Dawnrazor Posted November 10 Share Posted November 10 Deliverance. 9/10. A classic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazio Posted November 10 Share Posted November 10 7 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said: Deliverance. 9/10. A classic. Squeeeeeeee! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tazio Posted November 10 Share Posted November 10 8 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said: Deliverance. 9/10. A classic. Just now, Tazio said: Squeeeeeeee! Apparently ‘that scene’ used genuine Appalachian rednecks as the locals and Ned Beatty wasn’t aware of bowi t was going to go and was genuinely terrified. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
William H. Bonney Posted November 11 Share Posted November 11 11 hours ago, Tazio said: Apparently ‘that scene’ used genuine Appalachian rednecks as the locals and Ned Beatty wasn’t aware of bowi t was going to go and was genuinely terrified. The one with the gun certainly was. I'm sure when told by the director what he would have to do during the scene, his reply was something like 'ive done worse'. The actual rapist was Bill McKinney. A relatively famous actor. He's been in quite a few Clint Eastwood films Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 11 Share Posted November 11 Song Of The Sea (Netflix) Nice film 7/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckies1874 Posted November 11 Share Posted November 11 Saw Gladiator II this evening at a Dolby Cinema. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Some great battle and Colesseum scenes. Pretty gory at times. Always going to be difficult to compete with the legendary first film and Crowe but as stand alone film if yo aren’t too nostalgic, I would recommend seeing it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ked Posted November 13 Share Posted November 13 On 11/11/2024 at 22:02, Luckies1874 said: Saw Gladiator II this evening at a Dolby Cinema. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Some great battle and Colesseum scenes. Pretty gory at times. Always going to be difficult to compete with the legendary first film and Crowe but as stand alone film if yo aren’t too nostalgic, I would recommend seeing it. Sounds like good cinema. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HMFC01 Posted November 13 Share Posted November 13 Caddo Lake. I watched it off Sky Movies. It went under the radar. No trailers, no spoilers, I hadn't heard of it. These kind of movies can be hit or miss. I liked it. Slow, not much action, mostly just a story. 7/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckies1874 Posted November 13 Share Posted November 13 4 hours ago, Ked said: Sounds like good cinema. Was great mate, really enjoyed it. When I'm in Edinburgh I like an old traditional cinema like the Dominion )and that you can get a drink) but this place was top drawer, great seats, excellent screen and the sound system was superb! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
William H. Bonney Posted November 13 Share Posted November 13 59 minutes ago, HMFC01 said: Caddo Lake. I watched it off Sky Movies. It went under the radar. No trailers, no spoilers, I hadn't heard of it. These kind of movies can be hit or miss. I liked it. Slow, not much action, mostly just a story. 7/10 I also enjoyed it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cade Posted November 13 Share Posted November 13 Three Thousand Years of Longing (2022) Tilda Swinton and Idris Elba star in this fantasy fairy-tale about the misadventures of a Djinn (also known as a Genie). A visual treat but nothing new. Very similar to "Tale of Tales" or "Life of Pi" or even "Poor Things". A decent 7/10. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muppetboy Posted November 14 Share Posted November 14 On 10/11/2024 at 23:46, Dawnrazor said: Deliverance. 9/10. A classic. Awesome film Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Disser Pointon Posted November 14 Share Posted November 14 Lee, with Kate Winslet. 7.5/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cade Posted November 14 Share Posted November 14 The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004) Bill Murray leads an ensemble cast (Owen Wilson, Cate Blanchett, Angelica Houston, Michael Gambon, Willem Dafoe and Jeff Goldblum) A faded oceanological film maker embarks on a mission of revenge to hunt down the shark that killed his best friend. Directed by Wes Anderson, but probably one of his weaker entries. Not as bitingly satirical, slapstick or comic as his other offerings. 6.5/10. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 15 Share Posted November 15 Mari (iPlayer) Dull 5/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Placid Casual Posted November 15 Share Posted November 15 (edited) On 11/11/2024 at 22:02, Luckies1874 said: Saw Gladiator II this evening at a Dolby Cinema. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Some great battle and Colesseum scenes. Pretty gory at times. Always going to be difficult to compete with the legendary first film and Crowe but as stand alone film if yo aren’t too nostalgic, I would recommend seeing it. I went to see it this afternoon. It’s an entertaining film but suffers in comparison to the first (no surprise there). Denzel Washington and Pedro Pascal are excellent. There are a few ridiculous scenes though… Spoiler …what with the sharks (!) and the cartoon killer monkeys. Edited November 15 by Placid Casual Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dawnrazor Posted November 15 Share Posted November 15 The K_ _ . ER. It's on Netflix. A bit meh, 5 / 10. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elljay Posted November 16 Share Posted November 16 (edited) Juror 2, directed by 94 year old (!) Clint Eastwood. A thoughtful film about ethics, conscience and what justice really means. A few narrative jumps take the conclusion in a different if not entirely unexpected direction and despite the absence of action, the tension is masterfuly ramped up, helped by a terrific performance by Nicholas Hoult. My only gripe having served on a jury last year is that the most of the rest of the jury are portrayed as a bit simplistic, selfish and shallow. Rating 8/10 Edited November 16 by Elljay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted November 16 Share Posted November 16 On 28/10/2024 at 02:23, JimmyCant said: Lee (Miller) A true wartime story about a former model, feminist, fashionista and surrealist photographer turned war photographer and reporter. Details her journey through France to Hitlers apartment in Munich and the Dachau camp. Kate Winslet is astonishing in this and will be among the favourites for big awards at the end of the year Excellent 9/10 Did it not come out last year so will have already went through an Awards cycle? 1 hour ago, Elljay said: Juror 2, directed by 94 year old (!) Clint Eastwood. A thoughtful film about ethics, conscience and what justice really means. A few narrative jumps take the conclusion in a different if not entirely unexpected direction and despite the absence of action, the tension is masterfuly ramped up, helped by a terrific performance by Nicholas Hoult. My only gripe having served on a jury last year is that the most of the rest of the jury are portrayed as a bit simplistic, selfish and shallow. Rating 8/10 Trailer looks great. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hughesie27 Posted November 16 Share Posted November 16 The Untouchables. For some reason YouTube has been feeding me Sean Connery videos theblast 2 days. Watched a few and seen that he won his only Oscar in this film. Gave it a watch and thought it was pretty good. I have to say though, were Oscars or Acting in general a bit lower tier than they maybe are now? Connery was fine in it but it never oozed Oscar performance. Was he benefitting from the Di Caprio syndrome where he had earned one but never received one so they gave him on for utter tosh (The Revenant). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cade Posted November 17 Share Posted November 17 Underworld: Blood Wars (2016) The 5th in the Underworld franchise. The Vampires and Werewolves are (still) at war. The usual stuff happens. The CGI is awful. The fight choreography is non existent, with the director happy to use the "4 million camera cuts per fight" method to cover up the total lack of ability by the actors/stunt crew. The plot is basic. It's just a bad film. Even Kate Beckinsale clad in skin-tight latex cannot save this pish. And it has the feckin cheek to try to set up a 6th film at the end(!) At least it's only 83 minutes long. This kind of thing would have been acceptable in the mid-90s but this is a 2016 film FFS. 2/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JimmyCant Posted November 17 Share Posted November 17 14 hours ago, hughesie27 said: Did it not come out last year so will have already went through an Awards cycle? General release September 2024 from what I can see Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 17 Share Posted November 17 (edited) Harriet (iPlayer) Pleasant film 7/10 Edited November 17 by rudi must stay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carl Fredrickson Posted November 17 Share Posted November 17 Watched Dumb & Dumber last night with my daughter. Years after I saw it, I still find it funny. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Findlay Posted November 17 Share Posted November 17 In the last week have been to the Vue at Ocean Terminal to see first the Red One and then last night to see Paddington. Red one saw with my partner only. Seen worse Christmas films, but also seen better. 6/10. Paddington 3 saw with my partner and my 16yrs old son. Verdict from us all very funny. 8/10. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennis Reynolds Posted November 17 Share Posted November 17 On 15/11/2024 at 19:58, Placid Casual said: I went to see it this afternoon. It’s an entertaining film but suffers in comparison to the first (no surprise there). Denzel Washington and Pedro Pascal are excellent. There are a few ridiculous scenes though… Hide contents …what with the sharks (!) and the cartoon killer monkeys. Some of the effects were a bit silly aye 😂 I enjoyed it though. Solid enough film. Pretty much love anything about Romans though. Thought Denzel was really good. Not too sure about the twins. Some bits I thought it worked and others I just didn't get it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ribble Posted November 18 Share Posted November 18 On 15/11/2024 at 19:58, Placid Casual said: I went to see it this afternoon. It’s an entertaining film but suffers in comparison to the first (no surprise there). Denzel Washington and Pedro Pascal are excellent. There are a few ridiculous scenes though… Reveal hidden contents …what with the sharks (!) and the cartoon killer monkeys. Watched it last night and well found it a bit meh tbh, more of a bad remake than a sequel with a few things that just didn't make any sense at all like at the start when the roman ships sail right up against the city walls yet moments later Lucius is on 50 yards of beach below the same city walls? Lots of folk going on about historical inaccuracies and i'm honestly not bothered that they used the wrong breed of rhino or sharks when they could have done the same scene with Croc's and been accurate but having a boy sat at a cafe that wouldn't have existed reading a paper 1200 years before the printing press is invented is a bit much Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gavman81 Posted November 18 Share Posted November 18 John Williams documentary- an insight into his full career. The man is simply incredible - to have written so many pieces of absolutely timeless music/scores across the timeframe he has is incredible. This has behind the scenes footage with Spielberg etc and shows you the first time he played the Star Wars intro to Lucas accompanied by an orchestra- goosebump territory for me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Americana Posted November 20 Share Posted November 20 Gladiator 2. I set the bar pretty low for what I was going to witness based off the trailer and it did not disappoint. Paul Mescal was never meant for this role and a bit of let down especially since I am such a huge Aftersun fan, Denzels scenes were like they were all shot with one take with very little interest, Pedro Pascal prob done alright. Story was absolutely awful and double backed on itself for no real reason, gorier scenes where OTT to the point where they wouldve been better suited to an episode of The Boys and the overly used CGI was on par with such greats as deep blue sea and some characters were so badly done it bridged on making it a comedy. Russel Crowe will sleep soundly. 4/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AyrJambo Posted November 20 Share Posted November 20 Women Talking https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13669038/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted November 20 Share Posted November 20 “ Joker 2 “ Follie aux dieu Dreadful . That’s all folks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cade Posted November 21 Share Posted November 21 This fan made Star Trek short. Semi-official considering all the Trek stars involved in the project. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Disser Pointon Posted November 22 Share Posted November 22 Gladiator 2. Pleasant enough watch and not overly ridiculous other than the ship battle. Like someone said above though, I don't think Paul Mescal was a particularly good fit for the part. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ron Burgundy Posted November 22 Share Posted November 22 Am I Racist Thoroughly cringey in an Ali G sense but pretty hilarious and exposes the grifting and profiteering behind race related problems in America. The quote by Thomas Sowell, a black American economist pretty much sums it up IMO. “Racism is not dead, but it is on life support – kept alive by politicians, race hustlers and people who get a sense of superiority by denouncing others as ‘racists” Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted November 22 Share Posted November 22 1 hour ago, Ron Burgundy said: Am I Racist Thoroughly cringey in an Ali G sense but pretty hilarious and exposes the grifting and profiteering behind race related problems in America. The quote by Thomas Sowell, a black American economist pretty much sums it up IMO. “Racism is not dead, but it is on life support – kept alive by politicians, race hustlers and people who get a sense of superiority by denouncing others as ‘racists” I’ve started on it last night . I’ll watch the rest over the weekend . 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vansen Posted November 22 Share Posted November 22 19 hours ago, Cade said: This fan made Star Trek short. Semi-official considering all the Trek stars involved in the project. Thought this was absolutely stunning, made by people with a real love for Star Trek and wonderful to see Shatner as Kirk one last time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cade Posted November 22 Share Posted November 22 Beetlejuice Beetlejuice (2024) Winona Ryder, Michael Keaton and Katherine O'Hara return and are joined by Willem Dafoe, Monica Bellucci and Jenna Ortega for this long overdue sequel. Michael Keaton may be 73 years old but he brings the same manic energy to the title role as he did when he was in his 30s. It takes far too long to get going but when it does it's an enjoyable, silly romp. Could perhaps have benefitted from a couple of plotlines being cut back a bit more in the editing room. A decent 7/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 23 Share Posted November 23 Wicked Brilliant. Goldblum is terrific 8/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 Hampstead (netflix) Pleasant film 6/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 25 Share Posted November 25 Diana Better than I expected. Randomly edited but can live with that. Naomi Watts is pretty good 7/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 26 Share Posted November 26 Roman J Israel, Esq (netflix) Dull film 6/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 26 Share Posted November 26 Blitz (apple TV) Decent film. Saorise Ronan is very good 7/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gavman81 Posted November 27 Share Posted November 27 Oddity - Shudder and IPTV Decent wee horror that starts off well and drags you in but loses its way a little trying to tie everything up. Have to say I was suitably “chilled” at points though - 6/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 28 Share Posted November 28 The Piano Lesson (netflix) Pleasant film 7/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Findlay Posted November 28 Share Posted November 28 Joy. On Netfix. Thomasin McKenzie, Bill Nighy, and James Norton. Film adaption of the poineers of IVF. That led to the first test tube(a phrase I personally detest), baby being born in July 1978. I enjoyed this film. Thought Thomasin McKenzie was especially excellent. Well worth a watch. 8.5/10. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 28 Share Posted November 28 Gladiator 2 Thought it was brilliant. 2 hours flew by 8/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madjambo21 Posted November 30 Share Posted November 30 Subservience Father of 2 buys a robot (megan Fox) to help look after kids while his wife is in hospital waiting for a heart transplant. As you can imaging things take a turn for the worse and the robot goes crazy. 5/10 and that's really just for Megan Fox (not her acting) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the posh bit Posted December 1 Share Posted December 1 On 16/11/2024 at 19:21, hughesie27 said: The Untouchables. For some reason YouTube has been feeding me Sean Connery videos theblast 2 days. Watched a few and seen that he won his only Oscar in this film. Gave it a watch and thought it was pretty good. I have to say though, were Oscars or Acting in general a bit lower tier than they maybe are now? Connery was fine in it but it never oozed Oscar performance. Was he benefitting from the Di Caprio syndrome where he had earned one but never received one so they gave him on for utter tosh (The Revenant). Denzel should have been winning that award. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ron Burgundy Posted December 2 Share Posted December 2 On 28/11/2024 at 22:37, rudi must stay said: Gladiator 2 Thought it was brilliant. 2 hours flew by 8/10 It couldn't keep my attention, thought it was pretty poor. CGI sharks in the coliseum? WTF. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gavman81 Posted December 2 Share Posted December 2 On 30/11/2024 at 23:02, Madjambo21 said: Subservience Father of 2 buys a robot (megan Fox) to help look after kids while his wife is in hospital waiting for a heart transplant. As you can imaging things take a turn for the worse and the robot goes crazy. 5/10 and that's really just for Megan Fox (not her acting) Tell me he tries to pump the robot at least? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...