Rangers fans rioting in Manchester ( merged )

Have watched the right hook knockout punch a number of times. From what I have seen the guy KO'd was up for a fight, a few frames before he was talking up a pretty good story, and faced in the same direction all the time. Just before he is punched he starts to place his feet, and sort of dances one foot in front of the other to me as if getting ready to rumble. His subsequentr opponent walked in, no negotiation whopped him a good one. Hope he is not too seriously hurt but I think he was asking and got it.

Have had the good fortune not to deal with OF fans for over forty years, can honestly say in the 25 years prior of dealing with them as a Hearts supporter and a policeman the only thing different between them was the color of scarves they were wearing. Generally gave the impresion of being low life thugs and bigots. All cast from the same dye.

• Replies 824
What happens to the two boys in the white in the middle of the screen. Either one falls over because he's pished or gets hit by a bottle, the other goes over as the police charge by. Neither looks to moving much afterwards.

Are they fans or security boys in yellow jackets??

vJo-2S-EV10

Hahaha thats a beauty, most definitely a bottle skuddin him, what a shot! :eek:

Why don't Celtic fans behave like this in Europe? It's a serious question - what's the difference? I can't remember any incidents like these after the 2003 UEFA Cup final.

A very good question. It comes down, I think, to reputations: how the media are likely to report certain incidents, and how much of a desire exists among the supporters to retain a good reputation in front of the watching world.

So Celtic fans, because they have an excellent reputation, are much more self-policing when travelling abroad. Equally though, because of said reputation, journalists are likely to treat any trouble as an isolated exception, or even just drunken high jinks. Much the same exists with the followers of Scotland or Ireland: they're there for a party, but because their image is so positive, are regarded as harmless, friendly and jovial, even when flashpoints occasionally occur (as is inevitable when heavy consumption of alcohol is involved, not to mention the reality that every club or national team will have at least a few idiots following them).

Rangers' situation, though, is very different. Partly because their politics are so increasingly out of synch with the way the world is going, and partly because they have such a grim reputation abroad, I think there's more than an element of them behaving as if on the defensive, lashing out as part of a siege mentality that exists within the whole club, and arguably, the whole Orange movement. Moreover, because they view themselves as British (or even English), some of their more rabid lunatics clearly aspire to emulating English fans - or to put it more accurately, English hooligans.

For decades, English supporters have been forced to deal with authorities, supporters or thugs either fearful, suspicious of, or wanting to confront their reputation, even though things have got so much better over the past 15 years or so: we're eternally paying for the crimes of previous generations. And because hooliganism is seen as the "English disease", hooligan or far right elements at other European clubs (most notably, Feyenoord) seem to model themselves on the very worst English louts, ie. being an overweight skinhead with multiple tattoos, who makes Nazi or fascist salutes, drinks not to have fun, but to have a punch-up, and is quite liable to bottle you if you even have the temerity to "look at them funny".

They're copying a caricature, in other words - and the more fearful this makes others, the more negatively things are reported, and the more harsh is the authorities' response: meaning the fans just close in on themselves, making trouble ever more likely. Treat people like animals, and eventually they'll just behave as such. How much either Celtic or Rangers' fans' image bears up to scrutiny, I honestly don't know: as the old saying goes, "get a reputation as an early riser, and you can stay in bed til noon". But in sum, Celtic supporters, Irish fans or the Tartan Army are viewed in a positive light, so have much more reason to behave in a positive, friendly way; Rangers or England supporters, quite the reverse.

The Record has about 3 lines about the violence.Says it all about that **** bag of a paper.Sorry can't link it as im on the internet on the Wii.

Says there were at least 8 arrests,selective journalism again i think - more like 8 arrests at 2pm

hunnybunny

A man to be listened to - with an award to be proud of! Rangers hardly had a chance and what a surprise - one up front and Novo on in the last ten minutes - Advocat knew the script months ago .......

King of the North

Was always going to end this way...attacking paramedics according to radio 5.

nice....

