The Rangers soap opera goes on and on.

Sergio Garcia

Two Parks on the board - the question is why and the only certainty is that main stream journos like Jackson won't ask it.

Spot on - they will spin it as a positive development demonstrating Park senior's ongoing commitment to the club.

What on earth possessed Gough to write this article,if your in a hole then you don't keep digging.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/6743621/Gough-When-will-the-Rangers-witch-hunt-end.html

To answer his question though, I do hate Rangers that much, as do many others.

Perhaps the question he should be asking is why?

Edited by Paolo

Douglas Park is back on the board after leaving in March. Make of that what you will

s.?

Old Douglas Park or New Douglas Park?

What on earth possessed Gough to write this article,if your in a hole then you don't keep digging.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/6743621/Gough-When-will-the-Rangers-witch-hunt-end.html

Deranged and deluded is the only answer to this beasts ramblings.

I?d love to have that tenth league medal in my possession, having made history as Rangers captain.

But here?s a scenario for you. Can you imagine if it emerged in later years that Henrik Larsson had an EBT during that season?

If it turned out the Swede ? Celtic?s key player in that title triumph ? was paid via a scheme that?s now infamous in Scottish football.

Following the logic of the real-life never-ending EBT row, I?d be due a league winner?s medal.

It wouldn't matter a ****in jot if "The Swede" had ten ****in EBT's on the go if they were all used legally you thick ginger beast hun

And he's not praying

Whilst agreeing that titles shouldn't be stripped, yet again an article concerning them mentions us. A concerted effort by those at Rangers, aided greatly by their media friends will ensure we are mentioned at every possible opportunity. All in a twisted attempt to draw parallels where none exist.

It appears after all that they do indeed 'care'.

Edited by Frankly Mr. Shankly

Get a life.

Why do you think a team should be allowed to play players who aren't registered correctly? 

12players taking Rangers to court for not getting holiday pay last season. Back page of the sun.

Looking forward to players taking Rangers/Sevco to court for loss of earnings in the EBT era. 

PS Where are the SPFA on this matter , representing their members interests.

12players taking Rangers to court for not getting holiday pay last season. Back page of the sun.

Only half of them.

post-255-0-59665100-1447634844_thumb.jpg

Holiday pay is part of a players remuneration. If the tribunal states that this due to the players then it is a breach of these rules (I assume they are the latest).

Default in Player and Football Manager/Coaching Staff Remuneration

E17 Except in circumstances where there is a bona fide dispute as to liability for payment by the Club, where the Club is entitled to deduct or otherwise withhold payment of a sum otherwise due or where the Club takes, suffers or is subject to an Insolvency Event, any Club which shall fail to pay any sum due by it to a Player under and in terms of that Player?s Contract of Service and/or any sum due by it under a contract of employment to any Official engaged in football management and/or football coaching (a ?Remuneration Default?) shall be in breach of these Rules.

E18 Any Club which suffers or is subject to a Remuneration Default shall within 2 days of such default notify the Secretary in writing of any such default with details of the amount(s) and Player(s) and/or Official(s) concerned and if it fails to so notify the Secretary it shall be in breach of these Rules.

E19 Any Club which commits a Remuneration Default shall not, except with the consent of the Board, be entitled or permitted to Register any Professional Player with the League and the League shall not register such a Player until the Board is satisfied that such Remuneration Default shall no longer continue or subsist.

Edited by Dannie Boy

Is this covered by the late/non payment of wages rule that we were sanctioned under?

But we are not that club!!!!!

Roger Mitchell, ex CEO of the SPL, has written a blog which backs up what he said on Sportsound last week.

Given that he was the SPL's top man, his willingness focus on only two clubs to the detriment of all others is shameful (but not surprising).

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/hate-convenient-help-forget-how-uncompetitive-you-really-mitchell

Roger Mitchell, ex CEO of the SPL, has written a blog which backs up what he said on Sportsound last week.

Given that he was the SPL's top man, his willingness focus on only two clubs to the detriment of all others is shameful (but not surprising).

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/hate-convenient-help-forget-how-uncompetitive-you-really-mitchell

A tired attempt to use pragmatism as a reason to do nothing. Predictable and depressing

Glamorgan Jambo

Interesting way to remind people he's still around and available for work but how correcting the record for past indiscretions would have any impact on future commercial deals beats me. And the way our game gets more broadly attractive is by maintaining a level playing field. In the early 90s when I lived in Brussels the locals all knew about Aberdeen, based on their ECWC win 10 years earlier.

