The Official JKB What Was The Last Film You Watched...

Posted

The Gentlemen 8/10

Hugh Grant and Colin Farrell :rofl:

Posted (edited)

L'Immortale

7/10

Decent but not as good as I hoped. Ciro spends most of the film walking around looking moody and saying nothing. He says about 5 sentences in the whole film. :lol:

Edited by Ray Gin
Posted

Enola Holmes on Netflix. 
The story of Sherlock Holmes’ younger sister searching for her missing mother and getting involved in other stuff. Enjoyable fluff and an easy enough way to spend a couple of hours. 
7/10. 

Posted (edited)

Get Duked!  on Amazon. Comedy about 4 misfit Scottish big city boys getting taken to the highlands to do their Duke Of Edinburgh award hike. Fair to say it goes a bit mental from then on with being hunted around the landscape. Very funny surreal comedy with good performances from the young actors in it. 
I only watched it a friend has a main role but ended up thoroughly enjoying it. 
8/10

Edited by Tazio
Posted
On 24/09/2020 at 20:30, ri Alban said:

The Gentlemen 8/10

Hugh Grant and Colin Farrell :rofl:

They are indeed both great in this. :lol:

Posted
4 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

They are indeed both great in this. :lol:

Hugh is magic, tho it took me a while. Colin, :D pure Irish 

Posted
4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Hugh Grant's performance was almost as much of a surprise as Adam Sander's in Uncut Gems. Superb. 

Posted

Reservoir Dogs: 9/10. Absolutely amazing!! Brilliant acting. The scene where Buscemi and Keitel are in the back going over the robbery is just absolutely superb.

Posted

The Two Escobars

8/10

Been meaning to watch this for years. Excellent documentary about the rise of Columbian football in early 90s, fuelled by drug money, culminating in the infamous murder of their national team's captain after the '94 world cup. Currently on iPlayer.

Posted
On 26/09/2020 at 03:57, ri Alban said:

Yeah I’m Gettin more impressed with Hugh grant now . He’s terrific in “ Paddington 2” it’s a right laugh and he plays the baddie . He was also great in “ a very British scandal “ playing through disgraced Jeremy Thorpe . It’s a bawdy almost carry on type of comedy to it for such a serous subject .😂

Posted
On 25/09/2020 at 22:46, Tazio said:

Get Duked!  on Amazon. Comedy about 4 misfit Scottish big city boys getting taken to the highlands to do their Duke Of Edinburgh award hike. Fair to say it goes a bit mental from then on with being hunted around the landscape. Very funny surreal comedy with good performances from the young actors in it. 
I only watched it a friend has a main role but ended up thoroughly enjoying it. 
8/10

Cheers for the recommendation, I enjoyed it and recommended it to my nephew (currently doing his Duke of Edinburgh) so I have about a week of 'cool Auntie' before reverting to normal 'old person' status.

I'm intreagued which character your friend played, I'm going to guess Mr Carlisle or PC Hamish.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Alex said:

Cheers for the recommendation, I enjoyed it and recommended it to my nephew (currently doing his Duke of Edinburgh) so I have about a week of 'cool Auntie' before reverting to normal 'old person' status.

I'm intreagued which character your friend played, I'm going to guess Mr Carlisle or PC Hamish.

Glad to be of help. 
oh, and it’s Sergeant Morag. 

Posted
25 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Glad to be of help. 
oh, and it’s Sergeant Morag. 

Ah, I'd ruled her out as being too famous....

Posted
2 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Yeah I’m Gettin more impressed with Hugh grant now . He’s terrific in “ Paddington 2” it’s a right laugh and he plays the baddie . He was also great in “ a very British scandal “ playing through disgraced Jeremy Thorpe . It’s a bawdy almost carry on type of comedy to it for such a serous subject .😂

I think you have copied a post of mine from a few months back when I saw The Gentlemen at the cinema. HG is a VERY impressive actor. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Alex said:

Ah, I'd ruled her out as being too famous....

Cheeky. 

Posted
20 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Cheeky. 

😁Only because you downplayed it, I'd have been more 'I only watched it as my A list friend who is a massive celebrity is in it.'

Posted

The Odeon had The Empire Strikes Back on last night. Went with the kids and it was great to see it on the big screen. I loved the fact that the special effects were limited and it wasnt all CGI like a lot of modern films. Fantastic film. 

Posted
On 04/07/2020 at 23:07, Dagger Is Back said:

Just Mercy 10/10

Story of a Harvard law graduate representing death row prisoners in Alabama. Made me greet and criminal that this represents a modern day reality

Has anyone seen this yet?

Posted
On 04/07/2020 at 23:07, Dagger Is Back said:

Just Mercy 10/10

Story of a Harvard law graduate representing death row prisoners in Alabama. Made me greet and criminal that this represents a modern day reality

Posted

The Invisible Man 8/10

Cinema Paradiso DVD Rental

Nice little thriller with great acting from the  lead actress

Posted
11 hours ago, Dagger Is Back said:

I saw it at the cinema months ago and loved it. Sure I gave it a 9/10 on this thread. 

