***Official Livingston v Hearts Match Thread***

Boris5115

15 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Livi tactics:-

1. Launch the ball to their new 6'5" striker.

(Rhetorical Q: why has he been farmed out to the SPL's poorest side?)

I know it was a rhetorical question but! - Tete Yengi played for Newcastle Jets in the A League before being signed by Ipswich in 2021. He's never played for them but has been loaned out three times before joining Livi, to two Finnish sides and to Northampton Town. In 64 games he has scored 8 goals 

• Replies 1.6k

• Hearts007

• pettigrewsstylist

• Clark Griswold

5 minutes ago, Taffin said:

You're only allowed to use that logic in one direction.

We can't compete with the OF because they have more money.

The teams we have more money than are allowed to compete with us though.

🤷🏻‍♂️

That's said, strange time to be mumping. We're doing well.

I'm on the happy (ish) train right now.  Well until 5pm at least 

GinRummy
2 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

Glad to see him back.

2 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Goal for Haring incoming!!! 😄

Hope he’s up to it after not playing for so long. His physicality could be very useful against these hammer throwers and aye Mikey, too long since a Big Pete heeder. 

GinRummy
Just now, Gordon Ramsay said:

Is Beni still in bed after the Hibs game?

Wonder if he’s leaving. 

Wee Mikey
1 minute ago, Firefox said:

4 Academy players on the bench! 

Bring them all on 2nd half as between them they likely have hunners o' hours o' experience playing on plastic surfaces.

Let's hope Haring isn't continually caught on ball as much as his last start. I thought he was finished but happy to be proven wrong.

Not a game for good football, all about winning 2nd balls and taking the few chances created.

Edited by OmiyaHearts

4 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Wonder if he’s leaving. 

Was my first thought. Naismith said post match Ross County he’d be back today. Strange one! We really miss him, he’s a real difference maker especially against these bams!

hearts00
5 minutes ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Let's hope Haring isn't continually caught on ball as much as his last start. I thought he was finished but happy to be proven wrong.

Not a game for good football, all about winning 2nd balls and taking the few chances created.

Haring will commit at least 7 fouls and be booked. 

saxondale

I hope Haring proves the usual exaggerators wrong today.

He's been okay this season, nothing more and nothing less. He is just not fancied by Naismith and his cock up against Rangers has caused alot of fans to overreact.

GinRummy
1 minute ago, hearts00 said:

As long as he doesn’t get sent off then it’s no big deal. I didn’t really want him to still be here this season but the physical part of his game comes in handy against the likes of Livi. 

0-0 written all over it. Would love to go I to the break on a high though. Prove me wrong Hearts.

10 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Bring them all on 2nd half as between them they likely have hunners o' hours o' experience playing on plastic surfaces.

I like to see Wilson get a run, I think a fair few would get a surprise at how good he is, he’d be very direct might be what we need on that pitch.

The midfield looks much better than the Ross County farce.

Captain Sausage

Rather try Haring than Lowry or Denholm. Hopefully a little experience in there will help today. 

Shame we don’t see Beni, another who I don’t think will leave this window as any fee would be peanuts and there’s a lot on the line. 

Luckies1874

Jack Hamilton, Jamie Brandon and Jason Holt all start for Livvy! 

Mikey1874
1 hour ago, DS98 said:

I’m hearing Beni is still out so it’ll be another tombola for who plays centre mid. 

Not how the team is picked. 

GinRummy
1 minute ago, Rick Sanchez said:

Why Wilson and not Kirk?

Naismith said a few weeks ago that Kirk needed to work on the positional side of his game. Maybe that. 

Wee Mikey
3 minutes ago, hearts00 said:

Got 0-0 written all over it. 

So did the away derby ...

... but ...

... We've got ...

😎

Niemi’s gloves
1 minute ago, Luckies1874 said:

Livi can’t seem to decide who is their best (or least bad) goalkeeper -Jack Hamilton or Shamal George. I guess Jack gets the gloves today because he did quite well in when we last met at Tynecastle. 

gorgieheart

anyone have a working stream for todays game ? 

btw, land o the giants with Livi new loan signing starting...prepare for hooooooooofbaw

Japan Jambo
24 minutes ago, Marvin said:

IMG_20240102_134747.jpg

Unusual line up - what's up with Atkinson, McKay (injured?), Beni, Devlin?