Apart from a handful of sympathisrs on here, all of us knew what sort of human beings the huns are. disgusting.

Two UEFA finals. Two riots.

Ban the feckers for five years. Why can Hearts and, dare I say it Celtic go abroad and win awards, yet this shower of pond life, YET AGAIN, Scotland's shame.

Bootboy100

I can understand being peeved off when the big screen went down. However to then riot in the city centre is unforgiven!! I wonder how the Sun and DR will report that today if at all??

It was clear to see that it was neds and gang style neds leading the way obviously thinking it was a Friday night in Castlemilk!!!

The majority did behave themselves however that is just plain unacceptable no matter the circumstances!!!

brellierlegend

Rangers fans are complete degenerate filth who do nothing but disgrace our country!

Ban them from Europe next season!

coppercrutch
Errmmm, no.

Only the OF knuckle-dragging ones.

There IS a Glasgow Hearts Supporters' Club, you know.

Fair dos but after watching all this **** can you not re-locate....;)

I've played fit'baw at Tynie wi Kearney and he's a Jambo, if its the sae one, yelly boots?

Def no a sellik fan.

Well apologies - I just cant handle anyone sticking up for he Celtic **** !!

Was there not about 50,000 Spaniards that came across to our country last year and treated it with respect. No trouble as far as I remember.

Yes, they come from a country where people generally have a bit of class about them. As for us............................:sad:

Not sure the guy throwing the punch was a Rangers fan. He doesnt seem to have any Rangers colours although his overall dress sense fitted right in.

Are you Hatton in disguise.............What a feckin punch !!!

What total ****. To be fair the first reaction from all around is to check if he was ok. I expected them to start stamping on the guys head. So credit where credit is due. At least some of this **** have a little decency in them.

My hatred of the hun **** is getting closer to my hatred of the plastic paddies by the day. And that is saying something !!!:eek::eek:

Absolute ****, they must surely recieve a ban for this! already on the (scottish) radio this morning i have heard them going with the "police were heavy handed" line! shocking, the media will play this down and give the rangers fans a way out per usual, a man got stabbed for gods sake! also the singing of certain songs all day yesterday were very clear to hear!

coppercrutch
It's started: -

http://www.theherald.co.uk/news/news/display.var.2272349.0.Riot_police_called_in_amid_angry_clashes_as_giant_screens_fail.php

Good to see that the 'quality' weegie press is taking it's usual unbiased view!

Very different view from all the other stories I have heard. Who to believe.....:rolleyes:

Clue - Never trust a wiedgie.

Anyone surprised?

Horrible, nasty, violent, thugs, one and all.

Good luck with that bid for acceptance to the Premiership.

Guest GhostHunter

Spot the tone in this piece in the Daily Ranger.

Chaos As Gers Supporters Caught Up In Big Match Hell Giant Screen Breaks Down And Riot Cops Charge Rangers Fans Uefa Cup Final 2008 Rangers In Manchester

RIOT police charged Rangers supporters last night as the biggest fan zone descended into chaos when the screen showing the match broke down.

The trouble flared after tens of thousands of ticketless fans were left disappointed after waiting for hours in Manchester's Piccadilly Gardens.

A message flashed up on the screens less than five minutes before kick-off advising the crowd that there was a glitch.

Hundreds of officers swarmed into the Gardens to try to control the situation as the crowd tried to leave the area.

Officers in riot gear drew their batons. Mounted police and dog handlers flooded the area.

Fans claimed police jostled them. Some were hit with batons and bottles flew.

Riot police charged and bottles and traffic cones were thrown in response.

The supporters backed off before forming up again in front of the police.

Officers charged several more times, pushing fans back. After one clash a man was left lying on the ground.

Six men - believed to be Rangers fans - had been arrested for serious assault.

Fan Robbie Robertson, 39, from Portsmouth, said: "The sole root of this problem was extreme overcrowding which got worse as the day went on.

