Inflation

jamb0_1874

Jambo-Jimbo
8 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

And bingo here it is.  Two weeks later and on the shelf at Sainsbury over that time it does not look like a can of Heinz soup at £1.70 was bought.  Today the robbers have done what was expected and it is now on sale at the bargain price of £1.50!!  It will be the same tins that were on sale for a pound around mid March.  All they have done is what looks like price rigging to me and this is only an example for one item. 

Labour MP's have been giving the UK Government figures on these types of examples for months now and nada nothing gets done about it even though it is this blatant.  The Minister responsible for Marker Regulation what are they doing?

Absolutely robbing bassas.

A bottle of Rioja in my local co-op was £6.75 one day and £7.75 the next day, with the brand next to it being on special offer and reduced by £1 for 2 or 3 weeks, then it goes back up to £8.

I've noticed what my local co-op does, is to put something up by 40p, then when it doesn't sell reduce it by 25p on sale, which is still dearer than it was previously, robbing c**ts.

• Replies 3k

• ri Alban

• Unknown user

• The Mighty Thor

• JudyJudyJudy

12 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

A bottle of Rioja in my local co-op was £6.75 one day and £7.75 the next day, with the brand next to it being on special offer and reduced by £1 for 2 or 3 weeks, then it goes back up to £8.

I've noticed what my local co-op does, is to put something up by 40p, then when it doesn't sell reduce it by 25p on sale, which is still dearer than it was previously, robbing c**ts.

Hopefully the majority of folk are seeing through these "tricks" and think they might be because supermarkets have been reporting a drop in sales.  However a drop in sales does not mean a drop in profits.  It will be interesting to see how these large supermarket brands present their annual profits.  

18 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

I thought Tesco selling 200g Kenco £6.70. was expensive.

Loclal Scotmid £9.85.

Nescafe gold blend £4 for 200g in Sainsbury's link above

5 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

That’s a really good price.

I used to think going to different shops for a weekly shop was a waste of time.

It certainly makes sense now if you have the time.

41 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Only if you have a nectar card. £8.10 in Sainsburys if you don't have a nectar card.

Tynecastle_Park

My local costcutter (the one near Haymarket) is ridiculous for the sheer obscenity of it's prices.

They tried to charge £35, yes £35 for a a USB cable and plug today.

They always seem to make up the prices as they go along - however, they are 100% taking advantage of the inflation at the moment and completly ripping off people. Makes me really angry.

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Only if you have a nectar card. £8.10 in Sainsburys if you don't have a nectar card.

Aye, but it's a simple process to get one.

2 hours ago, Tynecastle_Park said:

My local costcutter (the one near Haymarket) is ridiculous for the sheer obscenity of it's prices.

They tried to charge £35, yes £35 for a a USB cable and plug today.

They always seem to make up the prices as they go along - however, they are 100% taking advantage of the inflation at the moment and completly ripping off people. Makes me really angry.

£35? 😂 Madness

A sensible price would've been about £7.99

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

I'd imagine folk who drink NGB are unlikely to have evolved beyond living in the constant hope of finding ripped out, moderately stuck together pages of Razzle in bushes, TBF.

Ah, the glory years of softcore pornography. :wub:

Sobering site in Glasgow tonight . Me and my friend left a restaurant after partaking a nice meal . Saw a massive queue of people ahead of us , in line. It was the “ care bus” and it there must have been around 30 metres of various foods on display for the less fortunate to help themselves to . Sad times . What a country . 

6 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Formative experiences that our kids will never enjoy. 

I thought about having a gash mag hunt for my son this year, he's 16 so a bit old for an Easter egg hunt, I was going to hide a Reader's Wives, Club, Escort and a Fiesta around the farm in various stages of "use" from new to old and faded with 11 pages stuck together like a bit of cardboard, I thought he could use it as part of his History O level, the wife didn't think it was a good idea.

4 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Folk who drink Nescafe Gold Blend need their hard drives checked imo. 

Agreed. I've not touched instant coffee in years 

3 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Ah, the glory years of softcore pornography. :wub:

I thought that was the late 90s when Channel 5 were beaming it straight into young lads bedrooms all around the country. 

10 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Back from Spain on Monday. Was 2.85 Euros for a bottle of Rioja in the local store. We just get shafted here. 

8 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Folk who drink Nescafe Gold Blend need their hard drives checked imo. 

Fair comment 

6 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

I thought about having a gash mag hunt for my son this year, he's 16 so a bit old for an Easter egg hunt, I was going to hide a Reader's Wives, Club, Escort and a Fiesta around the farm in various stages of "use" from new to old and faded with 11 pages stuck together like a bit of cardboard, I thought he could use it as part of his History O level, the wife didn't think it was a good idea.

Readers Wives? Your wife didn't think it was a good idea .

Hmm...I wonder why?

Back in the 80s a couple used to drink in our locals. Someone spotted her in in full glory in the Readers Wives.

Never seen them again after that (the couple, I mean):lol:

11 hours ago, jonesy said:

Formative experiences that our kids will never enjoy. 

Razzle girl stack no more…..

a line that would have improved sunshine on leith

14 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Back from Spain on Monday. Was 2.85 Euros for a bottle of Rioja in the local store. We just get shafted here. 

We've got minimum pricing for one thing that sets a baseline price, plus there's import costs associated with it of course. Add in any VAT etc. 

£6-7 isn't that bad for a bottle of wine. Could be cheaper but we'd need to take that up with our countrymen that keep drinking themselves to death and now we can't have nice things. 

4 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

We've got minimum pricing for one thing that sets a baseline price, plus there's import costs associated with it of course. Add in any VAT etc. 

£6-7 isn't that bad for a bottle of wine. Could be cheaper but we'd need to take that up with our countrymen that keep drinking themselves to death and now we can't have nice things. 

