The 2015 General Election Megathread

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Psychedelicropcircle

I'm a little concerned the bar bill at WM will take a smashing, Ken wot Scottish folks are like with a free bar

• Replies 14k

• aussieh

• JamboX2

• TheMaganator

• Boris

TheMaganator

I'm a little concerned the bar bill at WM will take a smashing, Ken wot Scottish folks are like with a free bar

I don't think it is a free bar - but imagine how many Smirnoff Ices Mhari Black can buy with ?67k per year?!

TheMaganator

This is who the good people of East Lothian have elected to represent them.

Talking about our country's economy imploding - and referring to Westminster as the enemy.

He also raises national pride which is nice.

#the56

6E129DED-696D-4DE8-B891-0820FC800230_zps

Here's some of the Tories key pledges for this term.

What are people for and against?

• Introduce a law guaranteeing no rise in income tax rates, VAT or national insurance before 2020
  • Invest an extra ?8bn a year for the NHS by 2020
  • This is unfunded. Can't raise taxes due to the first point above. Welfare bill is already being slashed by another ?12bn and year so where is this magic ?8bn coming from? 
  • Hold a referendum on membership of the EU by 2017
  • This would shut UKIP up but the entire right wing press would be pushing a YES vote on leaving the EU.
  • Open 500 more free schools
  • Free schools are bollocks.
  • Extend the right-to-buy scheme to housing association tenants in England
  • Only if housing associations are forced by law to replace any sold property with a new rental one
  • Build 200,000 starter homes
  • Nowhere near enough houses and how can you guarantee they won't be snapped up by buy-to-let bawbags?
  • Ensure all people who work 30 hours per week on the minimum wage pay no income tax
  • Should be 40 hours and min wage needs to be raised to ?8
  • Double free childcare allowance for three and four-year-olds to 30 hours
  • Nicked from the SNP 
  • Increase the inheritance tax threshold on family homes to ?1m by 2017
  • Only benefits the rich
  • Make sure there are no above-inflation rises in rail fares until 2020
  • TTIP would see the government being sued by the rail companies for loss of profits.

The rest of them are here http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-32683869 

It's going to be a prosperous few years for us all. Anyone got any new treats lined up for themselves as a result?

This is who the good people of East Lothian have elected to represent them.

Talking about our country's economy imploding - and referring to Westminster as the enemy.

He also raises national pride which is nice.

#the56

6E129DED-696D-4DE8-B891-0820FC800230_zps

Horrific chat although to be fair, he won by some margin.

But he should remember that the Tory-Red Tory (cringe!) vote outstrips his.

We really are seeing some divisive stuff from the SNP these days.

Gorgiewave

Horrific chat although to be fair, he won by some margin.

But he should remember that the Tory-Red Tory (cringe!) vote outstrips his.

We really are seeing some divisive stuff from the SNP these days.

How could Labour and the SNP have formed an anti-Tory majority if Labour are the Red Tories?

Just another question our nonsense electorate hasn't asked itself.

Gorgiewave

Here's some of the Tories key pledges for this term.

What are people for and against?

• Introduce a law guaranteeing no rise in income tax rates, VAT or national insurance before 2020
  • Invest an extra ?8bn a year for the NHS by 2020
  • This is unfunded. Can't raise taxes due to the first point above. Welfare bill is already being slashed by another ?12bn and year so where is this magic ?8bn coming from? 
  • This would shut UKIP up but the entire right wing press would be pushing a YES vote on leaving the EU.
  • Open 500 more free schools
  • Free schools are bollocks.
  • Extend the right-to-buy scheme to housing association tenants in England
  • Only if housing associations are forced by law to replace any sold property with a new rental one
  • Build 200,000 starter homes
  • Nowhere near enough houses and how can you guarantee they won't be snapped up by buy-to-let bawbags?
  • Ensure all people who work 30 hours per week on the minimum wage pay no income tax
  • Should be 40 hours and min wage needs to be raised to ?8
  • Double free childcare allowance for three and four-year-olds to 30 hours
  • Nicked from the SNP 
  • Only benefits the rich
  • Make sure there are no above-inflation rises in rail fares until 2020
  • TTIP would see the government being sued by the rail companies for loss of profits.

