Inflation

jamb0_1874

2 hours ago, OBE said:

O2, increasing my mobile tariff by 17.3%...of that percentage, they deemed inflation to be 13.4% + 3.9% as per the contract annual increase. Anyone got any spare lube...😥

I thought Brexit was supposed to make it much cheaper.

• Replies 3k

• ri Alban

• Unknown user

• The Mighty Thor

• JudyJudyJudy

periodictabledancer
1 hour ago, theshed said:

Same here with my EE phone and broadband contracts, 

don’t know how they get away with it 

I'm on EE - my £10 monthly contract has gone up to over £13 a month in the couple or three years. It is feckin outrageous and blatant profiteering. The only reason I haven't ditched them is they still honour EU roaming. 

57 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

I'm on EE - my £10 monthly contract has gone up to over £13 a month in the couple or three years. It is feckin outrageous and blatant profiteering. The only reason I haven't ditched them is they still honour EU roaming. 

See if you can switch to smarty, Mrs JJ was paying £10 pm in 2020 and she's still paying £10 now, and can use her phone abroad just like she could before brexit.

2 hours ago, theshed said:

Same here with my EE phone and broadband contracts, 

don’t know how they get away with it 

Cause it's hidden in their T's & C's, just a licence to print money, they shouldn't be allowed to put up prices during a contract period.

1 hour ago, periodictabledancer said:

That’s another joke having to pay when abroad now. 
Ok it might only be £10 more but think how much that must make them with the millions of people who have to take up that offer 

periodictabledancer
14 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

See if you can switch to smarty, Mrs JJ was paying £10 pm in 2020 and she's still paying £10 now, and can use her phone abroad just like she could before brexit.

Will be signing up next month. 

E/Lothian council tax up 7%. Green bin uplift reduced to 3 weeks and an extra charge for brown bin uplift...pay more for less services...Farmers fields will be middens...

On 21/02/2023 at 17:03, periodictabledancer said:

My £10 a month deal with tesco is still £10 a month. I used the roaming in Riga, too. 

Edit, I also have better coverage with tesco. 

Edited by Joey J J Jr Shabadoo

mrmarkus1981_1
15 minutes ago, OBE said:

E/Lothian council tax up 7%. Green bin uplift reduced to 3 weeks and an extra charge for brown bin uplift...pay more for less services...Farmers fields will be middens...

You should be able to opt out, i take loads to the local dump myself. Would happily take it all and save the £240 p/m.

Feckin chancers!!!!!

11 minutes ago, mrmarkus1981_1 said:

You should be able to opt out, i take loads to the local dump myself. Would happily take it all and save the £240 p/m.

Feckin chancers!!!!!

April 2024 for the brown bin charge, opt-out...:thumb:. Astro turf and fences, privet hedge will have to go, sparrows wont be happy...

26 minutes ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

My £10 a month deal with tesco is still £10 a month. I used the roaming in Riga, too. 

I find Tesco pretty good.

£10.50 pm 15GB.

1 minute ago, OBE said:

April 2024 for the brown bin charge, opt-out...:thumb:. Astro turf and fences, privet hedge will have to go, sparrows wont be happy...

We've been paying the brown bin charge for a few years in Edinburgh.

I was moaning about it at first, but you soon realise how much you needed it when they stopped at the start of Covid and the bin strikes.

I'm happy to pay the yearly £35

5 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Food inflation hits 17.1% in the last 4 weeks.

Winning.

:fonzie:

How does that compare with the EU and wider Europe?

5 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Winning.

Everything is wonderful.:10900:

periodictabledancer
7 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Thanks for reminding me to **** EE off. 👍

will-i-am-a-jambo
On 21/02/2023 at 13:51, OBE said:

O2, increasing my mobile tariff by 17.3%...of that percentage, they deemed inflation to be 13.4% + 3.9% as per the contract annual increase. Anyone got any spare lube...😥

That's strange, l got a similar email from them saying it's going up by 13.9% total. My monthly plan of £43 is going up to £50pm. I can't afford that hike as my wages won't be going up by that much! O2 are greedy bar stewards as far as lm concerned. They're justifying by saying it's along with RPI. Luckily my contract runs out in April. They are getting ditched. I'm planning on going to Get Smarty, they are doing a SIM only unlimited data for £15 a month just now. I've no idea if they are any good though?

28 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

They don't half like to take the piss, when they have the chance. 

On 21/02/2023 at 14:28, Dazo said:

That’s a shocker. The rise doesn’t happen till March when inflation could well be below 10%. Profiteering right there. 

i will be bining them for giff gaff. only way they learn.

mrmarkus1981_1

I've said already I'm with Giffgaff, who I'm sure use the O2 network.

So if Giffgaff can charge £10 for 15gb of data, unlimited texts and calls. Then O2 are just chancers!!

8 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

How does that compare with the EU and wider Europe?

Don't know. I don't live in Europe. 

9 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Winning.

It's definitely a lot higher than that.

Some things have doubled in price and loads have went up by about 50%

27 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Aye but whit about yooorup liksey :tlj:

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

😂😂😂😂

Mmm you do live in Europe, though your  geography is even more lacking than your economic knowledge, which I thought was impossible 🤷🏻‍♂️

I was a European citizen once. I really enjoyed it. 

Then some criminals persuaded a load of racists that it wasn't good for us and now I'm not. 

Still we have turnips to eat. Every cloud and that. 

