Is there anything in politics more shit than the Labour Party?

Ulysses

• Replies 3.7k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Gundermann

• ri Alban

• BlueRiver

4 hours ago, BlueRiver said:

What's wrong with the union flag? 

Other parties give conferences surrounded by flags. 

If you think BNP anytime you see a union flag that's on you. 

I was quoting the Labour member who wrote in the Guardian today. Shouldn't Labour fly a red flag? Do they still sing about it?

4 hours ago, Victorian said:

This and other posts are spot on.  The excuses are running out to fail to vote for Labour and at least the hope and chance of some change for the better.  The excuses are running out that Labour stand for nothing and have offered no policies.

The fact that Labour are not offering unrealistically instant and radical change is exactly why they should be voted in.  When nobody expects it possible to achieve instant and radical change,  what use is another party who proposes instant and radical change?  No use whatsoever.  We've had 13 years of increasingly preposterous,  lying ****pigs offering what they are incapable of delivering and/or have no intention of doing so.

Not here. I think a strong SNP/ pro-independence showing in Scotland is necessary to stop Labour from going all-out Ukip. Last time we had a Labour govt, it took us into an illegal war. This Tory govt in heinous but still Starmer can't bring himself to oppose or promise to reverse most, if any, of the right-wing wet dreams the Tories are foisting on us.

Sure, the SNP aren't perfect but there's nothing in Labour that resonates with me: old socialist policies ditched, xenophobic policies adopted and wrapping themselves up in the Union Flag. No thanks.

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Fairly polished top line stuff from Keith and the gang

Trying to polish the turd over Scotland though. 

They offer the same as the Tories for Scotland. SFA! All the same down there! How do we shaft Scotland and make them think we're great for them? Usual propaganda. GTF! Sarwar and Murray FO!

I'll have Flynn over any two-faced, backstabbing Labour phony. 

3 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

They offer the same as the Tories for Scotland. SFA! All the same down there! How do we shaft Scotland and make them think we're great for them? Usual propaganda. GTF! Sarwar and Murray FO!

I'll have Flynn over any two-faced, backstabbing Labour phony. 

Not strictly true.

He's 'promised'** to home Great British Energy in Scotland because the sweaties have the 'know how and experience'. In other words we've got all the actual green energy.

** Usual Starmer promise rules apply. 

Edited by The Mighty Thor

Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

Not strictly true.

He's 'promised'** to home Great British Energy in Scotland because the sweaties have the 'know how and experience'. In other words we've the actual green energy.

** Usual Starmer promise rules apply. 

It's Labour! Absolute piffle. Not to be trusted, they just spout enough rubbish so that a lot of thickos vote for them. Haven't even watched any of it just a few headlines.

Have they said they need Scotland's votes to beat the Tories yet? What other condescending claptrap have they said? 

2 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Have they said they need Scotland's votes to beat the Tories yet? What other condescending claptrap have they said? 

They're in the bag.

They won them last week in Rutherglen 👍

Edited by The Mighty Thor

The main difference currently with the Tories is that Sunak can't actually deliver anything because his party is divided and the right wing can stop any major policy which it has.

The overall economic growth plans of Labour, Sunak and Truss aren't actually that much different. They all talk about planning reform for example. But Sunak abandoned his plans because he can't get pass Tory MPs nimbyism. Truss just messed it all up before she had a chance to do anything. But the point of creating a united party was less about getting rid of the Corbyites and much more about a unified policy in first couple of years of Government.

20 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Sarwar and Murray FO!

Not often I agree with you on the political nonsense Roxy (not publicly, anyway), but I share your concerns over those two. 

Couple of shysters, imo.

I watched the Murray one on the Beeb lunchtime news one day doing a total hatchet job on Corbyn, and the cut of his jib has never sat right since then.

'Greasy backstabbing *******', was the phrase that I couldn't get out of my head. Thought Corbyn was a bit of a tit too, fwiw, but I've got even less time for Judas *****.

Edited by il Duce McTarkin

3 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

They're in the bag.

They won them last week in Rutherglen 👍

Arrogant sods. I hope Scotland has better sense but the propaganda will get ramped up and there's enough stupidity around! The SNP better get their act together and challenge them with extreme vigour!

3 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Not often I agree with you on the political nonsense Roxy (not publicly, anyway), but I share your concerns over those two. 

Couple of shysters, imo.

I watched the Murray one on the Beeb lunchtime news one day doing a total hatchet job on Corbyn, and the cut of his jib has never sat right since then. 'Greasy backstabbing *******', was the phrase that I couldn't get out of my head. Thought Corbyn was a bit of a tit too, fwiw, but I've got eveness time for Judas *****.

