***Scotland vs Norway - Official Match Thread ***

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said:

I get what you are saying, and yes it would be extremely harsh. But let's go on the premise that these players DO pledge their allegiance to Scotland, unequivocally. (I'm sure one of them has a Scottish mum). I would hope in this scenario that Clarke picks the best players available. Obviously they would also have to feature in some friendlies too. 

I think all 3 would add to the squad. As an example, if either Tierney or Robertson are unavailable, I'd much rather see Hickey play on the left than Taylor. That leaves us with Ralston/Patterson on the right. Neither have cemented a regular place in the starting line up as yet. 

Could Livramento be better than those two? 

We've also got to remember although we done very well to qualify, we haven't actually won in 5 games, getting completely turned over by both England and France. 

I want the best we can get on the plane and if that means a kick in the balls for some of the current regulars then I'm afraid that's just the way it should be, and should always be. 

Clarke remained loyal to Brown, instead of giving the "in form" Shankland a run. My guess is that the squad will not have any major surprises, unfortunately. 

There is no chance Gordon or Livramento are declaring for Scotland for Euro 2024. They are both young and feel that England opportunities will be available and they might be right. Whether they ever become regulars is far more debatable. There is still the possibility in due course that things might change. Anderson it would appear feels the same and he's obviously caused some ill feeling agreeing, arriving and then disappearing. 

I think the obvious one is Barnes and I think that can and might well happen. He isn't going to feature for England so this is a huge opportunity for him, to be part of an exciting time with Scotland. A lot depends on what happens with his fitness too as he's struggled to be available consistently. Going to be interesting to see how things develop. 

Edited by Luckies1874
  • Replies 834

• Luckies1874

• Fozzyonthefence

• Deviskan

Posted
20 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

19 year old Gavi just got a predicable ACL injury playing for Spain.

Post hoc ergo propter hoc.

Posted
37 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

So Marshall in goals was a mistake, in hindsight, after a terrific qualification campaign. Ok. Great. :rofl:Such an array of evidence. 

28 months ago. Since then we've played 18 competitive matches and lost 2!

I think he has done an amazing job. This isn't about Hearts but I'd certainly be defending any Hearts manager who got close to doing as good a job, if and when it happened. Capiche or too tricky?! 😉

Marshall played out of loyalty not form. You asked for an example of being too loyal then ignore said example which was proven to be detrimental ?

You’re just to angry to discuss things when it comes to Clarke, it’s a bit weird to be honest. Hopefully that isn’t too tricky for you. 😊

Posted
15 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Marshall was great in qualifying for Euro 2020. O'Donnell was terrific at Wembley in an excellent Scotland performance. To say he was overly loyal to these players is simply disingenuous, it is hindsight to the extreme. But even if I digress and say fine, big ****ing deal. It was 28 months ago, he was only in the job a shortish period of time and now things are far more settled and he has way more time in the job. And the progress has been sustained and significant, I repeat again only 2 losses in the last 2 qualifying campaigns! Unheard of for years and years previously. It is incredible a Scottish football fan would be so negative about such an upward curve. He has earned the right to make the decisions he is. 

As for your rant about current players and him not knowing about Serie A :rofl: 

Hickey hardly had to wait any time and Clarke, like several other big influences on his short career, have handled him brilliantly. McLean has been a tremendous servant for Scotland, he's versatile, he's professional, he's always available and he's trusted and rightly so. Oh and he scored one of the biggest goals in recent memory for us! Not one person in the Scotland setup would say a bad word against him. Including Steve Naismith by the way, he'd have him at Hearts in a second and he'd be our best player most weeks, such is his consistency.  But of course the crux of all this is your fanboy love for our Lawrence and the fact you can't accept his current position in things.....and there is nothing much more to discuss on that front!! Continues to score goals and he'll be on the plane. 

