Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Just now, Lord BJ said:

Thats a bit dissapointing. Hopes in passes as quickly as possible and you can enjoy your greens and fairways in this improved weather 

Take care 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

I take it no government are not telling us how many folk who have been vaccinated, have been taken to hospital or have died? 

6 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Weather must be really beneficial for you just now with your work.

It's been a decent start to the year. The hard frost in the morning can be a bugger though.

Having a couple of days off and back on Monday :thumbsup:

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

It's been a decent start to the year. The hard frost in the morning can be a bugger though.

Good to hear.

Is there any word when your son goes back to university?

1 hour ago, Lord BJ said:

My old boy has been given a date for his vaccination. Nearly two months away. No idea if due to vaccine issues or first time can do in hospital setting. At least he’s down to get it now. 

My daughter, who has a under lying medical condition has been having some random issues. We are going to see her specialist on Monday but they suspect the issue may have been caused by COVID. No one in house has it as far as aware. 

Can’t figure out if COVID is the medical out for any issues they can’t figure out or has she maybe contradicted and just left us untouched. 

Good about you dad ! Sorry to hear about your daughter health issues hope things are ok 

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

I take it no government are not telling us how many folk who have been vaccinated, have been taken to hospital or have died? 

Good question.

Everything is being measured. Might be too early. 

Jambo-Jimbo

Seen a report on CNN this morning about Brazil, it wasn't good at all, some of the standout stats.

The majority of those currently in ICU are under 40 yrs old.

70% of Intubated patients in ICU die, that figure is 90% in the Amazon region of Manaus.

Over 800 children between the ages of 9 to 18 have died since the start.

Over 500 children under the age of 9 have died since the start.

And most alarming of all, there is evidence that the P1 Manaus variant is mutating and may now becoming even more dangerous.

Just now, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Seen a report on CNN this morning about Brazil, it wasn't good at all, some of the standout stats.

The majority of those currently in ICU are under 40 yrs old.

70% of Intubated patients in ICU die, that figure is 90% in the Amazon region of Manaus.

Over 800 children between the ages of 9 to 18 have died since the start.

Over 500 children under the age of 9 have died since the start.

And most alarming of all, there is evidence that the P1 Manaus variant is mutating and may now becoming even more dangerous.

Brazil is near to what the anti lockdown people wanted.

Maybe they'll tell us all the things that are better there. 

My old boy has been given a date for his vaccination. Nearly two months away. No idea if due to vaccine issues or first time can do in hospital setting. At least he’s down to get it now. 

My daughter, who has a under lying medical condition has been having some random issues. We are going to see her specialist on Monday but they suspect the issue may have been caused by COVID. No one in house has it as far as aware. 

Can’t figure out if COVID is the medical out for any issues they can’t figure out or has she maybe contradicted and just left us untouched. 

How old is your daughter if you don’t mind me asking lbj? My 17 year old was meant to be getting the vaccine for health reasons but are reluctant because she isn’t 18. 🙄

Things are bad in a lot of countries. Seems we're not asking for people to quarantine from India for example.

Still plenty risks. Mainly from travel. 

Jambo-Jimbo
7 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Brazil is near to what the anti lockdown people wanted.

Maybe they'll tell us all the things that are better there. 

Their President has blocked every attempt to introduce a lockdown amongst many other measures, the virus has effectively been allowed to run free.

10 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

She’s 13, there has been no discussion about vaccinating her.. 

I have heard a story about under 18 getting it but I’m not sure I believe it. As far as I’m aware  no approval for any vaccine to be used on under 18.

That’s right hence why they are reluctant to give my daughter the vaccine despite in a vulnerable group. 

Enzo Chiefo
1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

People die all the time. 1700 every day in the UK. Chances are the majority will have been vaccinated against Covid and Flu.

3 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

People die all the time. 1700 every day in the UK. Chances are the majority will have been vaccinated against Covid and Flu.

Yep it’s such a pointless stat you have to wonder why anyone would want to know or make a deal about such a thing. 

Good about you dad ! Sorry to hear about your daughter health issues hope things are ok 

20 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Things are bad in a lot of countries. Seems we're not asking for people to quarantine from India for example.

Mental. 

I'm due to travel to the UK later today pending a negative PCR test result. 

Straight into quarantine at the airport. 

The entire travel experience is fairly unpleasant these days. 

