Which version of Tory, though?

Heath?

Thatcher?

Major?

Blair?

Cameron?

May?

Johnson?

I've actually voted Conservative when two of those were party leaders, partly because the opposition was more dangerous and partly because they weren't as odious as Cameron or Johnson and, maybe a little bit, because I was young and foolish.

A "Major" Tory would be more in tune with Starmer than Johnson. In short, I don't buy into the idea of linking your lot to one party or another for life; it's not a football club, is it?

Re your first point, this is why it bugs the hell out of me that councillors have to be associated with one party or another. They're there to represent the local people on local issues and, yes, you're going to end up with the wrong people in post simply because their name on the ballot box has a specific flag against it. It's wrong.

Blair?

• Replies 27.6k

• The Mighty Thor

• Victorian

• JudyJudyJudy

• Cade

2 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Which version of Tory, though?

Heath?

Thatcher?

Major?

Blair?

Cameron?

May?

Johnson?

I've actually voted Conservative when two of those were party leaders, partly because the opposition was more dangerous and partly because they weren't as odious as Cameron or Johnson and, maybe a little bit, because I was young and foolish.

A "Major" Tory would be more in tune with Starmer than Johnson. In short, I don't buy into the idea of linking your lot to one party or another for life; it's not a football club, is it?

Re your first point, this is why it bugs the hell out of me that councillors have to be associated with one party or another. They're there to represent the local people on local issues and, yes, you're going to end up with the wrong people in post simply because their name on the ballot box has a specific flag against it. It's wrong.

Up until Boris I didn’t really mind any of them to be honest and agree regarding Major. I think in the main they all tried to do what they thought was right for the country. Boris is a different level though and way beyond conservatism imo.

Completely agree with your last paragraph. Potentially a lot of good councillors of all colours will miss out because of this. The fact some people condone this is a ****ing joke. 

We could all learn from your wise words IP. 👍

Just now, Ray Gin said:

Blair?

Might be wrong but I think he’s implying Blair was a moderate Tory in disguise. 

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

Local election, try to get your head round that. 👍

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

Who is actually doing that though ? Genuinely who is trying to differentiate ? 

I know. Just who is trying to differentiate?

Victorian

Spaffer and the Spafferites in cabinet are fully aware of and have spoken about them getting a boot up the sheriffs at the local elections.  They don't give a shit.  None of them are in it for some kind of collective,  greater good,  ideological/philosophical cause to maximise Tory party representation at local level,  for the benefit of local people via Tory party representation. 

Unfortunately there will be some decent Tory candidates who will end up paying a price for national level political vandalism.  That's just the way it goes.  The best plan is to keep on booting the blue sheriffs until they return to having a national executive of serious,  honest,  competent,  ethical people.

4 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Spaffer and the Spafferites in cabinet are fully aware of and have spoken about them getting a boot up the sheriffs at the local elections.  They don't give a shit.  None of them are in it for some kind of collective,  greater good,  ideological/philosophical cause to maximise Tory party representation at local level,  for the benefit of local people via Tory party representation. 

Unfortunately there will be some decent Tory candidates who will end up paying a price for national level political vandalism.  That's just the way it goes.  The best plan is to keep on booting the blue sheriffs until they return to having a national executive of serious,  honest,  competent,  ethical people.

I can’t imagine anyone either joining the Conservative party or voting for them to do actual good tbh. Not for others anyway. It seems be about seeing less jonny foreigners, less brown faces, getting those annoying Europeans out our bloody Great British decision making, less benefits for struggling people, shoving UJ’s and WW2 up your hoop for evermore and telling Scots and Welsh etc to sit down, be ruled by us even though you never vote for us in any decent numbers and if they can get themselves a good old blag out it and brown nose hoose jock/taff their way into some cabinet position then so much the better. 

31 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I know. Just who is trying to differentiate?

So deal with the councillors on how they deal with local issues irrespective of political colour. Not everything has to be argued over Thor. 👍

Victorian
5 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I can’t imagine anyone either joining the Conservative party or voting for them to do actual good tbh. Not for others anyway. It seems be about seeing less jonny foreigners, less brown faces, getting those annoying Europeans out our bloody Great British decision making, less benefits for struggling people, shoving UJ’s and WW2 up your hoop for evermore and telling Scots and Welsh etc to sit down, be ruled by us even though you never vote for us in any decent numbers and if they can get themselves a good old blag out it and brown nose hoose jock/taff their way into some cabinet position then so much the better. 

True.  And tbf,  probably applies to other politicians as well.

Ideally,  the best thing is to have ruling parties that need to and are prepared to work for their continued levels of representation at all levels.  Local,  devolved and national.  A party that realises that it needs to deliver competent and honest government in order to maintain support at local level.  Standards need to be raised pretty quickly because the country is rapidly sliding into an alterate reality of politicals with no morals,  ethics,  gravitas,  intelligence,  meaning.  A party so comfortable that it no longer needs to pretend it cares about doing a job.

5 minutes ago, Victorian said:

True.  And tbf,  probably applies to other politicians as well.

Ideally,  the best thing is to have ruling parties that need to and are prepared to work for their continued levels of representation at all levels.  Local,  devolved and national.  A party that realises that it needs to deliver competent and honest government in order to maintain support at local level.  Standards need to be raised pretty quickly because the country is rapidly sliding into an alterate reality of politicals with no morals,  ethics,  gravitas,  intelligence,  meaning.  A party so comfortable that it no longer needs to pretend it cares about doing a job.

I don’t doubt other politicians are morally bankrupt, that’s clear as day. I just meant reasons for joining the tories. It ain’t to do good imo. 

Labour spend all their energy talking about what they'd do in power and forget to actually do anything about getting into power.

The Tories spend all their energy getting into power and forget to actually do anything with it when they're there.

4 minutes ago, Cade said:

Labour spend all their energy talking about what they'd do in power and forget to actually do anything about getting into power.

The Tories spend all their energy getting into power and forget to actually do anything with it when they're there.

The best government is the opposition.

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

Blair?

'twas included in jest.

Many accuse TB of being Tory-lite when, in reality, he's a champagne socialist; a term which is often used negatively but which I believe to indicate someone who, despite trappings of wealth and privilege, is prepared to work and campaign to look after those who are less well-off in society.

The crowd I don't get are the ordinary folk, struggling to get by, who'll blindly support Conservatives who only look after those in society who are already well-off.

16 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

'twas included in jest.

Many accuse TB of being Tory-lite when, in reality, he's a champagne socialist; a term which is often used negatively but which I believe to indicate someone who, despite trappings of wealth and privilege, is prepared to work and campaign to look after those who are less well-off in society.

The crowd I don't get are the ordinary folk, struggling to get by, who'll blindly support Conservatives who only look after those in society who are already well-off.

That sums up my late mother in law.

She never had penny and struggled all her life trying to make ends meet.

Bizarre.

4 hours ago, Smithee said:

**** the Tories does not hold Scotland back, what a ridiculous thing to come out with.

I'm ideologically opposed to them and they're destroying the country, it's only in your narrow imagination that it's an unthinking trope

I'd love to hear some justification from the tories-for-life mob as to how voting Tory instead of SNP and them running Holyrood would in any ****ing way improve our lot. Utterly hilarious. :laugh:

As for holding the tories to account, I  suspect at least one of our tory-leaning posters is surely attracted to voting for Johnson since they would recognize touchpoints in the man, being almost as full of himself as they are. :P   

Edited by Gizmo

jamboy1982
22 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

I'd love to hear some justification from the tories-for-life mob as to how voting Tory instead of SNP and them running Holyrood would in any ****ing way improve our lot. Utterly hilarious. :laugh:

As for holding the tories to account, I  suspect at least one of our tory-leaning posters is surely attracted to voting for Johnson since they would recognize touchpoints in the man, being almost as full of himself as they are. :P   

Can’t be any aspects of life where the Tory government in England is outperforming the snp government of Scotland 

WorldChampions1902
11 minutes ago, jamboy1982 said:

Can’t be any aspects of life where the Tory government in England is outperforming the snp government of Scotland 

It depends on what ‘cult’ you follow. If you are somebody that enjoys kicking the most vulnerable in society and want to see desperate foreigners fleeing persecution being deported to an African country with a dubious human rights record, then the Tories are doing brilliantly. A few on here with such closet values I’m sure.

4 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Is that like the snp austerity after 14 years in power here and the 10 years of even worse austerity promised by Mr Swinney if we go independent - hud me back where do I sign 

SNP Austerity :rofl:

Kicking the can further doon the BLAME game road. 

How many have DIED under Tory Austerity??

Remember that the Tory Austerity has a dominion effect and Scotland were not amunne.

Also the Westminster budget sent to Scotland was also shite.

Look at the primary source were Austerity was born, yip Tory Westminster.

Blaming the SNP on a Tory made austerly, desperate mate. 

4 hours ago, Dazo said:

Not that hard to believe considering they pissed the last election. 👍

You must be so proud of the utter hardship and misery this Tory government have inflicted on millions. :bravo:

Not hard to   believe  that you like the your masters in the Eton rent boy club  are pissing this   country's future up the wall.. 

3 hours ago, Gizmo said:

This is the bit I don't get. Do they actually think the Conservative and Unionist party would actually improve Scotland?

Banned from Brexit thread (biting too hard at Enzo's pish one night).

Sunlit (glowing) uplands...

28 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

When is Rees-Mogg gonna add radioactive produce to his blank page of Brexit positives, he could claim he's saving the public some energy costs since we will all be glowing in the dark after eating this muck. 

