What is woke and how does it impact you?

4 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Cancel culture in action

Free speech is only free speech, when it's something they believe in. Otherwise... 

The far right are the best thing ever for Scottish independence. It used to be English nationalism, but now the nat-cs have appeared, labour are now the the Tories, the Tories the BNP. Totally bliss. 

They've robbed and continue to rob us all blind and all they can turn their anger to, is the possibility Murrell has stolen  from the independence kitty(Donations, not taxpayers money) Which he hasn't. 

Bring on the next GE, it's gonnae be hilarious.

• Replies 1.5k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Unknown user

• Dawnrazor

• il Duce McTarkin

1 hour ago, Jeffros Furios said:

I'm very woke .

I'm fairly woke but I could do with a coffee

Bret the Hitman Hearts

Woke, to me, is when the truth doesn't suit the narrative. So instead of the objective truth, we end up with a warped reality. Feelings over facts essentially.

I just say it as it is. 

But I could say I need more of something imo, just to make it look that I don't, but I actually do.

On 18/05/2023 at 11:07, tian447 said:

I'd never buy it because it's absolute shite, not because of any other reason :thumbsup: 

Be better off with this stuff:

image50.jpg

is that 2% volume, better wi a glass of coke. 

12 hours ago, Bret the Hitman Hearts said:

Woke, to me, is when the truth doesn't suit the narrative. So instead of the objective truth, we end up with a warped reality. Feelings over facts essentially.

So when these MAGA ****tards are on about trump winning the election, which he clearly didn't, that's woke?

Calls to remove Of Mice and Men from GCSE curriculum because it contains racial slurs. 

****ing boring honestly. 

The lassie leading the charge supposedly didn't pick it at A-level because of that book...away yi go. 

Edited by BlueRiver

3 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

Calls to remove Of Mice and Men from GCSE curriculum because it contains racial slurs. 

****ing boring honestly. 

The lassie leading the charge supposedly didn't pick it at A-level because of that book...away yi go. 

Just use a better version and if people want to read the original in their own time, that's up to them.

4 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

****ing boring honestly. 

This is the kind of rubbish that's turned woke from basically being a decent human into being shorthand for screeching attention seeking morons.

Imo.

9 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

****ing boring honestly. 

The fact that racial slurs exist in the book creates debate on the issue and provides some useful historical perspective, leading on naturally to the discussion of the modern manifestation of racism. The lass in question has taken advantage of the book's existence on the curriculum in order to correctly highlight such racism, but then wants to remove it from said curriculum so that no-one else will have that ready opportunity to do so in the future.

We can't expurgate the past, we can only strive to ensure that the past actually stays in the past, and a very good way of doing that is for society to remain conscious of how things used to be. And no better place to form such consciousness and have such debate than in a scholarly environment as we grow and develop our attitudes and mores.

I'm a left-winger and hate terms such as woke and "cancel culture", but this is definitely one case where I will make an exception.

9 hours ago, redjambo said:

The fact that racial slurs exist in the book creates debate on the issue and provides some useful historical perspective, leading on naturally to the discussion of the modern manifestation of racism. The lass in question has taken advantage of the book's existence on the curriculum in order to correctly highlight such racism, but then wants to remove it from said curriculum so that no-one else will have that ready opportunity to do so in the future.

We can't expurgate the past, we can only strive to ensure that the past actually stays in the past, and a very good way of doing that is for society to remain conscious of how things used to be. And no better place to form such consciousness and have such debate than in a scholarly environment as we grow and develop our attitudes and mores.

I'm a left-winger and hate terms such as woke and "cancel culture", but this is definitely one case where I will make an exception.

Good post.

15 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Just use a better version and if people want to read the original in their own time, that's up to them.

There is no better version.

There is one version.

The book is not in itself racist.

if she cannot see that then maybe she should avoid the subject .

Offended by an anti racist book.

Perhaps she should be campaigning against hip hop / rap due to the gratuitous use of racial slurs if that word upsets her so much no matter what the context.

It's fascinating watching TV shows and films from the 70s and seeing g the contrast from today. Whether it be lifestyles like smoking or attitudes like homophobia or casual  racism. It's a window into our past and certainly worth looking back at. 