The rest of them are here http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-32683869 

It's going to be a prosperous few years for us all. Anyone got any new treats lined up for themselves as a result?

Would a 12 billion pound welfare cut not pay for an 8 billion pound investment?

How could Labour and the SNP have formed an anti-Tory majority if Labour are the Red Tories?

Just another question our nonsense electorate hasn't asked itself.

Realpolitik, I suppose.

This Red Tory chat is chronic but the SNP have been very good at labelling themselves ('The 45', '56') and their opponents (Red Tories etc) and making it catch on through social media.

•  
  • Only benefits the rich

You make it sound like these are bad things. 

HaymarketJambo

Congrats to Big Davie Mun for beating off stiff competition for the role of Scottish Secretary.

That should put the fear of god up the SNP with that brilliant appointment. LOL  

Looking at their wee happy faces off their plane to Westminster.

Once their little socialist snouts are in that trough, in the big city, I wonder how many of them will really want to halt that wee gravy train?

I see Little Nikky went too- Christ knows why as she's not an MP, but hell its free all inclusive and on the tax payer so why not

Show the kids around, visit the eye, Tussauds- see the enemy that kind of thing.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/conservative/11596235/David-Cameron-reshuffles-government-live.html

The Conservatives, SNP and Murdoch will be a strong anti-BBC axis.

You mean Torygraph surely,utter Pish of a rag.

Meanwhile,this article here is top notch,so good in fact that I could have written it myself.....well almost.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/may/10/scotland-independence-day-already-self-determination-legal-problems-vanish-england

Said it earlier but it's begun already. Cameron talking about independence only three days after winning. He'll be the one driving this. He'll be the one goading Sturgeon into abandoning her patient strategy. Conservative strategists will have decided on Friday before the toast was cold that the best way to deal with the SNP surge is for Scotland to harm itself from within, with divisions becoming deeper. The provocation at times will be relentless as they hope for Scots to turn on each other rather than the real threat. Scots would be crazy to fall for it.

Looking at their wee happy faces off their plane to Westminster.

Once their little socialist snouts are in that trough, in the big city, I wonder how many of them will really want to halt that wee gravy train?

I see Little Nikky went too- Christ knows why as she's not an MP, but hell its free all inclusive and on the tax payer so why not

Show the kids around, visit the eye, Tussauds- see the enemy that kind of thing.

Hurting are we? :)

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scottish-independence/10952644/Alex-Salmond-personally-pressurised-financial-body-to-drop-independence-report.html

Here's the "Command Paper" from January 2015:

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/397079/Scotland_EnduringSettlement_acc.pdf

I would be willing to gamble the Union, the existence of Hearts and the life of all my family and friends that Sidsnot has not read it.

Stopped reading at HM Goverment.

Hurting are we? :)

Why would I?

The SNP delegation looked like a bunch of tourists arrived in a city from hick central

And Little Nikky will have packed sarnies and Monster Energy Drinks for them

And they're supposed to be standing up for Scotland?

What kind of voice are they going to give us?

Meanwhile,this article here is top notch,so good in fact that I could have written it myself.....well almost.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/may/10/scotland-independence-day-already-self-determination-legal-problems-vanish-england

Got as far as "Nicola Sturgeon is telling the truth..."

I feel your pain

It's thar palpable wee man bitterness I hope would become extinct in an independent Scotland.

Stopped reading at "Nicola Sturgeon is telling the truth..."

Why would I?

The SNP delegation looked like a bunch of tourists arrived in a city from hick central

I have to admit I laughed at Monster Energy Drinks,don't know know by now that it's Irn Bru real Scots drink.

I feel your pain

Not pain.

Embarrassment perhaps.

In the same way when I'm abroad and see an OF strip wearing shambles giving it all the "I'm Scottish" chat.

You may be, but in a kind of cringey way

It would be nice for the LIttle Englanders to not have their stereotypes of Scots re-inforced.

Then I look at that picture again.

Like the queue at an Argos sale FFS

Stopped reading at "Nicola Sturgeon is telling the truth..."

Read it a few weeks ago,go to 9.1.1 Summary.

Tell me now,where is The Vow,eh?

Gorgiewave

Why would I?

Pickled onion Monster Munch.

Read it a few weeks ago,go to 9.1.1 Summary.