It’s about being in form or out of form.  Shankland is currently Scotland’s in form striker.  Earlier in the season he was off form and I would have had him out the Hearts team for a couple of weeks and nowhere near the Scotland team.  Right now he is bang in form, nothing to do with a fan boy love in. Jacob Brown has scored against Gillingham this season though so I guess that edges it. 

And laughing emojis don’t add anything to your argument!

To suggest Gordon is better than Marshall is not hindsight!  And Scotland can’t afford not to play their best players.  Agree O’Donnell was solid against England but a guy that should never have got as many caps as he did.  Reminds me of Neilson actually, a solid but very limited right back. 

And sorry, but Kenny McLean is pish, end of!

Posted
5 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Marshall played out of loyalty not form. You asked for an example of being too loyal then ignore said example which was proven to be detrimental ?

You’re just to angry to discuss things when it comes to Clarke, it’s a bit weird to be honest. Hopefully that isn’t too tricky for you. 😊

Yep, Marshall had been dropped by Derby. 

Posted
4 minutes ago, Dazo said:

"Too angry" :rofl:

Actually sitting here pishing myself at you and the other lad's utterly hopeless arguments! 

Hilarious wee maroon jammie wearers. 

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

It’s about being in form or out of form.  Shankland is currently Scotland’s in form striker.  Earlier in the season he was off form and I would have had him out the Hearts team for a couple of weeks and nowhere near the Scotland team.  Right now he is bang in form, nothing to do with a fan boy love in. Jacob Brown has scored against Gillingham this season though so I guess that edges it. 

And laughing emojis don’t add anything to your argument!

To suggest Gordon is better than Marshall is not hindsight!  And Scotland can’t afford not to play their best players.  Agree O’Donnell was solid against England but a guy that should never have got as many caps as he did.  Reminds me of Neilson actually, a solid but very limited right back. 

And sorry, but Kenny McLean is pish, end of!

Soooooooooo much nonsense.

As you say though, "end of". 

Edited by Luckies1874
Posted
Just now, Luckies1874 said:

"Too angry" :rofl:

Actually sitting here pishing myself at you and the other lad's utterly hopeless arguments! 

Hilarious wee maroon jammie wearers. 

Ok so you wanted the Derby reserve keeper to play ahead of one of, if not Scotland’s best ever keepers at the last Euros?  

Posted (edited)
2 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Soooooooooo much nonsense.

As you say though, "end of". 

So you think Marshall is better than Gordon?

And Shankland isn’t in form?

You’re just arguing for arguing sake now!

Edited by Fozzyonthefence
Posted

Results speak for themselves.  Managers live or die by the results they get.  Anyone having a pop at Clarke is living in cloud cuckoo land

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Ok so you wanted the Derby reserve keeper to play ahead of one of, if not Scotland’s best ever keepers at the last Euros?  

No. But he was always playing having played consistently and got us there. Just like Gunn will start in the summer unless Gordon has an unbelievable 6 months. 

It's 28 months ago  :rofl: It has absolutely nothing to do with the here and now! 

Edited by Luckies1874
Posted
1 minute ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

So you think Marshall is better than Gordon?

And Shankland isn’t in form?

You’re just arguing for arguing sake now!

OMG. Gie us peace. 

Gordon has been a significantly better keeper than Marshall.

Shanks is in form and was brought into the squad because of that, subbed on and scored. He didn't play on Sunday as Clarke wanted to look at Brown. It's all so complicated and desperately unfair and if you stamp your feet and cry about it more maybe he'll be chosen in March, when we next play! 

Posted
3 minutes ago, HopeDiouf said:

Results speak for themselves.  Managers live or die by the results they get.  Anyone having a pop at Clarke is living in cloud cuckoo land

You aren't allowed to praise Clarke if you aren't praising the Hearts manager though  :vrface:

Posted
36 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Marshall was great in qualifying for Euro 2020. O'Donnell was terrific at Wembley in an excellent Scotland performance. To say he was overly loyal to these players is simply disingenuous, it is hindsight to the extreme. But even if I digress and say fine, big ****ing deal. It was 28 months ago, he was only in the job a shortish period of time and now things are far more settled and he has way more time in the job. And the progress has been sustained and significant, I repeat again only 2 losses in the last 2 qualifying campaigns! Unheard of for years and years previously. It is incredible a Scottish football fan would be so negative about such an upward curve. He has earned the right to make the decisions he is. 

As for your rant about current players and him not knowing about Serie A :rofl: 

Hickey hardly had to wait any time and Clarke, like several other big influences on his short career, have handled him brilliantly. McLean has been a tremendous servant for Scotland, he's versatile, he's professional, he's always available and he's trusted and rightly so. Oh and he scored one of the biggest goals in recent memory for us! Not one person in the Scotland setup would say a bad word against him. Including Steve Naismith by the way, he'd have him at Hearts in a second and he'd be our best player most weeks, such is his consistency.  But of course the crux of all this is your fanboy love for our Lawrence and the fact you can't accept his current position in things.....and there is nothing much more to discuss on that front!! Continues to score goals and he'll be on the plane. 

Throwing Hickey in for his debut against Ukraine at RWB alongside McTominay at RCB was not handled well by Clarke, and cost us the game and could have seriously dented Hickeys confidence. 

Posted
21 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

There is no chance Gordon or Livramento are declaring for Scotland for Euro 2024. They are both young and feel that England opportunities will be available and they might be right. Whether they ever become regulars is far more debatable. There is still the possibility in due course that things might change. Anderson it would appear feels the same and he's obviously caused some ill feeling agreeing, arriving and then disappearing. 

I think the obvious one is Barnes and I think that can and might well happen. He isn't going to feature for England so this is a huge opportunity for him, to be part of an exciting time with Scotland. A lot depends on what happens with his fitness too as he's struggled to be available consistently. Going to be interesting to see how things develop. 

I think Carver coming out and mentioning Livramento by name would infer some discussion may have taken place already. Even when he was at Southampton, the player himself talked about his mum wanting him to represent Scotland. Yes it may be too soon for the Euros but I'd like to see him named in a friendly. Just to see what would happen. We obviously have Hickey at the moment, but any injury to Robertson or Tierney should in my view see Hickey play on his natural side. In that scenario I think the RB/RWB area possibly needs strengthened. 

Posted
7 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

OMG. Gie us peace. 

Gordon has been a significantly better keeper than Marshall.

Shanks is in form and was brought into the squad because of that, subbed on and scored. He didn't play on Sunday as Clarke wanted to look at Brown. It's all so complicated and desperately unfair and if you stamp your feet and cry about it more maybe he'll be chosen in March, when we next play! 

You’re the one stamping their feet in your man love for Clarke!  Imagine fans coming on a Hearts forum and sticking up for Hearts players, how bizarre!

You asked for examples of Clarke’s blind loyalty, you’ve been given them but you’ve still got your blinkers on and fingers in your ears!

Posted
5 minutes ago, karipidis said:

Throwing Hickey in for his debut against Ukraine at RWB alongside McTominay at RCB was not handled well by Clarke, and cost us the game and could have seriously dented Hickeys confidence. 

The whole team played poorly that night it wasn’t one thing or another. We simply didn’t perform. Hickey is made of very stern stuff and there has been no young Scottish player’s development handled better than his in a very long time. His family, his advisors and the coaches he’s worked under, in a short period of time, have all been excellent for his development. They’ve made brilliant decisions as to each step he’s made. The next step, maybe even as soon as the summer, will be a huge move to a top 8 club. 

Posted

You’re the one stamping their feet in your man love for Clarke!  Imagine fans coming on a Hearts forum and sticking up for Hearts players, how bizarre!

You asked for examples of Clarke’s blind loyalty, you’ve been given them but you’ve still got your blinkers on and fingers in your ears!

Are you actually suggesting Clarke has done a bad job?