52 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Oh look, they're coming for James

5 hours ago, Smithee said:

Oh look, they're coming for James

Where is James? Maybe they've already got him.

On 27/05/2023 at 07:25, Dirk McTarkin said:

Where is James? Maybe they've already got him.

“ how about it , you creeps , lunatics , mental defectives . Let’s hear it for JudyJudyJudy back in Action “

Couple vegan lesbians and a drag queen hitting some home truths on the issue of why there are now “ boycotts “ etc 

well said ladies 

47 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

“ how about it , you creeps , lunatics , mental defectives . Let’s hear it for JudyJudyJudy back in Action “

Aw ffs it had been quiet as well 😄🤣

2 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

3 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

image-23-10-21-06-58-14.gif

That’s how to deal with those nippy white , over privledged c### well done those scaffolders 

👍😂

, whiter 

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

That’s how to deal with those nippy white , over privledged c### well done those scaffolders 

👍😂

, whiter 

I'm on the side of JSO, tbh.

Never met a scaffolder with more than two brain cells either, tbqfhwy.

12 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Yep, my brother in law's a master scaffolder, he can run up an estimate in his head but he's still qanon.

This story definitely goes under the Everything I Don't Like Is Woke column by the way!

4 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Yep, my brother in law's a master scaffolder, he can run up an estimate in his head but he's still qanon.

You ever seen a squad of scaffolders scrapping?

Terrifying and impressive in equal measure.

I was being flippant, btw, I do know a few smart ones, but they're generally not the ones chucking the tubes about on a daily basis.

8 minutes ago, Smithee said:

This story definitely goes under the Everything I Don't Like Is Woke column by the way!

I'm not really seeing the connection between JSO and 'woke' at all, tbh.

1 minute ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

I was being flippant, btw, I do know a few smart ones, but they're generally not the ones chucking the tubes about on a daily basis.

Nope but I've seen him lift a guy up one handed by the throat. He paid up.

34 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

I’m just jealous really . No been manhandled by a scaffolder for a couple months 

16 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

I'm not really seeing the connection between JSO and 'woke' at all, tbh.

I couldn’t find another thread to put it on but seemed slightly more appropriate, as some might describe the protestors as “ woke” 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

15 minutes ago, Ked said:

What?

All these cranky oul' gits salivating at the prospect of young protesters being told where to get off by thugs.

30 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

All these cranky oul' gits salivating at the prospect of young protesters being told where to get off by thugs.

“ thugs “ ??? Don’t you mean  decent hard working class guys and not the privledged pounces “ demonstrating” because they don’t work cause rhetoric are loads or doing a pish awful degree at Uni ? As far as I can see the scaffolders are mosh as young as the “ protestors” so are they cranky oul gits? 

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

8 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

“ thugs “ ??? Don’t you mean  decent hard working class guys and not the privledged pounces “ demonstrating” because they don’t work cause rhetoric are loads or doing a pish awful degree at Uni ? As far as I can see the scaffolders are mosh as young as the “ protestors” so are they cranky oul gits? 

No, I mean thugs.

17 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Anyway, like I said, I wonder if it's an age thing.

I suspect he's always been like this :whistling:

Just now, Smithee said:

I suspect he's always been like this :whistling:

Sorry, Smithee, I'm not referring to any one person here, and in this case I don't think it's fair to do so.

I don't mean to be a smart-arse on a Friday night, but I'm not wondering about individuals at all.  I'm asking if the extent to which some people on this forum are getting their rocks off from watching a bunch of vigilante wankers acting the heavy against these protesters is an age thing.  They might not have any sympathy for their aims.  They might not like their methods.  But are they really so messed up in the head that they enjoy seeing yobbos throwing their weight around in response to them?  Or is it just that they're past it now and forget what it was like to be younger and give a shit about stuff in the way that the protesters do, even if they are a bit young and daft.

19 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

👍😂

, whiter 

Why? 

