Wimbledon 2009 thread

djf

• Replies 1.4k
Federers 21st Slam Semi Final on the trot.

Very impressive.

tough to take. he should really get something to sort that.

Perfect start.

The place is half empty .... do they all have trains to catch?

Load of empty seats at Murray's match.

Poor show.

I blame the English.

blondejamtart
I blame the English.

I blame the hobos - they're the ones who like to dress up as empty seats!

:10900:

Tim Henman - "It's hot, that's why there are a few empty seats."

:nah:

A recent poll conducted by The Evening Standard revealed that only 9% would be backing Andy Murray at this years Wimbledon. A disgrace!

Dr. Bapswent

They must have lost confidence in him winning after last time.

Why bother to support him if he isnt going to win?

:smiley2:

Federer's record in Grand Slams is just ridiculous. If Nadal hadn't been around, it's scary to think how many more Grand Slams he would have won.

Can't believe the amount of empty seats, it's not exactly as if the weather was a surprise to them. Hopefully a break here to take the set.

If it was their beloved Tim Henman that court would be sold out, that cant do much for Murrays confidence.

Having said that, Murrays comments about the English in the past cant guarantee him support from their public, he really didn't think about Wimbledons in the future when he made those remarks.

Looks like Haas is going to beat Djokovic in 4 sets.

He's currently leading 5-2 in the 4th set.

Fair play to Haas, from what I saw of it, it went the same way as their final a few weeks back.

The only reason Djokovic got that far was because he had an easy draw. He's not a grass court player at all.

A recent poll conducted by The Evening Standard revealed that only 9% would be backing Andy Murray at this years Wimbledon. A disgrace!

You sure that poll didn't in fact ask: will Andy Murray win Wimbledon this year? Because that'd be a very different question.

If it was their beloved Tim Henman that court would be sold out, that cant do much for Murrays confidence.

Having said that, Murrays comments about the English in the past cant guarantee him support from their public, he really didn't think about Wimbledons in the future when he made those remarks.

John - the court is sold out! The problem is the way debenture holders behave every single year regardless of who might be playing, swanning off for lunch with their fellow executives and only returning later. It's wrong, of course it is - but once you get to the second Tuesday and beyond, and tickets are no longer available to those who've queued up, it's what happens.

At least the court looks full now - and Murray is on his way.

Think Murray is playing well within himself.

It's frustrating because Ferroro is here for the taking.

Think Murray is playing well within himself.

It's frustrating because Ferroro is here for the taking.

I think it's more that Murray plays like this whoever his opponent might be. As others have said, he doesn't really have a game plan, and just adjusts from opponent to opponent. Which works because his tennis brain is something else - but in the long run and especially in Grand Slams, will catch up with him I'm afraid.

Dr. Bapswent
John - the court is sold out! The problem is the way debenture holders behave every single year regardless of who might be playing, swanning off for lunch with their fellow executives and only returning later. It's wrong, of course it is - but once you get to the second Tuesday and beyond, and tickets are no longer available to those who've queued up, it's what happens.

At least the court looks full now - and Murray is on his way.

At least its full now....after he has won a set.....

I think it's more that Murray plays like this whoever his opponent might be. As others have said, he doesn't really have a game plan, and just adjusts from opponent to opponent. Which works because his tennis brain is something else - but in the long run and especially in Grand Slams, will catch up with him I'm afraid.

I think he has a game plan.

I'm no expert but I'm certain him and his coaches will have sat down and studied his opponent and worked out how to play him.

He just seems awfy lethargic, maybe the heat.

You really, really don't like him, do you?

At least its full now....after he has won a set.....

The pattern's always that the court fills back up during the first set - as it did earlier, and over on number 1 during Djokovic-Haas. It's not even a Wimbledon thing so much as a British sport thing: see the tens of thousands of seats given over to debenture holders at the new Wembley. The message seems to be: never mind the genuine fans - feel that money!

I think having the ability to adjust during a match is a great asset to have.

Infact, I think this is what will help him win slams, not hinder him.

scott_jambo

Wow, you can accurately predict the future too. Amazing Shaun. :)

I am going to now use my special ability of going back in time and suggest that 3-4 years ago you would be saying something like:

"Murray is a talented player, but in the long run he just doesnt have the natural fitness or mental rigour to compete with the top players im afraid"

My point is - by the time Murray is 25 he will have refined a game plan - with a Plan A Plan B and Plan C - coupled with his natural ability to manipulate his own style of play to combat his opponent.

Sport is never a constant, and i hope for one that your negativity is proved wrong in years to come.

You really, really don't like him, do you?

Objection! I won't be leaping around if/when he wins a Slam, and won't be if he loses either. My position's always been to judge him on results, and by the highest standards: he's earned that by how meteoric his progress has been.

Put it this way. On the one hand, he's currently heading for his first Wimbledon semi-final: that's a major moment in his career, as it certainly will be if he wins the semi too. On the other, would either Federer or Nadal have been taken to five sets by Wawrinka; and would either be even remotely troubled by a clay court specialist several years past his best? Those are the standards he has to be judged by now; and almost certainly, will be judging himself by too.

I am going to now use my special ability of going back in time and suggest that 3-4 years ago you would be saying something like:

"Murray is a talented player, but in the long run he just doesnt have the natural fitness or mental rigour to compete with the top players im afraid"

My point is - by the time Murray is 25 he will have refined a game plan - with a Plan A Plan B and Plan C - coupled with his natural ability to manipulate his own style of play to combat his opponent.

Sport is never a constant, and i hope for one that your negativity is proved wrong in years to come.

Haha I can just imagine Shaun saying that. He will of course deny it though. :2thumbsup:

As I'm sure does everyone on here. If I really was a doomsayer though, I wouldn't be tipping him to win multiple Grand Slams, including this year's US Open, would I?

Haha I can just imagine Shaun saying that. He will of course deny it though. :2thumbsup:

He's not a million miles away, to be fair! :laugh: At that point, my question was whether he'd put in the huge amount of work and dedication needed to bulk up and build his stamina. It was just a question, and certainly not a prediction: how could I know whether he would or not? He answered in the affirmative. :smiley2:

Clay court specialist Juan-Carlos Ferrero appears to have just woken up and wondered what he was doing in the quarter-finals at Wimbledon. He's completely caved in.

Dr. Bapswent
The pattern's always that the court fills back up during the first set - as it did earlier, and over on number 1 during Djokovic-Haas. It's not even a Wimbledon thing so much as a British sport thing: see the tens of thousands of seats given over to debenture holders at the new Wembley. The message seems to be: never mind the genuine fans - feel that money!

So your admitting they are not genuine fans?

Objection! I won't be leaping around if/when he wins a Slam, and won't be if he loses either. My position's always been to judge him on results, and by the highest standards: he's earned that by how meteoric his progress has been.

Put it this way. On the one hand, he's currently heading for his first Wimbledon semi-final: that's a major moment in his career, as it certainly will be if he wins the semi too. On the other, would either Federer or Nadal have been taken to five sets by Wawrinka; and would either be even remotely troubled by a clay court specialist several years past his best? Those are the standards he has to be judged by now; and almost certainly, will be judging himself by too.

Probably not, but Federer was taken to 5 sets by Tommy Haas in the French Open and Haas could hardly be described as a clay court specialist.

Infact, Federer has been taken to 5 sets in quite a few slams recently.

So your admitting they are not genuine fans?

In the case of many debenture holders, yes; and in the case of some of those who got their tickets by ballot, also yes.

I think having the ability to adjust during a match is a great asset to have.

Infact, I think this is what will help him win slams, not hinder him.

It's definitely a good thing to have.

The vast majority of players don't have the ability to change during the match. If the plan isn't working, they'll just try whacking the ball even harder. That's why Murray and Federer stand out in terms of talent.

I think if Murray really needed to step it up in this match he can. There's no point in spending extra energy running for every ball on Ferrero's serve when he's probably still tired after the other night. He's taken the best sort of approach to the match. Two sets up, can't complain.

Probably not, but Federer was taken to 5 sets by Tommy Haas in the French Open and Haas could hardly be described as a clay court specialist.

Infact, Federer has been taken to 5 sets in quite a few slams recently.

True - but clay's also Federer's worst surface, of course. This event's been yet another cakewalk for him so far - as it was for Nadal en route to last year's final. One thing I'm unsure about is whether Fed's period of vulnerability post his illness last year is now over; or alternatively, whether he'll keep losing regularly to Nadal, Murray and Djokovic (assuming, of course, Nadal will be the same when he returns).

Where's 3inaBednar? This must feel like he's being poked in the bum. Excellent.

You can just tell he'll come scurrying out the moment Murray gets eliminated (if he does).

3inaBednar predicted Murray wouldn't get to the semis. Hmm... :qqb017:

True - but clay's also Federer's worst surface, of course. This event's been yet another cakewalk for him so far - as it was for Nadal en route to last year's final. One thing I'm unsure about is whether Fed's period of vulnerability post his illness last year is now over; or alternatively, whether he'll keep losing regularly to Nadal, Murray and Djokovic (assuming, of course, Nadal will be the same when he returns).

It is hard to say that it is Federer's worst surface. Yes, he hasn't won as many as he has the others, but that is only due to the fact that he has come up against probably the best clay courter ever in Nadal.

Ibrahim Tall
Does that mean he is 'gash' ?

His record could not have been that poor as he was more or less consistently in the worlds Top 10 during the peak of his career.

His record maybe poor by Murray's standards, maybe we as Scots should be thankful that we have a player even better than Henman to cheer on as our own.

At no point did i call him gash.

Gambo, have you ever heard murray speak with an accent like that? I've never heard him say he "can't wait tae set aboot nadal" or "get intae yon big galoot federer."

Given wimbledon is in london, why do you think the english shouldn't be able to attend? Where were these 'set aboot him' type scots any other year? Why should people who go every year not go this year because a bunch of tartan army boys fancy hopping on the bandwagon?

I'm no friend of the over priviliged and certainly not hooray henry's, but your approach is embarassing; the national cringe rears its head again.

Who said anything about the English not being able to attend? I want a number of tickets to be allocated to Scots thats all.:stuart:

scott_jambo
As I'm sure does everyone on here. If I really was a doomsayer though, I wouldn't be tipping him to win multiple Grand Slams, including this year's US Open, would I?

You predict the route of Murray's future with such patronising inevitibility though. I think he has massive potential, but there is a little bit more to improve on before he changes froma multiple grand slam finalist, to a multiple grand slam winner.

Must of been tough predicting Murray to win on his favourite surface with little pressure from the crowd, especially after he destroyed Djokovic on the tour in the last hard court season.

Adding in Rafa's dodgy knee on hard court, then the route is quite clear for him barring Federer where the playing field will be levelled a bit more on the harder surface.

P.S. Ferrero is getting Destroyed by Murray who has frantically stopped playing within himself.

It is hard to say that it is Federer's worst surface. Yes, he hasn't won as many as he has the others, but that is only due to the fact that he has come up against probably the best clay courter ever in Nadal.

Of course! Still his worst surface though, on which he's been dominated by his greatest rival - whereas on all other surfaces, he had a big lead over Nadal to begin with, and even in the last year has lost only very close contests. In Federer's case, these things are all relative; just as in Murray's case, I make grass only his third favourite surface after hard courts and rebound ace. Fourth if you include indoor courts!

You predict the route of Murray's future with such patronising inevitibility though. I think he has massive potential, but there is a little bit more to improve on before he changes froma multiple grand slam finalist, to a multiple grand slam winner.

Must of been tough predicting Murray to win on his favourite surface with little pressure from the crowd, especially after he destroyed Djokovic on the tour in the last hard court season.

Adding in Rafa's dodgy knee on hard court, then the route is quite clear for him barring Federer where the playing field will be levelled a bit more on the hard court.

P.S. Ferrero is getting Destroyed by Murray who has frantically stopped playing within himself.

Predictions and amateur punditry are what everyone does: it's natural! Apologies if I come over patronising at times though: I'm an annoying **** on occasion, I know. I'll still be quite pleased with myself if I nail him winning the Open though - especially as I went out on a limb against what many others were saying on here and said he absolutely would not win this year's Aussie Open.

I'm just being a hard taskmaster, that's all. There's a world of difference between that and those who either want his opponents to win, or have dismissed him as all hype, or worse, a Hobo.

scott_jambo
Predictions and amateur punditry are what everyone does: it's natural! Apologies if I come over patronising at times though: I'm an annoying **** on occasion, I know. I'll still be quite pleased with myself if I nail him winning the Open though - especially as I went out on a limb against what many others were saying on here and said he absolutely would not win this year's Aussie Open.

I'm just being a hard taskmaster, that's all. There's a world of difference between that and those who either want his opponents to win, or have dismissed him as all hype, or worse, a Hobo.

Correct, i agree with 80-90% of your points on this thread about Murray and tennis in general after reading it all week, i just had to interject after 22 pages of discussing Murray's limitations!

Good debate, hopefully 3incestnar doesnt bring the standard down again. :)

Murray has stepped it up a gear and has just torn Ferrero apart. Absolutely superb.

It's hard not to get carried away when he plays like this.