• Luckies1874

• Fozzyonthefence

• Deviskan

Jacob ****ing Brown :rofl:

Holy ****ing hell that's an absolutely atrocious decision.  Shankland gets on for about 5 minutes in Georgia and pulls a point out of his arse to make an embarrassing result look a little bit better. 

Rewarded with that absolute nonsense. Ffs.

Odd - but then you can't really criticise Steve Clark given the job he's done.  He is very loyal to his players.  I still think we will see Shankland get a run out from the bench.

That will teach Shankland to score last second equaliser on Thursday. Just a baffling decision from a manager who clearly doesn't want Shankland in squad. Manager deserves to fail.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga

1 minute ago, rmreido said:

No Shankland......WTF 

Jacob Brown......really!!!

7 league starts and on as sub 4 times for Luton.

No league goals. 1 League Cup goal. 

But it's super Luton in the super Premier League. So clearly better option.

GorgieFifeLife

That decision has basically told Shankland he has no future under Clarke.  In what is a dead rubber that is a very negative lineup.  

Shankland should tell him to **** off . 

A player who has zero goals ahead of him. Shows you what he thinks of him 

Edited by GBJambo

4 minutes ago, Fire_At_The_Disco said:

We start a guy with 37 career goals over a guy heading towards 200 ….. makes complete sense

One of the reasons why I don't give a feck about the national team. 

Just now, ecky92 said:

Fs am no watching it now. Starting a shit English guy (0 goals all season) ahead of a Scottish born and bread goal machine 😴😴

That's actually put me right off watching it as well. 

I understand giving different players some game time, but there is one Scottish striker who is miles and miles ahead of the others in terms of performances and goals, and it sure as **** isn't Jacob "only ever been to Hampden in Scotland" Brown. 

Some of the posts :rofl:

Hearts fans thinking Clarke's Scotland plans revolve around Shankland is rather silly. Clearly he has big decisions to make with regards the Euro 2024 squad over the next few months and only a few games to look at things. Brown has like Shankland waited pretty patiently. Clark doesn't see Shankland as a forward good enough to lead the line given the way he sets the team up. That's not the same as not rating him nor does it mean that there isn't a place for him and that he can't contribute like he did in Georgia, just that he wants different qualities starting matches. 

Is it maybe Clarke is comfortable with what Shankland can do and if Brown doesn’t deliver tonight then Shanklands on the plane? He should be starting and going regardless but struggling to understand Clarke’s reasoning for this.

2 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

Shankland should tell him to **** off . 

A player who has zero goals ahead of him. Shows you what he thinks of him 

Hates him. :rofl:

newspress-collage-11530123-1700168753147

5 minutes ago, Fire_At_The_Disco said:

We start a guy with 37 career goals over a guy heading towards 200 ….. makes complete sense

Some things never change.  Willie Bauld was banging in goals for Hearts for years but hardly got selected for Scotland.    

Just now, Luckies1874 said:

Hearts fans thinking Clarke's Scotland plans revolve around Shankland is rather silly. Clearly he has big decisions to make with regards the Euro 2024 squad over the next few months and only a few games to look at things. Brown has like Shankland waited pretty patiently. Clark doesn't see Shankland as a forward good enough to lead the line given the way he sets the team up. That's not the same as not rating him nor does it mean that there isn't a place for him and that he can't contribute like he did in Georgia, just that he wants different qualities starting matches. 

Jacob brown has done absolutely zero to warrant a start ahead of Shankland. As a manager he should be rewarding players who keep his face from being red, Shankland did just that. What’s Brown done to be given the nod?

it’s a disgraceful decision

Kenny McLean and Stuart Armstrong being rewarded by a manager who has his favourites and won't give others any opportunity.

It cost us in last Euros when he insisted on playing Marshall despite Gordon being clearly the better keeper and it's happening here again.

Yes, we have qualified but the manager makes it do hard to care about team with insane decisions.

Just now, Luckies1874 said:

Think it’s perfectly reasonable to be annoyed at the national team manager not selecting our talisman and captain after rescuing a point for the country on Thursday. Brown has waited patiently and shown nothing yet, shankland has waited patiently and scored. 

Just now, karipidis said:

Is it maybe Clarke is comfortable with what Shankland can do and if Brown doesn’t deliver tonight then Shanklands on the plane? He should be starting and going regardless but struggling to understand Clarke’s reasoning for this.

Clark wants to look at another guy who hasn't had much game time. Maybe he wants to see if he can play the Adams role and that is his competition, nothing to do with Shankland. 

2 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Hates him. :rofl:

newspress-collage-11530123-1700168753147

Brown should not be starting ahead of Shankland . Absolutely zero justification in that decision 

1 minute ago, Luckies1874 said:

Clark wants to look at another guy who hasn't had much game time. Maybe he wants to see if he can play the Adams role and that is his competition, nothing to do with Shankland. 