Posted
19 minutes ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

I saw it at the cinema months ago and loved it. Sure I gave it a 9/10 on this thread. 

Sorry I must have missed that. Glad you enjoyed it. A film that didn't get the recognition I think it deserved

Posted
1 hour ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Sorry I must have missed that. Glad you enjoyed it. A film that didn't get the recognition I think it deserved

It didnt have a long cinema release either. Hopefully streaming services will make it popular as it deserves a wider audience. 

Posted
13 minutes ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

It didnt have a long cinema release either. Hopefully streaming services will make it popular as it deserves a wider audience. 

Hope so too. 

Posted
16 hours ago, Dagger Is Back said:

Is this on Netflix/Prime?

Posted (edited)

Deleted

Edited by Tommy Brown
Posted
6 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Nice wee 2nd prize at Muckhart seniors on Thursday. £125 voucher.

More importantly, 0.7 cut, back to 12

Open at Saturday at Harburn.

Pars at 17 & 18 would have given me another 0.8 cut.

Double bogeyed both:sob:

Demoralised.

i think you have posted on the wrong thread

Posted
7 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Nice wee 2nd prize at Muckhart seniors on Thursday. £125 voucher.

More importantly, 0.7 cut, back to 12

Open at Saturday at Harburn.

Pars at 17 & 18 would have given me another 0.8 cut.

Double bogeyed both:sob:

Demoralised.

Is this on Netflix?

Posted
3 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

i think you have posted on the wrong thread

Posted
2 hours ago, AndyNic said:

Is this on Netflix/Prime?

It's on Prime

Posted
13 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

It's on Prime

Cheers, I'll check it out 👍🏼

Posted
17 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

Cheers, I'll check it out 👍🏼

Actually just noticed it's on Sky Movies Premier from this Friday

Posted
On 14/09/2020 at 18:29, rudi must stay said:

Just ordered it

Not a horror fan but remember Mark Kermode rating this and Tobey Jones at that time. There's another good films where Jones plays Hitchcock filming the film the birds  

Let us know what you think because the film message board i went on is pure crickets

Posted
19 minutes ago, Dirkdiggler77 said:

Let us know what you think because the film message board i went on is pure crickets

I didn't think much of it. Odd and slow 

Posted

Battle of the sexes. Tennis/biopic re match between Billie Jean King & Bobby Riggs.

Quite interesting & good cast

Posted

As posted above.

The Gentlemen, an typical enjoyable romp from Guy Richie.

A few lol moments.

Posted

Spider-Man - into the spider verse.

visually very good indeed and some great humour. Really enjoyed it

Posted

Murder on the Orient Express (2017) on C4 now. Put it on record.

Have seen the original, is it worth watching this one?

Posted
31 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Murder on the Orient Express (2017) on C4 now. Put it on record.

Have seen the original, is it worth watching this one?

Aye, I thought it was very good.

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Aye, I thought it was very good.

Aye, but had you seen the original?

Just yes or no answer to not give anything away.:thumbsup:

Edited by Tommy Brown
Posted
4 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Aye, but had you seen the original?

Just yes or no answer to not give anything away.:thumbsup:

Yes👍

Posted
54 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Yes👍

Posted

The gentlemen, thought it was great.

Yardie, chronic, should have had sub-titles as I could hardly understand a word of it.

Posted

Watched “Beats” last night.

Indy film based on the early 90’s illegal rave scene in Scotland.

Its filmed almost entirely in black and white for reasons I couldn’t work out? There was no real reason to do this other than to make the one scene filmed in colour stand out. 

As a nostalgic trip back to your teens (if you are of a certain vintage) it’s really enjoyable. The 2 lead actors have genuine chemistry as best pals on a massive night out. Some very funny moments. 

The soundtrack is brilliant. One of the best. Opens with a bit of UltraSonic and goes through some of the best early 90’s techno.

Would be best watched with you and your old raving mates as a trip down memory lane. 

7 out of 10

Posted

Also watched “Jack Reacher” couple of nights back.

Its pish.

I have read a couple of the books. Now I know books don’t necessarily translate into good films but FFS whoever cast Tom Cruise as Reacher needs firing.

Reacher is 6ft 5 220-250 pounds and described as Bigfoot in one of his books?

Cruise is a dwarf.

The film itself is based on one of the books I haven’t read yet. One of the most enjoyable things about Lee Child’s books is they are fantasy. You don’t take them seriously. Complete over the top, mindless fiction. 

The film failed completely to replicate this. It simply took itself too seriously.

5 out of 10

Heartsmad1874
Posted

Just watched The Planet of the Apes for the first time. Outstanding film, defo gonna check out the rest of the movies.

Posted

Just rewatched The Searchers in BBC iPlayer. 
Still one of the best westerns ever made. Rare to see Wayne playing an unpleasant character. 

Posted

Survivor should have been continued by the BBC. Quite liked that show.