The Official JKB What Was The Last Film You Watched...

Guest GhostHunter

Gimmee Danger

6/10

Story of the Stooges, as told by the surviving members and those left behind. Interesting to get a feel for the mayhem around Iggy and the band.

Freddie got fingered - 10/10

Funny as Feck.

Have not laughed so much in years.

Pretty much the Marmite of the movie world. It's been widely panned by many as the worst movie ever but it does seem to have a bit of a cult following. Personally think it's brutal but all about opinions :).

Passengers

Not quite my cup of tea. Felt like a remake of a bad 70s movie. Sure I had seen something similar before.

4/10 and that is being generous. 

Patriots Day

Some of the dialogue was cringeworthy americanisms and the acting wasn't top notch in some cases (Wahlberg has been a lot better than this but the cript/screenplay didn't help him) It was a decent emotive and educational docu-film

7/10

Arrival

Slow movie, and very confusing at times. But well worth sticking with

10/10

Fell asleep after 35 minutes. Might re-visit at some stage

5/10 for the first part

Fell asleep after 35 minutes. Might re-visit at some stage

5/10 for the first part

I gave it 9/10 Its well worth watching the rest. In fact an amazing film as it makes one think as well as entertain the viewer. 

Hacksaw Ridge 8/10 Not as gory/bloody as I'd been told but great story and decent acting from everyone well worth a watch.

Manchester by the Sea 7 Can see why Casey won the oscar he was pretty decent but the story and flow of the film wasn't anything special for me.

Fell asleep after 35 minutes. Might re-visit at some stage5/10 for the first part

Almost identical, think I've seen about 50mins, but so far it's quite slow and nothing special. Watching the remainder tonight.

Restless Natives. 7/10 for nostalgia.

Yes the Edinburgh based 1985 film about the 2 local lads with Glasgow accents who rob tourist buses on a wee 125 Suzuki motorbike. Stuard Adamson/Big Country soundtrack is brilliant. Location shots are beautiful. Zero acting but its really enjoyable viewing.

King Cobra

3/10

Well that was an unwelcome surprise and thank goodness the wife and kids had gone to bed before I put it on. For some reason I thought it was a boxing film but turned out to be based on "Cobra Killer: Gay Porn, Murder, and the Manhunt to Bring the Killers to Justice". Based on the true story of Brent Corrigan who was a young male porn star.                                                                                                       

King Cobra

3/10

Well that was an unwelcome surprise and thank goodness the wife and kids had gone to bed before I put it on. For some reason I thought it was a boxing film but turned out to be based on "Cobra Killer: Gay Porn, Murder, and the Manhunt to Bring the Killers to Justice". Based on the true story of Brent Corrigan who was a young male porn star.                                                                                                       

Were you looking for some excitement in the ring maybe? Sounds like you may have found it.

Disser Pointon

Hidden Figures. Far better than i expected. Very good movie. Solid 8/10 from me.

I enjoyed it as well.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Watched the remainder of Arrival, don't want to say too much about the plot as we are recommending films, so don't want to spoil it. It was a bit slow for me and just an average film, even with the storyline. It's only a 6/10 from me.

I just watched it today as well its a 5/10.Not enough happens in it.

I think it's very original and quite intense. Haven't seen a smarter film in years

Train to Busan

8/10

Loved it, best Zombie film in a long time. Makers of the Walking Dead should be taking notes. The end was superb.

I think it's very original and quite intense. Haven't seen a smarter film in years

Got to watch what you say. Yes the storyline is different, but not that big a deal really, considering it's a slow 2hrs.

Train to Busan

8/10

Loved it, best Zombie film in a long time. Makers of the Walking Dead should be taking notes. The end was superb.

Think I've already posted on this one too. I thought it was fantastic, but that's because I love zombie films. Recommended to one of my mates who does too, but was shocked when he said it was just ok. I think some people just don't get the acting style of Korean/Chinese/Japanese films.

I just watched it today as well its a 5/10.Not enough happens in it.

It's not like it was a wow fall off your seat moment. Just way too slow, with not a lot worth waiting for.

Don't Breathe (2016 version)

7.5 / 10

This one must have passed me by when in the cinema as I thought it would be standard US B movie horror. Turned out it made $156M off a budget of $10M !. In case I'm not alone in my ignorance its the tale of some "home invaders" (burglars to you and me), who get their comeuppance when they enter the wrong house. More a horror-thriller and has a different edge to it than the normal US output of this type.

Edited by godandgorgie2012

Just back from seeing Kong:Skull Island.

Quite simply...9.5/10

Best movie action wise, cinematography, even sound wise, I have seen in a long time.

Quite simply...9.5/10

Best movie action wise, cinematography, even sound wise, I have seen in a long time.

Genuinely?

The trailer looked awful. Truly awful.