Murray is one of the worst. I've seen many a Westminster Scot talk our country and its people down but he's a gold medallist! Not to be trusted whatsoever as he'll be behind the scenes trying to do everything to undermine devolution in his capital, London! 

periodictabledancer
24 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

It's Labour! Absolute piffle. Not to be trusted, they just spout enough rubbish so that a lot of thickos vote for them. Haven't even watched any of it just a few headlines.

Is that not what Starmer alluded to when he spouted the ' I always said the journey to Westminster started through Scotland' crap  in the post coital  euphoria of doubling his representation of Scottish MPs ?

15 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Is that not what Starmer alluded to when he spouted the ' I always said the journey to Westminster started through Scotland' crap  in the post coital  euphoria of doubling his representation of Scottish MPs ?

I've not watched any of the shite! I know what's coming and Labour talk the same shite like they always do!

You can bet that puppet Sarwar talked more about the SNP than policies!

The red Tories will win Scotland 
The snp are a spent force here 

the party is over for them 

Cheerie bye don't let the door hit yer erse on the way oot 

1 minute ago, manaliveits105 said:

All to play for bud at Westminster elections, Scotland is a backwater for them and treat you like a dummy. Scottish elections are different! The SNP might be shite but they're no where near Labour shite and that lot would never get my vote again!

7 hours ago, Byyy The Light said:

Bang on the cash mate.

Worst kind of people sitting pointing out what is wrong about everything, criticising, making excuses left right and centre but coming up with no solutions or doing anything to help.  Goes for workplaces and life in general.

Enjoy your walk, you've earned it 😄

Haha, cheers mate, it was great! And I agree, the default position of people these days it to whine & moan without offering any alternative in return. And as I said, I find it incredible that people are so ready to stick the boot on Labour before they've even had the chance to attempt to make the changes they think will make peoples lives better.

As for Starmer, I've a feeling the coverage of him in the media is skewed by the fact he's not a total basket case which is bad for them as it doesn't give them much to feed off - lets face it Bojo, Mad Liz & Rich Boy Sunak are a journalistic & writers dream & they've become inured to that whole style of politics. Going back to a more steady & down to earth political scene really doesn't suit them. 

6 hours ago, Cade said:

Keef is keeping his head down and quietly getting ready for Government.

He's not stooping so low as to fight in the gutter, because that's where the Tories and the Tory-centric mass media live and they'll beat him down there.

After 13 years of various slimebags, idiots and fascists running the gaff, quiet competence would be a refreshing change.

Absolutely spot on. 

2 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

for Starmer, I've a feeling the coverage of him in the media is skewed by the fact he's not a total basket case which is bad for them as it doesn't give them much to feed off - lets face it Bojo, Mad Liz & Rich Boy Sunak are a journalistic & writers dream & they've become inured to that whole style of politics. Going back to a more steady & down to earth political scene really doesn't suit them

U nailed it there 👍

periodictabledancer
39 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Ferries for all and an upgraded A9.

Drug deaths down. 

Cannae wait. 

😀

8 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

All to play for bud at Westminster elections, Scotland is a backwater for them and treat you like a dummy. 

Bang on that target audience IMO

34 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Liking the new Roxy. 😀

Good to see those full of knowledge and wisdom jump on the backtrack bus and now Labour are the second coming. 😂

Nothing new Dazo. I loathe Labour and it's great to get my ire out on them. Tories and Labour are the same to me. Whomever is in power will mess it up!

9 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Nothing new Dazo. I loathe Labour and it's great to get my ire out on them. Tories and Labour are the same to me. Whomever is in power will mess it up!

Labour are sleekit ***** who don’t give a shit about Scotland. You see it and stand by that. Independence supporters now throwing their weight behind labour though.

:qqb006:

1 minute ago, Dazo said:

Labour are sleekit ***** who don’t give a shit about Scotland. You see it and stand by that. Independence supporters now throwing their weight behind labour though.

Are they?

4 minutes ago, Dazo said:

That's the Dazo we love!

I see you've got the shit assumption cannon out this morning 😂

You know who is quietly scuttling in behind the Red Tories petticoats? Tories. People who think they've got something to protect. The kid-on middle classers. They're loving a bit of oleaginous Keith. 

When are you sneaking over?

Westminster is not the legitimate pathway to independence.  The upcoming election is a Westminster election.  The result of the election has a direct and profound effect on all parts of the UK.  Scotland is part of the UK.  It's entirely reasonable to place more importance on shorter term,  national political expediency instead of longer term,  fairly uncertain considerations of independence.

