Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Montgomery Brewster
Just now, graygo said:

I've said it before and realise it's not practical but the logical thing is for the whole world to use the same app or at least one's that are compatible with each other.

Correct 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

10 minutes ago, graygo said:

I'm pretty sure she doesn't represent Scotland in Westminster, she represents Rutherglen and Hamilton West. 

ps, she needs sacked or to resign.

Indeed she does represent her constituents but she like the others take every opportunity to further Independence on the floor of the Westminster Parliament. 

1 hour ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

There was an interesting article in The Atlantic today about how the virus spreads.  And not all

is as it seems.  

What it is looking like is Sweden have had success without a lockdown simply because of how the virus spreads. 

Sweden haven't had a success.

There was an interesting article in The Atlantic today about how the virus spreads.  And not all

is as it seems.  

What it is looking like is Sweden have had success without a lockdown simply because of how the virus spreads. 

Really enjoyed reading that. Thanks for sharing 👍

2 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

that is a retweet, the original is from last week before she had symptoms

Ah well. I just looked at the date and thought it was on Tuesday

18 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Really enjoyed reading that. Thanks for sharing 👍

Yes good article 

41 minutes ago, jonesy said:

"Do as we say, not as we do."

That's the MPs, the SPADs, and the family members. How anyone can take the political 'class' seriously in this country is beyond me. Laughably contemptious of the people they are supposed to represent and work for.

From every time that mop-haired coq 'addresses the nation' with his best attempt at a concerned looking face to Sturgeon's seemingly ubiquitous denials of attempting to make political capital from the situation, I wouldn't give a single one of them the sniff of my farts.

Special mentions go to the rudderless Labour Party who would continue to back the government even if they decided the best way to get rid of Covid was to just burn the country to the ground, and doughball-faced Jason Leitch, who now seems to be getting a wee bit tetchy that folk don't want to listen to his patronising reminders that 'this is a pandemic'. Well, I didn't think it was Burntisland shows, tube.

Is it any wonder some folk are turning to conspiracy theories, Youtube media and just shrugging their way through the whole thing. Keep the government as far away from our lives as possible - they do far more harm than good.

Great post and sums up perfectly what me and a lot of my hard working, honest friends and family feel about all politicians after the blatant disregard for the rules that they set the rest of us.  Tories have made calamity after calamity and sturgeon has patronisingly dined out on it all. Be interesting to see what she says tomorrow especially after dancing round her hand bag before caving to public pressure and getting rid of the previous CMO after her trips to St Andrews. 

is as it seems.  

That's an interesting take, If the superspreader theory is true, then backward tracing of contacts really needs to be stepped up.

33 minutes ago, graygo said:

I've said it before and realise it's not practical but the logical thing is for the whole world to use the same app or at least one's that are compatible with each other.

Totally agree with you there.

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

They operate on a different planet to the people they govern. Career politicians and/or lawyers - charlatans, crooks and broken idealists. Much like the last couple of years' Hearts squads, you could replace them all and no one would miss them.

Interesting comparison Jonesy but I like it 🤣🤣

CavySlaveJambo
16 minutes ago, fancy a brew said:

That's an interesting take, If the superspreader theory is true, then backward tracing of contacts really needs to be stepped up.

The super spreader theory could explain the massive care home outbreaks in the Spring, and also the situation with Halls now. 

1 hour ago, Boy Daniel said:

The logical thing for the nations would be to all us the same app however Sturgeon would want to be different from the others particularly England. 

Be different by implementing an App later which was the case with the England/Wales App.  Be different by implementing an App that accepts all Scottish Covid test results unlike the English/Welsh app?

And also lets remember Northern Ireland implemented their app before any other part of UK.

3 hours ago, Taffin said:

I'm not sure that's true, I reckon the infected population is stronger.

Edit: I should I mean those confirmed infected. Before we probably just didn't know they had it.

It is, according to Italian frontline doctors and various other experts. We  need a more grown up debate about the reliability of tests that are "a bit rubbish", the number of asymptomatic "infections" and the places in which people are being infected.

Had we read out daily stats about flu/pneumonia/sepsis infections and deaths, we would find that Covid would be less of a concern than it has been artificially elevated to be.

26 minutes ago, Gards said:

Be different by implementing an App later which was the case with the England/Wales App.  Be different by implementing an App that accepts all Scottish Covid test results unlike the English/Welsh app?

And also lets remember Northern Ireland implemented their app before any other part of UK.

All good points. However from the outset the four nations have gone different ways or followed later with similar advice and restrictions. The latest being the rule of six, including or excluding kids under 12. England stuffed up their world beating app initially (and wasted millions and time in the process) and eventually adopted the Google/apple version but for some reason the brains trust didn’t see fit to adopt the one Scotland had. The result now is cross the border and the app(s) are incompatible. 
Is it political? Some would say yes. The lack of Joined up thinking between the nations (of the UK) is letting us all down. 