Genuinely?

Loved it.

The Magnificent 7.

Absolutely fantastic, loved it, can't beat a cowboy film!!!

A Brucie bonus for the Nephilim connection!?

T2 Trainspotting 7/10 

IMO it has been pretty overrated by some folk (on FB etc). It was great to see all the old faces and to see so much of Edinburgh, but judging it just as a film and not a nostalgia trip, it was decent enough and that was all. I would have scored it 6.5 had it not been for the whole 1690 scene :lol: and a pretty satisfactory ending.

T2 Trainspotting  I was really wanting to like this film but it fell way short of what I was hoping for.  

Classy, clever cinematography became a bit of an irritation as it began to feel like it was plastering over the lack of a decent story. 6/10

Train to Busan

8/10

Watched this on the basis of this recommendation.

Fantastic movie. The action was tremendous in it.

Great watch. Many thanks :thumb:

Train to Busan

8/10

Watched it a while back and thought it was great too.

8/10

Wild Oats

3/10

Great concept, recently widowed Shirley MacLaine gets the wrong cheque from the insurance company and decides to enjoy life. Supported by Demi Moore, Billy Connolly and Jessica Lange. However it quickly descends into an awful slap stick unfunny comedy. Universal "what a load of rubbish" from the 3 of us watching it at the end.

Just watched train to busan after seeing it on here and have to say it's a quality zombie film. I also watched split today with James Mcavoy and highly recommend it

Jason Bourne - thought they may have been better leaving it alone and that this might be a bit of a letdown but I really enjoyed it. Same intense style as the previous Damon films. 8/10

Hell Or High Water - was really looking forward to this and while it was decent, with good acting and great shots of a US you don't often see, it was a bit dull. 7/10

100 Streets

6/10

Good British drama with a series of stories about people living within a square mile in London. Muddled but not a bad watch. Stars Idris Elba, Gemma Arteton and our own Ken Stott as an aging thespian.

Quite simply...9.5/10

Genuinely?

Took the kids to see this yesterday. We all thought it was brilliant. Pretty much action from start to finish. As these type of movies go, I'd give it 10/10 and will be watching it again.

Elle - hmm, how to describe this! Rape-revenge comedy thriller by the excellent Paul Verhoeven. Mental and not to be taken too seriously but I really enjoyed it. Isabelle Huppert is brilliant in it. 8/10

Watched the Seven Five and enjoyed it. Shows what some folk in a position of authority can get away with.

Hacksaw Ridge was my viewing pleasure last night after the football. A great film. I am aware it is based on a true story but i am not sure how much was dramatised. Similar feel to Saving PR and Band of Brothers.

Just working way through this thread. Saw it last night, decent, but not as much impact on me as Saving PR of BoB.

Too big a.gap for me after the court martial.

Try the series The Pacific if you've not seen it. The Japanese theatre parallel to BoB.

Downfall 9/10

Eventually got round to watching this last night. Didn't notice the near 2 and a half hours go by, and the actor who played Hitler was quite superb.

What a truly shameful period in human history

Downfall 9/10

Eventually got round to watching this last night. Didn't notice the near 2 and a half hours go by, and the actor who played Hitler was quite superb.

What a truly shameful period in human history

Definitely on my "must see" list. Heard nothing but good things about it.

Should be on your "must see today" list bud. It really is a fantastic piece of work.

Just working way through this thread. Saw it last night, decent, but not as much impact on me as Saving PR of BoB.

Too big a.gap for me after the court martial.

Try the series The Pacific if you've not seen it. The Japanese theatre parallel to BoB.

Aye, I saw the Pacific but maybe was expecting too much of it as I didnt enjoy it as much as BoB. I found it hard to root for the characters as much and didnt felt maybe the hype left me expecting more from it. 

B.O.T. 

The Young Offenders 1/10

Irish movie about a couple of teens on a bike ride to try and find some washed up drugs on the Irish coast (at least I think that is what it was about)

Truly awful and I switched off well before the end.

Agree with Lucky comments. Put it at the top of your list. Normally if I'm watching a film at home I'm fiddling about on the phone but I was glued to the screen for over 2 hours.

Why Him...Bryan Cranston discovers that James Franco is dating his daughter. Some hilarious moments and a decent watch 7.5/10

The Wind That Shakes The Barley...This film has been out for a long time, but just got round to watching it. A powerful film set in 1920's Ireland about the IRA starring the brilliant Cillian Murphy (Peaky Blinders)...8/10.

Should be on your "must see today" list bud. It really is a fantastic piece of work.

Anywhere to find it online? I'm not entirely clued up with downloading movies I'm afraid.

If you don't have Kodi, go to proxybunker and it will allow you access to kickass/piratebay and plenty others :thumbsup:

Edited by luckyBatistuta