Pro Cycling 2021

Cade

UK Women's Tour cancelled after they couldn't find a sponsor.

Funding gap of around £400,000.

So, no 5-day Tour of Britain for the women this year.

• Replies 1.1k

• Cade

• Tazio

• Greedy Jambo

On 07/03/2023 at 20:06, SecN said:

That is interesting. Not sure if it will make it more or less exciting.

I always enjoy watching the TT specialists showing frustration with the non-specialists when they know they could’ve nailed it. 

A question for those better informed than I...

Would members of a winning TT stage team be able to count themselves as TdF stage winners? Or would it be whomever is 1st over the line? Or is it simply a separate category?

TBH, the final suggestion sounds the most likely to me.

19 minutes ago, Cade said:

Huge crash on the tour of Flanders.

Almost the entire peloton down.

Did I hear correctly that the guy who caused it has been booted?

11 minutes ago, Boof said:

Yep, DQ’d. and quite rightly, idiotic riding. 

17 minutes ago, Boof said:

Aye he got DQ.

Bloody right too, that was crazy.

Some bizarre tactics going on in the race today. The peleton are obviously 100% sure they’re going to catch the breakaway. 

It's been a strange race, with no breakaway even forming until after we hit the first cobbles.

Full gas attack all the way.

Oh shit that was a horrible crash at 71km to go. Riders at full pelt hitting the ground hard with a couple looking in a bad way.

Christ knows how this one finishes. How much has it taken out of Pog and VDP catching the leaders? I’d like Fred Wright to get it but unlikely I’d say. 

1 minute ago, SecN said:

I’ve no access currently to telly viewing. What’s the synopsis?  Finished yet?

Pogacar wins by 15 seconds from MVDP. He took off on a climb and burned everyone apart from VDP who he then burnt off on the next. 

11 minutes ago, Cade said:

Women's Roubaix today, Men's Roubaix tomorrow.

One of the major highlights of the year.

My favourite of any of the one day races. Fingers crossed it’s not decided by punctures or mechanicals. 

Perth to Paisley

It appears I now have Eurosport!

I would really like to understand the politics and tactics of the Pelton.. 

Is there any 'material' I should read/watch first.

Entire books have been written about peloton politics.

The entire thing needs to work together to bring back a breakaway, but at the same time nobody wants to blow themselves up in the effort or to be out of position towards the end of the race.

Teams try to stay together for safety and to work as a unit to gain position or prevent others from taking an advantageous position.

But individuals may work with other individuals from other teams, especially if they're personal friends or ex-team mates.

Those at the front alert those behind to upcoming obstacles or problems.

Generally the peloton will slow down or stop for comfort breaks at the same time, agreed by the riders.

There's plenty of footage from inside the peloton and it's a noisy place, with shouts and chatting everywhere. 

56 minutes ago, Cade said:

2 cobbled sectors in.

Carnage.

It’s dry enough for some riders to get a bit complacent about the cobbles. It’s always going to bite you this race if you’re not 100% switched on for the whole thing. 

The recon during the week was wet and some patches are still muddy.

Sagan's oot due to a crash.

Not the way he'd have wanted to end his final Roubaix.

This is brutal. Could be a day where the commentators talk about how VDP races too much on instinct and power and is a bit tactically naive. 

A total slugfest, and it's brilliant.

No clever tactics going on.

No chess.

No poker bluffing.

Just brutal pedalling action.

Great race but a real shame about the puncture taking away a potential crazy finish. 
On a side note quite the outfit from Orla. 😳

Carrefour de l'Arbre was mental.

Degenkolb hitting the deck, WvA getting a puncture.......everything changed in about two minutes.

Watched Paris-Roubaix in Mallorca this afternoon with a bunch of hardcore Belgiums. They literally cheered like anything when Degonkolb went down. (Bit unsportsmanlike but suppose have seen similarities in other rivalries). The karma was van Aert’s technical. They were quick to disappear when VdP crossed the line. 

Made an interesting and exciting afternoon. 

Pog retires from Liege due to a crash before live pictures are even up

:vrface: Nae Belgian classic treble for Pog this year.

Bad day for Pogacar with it now confirmed as a broken wrist. 

I know he winds some people up but loved Remco’s celebrations on the final run in to the finish. 

Why not gee up the crowd?

He's world champion and winning a classic. If you can't celebrate that, then what can you?

18 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Cycling is dead

Don’t talk shite. It’s healthier than it’s been for a number of years with top riders not just saving themselves for the grand tours. 

Just now, Tazio said:

Don’t talk shite. It’s healthier than it’s been for a number of years with top riders not just saving themselves for the grand tours. 

The top riders quit halfway through the tour de france to do mountain biking

2 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

The top riders quit halfway through the tour de france to do mountain biking

Oh yeah, that’s such a common thing right enough. Dozens of them every year. Or maybe a couple on an olympic year. 

There's lots of riders who do multiple disciplines these days.

Road, track, cyclo cross, single day classics, three week tours, and everything in between.

The calendar is congested as feck and they all have to make choices.

Do some of them use the fist week of a grand tour as training for an upcoming race in another discipline? Yes.

Is that different to sprinters fecking off home as soon as the grand tours hit the mountains? No.

Grand tours have always had riders leaving after their bit is done.

That's how the sport works.

First Grand Tour of the year underway.

Time's flying by this year.

Still not a fan of an individual TT to kick off a GT but it is what it is

1 hour ago, Cade said:

:wow:

Yeah Remco did ok I suppose. 
But my favourite in women’s racing did amazing things today in the Vuelta. Went from being 8 seconds off the lead in 5th place to now leading the race by 1m 11s. It’s her last year racing and looks like she’s out to try and do what she did last year, Vuelta, Giro, Tour, and World Championship. Though the worlds will only happen if the course suits her as she doesn’t have a great sprint. 

The end of that women's race was a farce.

It's supposed to be elite sport ffs.

Changing the winner about three times before actually sitting down and looking at the photo finish is feckin amateur hour.