27 minutes ago, Robbofan99 said:

It gets even worse for NS , now stating that “ eat out “ campaign in August shouldn’t have happened ! As someone said on Twitter “ what a miserable @@@ “.      https://www.itv.com/news/2020-09-30/peston-nicola-sturgeon-says-it-may-have-been-better-if-eat-out-to-help-out-hadnt-happened

This doesn't match the headline but it's what she actually said.

"I think with hindsight we can say all sorts of things, maybe it would have been better if it hadn't happened"

8 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

All good points. However from the outset the four nations have gone different ways or followed later with similar advice and restrictions. The latest being the rule of six, including or excluding kids under 12. England stuffed up their world beating app initially (and wasted millions and time in the process) and eventually adopted the Google/apple version but for some reason the brains trust didn’t see fit to adopt the one Scotland had. The result now is cross the border and the app(s) are incompatible. 
Is it political? Some would say yes. The lack of Joined up thinking between the nations (of the UK) is letting us all down. 

You bet it is, from both sides of the border too.

14 minutes ago, jonesy said:

How many businesses did it keep afloat? How many jobs did it maintain? How much happy family/friends time was had by folk socialising. She shouldn't be anywhere near trying to run a country when she has no idea how most folk wish to live. We don't all sit at home each night memorising Broons annuals and washing our granny pants in Irn Bru.

Personally I found the EOTHO scheme a bit crass, but there's no doubt it lifted the mood of a great many people during a time she and her ilk had been so desperate to paint as a time we should all be hiding behind our sofas.

I can't see a problem with it either, these places were all open and "Covid safe" with restrictions in place.

13 minutes ago, jonesy said:

How many businesses did it keep afloat? How many jobs did it maintain? How much happy family/friends time was had by folk socialising. She shouldn't be anywhere near trying to run a country when she has no idea how most folk wish to live. We don't all sit at home each night memorising Broons annuals and washing our granny pants in Irn Bru.

Personally I found the EOTHO scheme a bit crass, but there's no doubt it lifted the mood of a great many people during a time she and her ilk had been so desperate to paint as a time we should all be hiding behind our sofas.

Eat Out to Help Out was a fantastic idea and a great success. A lot of restaurants have continued it through September and now into October. Any "mythical " affect on cases that Sturgeon imagines is far outweighed by the social and economic benefit that the initiative has brought and continues to bring.  We know that institutional settings - hospitals, care homes, food processing factories etc account for far more "cases" than pubs and restaurants.  Perhaps she should reflect on her decision to herd both Covid patients into care homes and university students back into accomodation blocks rather than scaremongering about hospitality. She quite clearly doesn't like people going out and enjoying themselves,  preferring instead that we cower away in our houses worrying about Covid. For most people, those days are past,  people are, quite rightly , now not frightened of Covid and are getting on with their lives.

43 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Brilliant 

1 hour ago, Robbofan99 said:

It gets even worse for NS , now stating that “ eat out “ campaign in August shouldn’t have happened ! As someone said on Twitter “ what a miserable @@@ “.      https://www.itv.com/news/2020-09-30/peston-nicola-sturgeon-says-it-may-have-been-better-if-eat-out-to-help-out-hadnt-happened

The Murrells are weirdos, so this is completely in keeping with their social lifestyles.

You can be absolutely certain that they knew about their MP jumping on the train while full of covid, long before the story broke this evening too. Handily missing FMQs :whistling:

21 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Eat Out to Help Out was a fantastic idea and a great success. A lot of restaurants have continued it through September and now into October. Any "mythical " affect on cases that Sturgeon imagines is far outweighed by the social and economic benefit that the initiative has brought and continues to bring.  We know that institutional settings - hospitals, care homes, food processing factories etc account for far more "cases" than pubs and restaurants.  Perhaps she should reflect on her decision to herd both Covid patients into care homes and university students back into accomodation blocks rather than scaremongering about hospitality. She quite clearly doesn't like people going out and enjoying themselves,  preferring instead that we cower away in our houses worrying about Covid. For most people, those days are past,  people are, quite rightly , now not frightened of Covid and are getting on with their lives.

Yes people are wakening up 

**** me just catching up on things that SNP MP what a fecking arsehole and if she thinks that statement she put out will help her she is in for a rude awakening.

It’ll be interesting to hear what she says at tomorrow briefing but probably any questions related to it will be out of bounds . She will be raging tomorrow ! Get the popcorn ready ! 

1 minute ago, Robbofan99 said:

It’ll be interesting to hear what she says at tomorrow briefing but probably any questions related to it will be out of bounds . She will be raging tomorrow ! Get the popcorn ready ! 

She better answer I have praised her enough but she is quick enough to criticise other professions when breaches have been made so she better be addressing this and she better be seeing about it.

Hopefully Nicola will address it tomorrow ! I’m sure she will be very angry and quite right too . It’s just taking the complete piss as well as endangering lives . It’ll be another nail in the coffin of people following the rules if we see those who represent us are Disregarding them. 

35 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

There was a real spring in people’s steps in August and this is depressing to hear from Nicola . Disappointing . A friend is a chef in a decent restaurant and he said it was a “ life saver “ , hence other businesses keeping it for October albeit with no funding from the Govt this time . 

onwards and upwards
7 hours ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Can be done politely 

I seen a woman show  an official ID (aye its me) Card, photo etc, around her neck in a shop a few day's ago in Auld Reekie,  stating......