"This, coupled with the failure of the screen, triggered the whole thing.

"At first fans were able to freely go down Oldham Street trying to get to the other fan zones.

"The police must then have decided that the numbers heading out were unmanageable and then decided to block the street off.

"Many fans were angry but they were mainly trying to get to the other fan zones although some were venting their anger by kicking debris on the street.

"The whole event was underestimated by the police in Manchester but the condition of some fans caused by drink was certainly nothing to be proud of."

George Brownlie, from Uddingston, said: "People were trying to get out of the area but because of the intense crush it was difficult and some bottles were thrown and some pushing started.

"But the main trouble started once the riot police sealed off Oldham Street."

Locals praised the Rangers support.

Elizabeth Gunn, 42, of Altrincham, said: "The Rangers fans are fantastic and they have been badly let down. The council had plenty of time to make sure the signal was working. When the screen stopped working, the trouble began.

"People will say that the Rangers fans are bad but this has been very badly organised.

"I'm proud to come from Manchester but this is a disgrace."

Small pockets of fans remained in Piccadilly in the hope that the big screen would start working but it remained blank.

Police moved in waves, ushering fans out of the square but there were angry flashpoints.

At 8.30pm, there was mayhem at the fringes of Piccadilly Gardens.

Police came under a hail of bottles from furious fans they were escorting away.

As a police helicopter circled overhead, lines of officers in riot gear charged at fans as they tried to contain the situation.

One fan was seen being whacked by police in a shop doorway.

The man's friends rushed to help him and fighting broke out.

At least one man was seen being carried from the square with unknown injuries.

Fans in the other city centre fan zones - at Albert Square and Cathedral Gardens - were oblivious to what was happening until thousands of supporters surged in.

But tens of thousands missed at least the entire first half of the game.

There was trouble at junction of Lever Street and Piccadilly Gardens at 10pm.

Riot police arrived in armoured vehicles as tensions bubbled over.

Terrified mums fled the scene clutching screaming toddlers.

There were several more baton charges at Newton Street, just off the Gardens, at around 10.15pm.

A spokesman for Manchester City Council said they did not know what had gone wrong with the screen.

A Russian fan was stabbed outside the stadium but his injuries were not serious.

:eek:

Cant actually believe I just read that....

Fifteen minutes after the game had kicked off there was some good-natured respite after a false alarm swept the thousands that Rangers had gone a goal up.

Cans of beer were cracked open in celebration and thousands turned to their mobile phones for confirmation only to have their hopes dashed.

Now that's funny!

Pretty damning report on GMTV about the Rangers fans, at least the national news will tell it how it is!

What I cant get my head around is the psychology (or lack of it) of these idiots.

Particularly those who are moaning about how much money they spent on it.

So...

1. Rangers get to final.

2. Fan chooses to follow the club to the final, no matter the cost. (an honourable intention most fans would agree)

3. Fans spends 4-5k on going to game.

4. Rangers lose.

5. Fan complains about the cost...so...the options are...

a) he is annoyed at Rangers for losing - (what a fool, imagine being so conceited that you think your team MUST win at all times)- particularly if youv spent a lot of cash on it!

b)he is annoyed at how much he spent, and blames anyone but himself (but of course its only him that is to blame) and riots, causing damage to satisfy himself.

mind you, they didnt have an SPL ref at that game. They are so used to winning every time, its maybe no surprise the fans are expecting more of the same.

Perhaps his team playing in the SPL for all these years would give him that mind set!

Posted this last night but it disappeared :sad:

I had a business meetying in Preston yesterday so had to share the M6 with them. The numbers were amazing. I would say 3 out of every 4 cars/buses on the motorway were draped in Union rags with "(insert name of place other than Glasagow) Loyal" or "Wee Arrr Ay Peepow". High/Lowlights were a couple of big Sengas holding one of the said flags on the hard shoulder in a failed attempt to cover five big white bahookies while they squated :eek:

It was pretty evident that some of them in the cars/buses were totally blootered already by about 10:30-11:00

On way in to Preston got stopped at lights beside a beer garden full of them belting out "Fenian Blood" repeatedly (it was sunny there so had the window open) The song suddenly changed to "Rule Britannia" accompanied by errr "Red Hand" salutes when a young asian lad crossed the road towards the beer garden!

