Lawrence Shankland Signs fir Dundee Utd ( updated )

letsalldothebeattie

2 minutes ago, YouLetYourClubDie said:

Probably because Dundee Utd offered more money than half the Premiership teams. McIness released him which ruled out Aberdeen which only leaves us and Hibs. 

Yeah. Why he never went to Swansea or Sunderland does suggest it suits him to be here too. 

• Replies 1.1k

• Maroon Sailor

• Sagan

• YouLetYourClubDie

YouLetYourClubDie
7 minutes ago, been here before said:

Cool. Im impressed and Im sure others are too.

Well done, some man.

How many goals do you reckon Shankland will score this year then? I am going for 30.

So according to some Shankland will score goals but only in the Championship and not the top league.

So if we put Wighton out on loan to a Championship team and he bangs in the goals that changes nothing???

22 minutes ago, YouLetYourClubDie said:

How many goals do you reckon Shankland will score this year then? I am going for 30.

Ive got no interest in Shankland. Ciuldnt give a fxxk about him in all honesty.

Its nice he excites you though.

4 minutes ago, Cruickshank for Scotland said:

So according to some Shankland will score goals but only in the Championship and not the top league.

So if we put Wighton out on loan to a Championship team and he bangs in the goals that changes nothing???

Looks like Wighton is staying with Hearts just now. 

Ayr were odds on to go up with Shankland's goals then they faltered. Aside from Dundee United being seen as a Premiership side I don't see much difference in moving to Dundee United. Apart from maybe higher wages. If Dundee United stay down will Shankland move?

Edited by Mikey1874

On 06/08/2019 at 10:38, doctor jambo said:

There have been others- Adao springs to mind

Djoum was a good one. 

5 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Looks like Wighton is staying with Hearts just now. 

Ayr were odds on to go up with Shankland's goals then they faltered. Aside from Dundee United being seen as a Premiership side I don't see much difference in moving to Dundee United. Apart from maybe higher wages. If Dundee United stay down will Shankland move?

No doubt a year contract extension to be announced for Wighton by the end of the month.

If we had signed him, I wonder what affectionate nickname he would have now.

I'll go for Ham Shankland after failing to net for us so far.

8 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Wankland and Shiteon up front.

Deadly combo.

Maybe Flapjack Hamilton between the sticks

The Hippy and Lhevein issuing instructions from the dug out.

I take it there is a thread on every spfl fans forum about how they missed out on Shankland and their scouting and management are shit?

26 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Shiteland? 

Wankland is my favourite though.

1 minute ago, jambopilms said:

I take it there is a thread on every spfl fans forum about how they missed out on Shankland and their scouting and management are shit?

Every club in the world mate!

Real Madrid fans are threatening to riot.

2 hours ago, YouLetYourClubDie said:

How many will he score in the Premiership? I'm going for 0

YouLetYourClubDie
2 hours ago, been here before said:

Ive got no interest in Shankland. Ciuldnt give a fxxk about him in all honesty.

Its nice he excites you though.

I have an interest in Scottish football in general and would like to see us target players the best players from the Championship.

1 minute ago, YouLetYourClubDie said:

I have an interest in Scottish football in general and would like to see us target players the best players from the Championship.

And if we did that all the time guess where we'd end up ?...……..that's right the Championship

The odd player especially if a youngster but on the whole no

29 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

How many will he score in the Premiership? I'm going for 0

He's already scored against us in the cup...

It didn't look that difficult for him. 

He's also keeping Sow out of the team. (Maybe not the player he was, granted)

Edited by Sagan

17 minutes ago, YouLetYourClubDie said:

Well done you.

I dunno why people are shooting him down just because we dingyed him. 

I'd rather us take a so called risk on a player banging the goals in than someone that had potential 5  years ago and has done hee haw since (Wighton)

Edited by Sagan

On 05/08/2019 at 18:31, Sagan said:

Our scouting is dug shite. 

That's because all the best football scouts are on kickback.

1 minute ago, queensferryjambo said:

That's because all the best football scouts are on kickback.

If you've not got anything sensible to say, why bother?

meh, I would have liked us to take a punt on him but for some reason he has ended up in the championship.  Who knows what that reason may be but he will scored 25+ goals no problem in that league.

He's still only 23, maybe Dundee United offered him a good deal and he's confident he would get plenty game time and end up getting a big transfer at the end of the season?

YouLetYourClubDie
26 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

And if we did that all the time guess where we'd end up ?...……..that's right the Championship

The odd player especially if a youngster but on the whole no

He is the standout player in that league though. Mulraney was signed from the same level and has turned out to be the only half decent winger we have signed for a good while.

An interesting article from last year on how we've improved our scouting network and that it will take time. 