2 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Fingers crossed your lassie is all good, LBJ. 👍

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Good to hear.

Is there any word when your son goes back to university?

He's been allowed to go in and study in a room on his own because of his Autism

He can't get motivated to learn at home.

You'll be surprised at how many students have actually been at the Universities during lockdown

14 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Their President has blocked every attempt to introduce a lockdown amongst many other measures, the virus has effectively been allowed to run free.

Yeah

As I say a good comparison. People arguing for no or much less lockdown can tell us how well Brazil has done.

Maybe say in 5 years that they will be proved right of course. But Brazil also indicates some of the reasons for the UK approach. For example in controlling new variants.

26 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

He better watch himself because if Brazil does cause a real threat to the recovery then he may well attract some not so well intentioned attention from a nearby superpower and it's black ops.  

11 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

I hope u applied through the appropriate channels to take the afternoon off ? We all rely on you Red ! Have a good time off 😂

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Nae stats. 

giphy.gif

I just have to take one of my parents to a medical appointment. Normal service will be resumed in due course. The stats must flow!

2 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Good to hear, Lord BJ (although two months seems excessive). I hope the trip on Monday is fruitful.

lost in leith

One of the best things about opening up is being able to take the older generation in my family (4 are 80+) out again.  However, it's frustrating that indoor hospitality is restricted to groups of 4 - it was 6 before the latest lockdown.  My reading of the SG website is that when indoor hospitality goes to the next stage on 17/5 alcohol is allowed but groups of 4 will still be the largest allowed.  Is this how others read it?  If so, has anyone heard if the SG are likely to allow larger groups if the data is still encouraging?

4 hours ago, frankblack said:

Nothing like an election coming to start loosening restrictions.

Intriguing considering that the Scottish average is now well in the mid range (for cases per 100k) for L2, Edinburgh top end L1 and on 26 April, most of mainland Scotland, if not all most likely to start in L3 for 3 weeks.

Dennis Reynolds
1 hour ago, lost in leith said:

One of the best things about opening up is being able to take the older generation in my family (4 are 80+) out again.  However, it's frustrating that indoor hospitality is restricted to groups of 4 - it was 6 before the latest lockdown.  My reading of the SG website is that when indoor hospitality goes to the next stage on 17/5 alcohol is allowed but groups of 4 will still be the largest allowed.  Is this how others read it?  If so, has anyone heard if the SG are likely to allow larger groups if the data is still encouraging?

6 people from 3 households for indoor hospitality from the 17th May.

7 minutes ago, LMc said:

Does that mean the 16 day circuit breaker will be finished?

Dennis Reynolds
2 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Does that mean the 16 day circuit breaker will be finished?

Will you stop going on about it if I say yes?

Just now, LMc said:

Will you stop going on about it if I say yes?

Just proving a point that the lying *******s at the SG can't be trusted and should have these powers to lock down businesses taken away from them.

Scottish numbers: 16 April 2021

Summary

• 204 (-33) new cases of COVID-19 reported
  • 18,125 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results
    •  1.4% of these were positive
  • 3 (+2) new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive
  • 18 (+2) people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19
  • 109 (-6) people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19
  • 2,722,084 (+13,393) people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 688,761 (+26,786) have received their second dose
Edited by Footballfirst

I understand that we are getting on with the second jabs but this is the time to ramp up the whole vaccine programme

Get the second jabs, get the first jabs for the 40's and 30's then quickly on to those younger even if using another vaccine

Once these 'freedoms' kick in there will be the element of human nature that accompanies it and plenty will say I'm not bothered or I don't need to when the opposite is true

One last big effort and by the end of June/early July we really could be in a strong position at least in terms of containing it within the UK and we can help the Republic of Ireland quickly......and that because it is really in the UK interests to do so as we have a land border with them.

By then we can see if mix and match works of different vaccine types and it may be more clear if regular jabs are required well in advance of winter. We will also have more types of vaccine available and I'm sure 'second generation' vaccines are being worked upon

However this ignores the needs of the rest of the world and yes there is a selfish element involved but to help others we need to be in a good position to do so in terms of  the health of the nation............but lets kick on and help them as quickly as we can

The big fears as we open up have to be the impact that will cause when there are still a large number who have not even had the first jab, the stupidity of the travel industry trying to move too quickly and short cutting all the time (travel was a main contributing factor into the spread of the virus and still they want risks to be taken), the failure of people to still keep to more minor restrictions in place such as masks and distance between the population when mixing being kept.