Representing Scotland? Great fans? aye right.

From the same BBC story re the big screen failing at Piccadilly:

"Some people are really angry they've spent a lot of money - maybe ?4,000 to ?5,000 - to come down here for this."

Presume there's been a run on Gulfstream private jets from Prestwick then...

GIRFUY

Bl**dy hell, it cost me less than that for 3 weeks in Australia!!! :confused:

Its classic weedgie story telling.

I'm sure there probably were folk stupid enough to pay ?4-5k for their little jolly down south - but then again, I'm betting there are also folk who travelled down yesterday, enjoyed the best part of the day, saw the game and came back up the road last night who made the trip on <?200.

There was trouble at junction of Lever Street and Piccadilly Gardens at 10pm.

Riot police arrived in armoured vehicles as tensions bubbled over.

Terrified mums fled the scene clutching screaming toddlers.

Why were mums out with toddlers in the middle of tens of thousands steaming folk at 10pm on a Wednesday night???

Interesting interviews on 5Live this morning.

One woman described an attack on a bar which had to lock is doors. Tables & chairs being thrown at the doors & windows. This happened at 3pm. As she said , this happened well before ay problems with the video screens.

Another guy described ?60k of damage to a set of toilets , I think.

I wish I was in Scotland now reading up on the media portrayal of these people. I really hope Rangers are squirming over this.

CornhillHearts

And we are perfect of course in similar circumstances all teams fans would have behaved same way, prove me wrong by example.

Dr. Bapswent
Interesting interviews on 5Live this morning.

One woman described an attack on a bar which had to lock is doors. Tables & chairs being thrown at the doors & windows. This happened at 3pm. As she said , this happened well before ay problems with the video screens.

Another guy described ?60k of damage to a set of toilets , I think.

I wish I was in Scotland now reading up on the media portrayal of these people. I really hope Rangers are squirming over this.

Unfortunately they wont be.

Because you need a modicum of intelligence to understand where you went wrong.

These monkeys will simply be laughing about it for weeks to come.

Still no sign of the usual suspects on this thread...

HHmmmmm

Dr. Bapswent
And we are perfect of course in similar circumstances all teams fans would have behaved same way, prove me wrong by example.

Gladly.

Can you wait till we get to the UEFA cup final, theres a good boy.

You gotta feel for the guys. On the batter all night then get on a bus at 2.00 am to Manchester , go on the bevvy at 10.00 am the same morning. I mean , it's not their fault the police didn't want them there. It's not their fault the thing was badly managed , allegedly.

Did anyone in the Scottish press argue the case for ticketless fans NOT going ? Do you think if this was reversed Strathclyde police would want 100,000 Scousers or Mancs ****ing up in Glasgow city centre ?

Only 40 arrests and one stabbing ? Strathclyde police would probably view that as a result and it wouldn't even rate a mention in the Scottish dailies normally.

Hilary Briss

To anyone with Setanta, put on Setanta Sports News. Two weegies covered in claret explaing what had happened. Comedy gold, two bams straight out of Rab C Nisbitt.........."I wiz winding the polis up a bit ye ken, just singing rule britania and that then I got hit, I canny feel anything like but theres blood ya ken."

Dr. Bapswent
rangers9_gallery__567x400.jpg

rangers4_gallery__302x400.jpg

Shame... Dog in need of Tetanus jag.

Thats class.

What a fud.

That goes some way to repay for the dog they set on fire.

Total ****mers.

Right quick somebody get down and close the border!!!

The English would soon knock it down again and send them back over mate, but it was a nice idea.

Any hopes of them joining the EPL will have totally gone now, who in their right mind would want that mob?