Also available in pop-up book form with optional colourful,  whimsical animal characters.  

Edited by Victorian

Bit on the radio this morning mentioning that Rupert Murdoch's the Times has referred to Starmer as 'an old-school right of centre Tory'.

Dull yin.

13 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Fairly polished top line stuff from Keith and the gang

Trying to polish the turd over Scotland though. 

Stop talking Scotland down 

39 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Westminster is not the legitimate pathway to independence.  The upcoming election is a Westminster election.  The result of the election has a direct and profound effect on all parts of the UK.  Scotland is part of the UK.  It's entirely reasonable to place more importance on shorter term,  national political expediency instead of longer term,  fairly uncertain considerations of independence.

Also available in pop-up book form with optional colourful,  whimsical animal characters.  

Yes. I can see the temptation to use the WM election as a defacto plebiscite on indpendence but there are too many other issues at play, not least the fact that around a third of Labour voters in Scotland are pro-independence.

Better to vote SNP here and let England go Labour otherwise Starmer will just go full Tony Blair on us all. Need to keep that shape shifter in check.

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

Perhaps they are no longer independence supporters. The number of those backing the fantasy will be clear next year but I bet it's less than 45%.

30 minutes ago, TallPaul said:

Perhaps they are no longer independence supporters. The number of those backing the fantasy will be clear next year but I bet it's less than 45%.

We'll find out in 8 days no? 

33 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Yes. I can see the temptation to use the WM election as a defacto plebiscite on indpendence but there are too many other issues at play, not least the fact that around a third of Labour voters in Scotland are pro-independence.

Better to vote SNP here and let England go Labour otherwise Starmer will just go full Tony Blair on us all. Need to keep that shape shifter in check.

Or.. just keeping it much more simple,  if you want shot of the Tories for a chance of something better,  there is only one national alternative.  

Independence is a separate matter.  While we're waiting it's alternative time.

50 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Bit on the radio this morning mentioning that Rupert Murdoch's the Times has referred to Starmer as 'an old-school right of centre Tory'.

Dull yin.

Did they happen to mention Epstein's good pal Mandelson, at all?

1 hour ago, TallPaul said:

Stop talking Scotland down 

The legacy Unionist parties have taken Scotland to a point where talking the country down is a virtual impossibility. 

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

Or.. just keeping it much more simple,  if you want shot of the Tories for a chance of something better,  there is only one national alternative.  

Independence is a separate matter.  While we're waiting it's alternative time.

For this nation, it's not Labour. SNP until something better happens.

Jeremy Corbyn couldn't convince these so-called lefties to support Labour whilst they clung to their centrist SNP. 

They're lost causes. Fortunately many of the other good people of Scotland realise that returning an impotent party to Westminster is utterly pointless. 

22 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Jeremy Corbyn couldn't convince these so-called lefties to support Labour whilst they clung to their centrist SNP. 

They're lost causes. Fortunately many of the other good people of Scotland realise that returning an impotent party to Westminster is utterly pointless. 

Oh i'm not so sure about that. The daft buggers voted for monkeys in red rosettes for 70 years solid and we got Thatcher et al and the socio-economic carnage that ensued. 

Chasing lost causes you say?

28 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Oh i'm not so sure about that. The daft buggers voted for monkeys in red rosettes for 70 years solid and we got Thatcher et al and the socio-economic carnage that ensued. 

Chasing lost causes you say?

You'd know about it. How's indy going? 

How to change the government and ensure nothing changes. A guide for dummies:

Rachel Reeves is repeating Boris Johnson's economic policy - but her guest endorsement was the real surprise

https://news.sky.com/story/rachel-reeves-is-repeating-boris-johnsons-economic-policy-but-her-guest-endorsement-was-the-real-surprise-12981070

Just waiting to see if any Labour avocates here can tell why Bojo's policies are actually good and will be just as good under Labour?

Edited by Gundermann

1 hour ago, BlueRiver said:

You'd know about it. How's indy going? 

We'll see how it goes when Keith appears with a document of inclusivity to appease the sweaties.

He should call it 'The Vow' or something. 

3 hours ago, Gundermann said:

How to change the government and ensure nothing changes. A guide for dummies:

https://news.sky.com/story/rachel-reeves-is-repeating-boris-johnsons-economic-policy-but-her-guest-endorsement-was-the-real-surprise-12981070

Just waiting to see if any Labour avocates here can tell why Bojo's policies are actually good and will be just as good under Labour?

Have the Tories not just been copying the economics part of the Labour manifesto for years anyways?

Tories make all kinds of announcements, then cancel them and enact the Labour policies.

Been this way for ages.