"I am exempt from wearing a mask"

All bs (to an extent) as far as I'm concerned but I actually believed that you have to physically prove you are exempt.  Even saying that,  ashma makes you cough!.  Ffs. 

The world 🌎? As we know it, is fecking nearly  fecking fecked .

Could be a helluva lot worse though 🤔

You could be a Hibby! 

FTH etc etc excetara 

Only 

HHGH 

Onwards and upwards 🙌 

My Hearts scarf rather than a mask has never been refused questioned!

Edited by onwards and upwards
Ps

heartstastic
13 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Hopefully Nicola will address it tomorrow ! I’m sure she will be very angry and quite right too . It’s just taking the complete piss as well as endangering lives . It’ll be another nail in the coffin of people following the rules if we see those who represent us are Disregarding them. 

The telling thing for me in all these political people that have been flouting the 'rules' is that it shows how seriously they perceive the threat to be. Rest assured if it was as dangerous as made out they would all be wearing the very best protective equipment and would be probably come nowhere near the electorate.

Edited by heartstastic

heartstastic
14 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

The telling thing for me in all these political people that have been flouting the 'rules' is that it shows how seriously they perceive the threat to be. Rest assured if it was as dangerous as made out they would all be wearing the very best protective equipment and would be probably come nowhere near the electorate.

Edited by heartstastic

10 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

It's the sheer hypocrisy of MPs that does my nut in.Thry think nothing they say applies to them and of course it been going on long before Covid came along.

4 hours ago, Bull's-eye said:

If all the other passengers used the track and trace app required when passing through the barriers entering the platform to catch the rattler then they will have already been informed, deary me. Try and move with the times. 

Remember that to be notified, someone will have to have been within 2 metres of her for 15 minutes.

1 minute ago, vegas-voss said:

It's the sheer hypocrisy of MPs that does my nut in.Thry think nothing they say applies to them and of course it been going on long before Covid came along.

Yes the hypocrisy is what annoys me too but that’s nothin new with politicians 

27 minutes ago, Robbofan99 said:

24 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

She better answer I have praised her enough but she is quick enough to criticise other professions when breaches have been made so she better be addressing this and she better be seeing about it.

16 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

She was raging tonight, did you all miss it or does it not count unless it's on the telly?

28 minutes ago, Robbofan99 said:

25 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

17 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Apologies for the multiple posts, bloody forum.

Edited by graygo

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Remember that to be notified, someone will have to have been within 2 metres of her for 15 minutes.

It's a pretty pish system when you think about.potentislly could have infected 100s but might only have been next to 1 or 2 for 15 mins 

1 minute ago, graygo said:

She was raging tonight, did you all miss it or does it not count unless it's on the telly?

I’ve not watched the telly tonight ! 

Just now, graygo said:

Been away a wee 3 day break, no TV no radio and barely looked at my phobe only just catching up.

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I’ve not watched the telly tonight ! 

1 minute ago, vegas-voss said:

Been away a wee 3 day break, no TV no radio and barely looked at my phobe only just catching up.

She'll have her say tomorrow I would think.

Screenshot_20201002-001830.png

coconut doug
1 hour ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

It is, according to Italian frontline doctors and various other experts. We  need a more grown up debate about the reliability of tests that are "a bit rubbish", the number of asymptomatic "infections" and the places in which people are being infected.

Had we read out daily stats about flu/pneumonia/sepsis infections and deaths, we would find that Covid would be less of a concern than it has been artificially elevated to be.

Almost every day you post this nonsense. Don't you think that somebody other than some random Italian doctor who made a throwaway comment about the virus weakening about three months ago would comment on it? Unless of course you have any real evidence to support your cult like sloganeering.

Just now, vegas-voss said:

Some bad spelling mistakes by me as well.Beer taking effect time for bed.

Spelling might be shit but that sounds like heaven. 👍

Just now, vegas-voss said:

It's a pretty pish system when you think about.potentislly could have infected 100s but might only have been next to 1 or 2 for 15 mins 

It depends on the science. I'm assuming that they're banking on the fact that transmission needs sufficient viral transfer and that it takes that sort of proximity to do it. Of course if someone sneezes or coughs in your face, or you pick it up on your hand and then put your fingers in your mouth or up your nose, then it is going to be much quicker, but given that the app can't determine that, they just have to find a point somewhere on the transmission curve that maximises the probability of the person in close proximity being infected while not creating false positives. It's a tough point to determine.

heartstastic
Just found this in a comment section on youtube...can't quite put my finger on it but it reminds me of somebody🤔

I am from Hamilton, they better lock this place down because of the selfishness of this woman before we all die.

If you are in Hamilton I suspect you are already the living dead....

4 minutes ago, heartstastic said:
Just found this in a comment section on youtube...can't quite put my finger on it but it reminds me of somebody🤔

I am from Hamilton, they better lock this place down because of the selfishness of this woman before we all die.

If you are in Hamilton I suspect you are already the living dead....

:wow:

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic