Budge update on Sporting Director role

Juanjo

Adam_the_legend
55 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

I very much doubt Levein will get it. I would definitely question Budge's sanity in that respect. It would be a repeat of the "the right man is here all along" thing and look at the flak she got for that. And she definitely sacked him as DoF and got him off the Board at the same time as HC. I would have liked things to turn out differently for Levein but he's 100% away at the end of the season. 

100%? ITK?

• Replies 1.4k

• soonbe110

• Thomaso

• Adam_the_legend

14 minutes ago, robbo1874 said:

As long as his staff do come in ASAP IMO.

Will it be Stendel who identifies players and either CL or AM try to get them? 

I'd like to think DS would have input other than having the final say.

Hopefully some of the existing squad will blossom under his coaching .

Recruitment has been very hit and miss so I'd be looking for stendel to identify HIS targets!!

24 minutes ago, kimosavi said:

I reckon if craig told Ann the sky was pink with yellow polcadots she'd take his word for it 

Imagine if Stendel is a success and it turns out Levein had spoken to Budge about him and backed the appointment. Blown minds everywhere. It's as likely as most of the stuff on this thread.

22 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I still don't get why she announced this in this fashion on the back of some long awaited good news.

Why not just say 'im delighted to have got Daniel in and I will continue my search for a SD and appoint on in due course. In the interim AM will be picking up some of the duties.'

There was absolutely no need whatsoever to go into such detail and mention Levein. It's just created a shitstorm for no reason. 

I apologise for covering ground that I did on page 1 but I just can't fathom how a successful business woman is so shit at PR.

This is what I can’t get my head around either. Don’t even have to mention Austin. Just say we’re continuing to look and leave it there 

Adam_the_legend
33 minutes ago, Gordon Ramsay said:

Why would the man who has just been sacked for being one of, if not, the worst manager in our history be anywhere the discussions for our new SD? 

What's more is he is actually getting a wee shot at doing it with his gimpy pal too 😂

Honestly Craig must go home every night and piss himself laughing at the gig he's got at Hearts. He's got her buttoned up the back. 

That’s a good question, hopefully someone asks  at the AGM 🤷🏼‍♂️

2 minutes ago, Adam_the_legend said:

100%? ITK?

He's been sacked as head coach, sacked as DoF, asked to resign from the Board, and given some duties to carry out until the end of his contract. 

I'm no expert but these are the signs of someone on their way out.

Put it this way if Budge gives Levein the permanent SD job I'll write the "Budge Oot" graffiti myself. Why make a big deal out of sacking him as DoF if that was a possibility? As far as I'm aware there are no other vacancies he could fill so yes he'll be away. Unless a "Wind-up Merchant in Residence" position is created.

Anyhow, as we're the subject of a fly on the wall documentary I'm sure we'll find out what his role just now is. And if he doesn't appear, then maybe folk will realise he really is at the very back of the backroom these days.

Gordon Ramsay
Just now, Adam_the_legend said:

It's a great question and one that should definitely be asked. 

I'm sorry but you do not seek advice for a senior role in business from someone who has just been sacked from another senior role due to their incompetence. 

No doubt someone will be along to say well he was shite as manager but he was a great DOF so maybe this is why she values his advice. 

NEWSFLASH.... He was crap at DOF too. He's just a big turd that needs flushed down the pan. 

5 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

This is what I can’t get my head around either. Don’t even have to mention Austin. Just say we’re continuing to look and leave it there 

The answer is in this thread's title - "Budge update on Sporting Director role". She's updating us on what McPhee will be doing now Stendel is in, and where we are in the SD recruitment process, and who will be helping Stendel with recruitment etc until that is complete.

9 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

Recruitment has been very hit and miss so I'd be looking for stendel to identify HIS targets!!

Oh f*#k aye, 100% !

39 minutes ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

She also said “I won’t hesitate asking Craig for advice”

He was involved in the recruitment process of Stendel, accompanied her to Man City and you have to be naive to believe he doesn’t have Budge’s ear behind the scenes at Tynecastle.

So what? Any business person asks people they trust for advice. Good business people take advice and make their own minds up. Mrs Budge to a T 

she has asked many ‘experienced ‘ football people about our structure and manager. She hasn’t done everything she was advised to do. She took the inputs and made her own decision. 

Adam_the_legend
10 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

His contract ends so yes, we’re all 100% ITK on this one funnily enough. 

8 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

He's been sacked as head coach, sacked as DoF, asked to resign from the Board, and given some duties to carry out until the end of his contract. 