3 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

Atkinson away to Asia Cup

McKay injured 

Beni a mystery 

Devlin injured

Edited by Rudy T

Luckies1874

Find a way to win, get the 3pts in the bag and get several players back before the next league game v Dundee, 3 weeks today. 

The below list is a lot for us to be without but looking at the teams this is still a game we should be winning! 

Rowles 
Atkinson 
Devlin 
Beningame
McKay
Grant
Boyce 

GinRummy
1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

Atkinson and Rowles away to Asia cup. McKay and Devlin injured and Beni is tired. 

23 minutes ago, Firefox said:

4 Academy players on the bench! 

5! Don't forget about big Craig :P 

1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

Atkinson & Rowles are off with Australia NT, McKay, yes, injured ffs, Devlin also injured, Beni, still resting after causing a Hibee collision on Wednesday

Wee Mikey
5 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Not the first time for us to be up against ex-Hearts players.

It would be cruel to describe them as 'rejects', but if we cannae trounce a team with that %age of players not deemed good enough for us then hell mend us.

I'm assuming we are just not risking Beni on that horror show of a pitch.

Niemi’s gloves
4 minutes ago, Rick Sanchez said:

Why Wilson and not Kirk?

I’d guess that certain promises about first team involvement were made to persuade James Wilson to stay at Tynecastle for his first pro contract rather than move to a big academy down south. 

GinRummy
Just now, i8hibsh said:

I'm assuming we are just not risking Beni on that horror show of a pitch.

He was left out at County because he was fatigued. 

2 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

Atkinson away to AFCON 

McKay injured 

Beni a mystery 

Devlin injured

Pretty sure Atkinson won't be away to AFCON 😄

1 minute ago, Wee Mikey said:

Not the first time for us to be up against ex-Hearts players.

It would be cruel to describe them as 'rejects', but if we cannae trounce a team with that %age of players not deemed good enough for us then hell mend us.

Jason Holt has had such a strange career - You would think an ex-rangers player would be good enough to come back to Hearts or even a Hibs or Aberdeen (Dundee Utd??) - hell even any one of a number of League 1/ League 2 clubs.

Weird he's ended up at Livi. Laddie had talent, was gutted when he ended up at ibroke. 

Berrassobad

Wonder if Livi fans are having the "rotational" convo that burned my ears recently - thats about 6 changes

Hearts007
4 minutes ago, cazzyy said:

Pretty sure Atkinson won't be away to AFCON 😄

might be watching 😄

milky_26
8 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

Atkinson away to AFCON 

McKay injured 

Beni a mystery 

Devlin injured

Asian cup not AFCON

Japan Jambo
7 minutes ago, Horatio Caine said:

Atkinson & Rowles are off with Australia NT, McKay, yes, injured ffs, Devlin also injured, Beni, still resting after causing a Hibee collision on Wednesday

7 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Atkinson and Rowles away to Asia cup. McKay and Devlin injured and Beni is tired. 

8 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

Atkinson away to Asia Cup

McKay injured 

Beni a mystery 

Devlin injured

Cheers lads, fingers crossed for a big Pete masterclass!

9 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

He was left out at County because he was fatigued. 

Imagine if he had a real job.

GinRummy
Just now, The Real Maroonblood said:

Imagine if he had a real job.

😂 phoning your boss up and saying you’ll not be in because you’re tired. Footballers eh? 

So Haring filling in for Beni.   Front three Forrest, Shankland and Vargas.   Sibbick rwb. 

I can see us losing the first goal. 

Mikey1874
20 minutes ago, Niemi’s gloves said:

Livi can’t seem to decide who is their best (or least bad) goalkeeper -Jack Hamilton or Shamal George. I guess Jack gets the gloves today because he did quite well in when we last met at Tynecastle. 

Only his third game for Livingston 

40 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

I'm on the happy (ish) train right now.  Well until 5pm at least 

IMG_5952.gif

32 minutes ago, hearts00 said:

I'm not overly keen on him starting but looking at players available, there's not much choice