General Election

Don Dan

• Replies 5.4k
Trapper John McIntyre

First Nat down. Hopefully  many to follow.

8th target seat.

Labour could do rather well in scotland.

Tories picking up a few.

SNP to lose as many as predicted??? Mibbies aye mibbies naw.

Ouch.  There are 28 seats where the SNP are defending majorities smaller than Rutherglen & Hamilton West.

SwindonJambo

Labour don't gain Swindon South - but the swing looks promising.

I'd have been very surprised if they did but they got within 2-3000 votes so a good effort and a big swing.

And Labour gain Rutherglen & Hamilton West from the SNP.

And East Kilbride.

I appear to have imagined that. Oops.

Amber Rudd is gone. You can tell by her face.

Bbc think nick clegg is gone

The Labour vote is doing better than expected in Scotland. Corbyn has been a huge success if rumours are correct. Scottish leadership will need to wake up and act better in future from this.

Dugdale's job may well be kept safe from this. But she'll have Corbyn to thank.

And East Kilbride.

Any numbers to crunch?

If the Rutherglen & Hamilton West swings were repeated across Scotland, the result would be:

SNP 29

Con 11

Lab 10

LD 9

:hae36:

56anawthat

Rutherglan result interesting. Labour vote up slightly but big swing was away from SNP and to the Tories. Perhaps this will be the pattern, with SNP getting squeezed by the Unionist parties (all of them) as punters decide they don't want indyref2.

Of course Ruth Davidson fought campaign almost entirely on this premise, at first sight looking like a smart move but Labour could benefit more...

Expect more weirdness like this in Scotland tonight...

So David Cameron gambled with the country's future and lost and now Theresa May has done likewise.

Any numbers to crunch?

If the Rutherglen & Hamilton West swings were repeated across Scotland, the result would be:

SNP 29

Con 11

Lab 10

LD 9

:hae36:

I seem to have plucked that result from sheer fantasy. Christ know why I thought it was declared.

Unionist votes coming together to block the SNP is it an increase in support for labour and Tory in seats .

Mhairi Black re-elected.

SNP looking like they will take a hammering tonight.

Looking a great night for Labour, even in Scotland.

May's tea is out.

Awrite

My old man grew up in Watson Crescent too?

Sorry mate. Not getting you. Apologies.

Radio Ga Ga

Mhairi Black holds her seat.

-10% since 2015, how does that look in your analysis LOL :-(

Chakrabatti on BBC making me want to fecking boak.

I thought she was hammered.

Radio Ga Ga

SNP share of vote down >13% already, not looking good for IR2?

Goodness knows, I'm no Tory - but Ruth Davidson has fair turned things round for them in Scotland.

I wonder if Westminster awaits?

If the two Scottish swings were repeated across Scotland, the result would be:

SNP 34

Con 11

Lab  5

LD 9

Labour gain Vale of Clywd from the Conservatives, and that exit poll is looking more and more accurate.

SwindonJambo

Mhairi Black re-elected.

SNP looking like they will take a hammering tonight.

Looking a great night for Labour, even in Scotland.

May's tea is out.

Too true. She's going to be the shortest serving Prime Minister in about 100 years.

Justine Greening hangs on in Putney.

Goodness knows, I'm no Tory - but Ruth Davidson has fair turned things round for them in Scotland.

Tories might not do as well in Scotland as first thought, maybe Labour will be the main beneficiaries?

Labour on the march. Tories will get most seats but May is finished.

Maybe but deep  south and in wales, Labourmaking gains and increasing majorities, Tories in the shite down south so far.

Batersae is going from blue to red

rudd looks gone

Central islington looks like going blue to re.

Big JC could win this with the snp's help of course

No sign of any red going blue

Nah, like Farage, one trick pony.

She banged the same drum well, but has little substance, like Farage.

Too true. She's going to be the shortest serving Prime Minister in about 100 years.

I don't think she has been an impressive leader whatsoever and I'm glad the people seemed to have seen that.

And that isn't just on her campaign which has been atrocious but the stories from behind the scenes about keeping the cabinet out of the loop, only surrounding herself with a small group of advisors etc.

Pete Wishart (Perth North) not looking happy.

SNP hold Dunbartonshire West.

Edit: recount in Perth North - apparently 36 votes in it!

Emily Thornberry looked & sounded like she'd been on the Prosecco earlier too.

If I was a Labour shadow minister I'd be cracking open the champagne :laugh:

Psychedelicropcircle

BREAKING: George Osborne elected MP for Schadenfreude Central.

That's wot happens when your pumped for doing a shite job by someone doing a shitter job. Karma

That result in Putney suggests Labour will have a good night in London.