Fitness Thread

Nice work, brah.

I was lifting a measly 100kg today, to be fair that was part of full-body routine that's mainly about shifting the last little bit of fat on this cut.

I'm looking forward to getting back on a bulk, might be a wee while before I'm shifting that kind of weight :lol:

I'd post the clip but I'm sure the form police will shoot me down. :lol:

It's weird how we're never happy.

I'm strong just now, but moaning about fat percentage.

Next time I cut, I'll be lean with no fat to moan of, but I will probably greet I'm not as strong as I was.

What a mind **** the gym is. :lol:

I'd post the clip but I'm sure the form police will shoot me down. :lol:

It's weird how we're never happy.

I'm strong just now, but moaning about fat percentage.

Next time I cut, I'll be lean with no fat to moan of, but I will probably greet I'm not as strong as I was.

What a mind **** the gym is. :lol:

I'd say it's that hunger that keeps us going.

This shit takes time, effort and consistency - look how many people fall by the wayside because they lose motivation after a few weeks. I'll never reach a point where I'm wholly satisfied and I wouldn't have it any other way, it's what drives me to get off my arse and lift for the fifth time in the week. I'll never be the biggest but I can always be that little bit stronger or that little bit more cut so I keep making those little, incremental gains.

Over time it really adds up.

I've cut out a lot of the foods I eat too much of, and added in more protein/veg but progress is still painfully slow.

I've no problem increasing my weights and my muscles are getting bigger, but after dropping my body fat % from 33.5 down below 30%, it's just sitting around 28% and refusing to move (It's probably been like that for a good few months now - with a slight increase followed by a decrease before and after Xmas).

My weight is staying the same and I do feel I'm making progress when I look in the mirror, but every time I step on the sales it's the same weight, same body fat reading!

Eating has always been the problem... Pizza, steak (with all the sides), chippies, crisps and sugary food... I'm lifting 3 x per week (with a 10 min cardio blast as a warm up) plus playing fives on a Friday, so I'm doing 4 sessions per week most weeks, so I know it's not the exercise that the problem..

I now eat no chocolate except meals out Xmas etc, I have a chippy about once a month, usually when drunk, and I have cut down on pizzas as well. If I cut out the shite I still eat and the bevvy (which isn't that much), life will barely be worth living!

I guess I just have to persevere and keep trying to make small changes to my diet, bit at a time!

I'm still toying with the idea of getting some protein to try and stifle my appetite. I know it's not ideal when you are trying to lose fat, but it's got to be better than crisps! Thoughts?

Folk taking their bairns to the Virgin gym on a Sunday morning and letting them run about the joint

It' a family friendly club... You must have seen the cr?che when you got a tour? There's bound to be bairns having a swim at the weekend!

I take it you mean the club in general, not the actual gym gym? (That would be ridiculous if a staff member didn't intervene).

My regime is very much a "lifestyle change" rather than a diet. I'm also good at drinking nothing but water (except when I'm socialising).

I'm worse at work than at home. My work is

Mostly desk based with cheap unhealthy snacks readily available (as well as some expensive healthy ones) so if I've had two hours of spreadsheets it's too easy to go and buy crisps.

I often can't resist even when I have a healthy option like mixed nuts in my drawer.

Home cooking and substitution is the answer.

Keep the tips coming for healthy snack alternatives, especially things that are easy to take to work and prepare there.

What is the brand name of the frozen banana/peanut bites?

It' a family friendly club... You must have seen the cr?che when you got a tour? There's bound to be bairns having a swim at the weekend!

I take it you mean the club in general, not the actual gym gym? (That would be ridiculous if a staff member didn't intervene).

No no.

I'm talking about 8 year old bairns running about the gym floor. On treadmills, running about round the benches, the lot.

While their spanner dad farted about on a cross trainer.

I like to have something that has a bit of crunch so have been making flapjacks for snacking at work, beats scoffing biscuits and crisps.

I use this recipe which is based on http://www.ldnmuscle.com/nut-free-ldnm-protein-flapjacks/

250g oats,

2 Bananas (you can substitute for 100g peanut butter)

2 scoops of whey

125ml milk,

Tablespoon honey

If any of you have Twitter/instagram, there's a guy I'm following who's called @thebodycoach who puts up various recipes & workout sessions. He's a bit cheesy from time to time, but some of the food is excellent.

No no.

I'm talking about 8 year old bairns running about the gym floor. On treadmills, running about round the benches, the lot.

While their spanner dad farted about on a cross trainer.

Jesus. I have not the words!

If any of you have Twitter/instagram, there's a guy I'm following who's called @thebodycoach who puts up various recipes & workout sessions. He's a bit cheesy from time to time, but some of the food is excellent.

Some great recipes on there and so simple to chuck together! Cheers for sharing!

The Mighty JTs

My goal when I started to be serious at the gym was always to be able to do one pull up, pathetic maybe but that was the goal! Managed 3 today although with not great form shows that the work is paying off. Now to be able to do 8 of those is the target. Heavily motivated now and can't wait to get back to the gym

Not pathetic at all mate, pull ups are pretty difficult. Not to be confused with chin ups which are slightly easier.

Just takes practice, keep at it and it wont be long before you can manage 8!

I'm still on one. :(

I'm getting slightly heavier on the lat pulldown and my gym is about to get a waist strap for the Dual Assisted Pulley so I'll be able to do assisted pull ups, dropping the assistance weight to zero over time.

Pull-ups are a God Tier exercise, I like to start with wide grip and then move further inside with each set and finish with a set of chin-ups.

Chin-ups are much easier, I can bang out reps of those with 20kg added but a set of 12 pull-ups with good form still kicks my ass unweighted. I'd recommend anyone who's starting out on them to begin with chin-ups; you'll do your first chin-up long before your first pull-up. Also, negatives for the win.

Stuart McNeill

A wide grip pull up is just simply near impossible for me at the moment.

As others have said I stick with the assisted machine just now and hopefully be able to do it without assistance.

Banged out 10 strict pullups this morning with 10kg plate added.

That's how I roll.

Then ended up almost being sick after doing a 'as many reps as possible' in 10 minutes of 75kg Squat Cleans. Tremendous exercise.

The Mighty JTs

Leg day today, I hate the leg extension they are just killer for me, also cracked off 4 pull ups at the end just to keep in the rythm which has certainly helped added some sort of back exercise at the end of every session.

On a side not why do guys wear hats or caps in the gym? Can't get my head around it, really makes no sense

Started a new compound program for the next 4 weeks. Deads, squats, rows, clean & jerk and bench 3 times a week..ouch! Other two days concentrating on cardio and core.

Leg day today, I hate the leg extension they are just killer for me, also cracked off 4 pull ups at the end just to keep in the rythm which has certainly helped added some sort of back exercise at the end of every session.

On a side not why do guys wear hats or caps in the gym? Can't get my head around it, really makes no sense

I wear this cap for most of my sessions

1236828-481.jpg

Why? Because more often than not I go to the gym for 6.30am, shower the night before, go to bed, wake up, mental scarecrow hair, cap is an easy fix.

'Snap Backs' and beanies though...no thanks

I'll keep my beanie on for a warm-up if I'm still cold, I often warm up with a hoody on and a gym towel wrapped around my neck like a scarf. If I'm still cold, I'll even start my squats like that. Usually, I'm pretty warm after about five minutes and then the hat and hoody go in a locker.

It's freezing right now and Koreans are ridiculously stingy with their heating. A few extra layers are quite necessary in the first few minutes of a workout, lifting with cold muscles is a great way to get injured.

Another day another weird yin by Virgin.

One of the PT's was going round the gym floor last night trying to rope folk into joining up to some pyramid selling pish.

Another day another weird yin by Virgin.

One of the PT's was going round the gym floor last night trying to rope folk into joining up to some pyramid selling pish.

Is this Omni or FP?

100kg incline bench. Finally got 3 figures on that. Haha.

