Naismith, Forrest and McAvoy to end of the season ( updated/merged )

Thomaso

• Replies 1.7k

• soonbe110

• Fozzyonthefence

• Thomaso

Just now, Jambo-Fox said:

There’s only one Neil Lennon …. just saying … 😜 

He is going back to Hibs I'm guessing 

3 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Why? In all seriousness, why would Hearts sack Robbie and appoint Naismith until the end of the season? What is the logic here? 

Unless we already have someone lined up which I doubt we all know how long it takes Hearts to get a man in, invite applications, interviews, shortlists etc.

Not much of the season to go, we can't be rudderless when we need 3rd and even more so with a derby this weekend, hence Naisy in short term seems a good call.

1 minute ago, Vic Vespa said:

Unless we already have someone lined up which I doubt we all know how long it takes Hearts to get a man in, invite applications, interviews, shortlists etc.

Not much of the season to go, we can't be rudderless when we need 3rd and even more so with a derby this weekend, hence Naisy in short term seems a good call.

Yup

ViewfromtheEast
2 minutes ago, brux said:

He is going back to Hibs I'm guessing 

I effing wish. 

10 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Why? In all seriousness, why would Hearts sack Robbie and appoint Naismith until the end of the season? What is the logic here? 

The logic is the fans have totally turned against Neilson and he was a lost boy sitting in the dug out as he was schooled by Robinson on the touchline.

Playing one man up front and leaving Shankland in total isolation was a farce and Grant playing out on the wide left was ridiculous! The players have obviously lost confidence in Neilson and themselves and something radical had to be done to save our season.

The obvious choice as interim coach is Steven Naismith who knows the game at the highest level, is a winner, and won’t accept lack of effort on the park!

We may get a lift from his appointment - if we don’t we can’t get any worse!

Edited by Thomaso

10 minutes ago, Djnoisy said:

McAvoy would be favourite to get the nod with Naismith as his assistant.  

What's he done to deserve it though? 

5 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Probably looked at how it panned out for Aberdeen unless they have someone else lined up but I doubt that.  Why would you sack Goodwin for someone that has never managed?    Same argument.  

It was obvious for virtually everyone after yesterday that Robbie can’t turn this around.  He’d lost the players and we had no chance of 3rd even though it is still in our hands.  Hopefully it isn’t too late, whoever is at stake. 

5 minutes ago, ViewfromtheEast said:

I effing wish. 

I don’t! Scotland does not need that inflammatory arsehole back in our football or our streets!

Edited by Thomaso

ViewfromtheEast
1 minute ago, Thomaso said:

I don’t! Scotland does not need that inflammatory arsehole back in our football or our streets!

I'd take him until the end of the season. But I'd take just about anyone right now. First we have to do the right thing, as your board have done. 

Luckies1874
14 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

The honest answer is that the good results masked some pretty poor performances. Wins were dug out by a combination of individual brilliance, luck and the opposition fluffing their chances.

Whisper it but Hibs played us off the park in the second half of both our latest 3-0 wins with our late goals glossing over our 90 minute performances!

Mention that and you’re branded a Hibee or you get the “I don’t give a feck if we win” macho comment.

But if we are honest these poor performances were always going to bite back at us sometime and here we are in total collapse!

Removing Neilson is the first step to arresting that collapse and hopefully the players will respond to the more aggressive and positive coaching of the interim coach/Naismith.

Certainly I feel the fans will pitch up at ER in a more positive mood now that Neilson has gone.

👍 all of this. Yesterday's result had been coming as there is only so long you can ride your luck. The warning signs have been there for quite some time. I think both fans and board alike hoped we could rekindle things with a couple of home matches but the manner of yesterday's capitulation made things untenable. The reaction at full time form this that even remained gave them little choice before things got nasty. As I've been saying for months nobody should underestimate the 5 million quid that is at stake over the next 6 weeks. The board have now shown that it is imperative to their plans as well. 

Edited by Luckies1874

Borders Jambo
1 minute ago, Thomaso said:

The logic is the fans have totally turned against Neilson and he was a lost boy sitting in the dug out as he was schooled by Robinson on the touchline.

Playing one man up front and leaving Shankland in totally isolation was a farce and Grant playing out on the wide left was ridiculous! The players have obviously lost confidence in Neilso and themselves and something radical had to be done to save our season.

The obvious choice as interim coach is Steven Naismith who knows the game at the highest level, is a winner, and won’t accept lack of effort on the park!