I agree but it just shows you what the real cost is...plus folk cant control themselves.

The Spanish seem to drink all day every day but they're just "sipping" and not guzzling so there's that.

11 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

I agree but it just shows you what the real cost is...plus folk cant control themselves.

The Spanish seem to drink all day every day but they're just "sipping" and not guzzling so there's that.

Just wait till the Deposit Return Scheme kicks in (no sure if the wider UK one is slated to include glass mind you) and we can throw some extra pennies on top of it all too. 

Agreed though, the actual content of the bottles true price vs what we end up getting skelped with is mental. 

3 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Just wait till the Deposit Return Scheme kicks in (no sure if the wider UK one is slated to include glass mind you) and we can throw some extra pennies on top of it all too. 

Agreed though, the actual content of the bottles true price vs what we end up getting skelped with is mental. 

What's to stop me buying my wine in England, cheaper and no deposit on top and returning the empties in Scotland for some coin

10 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

What's to stop me buying my wine in England, cheaper and no deposit on top and returning the empties in Scotland for some coin

The amount of effort it would take to get 20p.

12 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I work quite a lot in England and often stock up on the way up the road. Cheaper booze and get cash back on my empties. Beautiful.

20 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Edit: Ah sorry we're talking if it was the UK wide scheme. 

I'd imagine heehaw beyond effort like Smithee says. 

Edited by BlueRiver

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Bar coding on the bottles?

Same for Denmark system where Sweden and them are only a bridge apart.  Swedes come into Denmark with their bottles and same brand available in Denmark.  Danes process their bottles at return point and get credit or cash.  Swedes present their bottles bought in Sweden, nada.  At least that was how it was explained in BBC Scotland last week.

Another monthly victory for government economic policy

BuT wHaT abOoT PrICESiN yOOrUP LikEsY

It's the Tory Weimar Republic

Edited by The Mighty Thor

Here's the figures for yoorup.

The big economies, our peers, don't appear to be suffering the same as we do.

Even that 'backward' economy on our doorstep, Ireland, is performing far better than the UK. 

WorldChampions1902
26 minutes ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

Must be the pay rises we didn't give people.

Given the still well-below inflation pay rises the government has been awarding following the lengthy strikes, this years pay negotiations are gonna be interesting.

Unions “Inflation remains at 10% and you screwed our members with yet another below-inflation pay award last year. We demand 10% just to stand still this year”.

Government, “You got 5% last year, stop being greedy. Here’s 2% which is our best and final offer”.

On 14/04/2023 at 08:33, doctor jambo said:

Possibly, but more suited to Letter from America 😉

On 14/04/2023 at 08:33, doctor jambo said:

Doubler.  😉

Edited by graygo

4 hours ago, jamb0_1874 said:

Aye those pesky immigrants have a lot to answer for!!!! 

Those pesky immigrants that want to come here, find work and pay taxes during a time when we’ve got labour shortages up and down the country!!!

Screw that, let’s just beg pensioners to come out of retirement instead! 🇬🇧

WorldChampions1902
9 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

Those pesky immigrants that want to come here, find work and pay taxes during a time when we’ve got labour shortages up and down the country!!!

Screw that, let’s just beg pensioners to come out of retirement instead! 🇬🇧

Not long till this Junta press-gang’s the lazy spongers back into stacking our supermarket shelves.

BoE expected to raise interest rates again next month. 

Why don’t they realise it’s not people spending surplus money that’s causing this inflation?

47 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Why aren't this government under investigation. They've absolutely destroyed everything.

They are under investigation.

Sturgeon next to be hauled doon the nick 

13 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

They are under investigation.

Sturgeon next to be hauled doon the nick 

Indeed 

Huw Pill, the Bank of England’s chief economist;

“So somehow in the UK, someone needs to accept that they’re worse off and stop trying to maintain their real spending power by bidding up prices, whether higher wages or passing the energy costs through onto customers.

And what we’re facing now is that reluctance to accept that, yes, we’re all worse off, and we all have to take our share.

Instead, people try and pass that cost on to one of our compatriots, and saying ‘we’ll be alright, but they will have to take our share too’.”

“That pass the parcel game that’s going on here….that game is generating inflation, and that part of inflation can persist.”

So there we have it. The Bank of England thinks that the UK should just accept that it's poorer now and shut up.

Edited by Cade

36 minutes ago, Cade said:

“So somehow in the UK, someone needs to accept that they’re worse off and stop trying to maintain their real spending power by bidding up prices, whether higher wages or passing the energy costs through onto customers.

And what we’re facing now is that reluctance to accept that, yes, we’re all worse off, and we all have to take our share.

Instead, people try and pass that cost on to one of our compatriots, and saying ‘we’ll be alright, but they will have to take our share too’.”

“That pass the parcel game that’s going on here….that game is generating inflation, and that part of inflation can persist.”

So there we have it. The Bank of England thinks that the UK should just accept that it's poorer now and shut up.

I get where he's coming from.

I need to accept that I'm going to take a wee bit of a hit to keep myself competitive

Other folk won't and will pass on all their extra costs and then you get the greedy twats who use inflation as an excuse to increase their profit margins 

7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I need to accept that I'm going to take a wee bit of a hit to keep myself competitive

7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Other folk won't and will pass on all their extra costs and then you get the greedy twats who use inflation as an excuse to increase their profit margins 

We call the first lot "people" or "us".

We call the second lot "businesses" or "capitalists"

The second lot rig the game, and hump the first lot sideways and senseless, without as much in return as a ****ing reacharound.  :laugh: :eek: 

2 hours ago, Cade said:

Still doesn't explain how exploiting people with mortgages stops inflation rising. It's a Tory lie. They like to keep us poor and in check.