Put it this way if Budge gives Levein the permanent SD job I'll write the "Budge Oot" graffiti myself. Why make a big deal out of sacking him as DoF if that was a possibility? As far as I'm aware there are no other vacancies he could fill so yes he'll be away. Unless a "Wind-up Merchant in Residence" position is created.

Anyhow, as we're the subject of a fly on the wall documentary I'm sure we'll find out what his role just now is. And if he doesn't appear, then maybe folk will realise he really is at the very back of the backroom these days.

She could always extend his contract. She has commented how valuable and important he is to her and Hearts so it’s not beyond possibility it would happen.

He was sacked due to fan pressure from results but if you believe she wanted him gone or thinks he should be gone I’d would question that. 

31 minutes ago, Marooned Abroad said:

I almost feel that some on here are wishing it would continue to go wrong so they can play Chief Executive with our team.
We've made the key move - the appointment of a new Manager. AB has made it quite clear the CL/AMcP combo is  a temporary fix for financial reasons - unless it works, in which case she will reconsider. Does that not just make sense?

Shouldnt we all be leaving it at that and getting behind Stendel and Co? That’s what I’ll be doing anyway. 

Hallelujah!!!

3 minutes ago, robbo1874 said:

Oh f*#k aye, 100% !

I dont even trust the current setup to go out and find the player with set qualities that Stendel may have requested!!

3 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

So what? Any business person asks people they trust for advice. Good business people take advice and make their own minds up. Mrs Budge to a T 

she has asked many ‘experienced ‘ football people about our structure and manager. She hasn’t done everything she was advised to do. She took the inputs and made her own decision. 

I think the issue is that she still trusts him after everything he’s done to this team.

35 minutes ago, Marooned Abroad said:

I almost feel that some on here are wishing it would continue to go wrong so they can play Chief Executive with our team.
We've made the key move - the appointment of a new Manager. AB has made it quite clear the CL/AMcP combo is  a temporary fix for financial reasons - unless it works, in which case she will reconsider. Does that not just make sense?

Shouldnt we all be leaving it at that and getting behind Stendel and Co? That’s what I’ll be doing anyway. 

Where did she say the financial reasons part? I must have missed that.

The last update we had prior to this on SD was that one was going to be appointed imminently.

5 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Which other experienced football people has she asked for advice?

Gordon Ramsay
Just now, Mort said:

Where did she say the financial reasons part? I must have missed that.

The last update we had prior to this on SD was that one was going to be appointed imminently.

People are making it up to try and deflect away from the awful decision of Ann basically promoting Craig again. 

20 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Imagine if Stendel is a success and it turns out Levein had spoken to Budge about him and backed the appointment. Blown minds everywhere. It's as likely as most of the stuff on this thread.

Again, you don’t have to imagine this stuff. It’s real I believe 

21 minutes ago, Adam_the_legend said:

Would certainly raise a giggle. Always get a couple of off the wall questions at the agm 

Edited by soonbe110

Just now, Jambof3tornado said:

I dont even trust the current setup to go out and find the player with set qualities that Stendel may have requested!!

Thought Naismith, Walker, Halkett, Whelan, Washington and maybe Meshino were all pretty spot on, indicating a move from mass recruitment (with the inevitable disappointments) to targeted recruitment. Goalie recruitment has been poor since Alexander left and striker recruitment since the Championship.

With Naismith, Uche and Washington on board I really thought our striker problems were solved. Shame all 3 have been injured for large parts of the last 2 seasons, meaning our 4th choice became our first choice. Walker looked a changed player and exactly what we needed in a new attacking mid before getting injured. Halkett stepped in and was superb - we finally had a goal-scoring defender again. Again, injured.

Whoever was behind the summer recruitment can hopefully do a similar job in January.

When I read threads like this I always wonder how some folk on here survived the Romanov years. Where was the apolplectic, doom mongering, forensic analysis of off field goings on in those days? A fair few of today’s correspondents would surely have combusted or are we now just considerably more dramatic in outlook.

18 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

What if he does a really good job as SD and Stendel wants him kept on? 

Gordon Ramsay
1 minute ago, BarneyBattles said:

To be fair, in football you normally don’t seek advice from incompetents, you usually just appoint the same shot managers again. 

Like, oh, an utterly shit inexperienced manager with the biggest budget by a country mile in English league 1 being sacked for being shit for two seasons. Appointed immediately by Hibs and hailed as a great appointment. He’ll turn out to be pish for them too. 

I’m really struggling to understand why we’re all ok with shit sacked managers constantly getting a new gig but we’re raging that Levein and MacPhee are being allowed to run down their contracts for 6 months max without the ignominy of getting escorted off the premises. 

I don't like shit managers either. 

I'm sceptical about Stendel but the fact he has said he wants to press high and attack gives me some hope. 

3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

It's interesting this whole "who did she ask for advice" thing was never an issue when Mercer and Robinson and others appointed managers. What could be the difference between Budge and them? 🤫

Again, you don’t have to imagine this stuff. It’s real I believe 

Do you mean Stendel.being a success is not a hope we all share but is real?

5 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

What if he does a really good job as SD and Stendel wants him kept on? 

He's not SD. He's doing mostly youth stuff. It'll be Budge's decision. McPhee will be working much more closely with Stendel looking at her brief bit of info about what each will be doing.

I still think Alan Irvine might be SD candidate.

10 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Ones I know of - JJ, Uncle Walt.  Sure there will have been others. 

Edited by soonbe110

2 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

He's not SD. He's doing mostly youth stuff. It'll be Budge's decision. McPhee will be working much more closely with Stendel looking at her brief bit of info about what each will be doing.

What I mean is, if he does a good job in the role he has been assigned, would you still want him gone?

5 hours ago, JamboAl said:

I don't know if you missed anybody but in your first sentence you omitted the word TEMPORARY before TEAM

Haven’t read everything since this post but I don’t recall Dr B ever using the word temporary in relation to the new joint SD setup? On the contrary, I think she said she  would not put a timescale on the appointment of a permanent SD (which is a position I do not think we need in any case).

6 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Do you mean Stendel.being a success is not a hope we all share but is real?

No, I mean who was a major player behind the identifying and hiring of Stendel

24 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

The answer is in this thread's title - "Budge update on Sporting Director role". She's updating us on what McPhee will be doing now Stendel is in, and where we are in the SD recruitment process, and who will be helping Stendel with recruitment etc until that is complete.

I couldn’t care what he was up to. Just tell us more about Stendel and deflect. An update on Sporting Director wasn’t necessary other than “I’ll get working on those applications now we’ve got a manager in”. She’s had a shocker PR wise here, very naive. 

42 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

Back when we found out Budge was taking over and bringing Levein in, I was really pleased. That’s because I was aware of the job he had done at Dundee United whilst a DoF and I liked his outlook on such things, as I understood them. 

The management side of things I was fairly optimistic on too, but he seems to have lost his touch there, and it’s disappointing to admit it, but the results speak for themselves and he had plenty time to turn things around but failed.

His work for the remainder of his contract will be closer to that of a DoF than a manager, and he won’t have any influence on the first team set up, tactics or choice of personnel. I’m happy with that. Both Austin and he have qualities and I think it’s sensible to utilise those whilst they are both still being paid by the club.

Onwards and upwards.

Precisely where I am at.

12 minutes ago, cocobeab said:

When I read threads like this I always wonder how some folk on here survived the Romanov years. Where was the apolplectic, doom mongering, forensic analysis of off field goings on in those days? A fair few of today’s correspondents would surely have combusted or are we now just considerably more dramatic in outlook.

This is what I think about too

2 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

What I mean is, if he does a good job in the role he has been assigned, would you still want him gone?

Unfortunately, now yes. Simply because of the negativity surrounding him, with the media fanning those flames.

The moment he took the head coach job, I couldn't see how he could step back into the DoF role if it all went pear-shaped, even if I think he's done some great things behind the scenes to help us get back on our feet the last 5 years. I do think as an SD he's probably be very good with a much narrower remit, or Academy director although I think we have one. The problem is he's been doing too many things and spread too thinly, and being head coach just exacerbated that leading to no way back after the last couple of seasons.

58 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I still don't get why she announced this in this fashion on the back of some long awaited good news.

Why not just say 'im delighted to have got Daniel in and I will continue my search for a SD and appoint on in due course. In the interim AM will be picking up some of the duties.'

There was absolutely no need whatsoever to go into such detail and mention Levein. It's just created a shitstorm for no reason. 

I apologise for covering ground that I did on page 1 but I just can't fathom how a successful business woman is so shit at PR.

To be honest I think it’s a gentle GIRUY to the fans for forcing her hand on Levein.

2 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

I couldn’t care what he was up to. Just tell us more about Stendel and deflect. An update on Sporting Director wasn’t necessary other than “I’ll get working on those applications now we’ve got a manager in”. She’s had a shocker PR wise here, very naive. 

Judging by this thread, people care very much what Levein and McPhee are up to.

If  he's not away by the start of next season everything will kick off again,and that will be another season completely ruined.i pray she's not stupid enough to backtrack

13 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Unfortunately, now yes. Simply because of the negativity surrounding him, with the media fanning those flames.

The moment he took the head coach job, I couldn't see how he could step back into the DoF role if it all went pear-shaped, even if I think he's done some great things behind the scenes to help us get back on our feet the last 5 years. I do think as an SD he's probably be very good with a much narrower remit, or Academy director although I think we have one. The problem is he's been doing too many things and spread too thinly, and being head coach just exacerbated that leading to no way back after the last couple of seasons.

Fair enough. I take a different view, but I understand where you are coming from. For me, if he does a good job at something, I want him to stay and keep doing it. The media can away and fling shite at themselves, they should not be deciding what happens at Hearts.

16 minutes ago, Kev1998 said:

If  he's not away by the start of next season everything will kick off again,and that will be another season completely ruined.i pray she's not stupid enough to backtrack

I think things have already kicked off. Ann has again demonstrated how much she it is out of touch with the Hearts support. Whatever the Budge and Levein fan boys may say.

Edited by Francis Albert

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

I apologise for covering ground that I did on page 1 but I just can't fathom how a successful business woman is so shit at PR

That would have been the wise thing to do for sure. 

We already knew that Levein would be seeing out his contract so why elaborate further. 

Obviously it's not a big issue for Stendel as he wouldn't be here if he thought it was going to lead to a bad situation. 

4 minutes ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

Fair enough. I take a different view, but I understand where you are coming from. For me, if he does a good job at something, I want him to stay and keep doing it. The media can away and fling shite at themselves, they should not be deciding what happens at Hearts.

Generally I'd agree and I'd be fine with Levein staying on. Two years of injury-plagued football under-performance and some poor signings during one of our most turbulent periods doesn't cancel out his other qualities for me. But like I say there's a real air of negativity and a worryingly large number of ejects with pitchforks around Tynecastle these days, and he's sort of the catalyst. You'd hope with better football and results, people will just forget he's there mind you.

1 minute ago, Francis Albert said:

I think think things have already kicked off. Ann has again demonstrated how much she it is out of touch with the Hearts support. Whatever the Budge and Levein fan boys may say.

I’d agree she is out of synch with the jkb Hearts support. Not so sure re the greater and wider support. Think most of them are delighted she has changed managers and just want to get on with a new, fresh start. 

2 minutes ago, jambogemz said:

We already knew that Levein would be seeing out his contract so why elaborate further. 

Obviously it's not a big issue for Stendel as he wouldn't be here if he thought it was going to lead to a bad situation. 

I am not sure how obvious that is. 

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/ann-budge-reveals-details-hearts-recruitment-process-and-her-interviews-different-managers-1338436

i was under the impression that we head hunted stendel? Or do these guys agents just put forward their names? Didn’t Michael Stewart say he didn’t apply for the job.

looking forward to sat 🙌

2 minutes ago, jambogemz said:

I think this was more her answering questions put to her as there's no statement on the Hearts website about the SD role I can see. I suppose she could have not commented, but that would look shifty. Plus then McPhee would be asked what he's doing now. Better she gives her rationale IMO. She probably thought she was clearing things up by being open. Will she never learn! A legion of social media users, journalists and forum users are just waiting to pick apart her every word in forensic detail 🤣

3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

I am not sure how obvious that is. 

You think they'd appoint him, then surprise him with a SD announcement the same day as his unveiling? You are one cynical [expletive].

3 minutes ago, gordiegords said:

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/ann-budge-reveals-details-hearts-recruitment-process-and-her-interviews-different-managers-1338436

i was under the impression that we head hunted stendel? Or do these guys agents just put forward their names? Didn’t Michael Stewart say he didn’t apply for the job.

looking forward to sat 🙌

There you go, that clears up the whole "who told Budge about Stendel" thing and once again pundits like Stewart are just guessing like the rets of us.

I’d agree she is out of synch with the jkb Hearts support. Not so sure re the greater and wider support. Think most of them are delighted she has changed managers and just want to get on with a new, fresh start. 

I think everyone is delighted that we have a new manager now. Hopefully he makes a quick/positive impact on the players. I'm really looking forward to the match on Saturday to see if any of the quick pressing tactics have rubbed off in the few days he'd have had. 

Its fair to say, I think, that many of the same people aren't happy with the situations around CL and AM. It'll get pushed to the back burner if we start to climb the table, but if not, and if after January we make bad recruitment choices again, then having CL and AM involved in that recruitment, at any level, just leaves Ann and the board open to criticism yet again. She'd be better just getting rid, clearing out and starting afresh.