Folk need to stop reading newspapers and listening to the UK government and concentrate on what actually hurts them. Like cost of living, energy prices, inflation, Tory policies, Tax cuts for the rich, drug abuse, alcohol abuse, and burning fossil fuels. But no, they are on the side of the bandits, cause the media has hammered it into them, that folk like JSO are the enemy within. 

Hopefully this happens when a crowd of folk who are anti thugs is about and cave their heads in with hammers, like tradesmen on a building site.  

I take it it's women and old folk these hard Men are attacking for what?  

Fingers crossed for you James, they turn their attention to the part of the LGBTQ community you don't like. 🤞👍

9 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Röhm's brownshirts were fairly popular amongst those of more advanced years iirc.

I don't normally like Ri's posts but his point is well made. It 's not so funny when the mob turn on you. 

I'm not particularly supportive of the methods of Just Stop Oil but our society is enabling a filthy rich elite to literally rape the planet and charge the plebs for the privilege. We are sleep walking into a disaster. 

12 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

I don't normally like Ri's posts but his point is well made. It 's not so funny when the mob turn on you. 

I'm not particularly supportive of the methods of Just Stop Oil but our society is enabling a filthy rich elite to literally rape the planet and charge the plebs for the privilege. We are sleep walking into a disaster. 

They've convinced us that it's what we want, that it's for our own good, and that we can't live without it.

12 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Nah I'm early 30s and quite enjoy it too. 

Again I don't disagree with their message, I just think they're a ****ing nuisance that are about as much help as a chocolate teapot for winning hearts and minds. Quite honestly wonder if they do more harm than good overall re. the cause they're passionate about. 

10 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Sorry, Smithee, I'm not referring to any one person here, and in this case I don't think it's fair to do so.

Ouch 😂 well said

Have any of you changed a single thing you do in your daily lives on account of the JSO protests? 

Or considered joining to add your voice to the growing outrage about the impending climate disaster? 

Not seeing it. 

So really - what are JSO achieving beyond annoying people? Too often they're the focus of the story due to their methods rather than their cause.  I don't even know their overall position? Are they for stopping it all tomorrow and the societal collapse that comes with it? Are they for a slow phasing out as we look for alternatives? Tbh they're so off-putting I don't even care to go look. 

I don't mean to be a smart-arse on a Friday night, but I'm not wondering about individuals at all.  I'm asking if the extent to which some people on this forum are getting their rocks off from watching a bunch of vigilante wankers acting the heavy against these protesters is an age thing.  They might not have any sympathy for their aims.  They might not like their methods.  But are they really so messed up in the head that they enjoy seeing yobbos throwing their weight around in response to them?  Or is it just that they're past it now and forget what it was like to be younger and give a shit about stuff in the way that the protesters do, even if they are a bit young and daft.

Yes. 

Overall though not getting your point Uly. Often with these XR and JSO protests it's a bunch of rich retirees gluing their arses to roads. It's not always this young vs old thing. 

Edited by BlueRiver

It’s a mixture of being older , and grumpy and impatient I feel . I do acknowledge that . The protestors should be targeting the CEO etc of the corporations Govts etc which are causing the climate problem , not working men and women trying to earn their brass 

2 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Have any of you changed a single thing you do in your daily lives on account of the JSO protests? 

Or considered joining to add your voice to the growing outrage about the impending climate disaster? 

Not seeing it. 

So really - what are JSO achieving beyond annoying people? Too often they're the focus of the story due to their methods rather than their cause.  I don't even know their overall position? Are they for stopping it all tomorrow and the societal collapse that comes with it? Are they for a slow phasing out as we look for alternatives? Tbh they're so off-putting I don't even care to go look. 

True . It only irritates people mostly . 

Just now, JudyJudyJudy said:

True . It only irritates people mostly . 

It irritates me as well because I'm a bit of an eco warrior, quinoa muncher and you just end up all tarred with the big brush. I see how little folk even care to engage now and a lot of the time they bring up these ****wits. 

Finally watched the video expecting some kind of thuggish beat down. Disappointed. 

Bunch of young guys push a bunch of young guys off the road. Nothing you don't see every weekend when an overrefreshed gentleman is being escorted to the door of the establishment. 

Edited by BlueRiver