Posted

Hahahaha utter nonsense. I’ve stuck up for Shankland, I’ve repeatedly said the last week was brilliant for him and that I expect him to be on the plane next summer. You on the other hand live in cloud ****ing cuckoo land, wearing your Hearts onesie and greeting like a bairn that he didn’t get minutes over another player! It’s genuinely hilarious.

As for the one example provided of apparent excessive loyalty - playing the keeper that helped us qualify for a tournament for the first time in over decades - aye great job with that fantastically constructed argument!!! It’s a real winner 😘

Posted
16 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

No. But he was always playing having played consistently and got us there. Just like Gunn will start in the summer unless Gordon has an unbelievable 6 months. 

Why?  Shouldn’t you play your best team?  

Will we leave out Robertson and Tierney because they’ve been injured? Would England leave out Kane or France Mbappe if they were injured and other inferior players got them there?

Using your logic Gunn “got us there” so he’ll play, therefore doesn’t matter what Gordon does when he comes back or are you contradicting yourself with that one? 

Posted
6 minutes ago, HopeDiouf said:

Are you actually suggesting Clarke has done a bad job?

No, where have I said that?  He has made mistakes though, more so in the past but still making some imo.   Overall he’s done a great job.  

Posted
5 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Hahahaha utter nonsense. I’ve stuck up for Shankland, I’ve repeatedly said the last week was brilliant for him and that I expect him to be on the plane next summer. You on the other hand live in cloud ****ing cuckoo land, wearing your Hearts onesie and greeting like a bairn that he didn’t get minutes over another player! It’s genuinely hilarious.

As for the one example provided of apparent excessive loyalty - playing the keeper that helped us qualify for a tournament for the first time in over decades - aye great job with that fantastically constructed argument!!! It’s a real winner 😘

I actually provided several examples.  

Shouting the loudest, wee immature insults and using loads of emojis doesn’t make your argument any stronger, it just makes you look like a 12 year old. 

Posted (edited)
15 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

I actually provided several examples.  

Shouting the loudest, wee immature insults and using loads of emojis doesn’t make your argument any stronger, it just makes you look like a 12 year old. 

Your evidence was Marshall in the Euro's 28 months ago - everyone knew at the time he would start as he'd been the keeper that got us there and it is only in hindsight and after a freak goal that it was even questioned. And O'Donnell who actually played well, especially at Wembley, all things considered, in the Euro's. You've basically grasped at straws and that's what you've come up with. As I say, not worth the paper it's written on. You've then used that as a narrative to question Clarke given how you perceived he treated Shankland at the weekend. I'm fed up pointing out why he did what he did and couldn't care less at what happened. If Shanks performs between now and the end of the season, he'll be there, simple as that. The end.

Edited by Luckies1874
Posted
16 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Why?  Shouldn’t you play your best team?  

Will we leave out Robertson and Tierney because they’ve been injured? Would England leave out Kane or France Mbappe if they were injured and other inferior players got them there?

Using your logic Gunn “got us there” so he’ll play, therefore doesn’t matter what Gordon does when he comes back or are you contradicting yourself with that one? 

Can't even quote properly. I said "unless Gordon has an unbelievable 6 months". Like with Shankland it's in his hands. Gunn has earned the spot currently, that's not even in question, especially how crap Clark and Kelly are. Only Gordon could take the gloves from him but he is going to have to play soon for Hearts and remain fit as well as providing significant evidence that he is back to even close to his best. I'm sure it's not even in doubt in your mind that we will be seeing pre CG very soon. Other's amongst us recognise he's about to turn 41, has had a horrendous injury and it is very debatable how things are going to go given the demands of returning during an SPL winter fixture list. 

Your other examples are just plain stupid. Two of our elite and guaranteed starting 11 if available. Unless a Barnes or similar come along we have no players worryingly looking over their shoulders. There aren't better players waiting in the wings right now. We already had this discussion and you came up with nobody, nada, as to who was being overlooked. Just went back to greeting about Shankland. 

Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

No, where have I said that?  He has made mistakes though, more so in the past but still making some imo.   Overall he’s done a great job.  

