***Official FC Zurich v Heart of Midlothian ko 18:00 - Match Thread***

10 minutes ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said:

Thanks for pointing this out RT

I usually check the fixture list on the Hearts website but they have it wrongly listed as 7pm

It’s not wrong. It is at 7pm CET but they could have said 6pm (7pm CET). 

Sorry to be pedantic. 

• Replies 2.6k

• pettigrewsstylist

• Watt-Zeefuik

• Naisys Tackle

• neilnunb

Sub4TiddlerMurray
Just now, PaddysBar said:

It’s not wrong. It is at 7pm CET but they could have said 6pm (7pm CET). 

Sorry to be pedantic. 

11 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Interesting to note he’s picked up on Neilson’s tendency to tweak mid game.

Fair point. Doesn't always work and is often used as a criticism but it worked well against utd at the weekend.  Really fancy our chances tomorrow.  Its great to have a style of play they have to adapt to that isn't classically Scottish 'long ball big physical team'.. 

1 minute ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said:

I’m just gutted I’ll only be able to watch the first half as my son is playing tomorrow night at 7:30pm. 

I’ll be cheering him on with the second half on my phone 😀

12 minutes ago, Aaron78 said:

Starting to feel confident,  particularly after this comment from the Zurich manager. Long ball team?  Bash on with preparing for that.... 

Screenshot_20220817_213838_uk.co.bbc.android.sportdomestic.jpg

Their gaffer is partially correct.

Whenever we are put under any sort of pressure we generally lack composure and look to play more direct to try and get ourselves up the park

There's a chance he's only watched videos of our games against the tims or sevco where we've struggled in possession.

Midloth_Iain

BBC with their usual quality stats yet again.

Clueless .... :bwcornette:

Match stats

• Zurich won the Swiss title for the 13th time last season and dropped down to the Europa League after losing to Qarabag in the Champions League qualifiers, while Hearts qualified by finishing third in the Scottish Premiership.
  • Hearts have twice before faced Swiss opposition - losing to both Lausanne-Sport in the 1963-64 Fairs Cup and Basel in their only appearance in a European group stage, the 2004-05 Uefa Cup.

7 minutes ago, Midloth_Iain said:

BBC with their usual quality stats yet again.

Clueless .... :bwcornette:

Match stats

• Zurich won the Swiss title for the 13th time last season and dropped down to the Europa League after losing to Qarabag in the Champions League qualifiers, while Hearts qualified by finishing third in the Scottish Premiership.
  • Hearts have twice before faced Swiss opposition - losing to both Lausanne-Sport in the 1963-64 Fairs Cup and Basel in their only appearance in a European group stage, the 2004-05 Uefa Cup.

That’s shocking - should be a story in itself that the last time we played there our current manager scored the winner ffs. 

2 minutes ago, King prawn said:

That’s shocking - should be a story in itself that the last time we played there our current manager scored the winner ffs. 

Embarrassing journalism. 

Naisys Tackle
48 minutes ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said:

Thanks for pointing this out RT

I usually check the fixture list on the Hearts website but they have it wrongly listed as 7pm

Welcome mate.  Mon the JTs. 

Naisys Tackle
15 minutes ago, King prawn said:

First british team to beat them too at a time they where class. 

7 minutes ago, Robbies Tackle said:

First british team to beat them too at a time they where class. 

Was a great trip. Some amount of beer consumed😀🍻

bobby bombscare
On 15/08/2022 at 07:58, indianajones said:

Wonder what Hibs are doing on Thursday night? 

:jj:

Ohh what a night

Playing in europe on a Thursday night 

Hibs in bed because they're f***** 💩

Naisys Tackle
1 minute ago, PaddysBar said:

Was a great trip. Some amount of beer consumed😀🍻

Lucky lad.  Prague was my first trip :) 

Naisys Tackle
Just now, bobby bombscare said:

Ohh what a night

Playing in europe on a Thursday night 

Hibs in bed because they're f***** 💩

Needs to be "sight" for tune perfection. 

Trying to record the game tomorrow night as I have to put the kids to bed during the match...and freeview only allows me to record from 7pm as it claims the channel is 'off-air' until then.

:muggy: 

31 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

BBC scum, british bheast corporation

Shouldn't have given them this game to broadcast

Who shouldn't have given them it?

Rocky jamboa
5 minutes ago, Gershwin said:

Trying to record the game tomorrow night as I have to put the kids to bed during the match...and freeview only allows me to record from 7pm as it claims the channel is 'off-air' until then.

Mines lets me record from 5.45 but it says its dundee utd v alkmaar! 😂 so amateurish. That's on Virgin. 

9 minutes ago, Gershwin said:

I've informed the wife about the new legislation that excuses the Hearts Da's from bedtime on a Europa League night. Hopefully the wee one wants to watch the game with her old man and then just falls asleep... 

6 minutes ago, Gershwin said:

You could watch on the iPlayer instead, just scrub back in time. But better to stream on your phone so you don't miss anything for a short bit, hard to avoid spoilers/notifications these days.

1 hour ago, Led Tasso said:

So the Zurich manager wants to play with belief, and try to press the life out of us from the start? :lol:

We will ****ing scud them.

He’s being reading Bongo’s tactical manual. 

1 hour ago, Aaron78 said:

Starting to feel confident,  particularly after this comment from the Zurich manager. Long ball team?  Bash on with preparing for that.... 

Screenshot_20220817_213838_uk.co.bbc.android.sportdomestic.jpg

Boyce is frequently singled out by opposition managers for praise and as a danger 

Completley contradicts the Boyce Boo boys on here. 

1 hour ago, Led Tasso said:

I haven't had luck with this in the past, but I'll give it another go.

I've just started using Mullvad VPN, seems solid so far, and fairly straightforward to set-up & use. Good luck anyway!

18 minutes ago, Rocky jamboa said:

Mines lets me record from 5.45 but it says its dundee utd v alkmaar! 😂 so amateurish. That's on Virgin. 

SNAP, can't believe I've got my fridge filled up with beers for a Dundee Utd game that's already taken place, not even the same competition ffs🤪

Come on Virgin, get the finger oot

3 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Boyce is frequently singled out by opposition managers for praise and as a danger 

Aye, but I suspect a wee bit of gamesmanship between Robbie and their manager as to what they state publicly and what they are honestly planning for.

2 minutes ago, rmreido said:

SNAP, can't believe I've got my fridge filled up with beers for a Dundee Utd game that's already taken place, not even the same competition ffs🤪

:oohmatron:

• davemclaren changed the title to ***Official FC Zurich v Heart of Midlothian ko 18:00 - Match Thread***
2 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Aye, but I suspect a wee bit of gamesmanship between Robbie and their manager as to what they state publicly and what they are honestly planning for.

Nah,  not in regards to Boyce he's often mentioned. 

I think our own McKay praised him as well. 

Pundits mention him as well. 

He's clearly rated,  except on here!

2 minutes ago, rmreido said:

You are clearly in some sort of Red Dwarf type space-time continuum split.

You've already drank the Dun U beers, got merry; and are about to drink them all over again.

It's going to do your nut in. 😁

39 minutes ago, Gershwin said:

Don’t be a ‘bad dad’ let the kids stay up for this one! It will be finished at 7:45pm they’ll be in bed by 8!!

♥️♥️♥️♥️

1 minute ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Nah,  not in regards to Boyce he's often mentioned. 

I think our own McKay praised him as well. 

Pundits mention him as well. 

He's clearly rated,  except on here!

I think he is a vital part of our system and I'd definitely have him in my first XI.

But I also think his first touch and passing are shocking at times. 

4 minutes ago, Bauld said:

:oohmatron:

I just double checked the BBC Scotland (Scotland) HD page as I have Virgin Media (Channel 108) and mine shows the correct details, programme start time17:45, match FC Zurich v HMFC

1 hour ago, Ccjambo1874 said:

Been told it's definitely three at the back tomorrow. 

Was hoping not so.

Sadly I won’t be able to watch the match live due to a pre-existing commitment I can’t re-arrange. 🥸

However, I have it set to record for later. 😎

37 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

My hibs cousin hates him, says he makes us tick.

It's not how I see him myself, but you have to listen when hibs hate one of your players, he's doing something right.

19 minutes ago, Bauld said:

My son is demanding I finish work early so we can watch it.

Good enough excuse for me.

4.45pm finish it is. :biggrin2:

Good lad, someone deserves a junior beer

Considering where we were not long ago compared to now is incredible. Feels like the night before Christmas. Buzzing for this game and the players look very happy in the videos to be there.

Good times.

I’m easy about 3 at the back away from home in Europe.

Generally speaking we tend to control possession better in a 3-4-3.

2 hours ago, Ccjambo1874 said:

Been told it's definitely three at the back tomorrow. 

Three at the back is usually to cover someone who isn’t very good…who are we playing in the three I wonder..

I don’t know what to expect tomorrow at all. 
I think we’re decent and that tends to make me drift into silly territory😂

26 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Sadly I won’t be able to watch the match live due to a pre-existing commitment I can’t re-arrange. 🥸

However, I have it set to record for later. 😎

The chances of you making it home without inadvertantly finding out the score are 1000 to 1.

3 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

The chances of you making it home without inadvertantly finding out the score are 1000 to 1.

A touch of the Likely Lads I fear. 

3 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Which one are you?

Rodney Bewes or James Bolam? 🙃

Pleading the fifth amendment. 

1 hour ago, rmreido said:

Looks like i made a "James Hunt" of that.

:hartley:

James Hunt was a nice bloke; most people are switching to James Blunt these days 😄