So, Fraser Wishart?

Hastily convened conference calls?

Registration embargoes?

Ryan Stevenson's wife?

:unsure:

Exactly, Where are the hastily arranged conference calls and emergency meetings, where is the public outrage by Wishart in all this? Where are the media threats of sanctions being imposed? Where is the outcry of hatred saying how badly run they are? how badly players are being treated, ?

And that lot think they are hard done to? 

'I remember clearly our communication director so upset as I ripped into some smaller team overly celebratory for a one off cup win,  or " diddy" friendly internationals upsetting the business of serious football.'

Still as interested in the good of the Scottish game as a whole now as then, eh Roger?

You're just a failed Simon Cowell.

Edited by ...a bit disco

Taking his argument to its logical conclusion, we pointless clubs should just form our own league and let Rangers and Celtic play off 4 times per season for the title and the right to fail in Europe.

That he thinks fans of a non-OF team winning a cup can ever be 'over-celebratory' tells me what I need to know about him.

Comes across as a real arrogant ******* too when you consider what little he achieved during his tenure.  

What's with the photo of the angry wee laddie giving it the middle finger all about. That alone makes me wonder what's in his head.

Roger Mitchell needs help.

Regarding his 6 points of what's wrong with all this. Simple answer Rangers broke the rules the why and wherefores are irrelevant but make good discussion topics but simply put you knowingly broke the rules, won titles and trophies in doing so therefore logic dictates that these should be removed.

Edited by Dannie Boy

The first comment on Roger Mitchell's piece is also telling in itself.

2f35b71.jpgRichard Wilson

Sports journalist at BBC Scotland

Excellent piece, Roger, and deserves a wider audience

and that says it all about BBC 'Scotland?' 

Says one clown to another.

Wow.

That's like...

RangersCeltic_crop_north.jpg?w=340&h=267

The 3 most comprehensive responses to Clown Mitchell are excellent - the rest are from sycophants! Describing his former employers clubs as diddy teams is telling.

Edited by Stuart Lyon

As is one of Mitchell's follow up comments underneath

'Celtic fans, and fans of the diddy teams (sorry :-)). This argument of wanting to bring down the OF to the level of the others is for me typically socialist. Smacks of jealousy. I spent 4 years trying to get them out of scotland. To leave the diddy teams to enjoy their football.'

Incredible that this man was in charge. 

Roger Mitchell appears to be having an Alan Partridge-style breakdown. Is he in Dundee, shoeless and eating Toblerone?

And Richard Wilson? :rofl:

Is this covered by the late/non payment of wages rule that we were sanctioned under?

As it's going to court, this would be classed as a bona fide dispute, so wouldn't automatically incur a sanction.

Does the guy not understand that the tax dodging by Rangers was a huge contributory factor in taking the competitiveness out of Scottish football for that decade?

If there remain any fans of Scottish football who weren't sure, you'd think this attempt at whitewashing will make their minds up.

It's actually offensive how dumb they think we all are

SMSM = lapdog loyal

Saw a good quote about him from 2012

?It appears Roger Mitchell has no plans to change from the diverse career path which has wound round accountancy, football journalism, consumer electronics, stickers, academic lecturing, the music business and being the first chief executive of the Scottish Premier League.
Now living in Como, Italy, with his wife and two children and with his office in Lugano, Switzerland, Mr Mitchell, 48, maintains a broad portfolio of interests. At the moment he is involved in a small vineyard in Chianti, London-based Sports New Media, which manages Twitter and Facebook accounts for a number of sports people, AIM-listed Swiss mobile banking technology business Vipera and Glasgow online marketing agency Alienation Digital.?

In my book that looks like a career of someone flitting here there and everywhere to avoid getting caught out as being a useless...

'I remember clearly our communication director so upset as I ripped into some smaller team overly celebratory for a one off cup win,  or " diddy" friendly internationals upsetting the business of serious football.'

Still as interested in the good of the Scottish game as a whole now as then, eh Roger?

You're just a failed Simon Cowell.

Deary me!

So a 'wee team' isn't allowed to celebrate overcoming the many obstacles put in place by Mitchell and his mates? The underdog is not allowed to celebrate his day?

Who is this clown and why's he being given airtime?