You seem to be suggesting that you know better, and he's made mistakes that you'd have got right.  I can only speak for myself, but I'm glad we have Clarke in charge and I'll take his mistakes over yours.

Edited by HopeDiouf
Posted

Timely :kirk:

WARNING FOR THOSE OF A NERVOUS SHANKLAND DISPOSITION: They talk about Ross Stewart and Oli McBurnie. 

Posted
23 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Can't even quote properly. I said "unless Gordon has an unbelievable 6 months". Like with Shankland it's in his hands. Gunn has earned the spot currently, that's not even in question, especially how crap Clark and Kelly are. Only Gordon could take the gloves from him but he is going to have to play soon for Hearts and remain fit as well as providing significant evidence that he is back to even close to his best. I'm sure it's not even in doubt in your mind that we will be seeing pre CG very soon. Other's amongst us recognise he's about to turn 41, has had a horrendous injury and it is very debatable how things are going to go given the demands of returning during an SPL winter fixture list. 

Your other examples are just plain stupid. Two of our elite and guaranteed starting 11 if available. Unless a Barnes or similar come along we have no players worryingly looking over their shoulders. There aren't better players waiting in the wings right now. We already had this discussion and you came up with nobody, nada, as to who was being overlooked. Just went back to greeting about Shankland. 

You’re really not paying attention are you?  Think you’re confusing me with someone else since I gave you a few examples of of players getting overlooked or not getting enough game time - Shankland and Ferguson being the obvious two.  I also mentioned a left back playing in Serie A who deserves a chance ahead of the awful Taylor but both are only back up anyway.  The point that you’re spectacularly missing is that we’ll never know if they’re better options unless they get opportunities.  That’s just common sense. 

If you don’t believe Shankland and Ferguson deserve opportunities then we’ll need to agree to disagree.  Clarke should always be looking to improve the team and that means trying out new players whereas you seem to think we should just be playing the same 11 all the time. I don’t, we’ll just become too predictable and you need to adapt to suit the opposition you’re playing. 

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

You’re really not paying attention are you?  Think you’re confusing me with someone else since I gave you a few examples of of players getting overlooked or not getting enough game time - Shankland and Ferguson being the obvious two.  I also mentioned a left back playing in Serie A who deserves a chance ahead of the awful Taylor but both are only back up anyway.  The point that you’re spectacularly missing is that we’ll never know if they’re better options unless they get opportunities.  That’s just common sense. 

If you don’t believe Shankland and Ferguson deserve opportunities then we’ll need to agree to disagree.  Clarke should always be looking to improve the team and that means trying out new players whereas you seem to think we should just be playing the same 11 all the time. I don’t, we’ll just become too predictable and you need to adapt to suit the opposition you’re playing. 

We have 4 more friendlies for trying players before the Euro's. We tried some against England and France. He also tried a specific player on Sunday, just not the one you wanted him to try!!!!! Or are you disputing that selecting Brown was giving someone a chance?! 

The fact you think that a half or even a game in isolation would be  provide evidence of a player being a "better option" than guys who have regularly done it is ludicrous in itself anyway!  

This entire thing is really down to the fact you can't accept Lawrence Shankland remains a peripheral figure though in my view far more likely to be in the squad than you believe. 

Edited by Luckies1874
Posted (edited)
49 minutes ago, HopeDiouf said:

You seem to be suggesting that you know better, and he's made mistakes that you'd have got right.  I can only speak for myself, but I'm glad we have Clarke in charge and I'll take his mistakes over yours.

I would have played Gordon instead of Marshall at the last Euros, that was clearly a mistake that pretty much everyone except Clarke and Luckies agrees with.  It’s not even hindsight, it’s a top class keeper against an average one who had been dropped by his club side at the time.  

I would never in a million years have played McTominay at RCB in the finals, especially as we’d already seen how bad he was in the position and doesn’t do the basics in defending.  Again not hindsight but it was a long time ago and he’s got most things right this qualifying campaign.  