Great advert for Scotland chaps, well done! :wacko:

Dr. Bapswent

This picture is class.

Not because the boy is on the deck covered in blood....

But because his amte has made sure he has saved his tab, and his mates..

Priorites eh!

rangerstroublePA_468x361.jpg

Gary Maitland, 22, from the Castlemilk area of Glasgow, said: "I'm outraged. I waited there for about five hours. We spent a lot of money to come down from Glasgow. What are we gonna do now?"

The rest of Scotland could have answered that Gary..... Riot!!!

thee jambo
This picture is class.

Priorites eh!

Is he a young Alan Partridge ?

You're the one making the claim.

How about you prove you're right by example?

jambojim52

I have not read the whole thread, and most on here will know how I stand on the OF. But I must say, if a crowd of fans from any club had gathered to watch their team on a big screen that failed. I would suspect there would be a few arrested.

However this is payback, for all the fans who have had to suffer strathclydes finest, and their bias towards other fans. rangers fans now know what we have to put up with. Nice to see a police force not interested in the OF ****.

This picture is class.

Priorites eh!

Fantastic. Your mates lying in his own blood with his head stoved in, but you save his fag for him (and carry on smoking yer own of course). Hero.

Complete schemies. Total jakeys. The subhuman trash of Britain.

As you know I didnt watch the match last night as I was working at Linlithgow train station. I did however listen on the radio(Radio Glasgow err I mean radio Scotland). I was chuffed when Zenit won. I was laughing to myself that when they scored their first goal the Rangers support were just ending a rendition of the sash. Derry's Walls, Rule Brittania, the sash(as previously mentioned) all done in the name of Scottish football.

Never was a result more sweeter than last night's. To their hooligans, tough I hope the greater manchester police hit you well and hit you hard.

John

As you know I didnt watch the match last night as I was working at Linlithgow train station. I did however listen on the radio(Radio Glasgow err I mean radio Scotland). I was chuffed when Zenit won. I was laughing to myself that when they scored their first goal the Rangers support were just ending a rendition of the sash. Derry's Walls, Rule Brittania, the sash(as previously mentioned) all done in the name of Scottish football.

Never was a result more sweeter than last night's. To their hooligans, tough I hope the greater manchester police hit you well and hit you hard.

John

No need for hope - it looks like they did :)

Drew Busby !

We're rightly having fun with this sorry outcome because all week the media and some well 'kent apologists on here have been mounting a pre-emptive propaganda campaign and trying to polish a turd.

BBC Scotland Monday night news... footage of Zenit fans having a big rammy v's happy smiling Rangers fans getting ready for Manchester

BBC Scotland Tuesday night news ... story on Zenits racist attitudes v's more happy smiling huns, now in the streets of Manchester

BBC news yesterday morning onwards and now we have the UK reporters doing stories. This was when it became obvious how naive they were in their reporting. Many of the fans I could see in the background were aready showing signs of being the worse for wear with the whole day still to come. There was even a bit of footage of a hun playing a flute ... how quaint eh English viewers, a flute !

For those of us who know the nature of the beast this was just a case of waiting for the inevitable to happen... which it duly did, and to no-ones surprise who's dealt with their vile fans and their vile vile attitudes over the previous decades.

All that spin, all that counter-propaganda, none of it was ever going to prevent der hun from ultimately being themselves. Which is about as vile a state of being as it's possible to imagine.

monkfish1979
rangers9_gallery__567x400.jpg

rangers4_gallery__302x400.jpg

Shame... Dog in need of Tetanus jag.

Possibly the funniest thing I've ever seen. Some of these huns look like a completely different species.

IMA MAROON
Anyone surprised?

Horrible, nasty, violent, thugs, one and all.

Good luck with that bid for acceptance to the Premiership.

I'm sure that the vast majority of Rangers fans will be unhappy with the trouble.

If you invite 100,000 people from around the world to any event then don't show it you are going to have problems.