Saw a good quote about him from 2012

?It appears Roger Mitchell has no plans to change from the diverse career path which has wound round accountancy, football journalism, consumer electronics, stickers, academic lecturing, the music business and being the first chief executive of the Scottish Premier League.

Now living in Como, Italy, with his wife and two children and with his office in Lugano, Switzerland, Mr Mitchell, 48, maintains a broad portfolio of interests. At the moment he is involved in a small vineyard in Chianti, London-based Sports New Media, which manages Twitter and Facebook accounts for a number of sports people, AIM-listed Swiss mobile banking technology business Vipera and Glasgow online marketing agency Alienation Digital.?

In my book that looks like a career of someone flitting here there and everywhere to avoid getting caught out as being a useless...

Based in Switzerland for tax reasons, natch!

So non-payment of players wages.

Is it really the case that if a player leaves the club they dont get sanctioned for non-payment of monies due?

That man has no respect to all the diddy teams and supporters that paid that pricks wages. I would have loved for him to have succeeded and got the OF out of Scotland for the good of Scottish football. It is becoming clearer by each statement issued that Scottish Football has been corrupt for a long long time.

The OF and their supporters seem to think that Scottish Football is the OF and would just crumble and die if they left for England.

The majority of non OF fans would welcome them to go as Scottish Football would thrive without the bigoted gruesome twosome, oh and they can take their media lapdogs with them at the same time.

The more you read that the more annoyed you can get

The ex chief executive of the SPL basically said he did his best to get the OF out of Scotland and mocked diddy clubs when they won something and basically its all just jealousy.

If we are looking into corruption in the SFA/SPL I would look at the years he was at the top very closely.

Edit found this comment

Perhaps the most ill-considered contentions of the outspoken chief's reign came when, two months before they were promoted from the First Division, he suggested that: "if anyone thinks the Partick Thistle team of today could hold their own in the SPL, then they have been smoking dope."

Edited by Jamboelite

The more you read that the more annoyed you can get

The ex chief executive of the SPL basically said he did his best to get the OF out of Scotland and mocked diddy clubs when they won something and basically its all just jealousy.

If we are looking into corruption in the SFA/SPL I would look at the years he was at the top very closely.

Edit found this comment

Perhaps the most ill-considered contentions of the outspoken chief's reign came when, two months before they were promoted from the First Division, he suggested that: "if anyone thinks the Partick Thistle team of today could hold their own in the SPL, then they have been smoking dope."

The most frustrating thing is that if this was a former head of the FA saying how much he loved Man United, Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool and thought the rest of the teams were "diddies", his comments would be all over the English media and he'd be torn apart.

This is the sort of thing Alex Thomson could get his teeth into.

Incredible and disgraceful in equal measure.

Edited by JamboJen

I have posted the following comment on Linked In, no response yet from Roger, he seems delighted that someone is actually reading his blog, even if it is only us low IQ fitba fans!

I guess this has had the desired effect, (if indeed the desired effect was self publicity.)100 views from most of his blogs to over 3500 with this one.

It actually says quite a bit that one of the people previously entrusted with the responsibility of running a large part of our national sport, should refer to the other clubs as " Diddy teams". It also speaks volumes that he should refer to the people who really make football (The fans) in terms of their relative IQ. I would suggest that although he may well posses an above average IQ, he certainly does not score very highly when it comes to EQ.

Others more qualified than myself have made comment regarding the main points of the content, and I look forward to Rogers response on these.

That just leaves one question: If the players (of no club in particular) were not properly registered to play in the competition, what would have been the course of action under Rogers tenure?

Edited by primrose

The most frustrating thing is that if this was a former head of the FA saying how much he loved Man United, Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool and thought the rest of the teams were "diddies", his comments would be all over the English media and he'd be torn apart.

This is the sort of thing Alex Thomson could get his teeth into.

Incredible and disgraceful in equal measure.

You're right, we need to ask why the press aren't going mental at this disrespect from a guy who was top of the game. Is this the attitude in the corridors of power? I think we all know the answer...

The arrogance is astounding. He describes himself as "erudite" in a piece that totally contradicts any claim to erudition.

The idea that the "Rangers Celtic Celtic Rangers" cycle represents "competition", the claim that without them Scottish football would have the commercial; appeal of indoor bowls at Coatbridge ... there is every reason to believe that the same mind set still dominates within the Scottish football hierarchy.

Yet ... the clubs let it go on.

• Maple Leaf locked this topic