And maroon jammies or not I thought Clarke took the piss out of Shankland against Norway bringing him on in the 89th minute.  The vast majority on here did.   He deserved more than that given what he did against Georgia and being bang on form - isn’t that supposed ti be important for a striker?

Edited by Fozzyonthefence
Posted
5 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

We have 4 more friendlies for trying players before the Euro's. We tried some against England and France. He also tried a specific player on Sunday, just not the one you wanted him to try!!!!! Or are you disputing that selecting Brown was giving someone a chance?! 

The fact you think that a half or even a game in isolation would be  provide evidence of a player being a "better option" than guys who have regularly done it is ludicrous in itself anyway!  

This entire thing is really down to the fact you can't accept Lawrence Shankland remains a peripheral figure though in my view far more likely to be in the squad than you believe. 

How does a player get a chance in international football then?  If it was up to you we’d never make any changes or blood youngsters to build for the future. Remember how that worked out after Craig Brown?!

It may have escaped your notice but international football isn’t the same as club football.  You only get limited chances to impress not a run of 10 games to get up to speed.  Very much sink or swim. 

I’m not disputing Brown was given a chance but I’d question what he’s done this season to deserve it?  Must have been fairly banging the goals in at Luton. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

How does a player get a chance in international football then?  If it was up to you we’d never make any changes or blood youngsters to build for the future. Remember how that worked out after Craig Brown?!

It may have escaped your notice but international football isn’t the same as club football.  You only get limited chances to impress not a run of 10 games to get up to speed.  Very much sink or swim. 

I’m not disputing Brown was given a chance but I’d question what he’s done this season to deserve it?  Must have been fairly banging the goals in at Luton. 

JFC. He played ****ing different players just not the one(s) you wanted him to! He is giving chances, just not a big enough chance to the specific one you wanted him to!! Qualifying was all important. Only thing that mattered. Since then we've suffered significant injuries to key players and some guys have been given the chance. As I and others have repeatedly explained, Brown was given the chance as he is a similar player to Adams than Shankland is and that type of forward (not striker) is the way Clarke has successfully put our team together. He wanted to take a look at him from the start, his first start!  Shankland took his limited chance the best he could and came out of the situation ahead of Brown. We now move onto March. Hopefully we'll be more or less full strength which won't make you happy as fewer peripheral players will get game time. But such is life. I'm out. 

Posted
24 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

JFC. He played ****ing different players just not the one(s) you wanted him to! He is giving chances, just not a big enough chance to the specific one you wanted him to!! Qualifying was all important. Only thing that mattered. Since then we've suffered significant injuries to key players and some guys have been given the chance. As I and others have repeatedly explained, Brown was given the chance as he is a similar player to Adams than Shankland is and that type of forward (not striker) is the way Clarke has successfully put our team together. He wanted to take a look at him from the start, his first start!  Shankland took his limited chance the best he could and came out of the situation ahead of Brown. We now move onto March. Hopefully we'll be more or less full strength which won't make you happy as fewer peripheral players will get game time. But such is life. I'm out. 

Thank ****!  At least you can get back to your day job of frothing at Naismith again on Saturday!  This brown nosing really doesn’t suit you! 

Posted
29 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Thank ****!  At least you can get back to your day job of frothing at Naismith again on Saturday!  This brown nosing really doesn’t suit you! 

I'll accept the W regardless of the insults! :sweeet:

When Hearts get their collective act together as much as Scotland have, in recent times, I'll be as thrilled as anyone. In the meantime I'll continue to be honest about both setups.

One things for sure, if Steve Clarke had this Hearts squad this season, we'd finish 15pts clear in 3rd. It remains to be seen seen whether Naismith or his successor manage us to be best of the rest. Here's hoping though 😉

Posted

So Shankland with another goal on Saturday.

Brown with a winner for Luton.

2 for Dykes last night for QPR.

And a Nisbet goal for Millwall off the bench tonight.

With Doak predicted to start for Liverpool tomorrow!