The Rangers soap opera goes on and on.

Sergio Garcia

Interesting, so not only could the guy be accused of having a massive conflict of interest being on the Club 1872 board as well as the Rangers board, but he also has sole access to the Club 1872 bank account? I'm sure King is delighted with that setup.

Surprised any Bank let that happen

Usually at least 2 signatories on an account like that

I certainly would not have allowed that.

hmfcfanyul

Surprised any Bank let that happen

Usually at least 2 signatories on an account like that

I certainly would not have allowed that.

If it is like similar joint signing in Canada, the people are on the signature authority at the bank until the BANK makes the change, it's a feature of the account not of the group that owns the account.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Whether you like Donald Findlay or not. You have to admit he is a very good defence barrister.

He has a good name but a policeman friend made the point that his record of success is fairly low.

Escobar PHM

He has a good name but a policeman friend made the point that his record of success is fairly low.

Not surprising really. Statistically he defends a lot of guilty people. Quite re-assuring if his success rate in getting guilty people off isn't very high.

He's an enormously clever with a forensically brilliant mind. Makes his sectarian leanings seem completely out of place.

Not surprising really. Statistically he defends a lot of guilty people. Quite re-assuring if his success rate in getting guilty people off isn't very high.

He's an enormously clever with a forensically brilliant mind. Makes his sectarian leanings seem completely out of place.

Very true.

sairyinthat

Not that clever,the really clever Q.C works for the Crown.Want a clever criminal lawyer they are found in the Lower courts and are Not Q.Cs

For a while certainly he took on a lot of 'lost cause' cases. He did have some success including some quite notorious cases. Iirc he won a defence based on lack of knowing due to intoxication which was a first. This is 25 /30 years ago.

Worth a look if you are interested.

He did bow out for a while though I suppose you never retire.

But this is perfect. Remember for those who don't know he was forced out of Ibrox after caught singing a sectarian song something every Rangers employee was expected to do at supporters events.

Escobar PHM

For a while certainly he took on a lot of 'lost cause' cases. He did have some success including some quite notorious cases. Iirc he won a defence based on lack of knowing due to intoxication which was a first. This is 25 /30 years ago.

Worth a look if you are interested.

He did bow out for a while though I suppose you never retire.

But this is perfect. Remember for those who don't know he was forced out of Ibrox after caught singing a sectarian song something every Rangers employee was expected to do at supporters events.

He was born to defend this case. He'll know where there are bodies buried and there'll be several people wishing this case would just melt quietly away without explosions coming from the defence. He will argue there is no case to answer at the end of the crown case. Many people on all sides will be hoping he wins that argument, because his defence will probably blow the whole shooting match apart and no-one will escape.

Escobar PHM

Not that clever,the really clever Q.C works for the Crown.Want a clever criminal lawyer they are found in the Lower courts and are Not Q.Cs

Donald Findlay - In the region of ?200k for 2-3 months on a big case and he handles several at the same time.

Advocate Depute - ?80k up to ?136k PA

Bog standard sheriff court ambulance chaser doing legal aid cases. ?45-60k PA

He sounds pretty clever to me.

Strachsuit

He's a defence lawyer. Crown is the prosecution! :unsure:

He has taken on a barrage of very guilty people including beasts like Luke Mitchell, it's not a surprise he has a low success rate. Often a success for such cases is simply getting a lesser sentence. 

Strachsuit

Is there more court entertainment today (thursday) ?

There sure is. Proceedings start at 10am but no court updates until break as live tweeting still banned.

Alwayssunnyingorgie

I've not read the updates for a week or so, Has anything good happened?

Strachsuit

Findlay suggesting that Grier has lied under oath:

James Doleman? @jamesdoleman  31m

Findlay 'If Grier said later he didn't know about Ticketus that would be an absolute lie?" Bryan "Would be hard to believe"

Also news today that people outwith the deal were aware of it:

James Doleman? @jamesdoleman  35m

Findlay Two people outside the deal knew about it? Bryan "Unfortunately, yes"

James Doleman? @jamesdoleman  35m

Bryan "I got cold called once by someone who knew about the deal with Rangers and asked if interested in another Scottish club"

Be interesting to know who the other Scottish club were and who the cold call was from. With the situation we were in at the time it would be hard to believe any Ticketus deal on STs would've been possible for us, debt was too great.

I've not read the updates for a week or so, Has anything good happened?

Nah, we've all basically agreed that the roasters were right after all, that there's nothing to see here and we should close the thread

Findlay suggesting that Grier has lied under oath:

James Doleman? @jamesdoleman 31m

31 minutes ago

More

Findlay 'If Grier said later he didn't know about Ticketus that would be an absolute lie?" Bryan "Would be hard to believe"

Also news today that people outwith the deal were aware of it:

James Doleman? @jamesdoleman 35m

35 minutes ago

More

Findlay Two people outside the deal knew about it? Bryan "Unfortunately, yes"

James Doleman? @jamesdoleman 35m

35 minutes ago

More

Bryan "I got cold called once by someone who knew about the deal with Rangers and asked if interested in another Scottish club"

Be interesting to know who the other Scottish club were and who the cold call was from. With the situation we were in at the time it would be hard to believe any Ticketus deal on STs would've been possible for us, debt was too great.