WorldChampions1902
38 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

When is Rees-Mogg gonna add radioactive produce to his blank page of Brexit positives, he could claim he's saving the public some energy costs since we will all be glowing in the dark after eating this muck. 

Radiation sickness, salmonella poisoning and hormone injected produce, all coming to us via our supermarkets soon. Thanks, Leavers.

WorldChampions1902
8 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Still better than the shite my missus cooks.

I feel for you. Make sure you get your Fukushima 5-a-day.

9 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Sounds like 3 courses for a tenner at Frankie & Bennys

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Cannot believe that your Mrs is a shite cook, you've mentioned steamed dumplings before. 🤤

So, in closing, you are a steak on Thursday guy or just being wide on here (cos she'd neuter you and serve you them up as dim sum....

:cowboy:

2 minutes ago, Steak said:

Sounds like 3 courses for a tenner at Frankie & Bennys

Used to work with a guy whose restaurant of choice for birthdays, anniversaries etc was Frankie and effing Bennies....

Just now, jonesy said:

Steamed Chinese dumplings give me the boak nowadays, especially when she makes her own dough. It's too thick and chewy. Fried or baked, not so bad.

Not sure what a 'steak on Thursday' guy is...

I enjoyed your wife's dumplings

1 hour ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Some of the best people have been banned from the Brexit thread for upsetting easily upset obsessives 

6 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Some of the best people have been banned from the Brexit thread for upsetting easily upset obsessives 

Thank you @manaliveits105 coming from you that is heartening xxx

2 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Thank you @manaliveits105 coming from you that is heartening xxx

I’m in for life it seems hopefully you get an early release 

21 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Steamed Chinese dumplings give me the boak nowadays, especially when she makes her own dough. It's too thick and chewy. Fried or baked, not so bad.

Not sure what a 'steak on Thursday' guy is...

Was an oblique reference to Shirley Valentine, who's husband had meals tied to days of the week...

Was funny in my head.

6 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

I’m in for life it seems hopefully you get an early release 

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

We all know you're funny in the head, Konnie 😜 

Nah, I do the cooking as it keeps me from having to figure out the bairns' maths homework :) 

:greggy:

Please feel free to post any of Mrs Jonesy's recipes, particularly those involving tofu....casa KvC is currently tofu mad....

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

Nice one. Yer maw's were a wee bit soggy for my tastes, however.

Sharing is caring, bros B4 hoes etc

7 hours ago, jonesy said:

My fave is:

Open packet of tofu. Pour into bin. Go and buy a steak.

:chef:

Apparently he thought “ downtown abbey “ was a documentary ! 😎

1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

Really wouldnt be out of place in some comedy sketch. 

14 minutes ago, indianajones said:

Really wouldnt be out of place in some comedy sketch. 

“ The league of gentlemen “ ? 

Just now, JamesM48 said:

“ The league of gentlemen “ ? 

This is a local country for local people. 

2 minutes ago, indianajones said:

This is a local country for local people. 

My favourite comedy show . Saw them on stage too ! Incredible ! They basically predicated Brexit with Edward and Tubbs 😂

Japan Jambo
3 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

I do like his car. Does that make me a bad person?

1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

I do like his car. Does that make me a bad person?

No 

Prof Curtis says although bad night for Tories he predicts not enough that they wont win next election 

10 more years ! who knew 

The English electorate en masse believe they are closer to an Etonian millionaire, than they are to the poor family down the road, or the family of immigrants who have had to flee a war-zone to y’know, avoid being killed.

They’re quite happy to sit back and watch billions of tax payers money be funnelled off to the Torys elite business pals via dodgy government contracts, but god forbid the malnourished kid down the road from having some food, that just doesn’t bare thinking about…

8 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

The English electorate en masse believe they are closer to an Etonian millionaire, than they are to the poor family down the road, or the family of immigrants who have had to flee a war-zone to y’know, avoid being killed.

They’re quite happy to sit back and watch billions of tax payers money be funnelled off to the Torys elite business pals via dodgy government contracts, but god forbid the malnourished kid down the road from having some food, that just doesn’t bare thinking about…

WorldChampions1902

I see Tory dinosaur Peter Bottomley (the Father of the House), has been interviewed by the New Statesman recently where he moaned about the appalling rate of pay for an MP. Quote, “While Bottomley no longer suffers the financial strains, he believes the situation is “desperately difficult” for his newer colleagues. “I don’t know how they manage. It’s really grim.”

I don’t know how they manage on £81,000 a year plus expenses plus ‘bungs’??? Time for a whip-round.

https://www.newstatesman.com/politics-interview/2021/10/peter-bottomley-interview-the-longest-serving-mp-on-why-politicians-should-be-paid-as-much-as-doctors