So basically admitting that the previous network was dug shite. 

However, it does seem like most of the better players we've signed since then have been players that Levein has worked with or wanted previously or players that MacPhee has known or worked with.. 

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hearts-assistant-austin-macphee-how-15235333

13 minutes ago, Sagan said:

I dunno why people are shooting him down just because we dingyed him. 

I'd rather us take a so called risk on a player banging the goals in than someone that had potential 5  years ago and has done hee haw since (Wighton)

Excellent. Use a thread about a player from another team to have a dig at one of ours :clap:

YouLetYourClubDie
3 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Yeah. Why he never went to Swansea or Sunderland does suggest it suits him to be here too. 

If he turned down deals from those clubs he must have an immense faith in his ability and value playing every week above all else. 

On 04/08/2019 at 00:12, Maroon Sailor said:

You get over it - he scored 4 goals today.

Wee Robbo said it was a masterclass in finishing so I'll take his opinion rather than yours 

People clearly not able to let go. Wonder why no other top flight club touched him?? There is a bloody reason for it.

11 minutes ago, Sagan said:

If you've not got anything sensible to say, why bother?

Sensible? Like your sensible post - 'Our scouting is dug shite.'

You base this on Hearts not signing Shankland? The same player every other scout in the UK passed on apart from the mighty Dundee Utd. Let's face it you hardly need to do any scouting on Shankland's 50 goals in 50 games for Ayr it wasn't exactly a secret. 

You clearly think you could do a better job at scouting than professionals who have worked in football for years - and you are on kickback. Hence me saying 'That's because all the best football scouts are on kickback' 

Make sense to you yet? 

1 minute ago, Jenks said:

People clearly not able to let go. Wonder why no other top flight club touched him?? There is a bloody reason for it.

What is the bloody reason for it ?

Same reason none of them went for Connor Washington ?

23 minutes ago, Sagan said:

He's already scored against us in the cup...

It didn't look that difficult for him. 

He's also keeping Sow out of the team. (Maybe not the player he was, granted)

Still going for no goals scored in the premiership seeing as no premiership team thought he was worth a go.

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

Still going for no goals scored in the premiership seeing as no premiership team thought he was worth a go.

I doubt you'll ever get to know as he will probably get a move down south if he carries on the way he's going. 

YouLetYourClubDie
1 minute ago, ToqueJambo said:

You can't say this with any authority. 

9 minutes ago, Sagan said:

An interesting article from last year on how we've improved our scouting network and that it will take time. 

So basically admitting that the previous network was dug shite. 

However, it does seem like most of the better players we've signed since then have been players that Levein has worked with or wanted previously or players that MacPhee has known or worked with.. 

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/football/hearts-assistant-austin-macphee-how-15235333

Tell us what you really want to say. 

1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

Tell us what you really want to say. 

That is what i wanted to say. 

Just pointing out facts. 

I dunno why everyone is getting all upset! ha. 

3 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Player's choice to go to Dundee United despite interest from other clubs

Fair play to the boy - knocked in 4 last week that had wee Robbo waxing lyrical about him

3 minutes ago, Sagan said:

That is what i wanted to say. 

Just pointing out facts. 

I dunno why everyone is getting all upset! ha. 

You posted an opinion. No facts. 

tokyowalnut
6 minutes ago, YouLetYourClubDie said:

He can, he signed for a championship club.

Just now, tokyowalnut said:

Choosing Dundee United over other clubs. Which other clubs exactly we don't know. 

YouLetYourClubDie
1 minute ago, tokyowalnut said:

If Dundee Utd offered me 1500 a week and St Johnstone and Motherwell 1000 a week I know who I would be signing for.

5 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

You posted an opinion. No facts. 

Aye ok. 

I posted an article that came from our assistant managers own mouth, 

Uche was a player that levein knew from reading, 

Naismith was a player levein worked with in the scotland job, 

We've had a load of northern irish players that Macphee has worked with. 

Craig tried to sign Damour 2 years ago. 

So what are our scouts doing?

I'm talking utter pish though eh?

Edited by Sagan

30 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

What is the bloody reason for it ?

Same reason none of them went for Connor Washington ?

Not all top flight clubs can afford Conor Washington but I'll guarantee most could afford Shankland.

11 minutes ago, Jenks said:

Not all top flight clubs can afford Conor Washington but I'll guarantee most could afford Shankland.

Guarantee can you ?

How much did Washington sign for ?

How much did Shankland go for ?

How much are they on ?

What's the difference between not all top flight clubs and most clubs ?

Edited by Maroon Sailor

41 minutes ago, YouLetYourClubDie said:

If he did get offers, he’s obviously not willing or confident enough to test himself at a much higher level?