How much game time had Shanks had for Scotland 

4 minutes ago, Absolute Scenes said:

Jacob brown has done absolutely zero to warrant a start ahead of Shankland. As a manager he should be rewarding players who keep his face from being red, Shankland did just that. What’s Brown done to be given the nod?

it’s a disgraceful decision

What do you know about Jacob Brown and what he can bring to the side? Diddly squat. What if Adams is injured for next summer and we need a player in a similar mould. Absolutely hilarious how people are losing their shit over this. Shankland is a completely different player and is highly unlikely to be starting matches as a focal point at international level given his pace and athleticism. 

Edited by Luckies1874

Meaningless game, I reckon he just wants a look at Brown.

That said, if he's got some bonkers stuff up his sleeve like the last Euros then Clarke can do one 😂

3 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

Brown should not be starting ahead of Shankland . Absolutely zero justification in that decision 

There is no justification if you think of it as how many goals has he scored. There is loads of justification given Clarke's need to make decisions ahead of next summer and look at different options. 

Edited by Luckies1874

5 minutes ago, DesertDawg said:

Some things never change.  Willie Bauld was banging in goals for Hearts for years but hardly got selected for Scotland.    

Tosh McKinlay outstanding for us but never capped. Goes to Smeltic and guess what happened next. 

I don’t get what Clarke sees in that little runt Taylor.  In the absence of Robertson and Tierney, I would have Kingsley in there way before that sleekit wee shite

2 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

He's had about 16 minutes in last 4 or 5 caps. Utterly ridiculous decision from a manager who doesn't like feeling pressured into playing someone who isn't one of his little pets.

2 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

Shankland has 6 appearances in total. 

However, he's played 45 minutes against Russia, 90 minutes against San Marino, 17 minutes against Israel, and he's been an 85 minute+ sub in his other 3 (87th v Slovakia, 89th v Spain, and 86th v Georgia). 

Less than 2 matches worth of appearances, and he's still managed to score 2 goals.

He's quite clearly just not getting a chance. 

Just now, tian447 said:

However, he's played 45 minutes against Russia, 90 minutes against San Marino, 17 minutes against Israel, and he's been an 85 minute+ sub in his other 3 (87th v Slovakia, 89th v Spain, and 86th v Georgia). 

Less than 2 matches worth of appearances, and he's still managed to score 2 goals.

But we will play Brown so he can have a “look” How about having a “look” at Shankland and giving him a chance 

4 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Meaningless game, I reckon he just wants a look at Brown.

That said, if he's got some bonkers stuff up his sleeve like the last Euros then Clarke can do one 😂

What most are forgetting is that Brown was in the original squad whilst Shankland was added to the squad. Yet Clarke knew Shankland's ability to get a goal and brought him and not Brown on, on Thursday. Today when he's playing neither Dykes nor Adams he's having a look at Brown who like Shankland hasn't had many minutes. He's an option over Adams longer term and is more that sort of player. He runs the channels and works hard off the ball which given the way we play is critical to the team setup. Shankland will get on later. Totally ridiculous overreaction to the selection. 

13 minutes ago, tian447 said:

That's actually put me right off watching it as well. 

I understand giving different players some game time, but there is one Scottish striker who is miles and miles ahead of the others in terms of performances and goals, and it sure as **** isn't Jacob "only ever been to Hampden in Scotland" Brown. 

Played up here for Stoke in that friendly. Was pish. 

4 minutes ago, tian447 said:

It’s basically John Robertson all over again. 

If Shanks went west he would be a starter in that team, of that I have no doubt. 

Edited by Nookie Bear

15 minutes ago, Boris5115 said:

One of the reasons why I don't give a feck about the national team. 

Not quite at that stage but it does make it hard to get behind the national team 

From a totally selfish Hearts point of view. 

Shankland doesn't risk injury sitting on the bench. More so when he's back on form for us, at a time we have a congested and tough run of games coming up. 

It's a plus I'll take. 

2 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

What most are forgetting is that Brown was in the original squad whilst Shankland was added to the squad. Yet Clarke knew Shankland's ability to get a goal and brought him and not Brown on, on Thursday. Today when he's playing neither Dykes nor Adams he's having a look at Brown who like Shankland hasn't had many minutes. He's an option over Adams longer term and is more that sort of player. He runs the channels and works hard off the ball which given the way we play is critical to the team setup. Shankland will get on later. Totally ridiculous overreaction to the selection. 

Pish. 

1 minute ago, Luckies1874 said:

Ok.

Apologies, I should have expanded on that. 

Absolute pish and just an excuse for you to put Hearts down. 

Bit surprised in the line up but I get it. All five subs will get a run out, no big deal, we’ve qualified for a major tournament so he’s looking to see what others can do. It’s Clark, not Neilson in charge.

2 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Apologies, I should have expanded on that. 

Absolute pish and just an excuse for you to put Hearts down. 

Okey dokey 🤡

2 minutes ago, sac said:

Bit surprised in the line up but I get it. All five subs will get a run out, no big deal, we’ve qualified for a major tournament so he’s looking to see what others can do. It’s Clark, not Neilson in charge.

How any body on here can doubt Steve Clarke is ****ing hilarious. 

Go for it 1308

Would it not make sense and a reward for shanks from Clarke to start him from the start ffs! Bring someone else on late in the game to see what they're about? As much as he's done for Scotland...I can't stand that little torn face prick. 

Kick in the teeth for shanks