I want to have confidence this is possible but when you see the state of some as soon as the pubs were open for outdoor use only you do have to wonder........looking after number one and who cares about anyone else seemed to be the order of the day and it would be such a shame to move backwards when we have spent so long fighting this disease.

Jambo-Jimbo
3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Speaking of India, see there has been a new double mutant Indian variant detected in the UK.

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-indian-double-mutation-variant-arrives-in-britain-and-has-hallmarks-of-very-dangerous-virus-12276922

8 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

I understand that we are getting on with the second jabs but this is the time to ramp up the whole vaccine programme

I'm sure that both the UK and Scottish governments would indeed "ramp up the whole vaccine programme" if supplies of vaccine were freely available.

Scotland has the capacity to carry out at least 400k vaccinations a week, but in the last 7 days has only been able to carry out 260k due to limited supplies. The current dip, or shortage, of supplies had been intimated last month.

Edited by Footballfirst

3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

If I heard right, from the tv the other day, although British people can’t go abroad for non essential travel, people from abroad can still come here for a holiday. So people from India, for example, can come here, potentially carrying the virus from there?

That can’t be, can it?

12 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Only 12 cases reported in the Lothians. 5 areas were higher than us

From another source there were another 32 cases added to the NHS Lothian totals. The higher number is due to 160 historical cases from Q4 2020 being added to the cumulative national and NHS Board totals.  The 160 comes from an extra 384 positive tests(!?)  I haven't a clue how those figures should be viewed.

Edited by Footballfirst

lost in leith
57 minutes ago, LMc said:

Thanks, that will make things a bit easier.

3 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

He's been allowed to go in and study in a room on his own because of his Autism

He can't get motivated to learn at home.

You'll be surprised at how many students have actually been at the Universities during lockdown

Hopefully he’ll progress by being at the university opposed to being at home.

All the best for him.

5 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Enjoy your weekend 

3 hours ago, Dazo said:

That’s right hence why they are reluctant to give my daughter the vaccine despite in a vulnerable group. 

3 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

I just have to take one of my parents to a medical appointment. Normal service will be resumed in due course. The stats must flow!

Yes that’s more important than the stats ! 👍

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

Good to hear, Lord BJ (although two months seems excessive). I hope the trip on Monday is fruitful.

17 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Only 12 cases reported in the Lothians. 5 areas were higher than us

Incredible out of a population of 800.,000 ! 

I met my wee nephew today . He’s 9 ! He know I always grill him about school . Apparently he doesn’t have to wear a mask at school 👍 he’s desperate to see his Brazilian family ( he’s half Brazilian ) but can’t go yet to due to covid ! Poor wee lamb . We had a kick about with a football as he’s a great wee player ! I’m exhausted now 😂 he wants to play for Hibs though !! But I’m trying my best to change that ! 😂

42 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I'm sure that both the UK and Scottish governments would indeed "ramp up the whole vaccine programme" if supplies of vaccine were freely available.

Scotland has the capacity to carry out at least 400k vaccinations a week, but in the last 7 days has only been able to carry out 260k due to limited supplies. The current dip, or shortage, of supplies had been intimated last month.

Well given that wonderful post perhaps you could explain why we have enough vaccine other than Astra to vaccinate all adults under 30 (see below) so we could then get on with having them vaccinated as you  rather clumsily are trying to infer the resource is there to do more but a choice has been made not to to do it......there is no shortage in supplies it seems

There is "more than enough of the Pfizer or Moderna vaccine" for the 8.5 million adults under 30 who are yet to be vaccinated in the UK to have two doses, he said.

So we could ramp up the vaccine delivery after all and by starting with those under 30 for example as per Mr Hancock

Edited by CJGJ

6 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Well given that wonderful post perhaps you could explain why we have enough vaccine other than Astra to vaccinate all adults under 30 (see below) so we could then get on with having them vaccinated as you  rather clumsily are trying to infer the resource is there to do more but a choice has been made not to to do it......there is no shortage in supplies it seems

There is "more than enough of the Pfizer or Moderna vaccine" for the 8.5 million adults under 30 who are yet to be vaccinated in the UK to have two doses, he said.

