no confidence in their leader.      At that point,    Labour can credibly claim that the Brexit process timetable is hopelessly compromised as a result.     It could then move for a motion of no confidence in the government on the premise of holding an election,  whilsg formally halting the Brexit process.

34 minutes ago, Normthebarman said:

As I understand it, legally there is nothing to stop us reversing our invocation of Article 50.

That is a Remainer view. There are different interpretations. Then there is the real world. Parliament votes 85% to hold a referendum then even before the Leave terms are agreed decides to withdraw the Article 50 notice that the electorate voted for and we were told by no less than the PM would be issued the day after the vote. And if, as in their present mood seems likely,, the EU decides to punish the UK for the temerity of trying to leave (eg remove the various opt outs we have been granted over the years) ... what do we do - appeal to the European Courts.

If many MPs are happy to commit political suicide, and see Parliament itself lose any shred of credibility it still has, then it is true Parliament could vote to try to simply withdraw the Article50 notice. In the real world it is a non-runner.

7 minutes ago, Victorian said:

There's no point yet in Labour trying to bring about a parliamentary vote of no confidence in the government because it could be perceived as opportunism and also that,   other than personnel changes,    nothing has changed in the government's Brexit position since the Chequers meeting.       A fundamental change would occur if the Tories bring about their own motion of no confidence in their leader.      At that point,    Labour can credibly claim that the Brexit process timetable is hopelessly compromised as a result.     It could then move for a motion of no confidence in the government on the premise of holding an election,  whilsg formally halting the Brexit process.

How does the UK formally halt the Brexit process?

25 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Has Tony Blair spoken on today's events? He's been pretty spot on about Brexit matters throughout. 

In what way has Blair been spot on?

3 hours ago, Boris said:

But this is where it is a scam...if they had said Hard Brexit, would they have won?

Cameron campaigned to remain using all the facilities available (at tax payers expense) to scare people into remaining in the EU. Time after time he and all the remain team said leave means leave out the CU and SM. Time after time they made no mention of soft or hard brexit. Leave was leave. And still they lost. May is the one who has lied and connived to usurp the democratic vote into an unworkable fudge the the EU will still kb. 

The piece I quoted earlier was written by a QC who specialises in constitutional and EU Law so the smart alec response was poor by your standards my communist friend.

10 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

That is a Remainer view. There are different interpretations. Then there is the real world. Parliament votes 85% to hold a referendum then even before the Leave terms are agreed decides to withdraw the Article 50 notice that the electorate voted for and we were told by no less than the PM would be issued the day after the vote. And if, as in their present mood seems likely,, the EU decides to punish the UK for the temerity of trying to leave (eg remove the various opt outs we have been granted over the years) ... what do we do - appeal to the European Courts.

If many MPs are happy to commit political suicide, and see Parliament itself lose any shred of credibility it still has, then it is true Parliament could vote to try to simply withdraw the Article50 notice. In the real world it is a non-runner.

He said legally. Your waffle about the real world is just that. Legally, he was spot on. 

41 minutes ago, houstonjambo said:

The tories who who want to leave are a shower of elitist arseholes who want the empire back and have so much money that it makes little odds whether the plebs and peasants get destroyed in the interim. 

The people who voted leave were simpletons who either got caught up in the rule Brittania rhetoric or are racist and wanted to stop them UMMUGRUNTS. 

Even the most basic of opposition would capitalize on this and force a rerun and general election, sadly we’ve got Corbyn and co who are so farcically hopeless that May has managed to remain in power. 

What an absolute shambles. One thing is for sure; if any of those Weasley ****s from the pro Brexit side (Johnson, Davis, Gove, etc) end up in power, I’ll never vote conservative again. It’s a shame that the lib dems aren’t seeing any gains as they’re the only ones with a sensible policy on Brexit. 

Wow.

Yet Parliament voted by 85% to give the choice to the voters.

And many "plebs and peasants" in your terms voted to leave.

And Remainers  now hope that Parliament will do something or other to save the intelligent non-racist people like you from the outcome Parliament offered by an overwhelming majority the electorate a choice on?

Edited by Francis Albert

2 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

He said legally. Your waffle about the real world is just that. Legally, he was spot on. 

Sorry I missed the legal determination of this issue.

Has anyone heard from Mooth as the face of the new progressive caring conservative party?

3 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Has anyone heard from Mooth as the face of the new progressive caring conservative party?

I think she's trying to think of a reason why this is all about the SNP's obsession with independence.    

25 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

From Twitter.

The current position from Scottish Tory HQ is Ruth Davidson is unavailable for comment on the Brexit wasteland because she’s on a summer break.

Captain Sausage
37 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Wow.

Yet Parliament voted by 85% to give the choice to the voters.

And many "plebs and peasants" in your terms voted to leave.

And Remainers  now hope that Parliament will do something or other to save the intelligent non-racist people like you from the outcome Parliament offered by an overwhelming majority the electorate a choice on?

Overwhelming majority? You mean 4%? Right. 

Technically, the ‘intelligent’ people did vote remain. The AB social group voted ‘overwhelmingly’ to remain at 57%, while the the C2DE groups voted by a staggering 64% to leave. That would suggest higher earners, a marker closely correlated with intelligence, voted largely to remain. In contrast, lower earners, a marker closely correlated with lower IQ levels, voted largely to leave. 

Within the leave camp, the largest single reason for voting to leave the EU was ‘regaining control over immigration.’ There was also a lot (mainly bullshit) made of how much we contribute to the EU - £350m to the NHS anyone? - which made the top 3 reasons for voting leave. 

3 minutes ago, houstonjambo said:

Technically, the ‘intelligent’ people did vote remain. The AB social group voted ‘overwhelmingly’ to remain at 57%, while the the C2DE groups voted by a staggering 64% to leave. That would suggest higher earners, a marker closely correlated with intelligence, voted largely to remain. In contrast, lower earners, a marker closely correlated with lower IQ levels, voted largely to leave. 

Within the leave camp, the largest single reason for voting to leave the EU was ‘regaining control over immigration.’ There was also a lot (mainly bullshit) made of how much we contribute to the EU - £350m to the NHS anyone? - which made the top 3 reasons for voting leave. 

I assume you consider yourself in the more intelligent camp but the first sentence of your post suggests you can't read simple English.

32 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Oh the mooth has got her gobby view on this. She's never one to miss any publicity.  She must think that her opinion matters to her London Task masters. She really is a b***

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/ruth-davidson-calls-on-tories-to-back-pm-on-brexit-after-boris-johnson-quits-1-4766294

8 hours ago, Justin Z said:

The immeasurable amount of pish you spout in defence of your vacuous choice of vote is the most astonishing example of confirmation bias I have ever seen in my life.

8 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Harsh.

But fair. He literally doesn't care about the consequences one teeny, tiny bit.

@jake: your "kick in the baws of the establishment" has helped the establishment like it's never been helped before, and kicked the poor in the baws like they've never been kicked before.

Congrats. 

1 hour ago, houstonjambo said:

??? on so many levels.

8 minutes ago, houstonjambo said:

and ironically those low earners will be the ones who will mostly suffer from leaving.  They wont get their duty free fags, free mobile date roaming and also be at the back of any queues when going " to Europe" ( ie Benidorm et al) 

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Oh the mooth has got her gobby view on this. She's never one to miss any publicity.  She must think that her opinion matters to her London Task masters. She really is a b***

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/ruth-davidson-calls-on-tories-to-back-pm-on-brexit-after-boris-johnson-quits-1-4766294

But whit aboot the tablet?

Issues of the day.

Cruyff Turn
11 minutes ago, ...a bit disco said:

From Twitter.

The current position from Scottish Tory HQ is Ruth Davidson is unavailable for comment on the Brexit wasteland because she’s on a summer break.

Either baking cakes or on holiday, she's got some brass neck on her that woman.

Captain Sausage
3 minutes ago, jake said:

??? on so many levels.

Crack on. Let me know where I’m wrong. 

All this political carry on is like " game of thrones " without the nudity ( thank god !)….That letter is a basically saying he is gunning for her and obviously going for a Leadership challenge.  I think she will beat them to it and call and election rather than have him usurp her. 

Just now, shaun.lawson said:

But fair. He literally doesn't care about the consequences one teeny, tiny bit.

@jake: your "kick in the baws of the establishment" has helped the establishment like it's never been helped before, and kicked the poor in the baws like they've never been kicked before.

Congrats. 

And carry on with the insults.

Because it's too difficult to leave we should stay.

That in itself says it all.

I note the racist jibes along with thick jibes have came about again.

That the Tories are unable to deliver is neither here nor there.

There was a vote.

We voted.

Some people are actually calling for the dismissal of democracy and at the same time accuse those who participated in the vote of being fascists.

The screeching of those who lost the vote is embarrassing.

Captain Sausage
6 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

I assume you consider yourself in the more intelligent camp but the first sentence of your post suggests you can't read simple English.

Apologies. I misread your post. Thankfully I haven’t ****ed the country as a result of misinterpretation.  Feel free to counter anything I’ve put in there by the way.  

Why not go down the route of another EU in or out vote, seems to be the norm these days like calling for a 2nd indy vote.

If any of these policies were put to a 2nd vote , democracy would be down the pan.

4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

and ironically those low earners will be the ones who will mostly suffer from leaving.  They wont get their duty free fags, free mobile date roaming and also be at the back of any queues when going " to Europe" ( ie Benidorm et al) 

Fek me is that it?

The scum won't get cheap fans and mobile phones.

Who is it that's thick ?

1 minute ago, jake said:

Fek me is that it?

The scum won't get cheap fans and mobile phones.

Who is it that's thick ?

oh and maybe lose their jobs...if working 

1 minute ago, houstonjambo said:

Apologies. I misread your post. Thankfully I haven’t ****ed the country as a result of misinterpretation.  Feel free to counter anything I’ve put in there by the way.  

In what way is the country feked?

Because right now Europe suffers from a rise in fascism not the UK.

Employment has not suffered.

Jobs are still being created.

This blind screeching about factless guardian scare stories is laughable.

1 minute ago, JamesM48 said:

oh and maybe lose their jobs...if working 

Yeah cos they are all thick dole merchants and you are an intelligent little middle class sweetie wife.

Your attitude stinks of snobbishness.

Why don't we just allow the gentrification of the vote.

Because the northern English have no concept of politics.

Away and blow yer nose .

10 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

What a snobby little snot of a post this really is.

16 minutes ago, ...a bit disco said:

From Twitter.

Social media must be inoperative where’s she’s holidaying :muggy:

Shameful the attitudes on here.

A Tory party unable to govern and some of you turn on the thick working class.

Arseholes

There remains very good reasons for leaving the EU.

Not least because it's days are numbered.

Unable to agree on migration  it's member states fall further to the right.

As a political union it is failing.