Sportsound Monday

beaver

On ‎05‎/‎02‎/‎2020 at 19:08, Dallas Green said:

Part of what the BBC said was this;

It was not fair and balanced and he did not have the opportunity to respond.

Surely that rules them out of any criticism towards any person who cannot be there to respond.

Bookmark that for the next time their resident gang of OF apologist brain dead roasters start having baseless pops at our (or any non OF clubs) staff.

• Replies 521

• Under the floodlight

• ...a bit disco

Do we know who provided the interpretation of wee Alfredo's, heart rendering, interview yet?

I would find it surprising if Sky Sports didn't check any negative mention of Celtic by one of their own people, given that they have gone out of their way to protect them in the past. By turning down microphones during Armistice weekend silences, so the English audiences can't hear what a shower the GFITW really are, as an example.

It's amazing how the whole story developed from someone, supposedly, trying to sabotage Morellos' car, to Michael Stewart having a real go at Traynor on live radio.

On 04/02/2020 at 17:08, ...a bit disco said:

JS69303298.jpg.2111ec206d26fa3a9cb7c37cc60e5542.jpg

Would not be walking in front of this guy going downstairs to the basement. 

8 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

This episode is not available either as a podcast or to listen again. 

It it anywhere else?

The offending part

9 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

Jabba

Well they've never been seen together.

:interehjrling:

9 hours ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

Would not be walking in front of this guy going downstairs to the basement. 

No, he'd be dragging you behind him in a rolled up tarpaulin.

What i find strange about the BBC sudden love of being fair and balance was there treatment of Vlad. Now i was no lover of Vlad, but the BBC pundits used to love ripping him to pieces without any right of reply.

Apparently there is a petition in support of Mikey Stewart for calling out Rangers and Jim Traynor. Does anyone have a link to this as I for one would like to sign it.

https://www.change.org/p/bbc-scotland-bbc-scotland-reinstate-michael-stewart?recruiter=21801671&recruited_by_id=c0c618a0-f751-012f-2358-4040496dcccb&share_bandit_exp=message-20197986-en-GB&share_bandit_var=v2

If the link above doesn't work you can find the petition at 'change.org' along with a separate petition to sack MS supposedly started by C Levein !

11 hours ago, Hearts Daft said:

Apparently there is a petition in support of Mikey Stewart for calling out Rangers and Jim Traynor. Does anyone have a link to this as I for one would like to sign it.

If Traynor thinks Stewart is wrong he may sue him for slander. Wonder if he will? If he doesn't, then that, in itself may be an answer. 

Kind of ironic, that now there is a 12 year old boy been charged by the police, for racist comments towards Morellos at Parkhead.

Wonder when the Celtic PR boys will emerge with the latest statement saying that it "wisnae us". This is going to run and run.

Those plonkers on Sportsound are going to have to apply the same standards to anybody they criticise ongoing. They might have to keep their opinions to themselves, and do some proper reporting.

1 minute ago, Space Pirate said:

Oh look, they're talking about Scott Brown again, What a surprise. 

Even worse... Steven Naismith euologising about Scott Brown!

1 minute ago, Space Pirate said:

Is he lying on the street again with a takeaway?

3 minutes ago, gnasher75 said:

Even worse... Steven Naismith euologising about Scott Brown!

A ken, i prefer it when he's stamping on his baws and laughing in his face. 

Chick Young And Willie Miller saying that we're in serious trouble. 

Young thinks we will have enough, Miller isn't so sure. 

It's got me thinking to be honest. 

Do we have the mentality to beat the teams in the bottom six after the split?

We have the quality but do we have the fight?

30 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Had the misfortune to hear this tonight. Apparently, Scott Brown is comparable with Dave Mackay & Billie Bremner! One of the reasons provided by the genius that we have on the panel is the fact that Scott wears short sleeve tops and shorter shorts than the rest of the team. 

Nothing to do with the referees in Scotland allowing Brown free reign to kick opponents all over the park, safe in the knowledge that he won't face yellow/ red cards. Nothing to do with the fact that he is allowed to referee the referee, constantly be in refs face complaining and demanding decisions be given to suit him.

A critical panel might ask why he is penalised more often in Europe than he is in Scotland, but no, that is not the way Sportsound works.

A critical panel might ask why he never had the courage to test himself against better players in England or elsewhere, but no, that is not the way Sportsound works.

Unless something dramatic happens at Hearts, we barely get a mention. 

Steven Naismith should have said "Scott Brown is over rated" ha. 

He'd probably end up on the naughty step with Micheal Stewart mind you. 

9 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Had the misfortune to hear this tonight. Apparently, Scott Brown is comparable with Dave Mackay & Billie Bremner! One of the reasons provided by the genius that we have on the panel is the fact that Scott wears short sleeve tops and shorter shorts than the rest of the team. 

Nothing to do with the referees in Scotland allowing Brown free reign to kick opponents all over the park, safe in the knowledge that he won't face yellow/ red cards. Nothing to do with the fact that he is allowed to referee the referee, constantly be in refs face complaining and demanding decisions be given to suit him.

A critical panel might ask why he is penalised more often in Europe than he is in Scotland, but no, that is not the way Sportsound works.

A critical panel might ask why he never had the courage to test himself against better players in England or elsewhere, but no, that is not the way Sportsound works.

Couldn't lace either MacKay or Brenner's

Boots. Scott Brown. A poor man's Graeme Souness.

4 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

Couldn't lace either MacKay or Brenner's

Boots. Scott Brown. A poor man's Graeme Souness.

You’re right.

Mackay and Bremner didn’t go around kicking people and behaving like bawbags. They had, and showed, respect for their opponents, and were real hard men, without being dirty and sneaky.

They even managed a nice photo together, which we have all enjoyed over the years 😉.
Brown is a thug who has stayed under the safe umbrella of Celtic. Has never tested himself in a superior environment, like many Scots, who we used to call Anglos, did. To compare him to those guys who had ambition is ludicrous, but typical of the numpties employed by BBC Sports.

7 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

You’re right.

Mackay didn’t go around kicking people and behaving like a bawbag. They had, and showed, respect for their opponents, and were real hard men, without being dirty and sneaky.

They even managed a nice photo together, which we have all enjoyed over the years 😉.
Brown is a thug who has stayed under the safe umbrella of Celtic. Has never tested himself in a superior environment, like many Scots, who we used to call Anglos, did. To compare him to those guys who had ambition is ludicrous, but typical of the numpties employed by BBC Sports.

FTFY

hqdefault.jpg.8152d19d1e870eda2c10c8c3ea3b5e40.jpg

3 minutes ago, Coolio said:

FTFY

hqdefault.jpg.8152d19d1e870eda2c10c8c3ea3b5e40.jpg

Maybe that was a learning curve for Bremner. He was certainly a great captain for Scotland, who led us to a World Cup finals tournament, unlike the failure, Brown.

7 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

Maybe that was a learning curve for Bremner. He was certainly a great captain for Scotland, who led us to a World Cup finals tournament, unlike the failure, Brown.

Agreed. A period in time when it was easy to be proud to be Scottish. Sadly it's become a wee bit of a chore in recent times, I'm no less proud but we've far less to puff our chests out about.

Scott Brown is a good player, and has been a standout the last few years. He is also a total prick on the football park 🤷🏻‍♂️

54 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

Billy Bremner wanted to sign for Celtic. In these days the clubs held the player. So actually even without playing for them Bremner is arguably a bigger Celtic icon than Brown. 

5 minutes ago, jambovambo said:

Jabba’s latest statement :

Challenging Celtic for the club with no shame. That will be thousands of season cards being rescinded and lifetime bans being  handed out at Ibrox?

I await in eager anticipation.

6 minutes ago, jambovambo said:

Jabba’s latest statement :

I'm astonished that sevco have the brass neck to mention sectarian abuse. 

They have no shame what so ever. 

And no media outlet will mention it. 

Whatever became of the allegations against the Hearts fan from the 1-1 game earlier this season? Presumably the allegations were not proven but I’ve not seen anything from anyone (including Hearts) clearing the guy.

29 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Billy Bremner wanted to sign for Celtic. In these days the clubs held the player. So actually even without playing for them Bremner is arguably a bigger Celtic icon than Brown. 

Mikeybawz yet again last line.

7 minutes ago, everton_jambo said:

Whatever became of the allegations against the Hearts fan from the 1-1 game earlier this season? Presumably the allegations were not proven but I’ve not seen anything from anyone (including Hearts) clearing the guy.

Hey come on now, you know that's not the game. It's all about the headlines and two or three day outrage. Scottish Football doesn't care how things conclude, we just chase the next big drama and then forget the last.

20 minutes ago, Castle rock said:

Of course they won't mention abuse, they actually assist in the hiding of the abuse that takes place. Reporters/pundits are dropped if they question Rangers, the sound is turned down when the supporters sing their traditional sectarian songbook, and excuses are provided for the behaviour of their star players ridiculous behaviour by way of sympathetic interviews.

The football media coverage is dominated by an ancient old bigot who simply tells everyone what they can say, and not one of them has the bollocks to stand and speak up.

55 minutes ago, KyleLafferty said:

Scott Brown is a good player, and has been a standout the last few years. He is also a total prick on the football park 🤷🏻‍♂️

Yep

Absolutely strolls this league. 

Don’t remember anyone sticking up for Mikolunius when he was called everything under the sun... as an aside Morelos IS a cheat, so tossing that in there beside racial abuse is pathetic.

4 minutes ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Don’t remember anyone sticking up for Mikolunius when he was called everything under the sun... as an aside Morelos IS a cheat, so tossing that in there beside racial abuse is pathetic.

He didn't play for the old firm mate

Just now, Castle rock said:

He didn't play for the old firm mate

Indeed. Can’t believe more people aren’t coming out and attacking Traynor and Sevco for this shit. Cowards.