15 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Aye but whit about yooorup liksey :tlj:

Ah I’ve missed the old Thor that only compares us to yoorup when it suits. Welcome back buddy, could to see a fellow hypocrite making a return. 

Just now, Dazo said:

Ah I’ve missed the old Thor that only compares us to yoorup when it suits. Welcome back buddy, could to see a fellow hypocrite making a return. 

I never really want away Dazo. 

Grafting really eats into time on socials but paying the exorbitant food prices* requires a bit of application ☹️

* something yoorup, wibble Putin, Ukraine, definitely not Brexit. 

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I don't live in Europe. 

That's a pity, I'd imagine their food inflation isn't as bad as ours, what with Tories, the Union, and Brexit, etc.

48 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I think so. The price of Wagyu beef, caviar, and truffle is now putting a dent in the weekly food budget.

Only 5.9% inflation in Spain.

Edit, that was for January, 6.1% in February, and around 10% across the EU.

Quite a bit better than here.

Edited by Joey J J Jr Shabadoo

8 hours ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

That's strange, l got a similar email from them saying it's going up by 13.9% total. My monthly plan of £43 is going up to £50pm. I can't afford that hike as my wages won't be going up by that much! O2 are greedy bar stewards as far as lm concerned. They're justifying by saying it's along with RPI. Luckily my contract runs out in April. They are getting ditched. I'm planning on going to Get Smarty, they are doing a SIM only unlimited data for £15 a month just now. I've no idea if they are any good though?

I'm assuming your contract (£43) includes the purchase of the phone?

£43 + 13.9% = £48.97.

£43 + 17.3% = £50.43.

Increase of 17.3% looks to be your increase also, mate!

3 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

That's a pity, I'd imagine their food inflation isn't as bad as ours, what with Tories, the Union, and Brexit, etc.

It's probably not but then again when I'm in Aldi they don't have the price in Berlin or Paris on the shelf ticket for comparison. 

They do seem to have better availability of foodstuffs though, despite it being a bit chilly in Morocco 🤷‍♂️

Might be nothing. 

Just now, The Mighty Thor said:

Oh. 

I've actually edited it. Makes the UK look even worse.

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

Mmm you’re still a European citizen 🤷🏻‍♂️ 

Those evil racists didn’t move us to Africa, as much as it may feel like it at times with the corruption, shortages and mental inflation. 

Brexit is a a ****ing shambles tbh. I think we end up back in via a back door arrangement in the future. Think too many people in power understand the issues. I think it’s the mechanism of all which will prove harder. 

Anyway, apologies for getting in the way of your morning rants 👍

I'm not really.

I went to Tenerife in January and they made me queue up in the non-EU citizen queue. Apparently they think I'm not a European citizen. 

I'm off to Berlin next week and I'll check the situation there and report back. 

29 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

@Dirk McTarkin food inflation is soaring for pretty obvious reasons across the EU and Europe. That said UK  is suffering worse for pretty obvious reasons also. 

I knew that, LBJ. The UK is doing worse than some, better than others, and is somewhere around the European average. The weather in North Africa caused by Brexit and the no vote in 2014 certainly isn't helping our food supplies. Damn that butterfly effect.

26 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Ah I’ve missed the old Thor that only compares us to yoorup when it suits. 

He's like a slightly less nihilistic version of @ri Alban these days. :(

16 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's probably not but then again when I'm in Aldi they don't have the price in Berlin or Paris on the shelf ticket for comparison. 

Not that you'd look anyway, just in case it assuaged your permaseethe an any way. Got to keep that systolic cranked up to the max.

Only Argentina, Russia and Turkey with higher inflation than the UK, across the G20.

5 minutes ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Only Argentina, Russia and Turkey with higher inflation than the UK, across the G20.

Is this inflation across the board, or food inflation specifically? 

15 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

We've been paying the brown bin charge for a few years in Edinburgh.

I was moaning about it at first, but you soon realise how much you needed it when they stopped at the start of Covid and the bin strikes.

I'm happy to pay the yearly £35

Happy to pay, wtf?

Initially, see if you Toony Tits had kicked up ***k, question if we'd be burdened with the same charge...:)

37 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

I knew that, LBJ. The UK is doing worse than some, better than others, and is somewhere around the European average. The weather in North Africa caused by Brexit and the no vote in 2014 certainly isn't helping our food supplies. Damn that butterfly effect.

He's like a slightly less nihilistic version of @ri Alban these days. :(

What have I done 😫

23 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Trippling down I see. 

@Dirk McTarkinmy bad was out a celebratory dinner last night and ended up celebrating too much. Not attuned myself to the subtelties of JKB this morning. First beer(s) of year and currently regretting that decision 😂

:olly: 

I'm off to Gleddoch house for .

will-i-am-a-jambo
1 hour ago, OBE said:

I'm assuming your contract (£43) includes the purchase of the phone?

£43 + 13.9% = £48.97.

£43 + 17.3% = £50.43.

Increase of 17.3% looks to be your increase also, mate!

You're correct, l can't count! Thank you.

39 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

May your drives be long 

Picture the ball as Boris' heid.

2 hours ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Is this inflation across the board, or food inflation specifically? 

I'm assuming the figures don't meet with your agenda?

6 minutes ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

17 minutes ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Don't have one, bud, that's why I was keen on some clerification. Thought you might have some insight. 👍

10 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Don't have one, bud, that's why I was keen on some clerification. Thought you might have some insight. 👍

My insight is, inflation is only higher in countries that are more of a basket case than the UK.