So we could ramp up the vaccine delivery after all and by starting with those in their 30's for example as per Mr Hancock

I don't know what you are implying re my earlier post.

What I take from the reference to 8.5m doses of Pfizer and Moderna vaccines, is that the UK expects supplies of that order, or more, to be provided between now and the end of July, to satisfy the needs of the U30s.  I don't think that the statement indicates that 8.5m doses are sitting in UK freezers now, ready for use.

Jambo-Jimbo
21 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

I don't know what you are implying re my earlier post.

What I take from the reference to 8.5m doses of Pfizer and Moderna vaccines, is that the UK expects supplies of that order, or more, to be provided between now and the end of July, to satisfy the needs of the U30s.  I don't think that the statement indicates that 8.5m doses are sitting in UK freezers now, ready for use.

That's how I've always read that, that we'll have enough vaccines when the time comes when we'll need them, not that we have them right now.

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

1 hour ago, Footballfirst said:

Scottish numbers: 16 April 2021

Summary

• 204 (-33) new cases of COVID-19 reported
  • 18,125 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results
    •  1.4% of these were positive
  • 3 (+2) new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive
  • 18 (+2) people were in intensive care yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19
  • 109 (-6) people were in hospital yesterday with recently confirmed COVID-19
  • 2,722,084 (+13,393) people have received the first dose of the Covid vaccination and 688,761 (+26,786) have received their second dose

Cheers FF. :thumb:

And... the SG don't appear to have released any case data for the local councils today. Another one in a series of "data issues". Sweet. :D

Just now, redjambo said:

And... the SG don't appear to have released any case data for the local councils today. Another one in a series of "data issues". Sweet. :D

Mad Nicola oot.

Today's national trend stats:

Today Yesterday     14 Apr 13 Apr 12 Apr 11 Apr 10 Apr ... 1 Apr
Scotland (7-day per-100,000 cases)   31 32 -1   34 35 35 36 38 ... 59

7-day averages                          
Tests     18536 18906 -370   19335 18949 18794 19019 18769 ... 21722
Positivity rate %     1.5 1.5 0.0   1.6 1.6 1.7 1.7 1.8 ... 2.4
Deaths     2 2 0   2 3 2 2 2 ... 5
All Vaccinations     37208 37352 -144   36603 35176 33892 31651 32056 ... 49063
1st Dose     13787 14266 -479   14434 14984 14778 14820 15376 ... 29659
2nd Dose     23421 23086 +335   22169 20192 19114 16831 16680 ... 19404

Daily data                          
Hospital (non-ICU)     91 99 -8   99 113 133 N/A N/A ... 194
ICU     18 16 +2   20 20 21 N/A N/A ... 21

4 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Today's national trend stats:

Today Yesterday     14 Apr 13 Apr 12 Apr 11 Apr 10 Apr ... 1 Apr
Scotland (7-day per-100,000 cases)   31 32 -1   34 35 35 36 38 ... 59

7-day averages                          
Tests     18536 18906 -370   19335 18949 18794 19019 18769 ... 21722
Positivity rate %     1.5 1.5 0.0   1.6 1.6 1.7 1.7 1.8 ... 2.4
Deaths     2 2 0   2 3 2 2 2 ... 5
All Vaccinations     37208 37352 -144   36603 35176 33892 31651 32056 ... 49063
1st Dose     13787 14266 -479   14434 14984 14778 14820 15376 ... 29659
2nd Dose     23421 23086 +335   22169 20192 19114 16831 16680 ... 19404

Daily data                          
Hospital (non-ICU)     91 99 -8   99 113 133 N/A N/A ... 194
ICU     18 16 +2   20 20 21 N/A N/A ... 21

Wife had her first vaccine at the EICC this afternoon, it was absolutely dead.  Plenty nurses etc there but she only saw one other person there for a vaccine the whole time she was there.

So it transpires that the SG added a backlog of 384 positive tests today and in order to make the adjustments to the local authority figures, didn't publish the latter at all. These positive tests were from the period 31 October - 1 December 2020, i.e. old cases. And yet they muck up today's figures because of it, meaning that we won't get accurate 7-day cases by reported date for the council stats for a week now. Because of old cases. FFS, just give us what today's local authority stats would have been without the adjustments, so that we can use these. It's not bloody rocket surgery! :Stupid_Heads_by_Vir

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic