The Official JKB What Was The Last Film You Watched...

Guest GhostHunter

On 24/10/2024 at 17:09, Maple Leaf said:

With some time to waste yesterday, I watched Armageddon. It might not be the worst movie ever made, but it's certainly in the running.  Absolute garbage.

still better than deep impact

North Berwick Jambo

The Wild Robot

I stuck this on last night for the missus to watch. Fantastic animation, amazing score, very funny and sometimes emotional story. A great movie! 

8.5/10

Just finished watching how to be a Latin lover. A really Cheesy comedy that has salma hayek in it. It's actually quite funny, really enjoyed it.

19 minutes ago, superjack said:

Just finished watching how to be a Latin lover. A really Cheesy comedy that has salma hayek in it. It's actually quite funny, really enjoyed it.

Sold!

“ The Substance “ 

Well that was a roller coaster . Really enjoyed it . Very surreal .  Demi Moore is terrific in the lead and so is the other actress playing her “ other self “ . Despite it being a sci fi horror it was also quite funny at times . 

8/10 

ps I wouldn’t be surprised if Moore gets awards recognition as she’s that good

Jacques de Gatineau

Watched all three Might Ducks films recently, as my kids are getting into ice hockey.

First was fun, second too jingoistic, third meh.

42 minutes ago, Muppetboy said:

Terrifier 3. Strong stomachs needed. Little plot and relies on shock and gore. Entertaining tho for what it is. 7/10

It's the lack of boobage that annoys me, with all that gratuitous gore, surely there room for some gratuitous boobage?

Lee (Miller)

A true wartime story about a former model, feminist, fashionista and surrealist photographer turned war photographer and reporter. Details her journey through France to Hitlers apartment in Munich and the Dachau camp.

Kate Winslet is astonishing in this and will be among the favourites for big awards at the end of the year 

Excellent 9/10

Edited by JimmyCant

4 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Lee Miller

A true wartime story about a former model, feminist, fashionista and surrealist photographer turned war photographer and reporter. Details her journey through France to Hitlers apartment in Munich and the Dachau camp.

Kate Winslet is astonishing in this and will be among the favourites for big awards at the end of the year 

Excellent 9/10

IMG_0951.jpeg

4 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

That’s the real Lee Miller in Hitlers bath. Kate obliges in the film 😝 

Er, yeah I know. That’s why I posted it 😀

11 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

It's the lack of boobage that annoys me, with all that gratuitous gore, surely there room for some gratuitous boobage?

👎

6 hours ago, Tazio said:

Er, yeah I know. That’s why I posted it 😀

Yeh I know you knew. It was info for others who maybe didn’t know 😂 

2 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Pulp Fiction

I'll be slated but I found this film boring

7/10

High score for a boring film don't you think?

You have to keep in mind that Pulp Fiction came out in 1994.

It was a cultural phenomenon at the time.

The anthological nature of the film with the vignettes being shown out of sequence was a radical idea at the time.

The ensemble cast were all on the top of their game and the film is endlessly quotable.

Even the soundtrack is top notch.

As with many older films, modern sensibilities and expectations can have an effect on the viewer.

6 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Pulp Fiction

I'll be slated but I found this film boring

7/10

I found it grossly over rated . 6/10 from me 

Canary Black on Amazon Prime. Standard run of the mill spy caper, starring Kate Beckinsale. Nothing new to it at all that you haven't seen before, but watchable enough. Ray Stevenson also appears in it, in one of his last movies before his death.

Another film where it appears, from the ending, that they are wanting to start a franchise from it, but I don't see it happening.

5.5/10

On 27/10/2024 at 07:34, JudyJudyJudy said:

“ The Substance “ 

Well that was a roller coaster . Really enjoyed it . Very surreal .  Demi Moore is terrific in the lead and so is the other actress playing her “ other self “ . Despite it being a sci fi horror it was also quite funny at times . 

8/10 

ps I wouldn’t be surprised if Moore gets awards recognition as she’s that good

The cinema listings for this are so weird. Like one day a week, one showing a week in a lot of the cinemas around me.

Really want to go see it.

1 minute ago, Dallas Green said:

The cinema listings for this are so weird. Like one day a week, one showing a week in a lot of the cinemas around me.

Really want to go see it.

Well worth a watch 

Hidden Figures

The story of 3 black women working for NASA in the early stages of the space race and battling discrimination, segregation and misogyny. 3 excellent performances by the women and decent support by Kevin Costner.

Underrated Movie

8/10

16 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Hidden Figures

The story of 3 black women working for NASA in the early stages of the space race and battling discrimination, segregation and misogyny. 3 excellent performances by the women and decent support by Kevin Costner.

Underrated Movie

8/10

I can add another positive recommendation to this.

A solid film.

Seen Smile 2 and Venom 3 at the picture hoose at the weekend.

Smile 2 is decent horror, a few shocks and you’ll like if you enjoyed the first yin

Venom 3 - don’t know what I was thinking - missus was out wi the bairns and as derby was on Sun thought I’d see it…

A few funny bits, Tom Hardy phoned it in but naw, let’s leave it noo eh

Edited by Gavman81

On 28/10/2024 at 19:31, Cade said:

You have to keep in mind that Pulp Fiction came out in 1994.

It was a cultural phenomenon at the time.

The anthological nature of the film with the vignettes being shown out of sequence was a radical idea at the time.

The ensemble cast were all on the top of their game and the film is endlessly quotable.

Even the soundtrack is top notch.

As with many older films, modern sensibilities and expectations can have an effect on the viewer.

I loved it at the time and also loved the soundtrack and I will definitely watch it again soon however I do think that if you are younger and watched some of QT's later films first, you might just think that Pulp Fiction drags a bit in quite a few scenes. 

23 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Hidden Figures

Underrated Movie

8/10

Where did you see this? 

Tetris (Apple TV)

An enjoyable watch, Taron Egerton picks films well 

8/10

Edited by rudi must stay

On 30/10/2024 at 00:10, JimmyCant said:

Hidden Figures

Underrated Movie

8/10

It received wide spread critical acclaim and a few Oscar nominations 

On 31/10/2024 at 10:15, rudi must stay said:

Tetris (Apple TV)

An enjoyable watch, Taron Egerton picks films well 

8/10

The car chase to the actual Tetris tune was quality! 😝

Not a movie as such, but I'm not sure where else to post the recommendation.

I went to see Nye in the National Theatre a few months ago, and it was also streamed in a few cinemas.  Michael Sheen plays Aneurin Bevan in the closing days of his life, reflecting (and hallucinating) back over his life as he lies in a hospital bed following cancer surgery.  I liked the play well enough, but I thought Sheen was outstanding.

It's being streamed free on YouTube for four days next week, from November 7th to 11th.  It might be worth it if you're a big fan of either Michael Sheen's acting or British political history. 

On 30/10/2024 at 00:10, JimmyCant said:

Hidden Figures

Underrated Movie

8/10

Totally agree with you. One of those films that went under the radar. 

It is the last film.

Well, Stuart Little was on today.

Watched it with the kids as the grew up in the naughties. Lovely, amusing movie.:lol:. 8/10

The Substance (2024)

Psychological/body-horror from French writer/director Coralie Fargeat.

A fading, ageing Hollywood star (played by Demi Moore) takes an experimental substance in a desperate attempt to stay young and relevant.

The rest of the film plays out like some version of the Dorian Gray story (the younger version being played by Margaret Qualley, Andie MacDowell's daughter) and is very reminiscent of the works of David Lynch, from the bizarre way people talk, to the claustrophobic camera work, to the colour grading used, to the sound effects and even the psychedelic nature of the ending.

A decent watch but it's nothing new; Black Swan, Raw, and especially Titane have all covered similar ground before in recent years.
Any number of Lynch's works or the works of David Cronenberg have also trodden this same path many times over the last few decades.

7/10.

Edited by Cade

Kinds of Kindness (2024)
Another slice of surreal madness from Yorgos Lanthimos.
Three short films stitched together but totally separate from each other, with the same actors playing different parts in each.
Jesse Plemons, Emma Stone, Margaret Qualley, Hong Chau and Willem Dafoe form the core of the ensemble cast.

Themes in all three films are very loosely based around control, religion, obsession and the need to gain approval from peers.

Not quite as good as the director's previous offerings but a decent watch.

7/10

Paddington Goes To Peru. 

For us old enough, any mention of Peru will bring us out in a cold sweat.

This film makes up for it. Aimed at families and hits the spot. Paddington has his usual slapstic scenes and there are plenty references to other films. 

Silly nonsense that my kids (even my older son) loved 8/10