I hope you are right but I suspect its too early for Naismith.

I do wonder if Robinson or McInnes are earmarked for us.

6 minutes ago, ViewfromtheEast said:

I'd take him until the end of the season. But I'd take just about anyone right now. First we have to do the right thing, as your board have done. 

I have supported Hearts through thick and thin for over 50 years - if Lennon appeared at Tynecastle I would not be back until he was gone!

6 minutes ago, Borders Jambo said:

We will never get Robinson or McInnes at this late stage of the season -

we need an interim coach until the end of the season and that will be Naismith.

13 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

What's he done to deserve it though? 

He's managed at a higher level than Naismith and works within the club. 😳

ViewfromtheEast
6 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

I have supported Hearts through thick and thin for over 50 years - if Lennon appeared at Tynecastle I would not be back until he was gone!

Um, I'm a Hibby. 

22 minutes ago, ViewfromtheEast said:

I effing wish. 

who needs that ******* back in the Scottish game?

ViewfromtheEast
3 minutes ago, Ked said:

Do you really?

Dropped hibs like a hot tattie last time.

Agreed but needs must. Prefer Robinson tbh. Just someone that can put out the right team and play players in their correct position. And motivate them 

30 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Wait to see who's available 🤔 

12 minutes ago, William H. Bonney said:

I wouldn't be adverse to seeing robbo in charge til the end of the season. 

I'd love it if it worked out.

But a big no for me.

I'd end up scrapping with Hearts supporters if it went badly.

ViewfromtheEast
1 minute ago, jr ewing said:

Wait to see who's available 🤔 

Lee Johnson shortly, with any luck. Had the Hearts connection, you know it makes sense. 😁

Edited by ViewfromtheEast

1 minute ago, ViewfromtheEast said:

Lee Johnson shortly, with any luck. Had the Hearts connection, you know it makes sense. 😁

Sergio for me ❤️ 

8 minutes ago, Djnoisy said:

He's managed at a higher level than Naismith and works within the club. 😳

So has Gary Locke, doesn't mean he should be the manager. 

6 minutes ago, ViewfromtheEast said:

Um, I'm a Hibby. 

Figures 😏

ViewfromtheEast
Just now, Cruyff said:

:rofl:imagine. 

He's doing quite well at Fleetwood, and is actually a very good guy. I'd take him at Hibs right now. 

Just now, ViewfromtheEast said:

He's doing quite well at Fleetwood, and is actually a very good guy. I'd take him at Hibs right now. 

🤣 you would take everyone mentioned on here by the looks of it

20 minutes ago, Borders Jambo said:

I ****ing hope not.

Would be pish poor and no form of upgrade whatsoever 

Just now, R9. said:

Oooft with some money to spend which he never got in 12.

And the Portuguese Market to dabble in. Win 🏆 

McAvoy and Naismith until end of the season for me.

Very left field - Clarke until end of the season 😆. To be fair no games until June…

Class of 75
3 minutes ago, ViewfromtheEast said:

Yep, that Hibs, but this is Hearts we are talking about. 

Big Dunc fae Forrest Green! Nae **** and I mean nae ***** in that team would say boo to him. He would sort that lot of shite out right away!

4 minutes ago, ViewfromtheEast said:

If I was a Hibs fan I'd want Brown but he could never be Hearts manager 

46 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

The logic being that the players aren’t playing for him

Just now, chazza74 said:

The logic being that the players aren’t playing for him

Serious logic game there pal, well played. 

39 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

Now where have I heard this before? 🤡🤡🤡

48 minutes ago, Hearts007 said:

Unless they have someone lined up to step right in?

Which you'd hope would be the case. Otherwise they have pandered to halfwits. 

1 minute ago, Weakened Offender said:

Neilson is shite, hope this helps 

you mean fans that wanted him gone?

2 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Or realised his time was up, lost the dressing room, can’t buy a win or a performance, etc. 

Probably not the place for you tonight if you can’t handle this with any dignity and resort to your usual personal abuse. 

Just now, Weakened Offender said:

Well spotted. 

well we will just have to wait till end of season to see if their judgement was wrong

Now where have I heard this before? 🤡🤡🤡

Now sure what the clown stuff is all about?

We have lost our last 5 games, lost 13 goals and scored 2, and our first team coach had completely lost the plot - how can it get much worse than that ffs!

• davemclaren changed the title to Naismith, Forrest and McAvoy to end of the season ( updated/merged )