Tell me now,where is The Vow,eh?

It's about to pass through parliament as agreed.

Gorgiewave

You'd think those desperate for more powers would have devoured the Smith Commission Report seeing what they will and won't have. But no, nothing is good enough.

Bunkum,they can stick it where the sun don't shine.:(

Nothing except Independence will be enough for me.

Nah,as Lenin was part Jewish I'd probably give it a miss,thanks.

So you don't like the English, Tories or Jews.

Brave new world this Independent Scotland you dream of

Very inclusive

Bunkum,they can stick it where the sun don't shine.:(

Nothing except Independence will be enough for me.

tough, you and the losing 45% can suck it up and accept belonging to the UK.

Don Draper

Are the unionists on here generally behind the Smith Commission proposals? I only ask as Alistair Darling, Jack McConnell and Malcolm Rifkind don't appear too impressed with it:

https://commonspace.scot/articles/1285/labour-s-alistair-darling-and-jack-mcconnell-attack-smith-commission-devolution-proposals

Edited by Don Draper

TheMaganator

It's thar palpable wee man bitterness I hope would become extinct in an independent Scotland.

Given that the majority of the population would have to suffer from this before we ever voted Yes it'd take some doing for it to become extinct

Robbie Neilson

Sir Alan Sugar resigns from the Labour party over "negative business policies" but waited till after the election, so as to not harm the party's chances

Since Friday this thread has been very entertaining.

It's like the Hobos forum after we humiliated in the cup final.

Lots of tears and snotters from the losers.

Since Friday this thread has been very entertaining.

It's like the Hobos forum after we humiliated in the cup final.

Lots of tears and snotters from the losers.

Not as bad as the aftermath of the referendum. That was real tears and snotters.

So you don't like the English, Tories or Jews.

Brave new world this Independent Scotland you dream of

Very inclusive

No,it's you who is inconclusive,I was born in England,I've loads of relatives in England smarty pants.

Antisemism now? Does this breach any of kickback's rules?

3. Do not post any picture, comment or link that could be considered offensive by normal standards of society.

7. Sectarian, homophobic, or racist comments are not permitted. This does not exclude legitimate debate on current issues that may relate to sectarianism but a careful monitor will be placed on such debates.

Dry up you clown,you've posted tons of stuff which is racist,next thing you'll ask is for me to post your rubbish,you should go to Specsavers.

tough, you and the losing 45% can suck it up and accept belonging to the UK.

Like I said before,it turned out to be a blessing in disguise,114 k membership of the SNP,you stirred the hornet's nest.

Given that the majority of the population would have to suffer from this before we ever voted Yes it'd take some doing for it to become extinct

Absolute and utter poppycock.

I find the attitude of unionists at times to be unseemly and so out of touch it beggars belief.

Wishing to stand on one's own feet and take decisions that suit oneself and fellow countrymen and aspiring to a fairer society is the antithesis of "wee man syndrome".

All the tantrums, smears and insults in the world will not alter the General Election result, nor will the misplaced sense of superiority that the unionist posters like to hide behind.

Hasselhoff

Like I said before,it turned out to be a blessing in disguise,114 k membership of the SNP,you stirred the hornet's nest.

114k who care passionately about independence. Out of 5.5 million people. It is good going but you would need double that to come over from no to yes. The silent majority will always defeat the noisy few and with the lack of any economic strategy you will have a hard time convincing the majority of the voters.

Nah,as Lenin was part Jewish I'd probably give it a miss,thanks.

Give yourself a shake.

You've got the skills to argue but that kind of chat does you no good.

Labour MSPs give Skelator a vote of confidence in his leadership , Jim sneaks in and out the back door to avoid the media .

Crazy people .

Do they really think the public will learn to live the leader ?

Edited by ToadKiller Dog

Robbie Neilson

Sidsnot now takes the crown from TrapperJOhn as the worst poster on the thread. Where is he btw?

Ivan Drago

Sidsnot now takes the crown from TrapperJOhn as the worst poster on the thread. Where is he btw?

Aussieh seems quiet as well-unlikely couple ran off into the sunset?

You rang...

Never seen in the same internet chat room together.

Hmmm....

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

JKB's very own progressive anti-Tory coalition.