Grier up for attempt of court for lying under oath?

Strachsuit

Grier up for attempt of court for lying under oath?

If it can be proven then yes, potentially. Can't say too much though with it being live case etc. 

EDIT: Worth noting this, too: Under Scots law, to secure a perjury conviction against the accused, the evidence against them must relate directly to the prosecution case and affect the outcome of the hearing.

Edited by Strachsuit

Grier hasn't given evidence in this trial (as yet), so can't be charged with anything. Findlay could be pre-empting his evidence though..

Tweet of the day so far

James Doleman? @jamesdoleman

Email continues "The press coverage of the "suprise" ?2.8m tax case...did nothing to instill confidence in the club's truthfulness"

sairyinthat

Donald Findlay - In the region of ?200k for 2-3 months on a big case and he handles several at the same time.

Advocate Depute - ?80k up to ?136k PA

Bog standard sheriff court ambulance chaser doing legal aid cases. ?45-60k PA

He sounds pretty clever to me.

Float's your boat,not really any difference from being a Chartered Architect/Accountant/Surveyor they are all qualified in their fields the step up to greater charges is a sop .

sairyinthat

He's a defence lawyer. Crown is the prosecution! :unsure:

He has taken on a barrage of very guilty people including beasts like Luke Mitchell, it's not a surprise he has a low success rate. Often a success for such cases is simply getting a lesser sentence.

I was under the impression being made QC was by appointment not a written test,but don't for sure know.

jambovambo

On the next day documents were signed

AD "Was a pound coin produced at all?"

Betts "It was flicked across the table"

Rangers chairman Dave King has pledged to invest all of the club's season ticket revenue into the playing squad.

Almost 35,000 fans have so far renewed, with the club hoping to improve on the 43,000 sold last season.

That would raise more than ?11m, and King says the money will be spent on recruitment.

"All of our season ticket money will be invested in the squad as we work towards taking our club back to the top," King said on the club website.

The chairman is one of several directors and shareholders who have committed to providing further investment as the club approaches its second season back in the top flight.

Manager Pedro Caixinha faces a summer of rebuilding, having succeeded Mark Warburton in February with the club falling significantly behind champions Celtic in the Premiership.

Aberdeen, who won 2-1 at Ibrox on Wednesday night, have secured the runners-up place, but Rangers will finish third and play in the Europa League qualifiers in the summer.

"The team didn't perform to expectation this season but it is important to remember that some targets have been met," King said.

"In particular, getting back into European competition was one of our non-negotiables for this season.

"We are now back on that stage and looking forward immensely to the Europa League qualifiers and our ongoing involvement in Europe in the years to come.

"Pedro Caixinha and his backroom team have been assessing the squad since having arrived at Rangers, and will make the necessary changes in the summer so that we are as well prepared as possible for the qualifiers and the new season.

"The fact that we have already reached almost 35,000 renewals - against what has been a backdrop of transition and managerial change - demonstrates the terrific fan base that we have.

"They are appreciated all over the world for the way they have stood by the club in the past five years. On behalf of the board and staff I thank every one of them. I can only marvel at the steadfast loyalty of our supporters."

socrates82

Rangers chairman Dave King has pledged to invest all of the club's season ticket revenue into the playing squad.

Almost 35,000 fans have so far renewed, with the club hoping to improve on the 43,000 sold last season.

That would raise more than ?11m, and King says the money will be spent on recruitment.

"All of our season ticket money will be invested in the squad as we work towards taking our club back to the top," King said on the club website.

The chairman is one of several directors and shareholders who have committed to providing further investment as the club approaches its second season back in the top flight.

Manager Pedro Caixinha faces a summer of rebuilding, having succeeded Mark Warburton in February with the club falling significantly behind champions Celtic in the Premiership.

Aberdeen, who won 2-1 at Ibrox on Wednesday night, have secured the runners-up place, but Rangers will finish third and play in the Europa League qualifiers in the summer.

"The team didn't perform to expectation this season but it is important to remember that some targets have been met," King said.

"In particular, getting back into European competition was one of our non-negotiables for this season.

"We are now back on that stage and looking forward immensely to the Europa League qualifiers and our ongoing involvement in Europe in the years to come.

"Pedro Caixinha and his backroom team have been assessing the squad since having arrived at Rangers, and will make the necessary changes in the summer so that we are as well prepared as possible for the qualifiers and the new season.

"The fact that we have already reached almost 35,000 renewals - against what has been a backdrop of transition and managerial change - demonstrates the terrific fan base that we have.

"They are appreciated all over the world for the way they have stood by the club in the past five years. On behalf of the board and staff I thank every one of them. I can only marvel at the steadfast loyalty of our supporters."

Ah, the annual Rangers "war chest" story. It's like clockwork. Thing is it's usually talking about 30 or 30m. Changed days. 11m will barely get them above Aberdeen.

Edited by socrates82

'Invested in the squad'

Not a chance will 11m be spent on transfers, that money will be hoovered up on player wages.

I'm assuming, like everyone else in Scotland, that the SFA will put Sevco forward for Europa League participation?

Let's not bother about Financial Fair Play or unaudited accounts eh? It's for the good of the game that they get back to where they belong after all....

I'm assuming, like everyone else in Scotland, that the SFA will put Sevco forward for Europa League participation?

Let's not bother about Financial Fair Play or unaudited accounts eh? It's for the good of the game that they get back to where they belong after all....

Sucks being a Scottish club team football fan. $#!t on at every turn.

'Invested in the squad'

Not a chance will 11m be spent on transfers, that money will be hoovered up on player wages.

All aimed at pushing the sale of their Season Tickets. They've struggled financially and only kept going due to soft loans. Looks like King is saying that there will be more of the same. So here we go again, debt being accumulated, no audited accounts and huge question marks over the running of their club.

Ricardo Shillyshally

Ah, the annual Rangers "war chest" story. It's like clockwork. Thing is it's usually talking about 30 or 30m. Changed days. 11m will barely get them above Aberdeen.

11m spent wisely would see them mile's ahead of aboredeen.

Won't happen though. No danger they'll spend that amount

As mentioned, how much of this ?11m will be spent on transfers? I'd guess the majority of it will be spent on wages.

socrates82

11m spent wisely would see them mile's ahead of aboredeen.

Won't happen though. No danger they'll spend that amount

Not sure about that. They're already eclipsing Aberdeen's wage bill (which is still much more than ours) and made a big money signing or two last summer (Garner - haha). 11m is nothing - a couple of 1-2m players and huge wages across the board - plus paying off half their current team.

Edited by socrates82

This season's wage bill was forecast to be ?10.3M, so maybe a little more than ?700k in the transfer kitty.for next season

socrates82

This season's wage bill was forecast to be ?10.3M, so maybe a little more than ?700k in the transfer kitty.for next season

Enough for half of Joe Garner. The rest of Scottish football is shaking in their boots.

hmfcfanyul

If they spend all the at cash on the team - whatever that means - what pats for everything else??

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Looks like they've signed Bruno Alves. If they sign another few of that calibre they'll be much closer to Celtic next season

Prince Buaben

Looks like they've signed Bruno Alves. If they sign another few of that calibre they'll be much closer to Celtic next season

He is getting on a bit now though. He is 35. 

Meh.

He is getting on a bit now though. He is 35. 

If we were signing him, we would all be delighted though!

King Of The Cat Cafe

If we were signing him, we would all be delighted though!

Seven previous clubs, including three loan spells: always raises a tiny little question mark. It does not seem to gel with his international record, either.

You're right, wouldn't want him anywhere near Tynie...

But we would still take him in a heartbeat

BRAVEHEART1874

The season tickets were automatically renewed according to some at sevco so aye i expect quite a lot couldnae be arsed wi the song and dance of cancelling and still believe they can catch smeltic next year.

Will be interesting if it is anywhere near 43,000 or whatever again but maybe so what with europe place (after all the mugs did get issued their shares by now didnt they?) :)

Give it another 3rd place finish hopefully 4rth if we get a decent striker next year and it will be 36,000 then 30,000 then back to their usuall 26,000 torybritnats ;)

The state we are in at the moment, your statement means **** all. Sorry

Jambo-Jimbo

The season tickets were automatically renewed according to some at sevco so aye i expect quite a lot couldnae be arsed wi the song and dance of cancelling and still believe they can catch smeltic next year.

Will be interesting if it is anywhere near 43,000 or whatever again but maybe so what with europe place (after all the mugs did get issued their shares by now didnt they?) :)

Give it another 3rd place finish hopefully 4rth if we get a decent striker next year and it will be 36,000 then 30,000 then back to their usuall 26,000 torybritnats ;)

This and some won't realise until they try and take money out the bank only find they've not got as much as they thought they had.

kingdannyb

Seems like Murray knew and didn't care Whyte had no money and was using Ticketus.

Just wanted to get the Metals business back.

One conman sold the club to another conman, damn the consequences to the Rangers fans.

Hope they all get the jail.

Jambo-Jimbo

Seems like Murray knew and didn't care Whyte had no money and was using Ticketus.

Just wanted to get the Metals business back.

One conman sold the club to another conman, damn the consequences to the Rangers fans.

Hope they all get the jail.

Time the orcs and the SMSM realised this as well, perhaps they will do so by the end of this trial.

Dalstonjambo

You wouldn't mate, he's old and not scottish!

• Maple Leaf locked this topic