Well the bulk / strength training has been fun.

Cutting from Monday. :lol:

Edited by Sten Guns

Went to the gym at lunch time today but forgot to bring clean boxers. Had to sit at my desk with soggy boxers on. Brutal.

Surely just go commando.....

Soggy stinky boxers? Rank.

Fountain Park.

I gave the dumpling my email address to get him to move on and this is the pap he's peddling;

http://www.nikkenwellbeing.co.uk/PWP/Distributor.aspx?DistId=30030201

If the boy in the email is the boy peddling it I know who you mean. Not been a member at virgin since 2011 but i remember him from there. Lunatic!

Aye that's him. A proper odd ball.

I know the fella, to be fair he's the only PT in there that always seems to have a client and doesn't stand about chatting all day.

I'm sure he's a good PT and all that, just be lovely if he spent a bit less time trying to fob off this pish to punters.

Stuart McNeill

for the guys who go to the gym in the morning, how many hours sleep are you usually getting the night before ?

Would like to go to the gym before I start work but it would mean getting up around 5 and going to bed around 9 just to get a decent sleep, not sure if it would be worth it tbh.

Banged out 10 strict pullups this morning with 10kg plate added.

That's how I roll.

Sweet.

Not got a belt so have to grip a dumb bell between my feet if adding weight. Can get a bit wobbly.

Still doing that 'grease the groove' (:vrface:) technique though, and chuck in ten strict pulls every time I pass a bar. Great results from that. For those struggling to do pulls/chins it might be worth trying that, do one chin or pull each time passing the bar, and then work on increasing numbers.

I'm putting the idea of so-called 'muscle memory' to the test.

Just before I left for New York three and a half years ago, I managed a 1 hour 36 minutes half-marathon on a relatively limited amount of training. Now while that's by no means world-beating, it was much better than I thought I'd manage given my rather half-arsed approach, and about ten minutes ahead of the guys I was running with. Suffice to say they were a little pissed off given most of them had put the miles in.

Now, the ###### have signed me up for the same half in early June, so I've got just over three months to sort my shit out and save face. I did a bit of running/cycling/weights/soccerball in NY, but no real structured training, and I've done almost bugger all since getting back to Blighty in mid-October.

I wouldn't normally be that bothered, but I can't help feeling that failure to get even close to a sub-1:45 would be confirmation I'm now officially an old *****, ruined by one too many takeaways.

In the past I've found my fitness comes back very quickly, but I fear it's going to be harder this time.

First target is running 5km at a relatively slow pace 4 times this week, with an 8km planned for Sunday. If I can start comfortably cracking sub-50 minute 10 kms by the end of March I'll know I'm on course.

If I can be messed I'll post updates.

I've changed my cardio about a bit.

Instead of doing 2 cardio machines (XT then rower) I'm just doing one or the other and getting in about the weights much quicker.

I'm then getting finished after just over an hour which gives me time to do a mini HIIT session in the pool.

I do 50m fast which takes 45 secs, 15 secs rest then 50m slow (1 min) and repeat.

It's easy at first but after 20 lengths you really start to feel it, especially after doing weights. Going to work on increasing my workout intensity in the gym and try and get finished quicker - I'm guilty of resting too long between sets and exercises - to give me more pool time.

In need of some new whey protein, anyone recommend anything that's decent?

protein works. If you use this code you'll get 250g free. EM18621

Finishing up a cut so I've started doing a little cardio after lifting :muggy:

Treadmill, incline up to 13 at 12km/h

30 seconds on, 30 seconds off.

By the end, I'm swimming in sweat and the smell probably violates a few biological weapons treaties.

I hate cardio.

Starting my cut on 3300 calories. Haters gonna hate.

Ridiculous.

I've been on 1900-2000 calories since the turn of the year (slightly more calories at the weekends).

I'm just about as lean as I'm going to get.

Starting my cut on 3300 calories. Haters gonna hate.

Me too.

Which probably explains why it's taken me a year to lose a stone.