Naismith - aims for return against Rangers ( updated )

Bauld

5 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

I’ve said before on similar threads in the past that I feel the new generation of players are conditioned on sticking their hands up for the slightest of injuries. 

Taking into account your last paragraph I do think players in the past were far more hardy, committed and probably too much for their own good in all honesty, as many may have suffered after their careers. But that was people back then. 100%, wanted to play all the time, wanted nothing more than to give their all for the jersey every week and that fed into you as a supporter.

Going off on a slight tangent. They go on about how fit players are now, how they have the best ever training and conditioning but look back at old footage, maybe the 80s team, even JJs 90s teams. Not just Hearts, but other games too.  The pace and desire players played with is second to none to what we are watching now. They had the touch and know-how with it. 

As soon as those players took to the pitch the first thing on their minds was is they were going to work harder than the opposition. 

It's been suggested many times before but I think it's likely footballers are attaining the wrong kind of fitness. 

Hamstrings and calf muscles honed tighter than an acoustic guitar string are likely to twang in such a competitive, naturally physical sport. 

I don't follow rugby myself, but I doubt participants, even at the highest levels, are so finely tuned, fitness wise. 

Different sports, of course, but perhaps there's a balance somewhere In between that, possibly, existed around 30+ years ago?

• Replies 4k

• Robbo-Jambo

• Inch Hearts

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

18 minutes ago, martoon said:

Actually FJ, I'm not sure it was £50k. 

Could be wrong but £35k is the fee I recall. 

I have heard 50k mentioned before but you might be right.  Cheap a more than twice the price.  When we signed him I'm sure I heard that we were after someone else.  It might've been Davie Provan.  Shudder to think...

1 minute ago, FruitJuice said:

I have heard 50k mentioned before but you might be right.  Cheap a more than twice the price.  When we signed him I'm sure I heard that we were after someone else.  It might've been Davie Provan.  Shudder to think...

It was Provan.

Shuddering as I post, bud. 

1 minute ago, martoon said:

It was Provan.

Shuddering as I post, bud. 

Imagine the reception he would've got after him getting willie johnstone send of at parkhead.  The though of that clown playing for us will keep me awake a wee bit longer.  

19 minutes ago, FruitJuice said:

Imagine the reception he would've got after him getting willie johnstone send of at parkhead.  The though of that clown playing for us will keep me awake a wee bit longer.  

There's a Davy Provan joke to be cracked there but I'm going to let it go by. :lol:

14 hours ago, Psychedelicropcircle said:

So I wasn’t all wrong surgery earlier this week I heard.

Think you’re due an apology from the know-it-all’s mate. 

20 hours ago, SUTOL said:

Leeches are used in some current medical procedures, more relating to plastic/reconstructive surgery rather than muscle strains though.  

:levein2:

7 hours ago, martoon said:

It's been suggested many times before but I think it's likely footballers are attaining the wrong kind of fitness. 

Hamstrings and calf muscles honed tighter than an acoustic guitar string are likely to twang in such a competitive, naturally physical sport. 

I don't follow rugby myself, but I doubt participants, even at the highest levels, are so finely tuned, fitness wise. 

Different sports, of course, but perhaps there's a balance somewhere In between that, possibly, existed around 30+ years ago?

There is obviously science behind it but I agree. 

Even  the top clubs players seem to have more injuries than before. 

Is it trying to make them athletes over football players?

Funny enough, one of the best players in the world looks like a jakey, most unathletic looking person ever compared to his peers. 

Many rugby players, like you say although fit and strong aren't as toned/ "ripped" and athletic as most footballers tend to be. 

Could also just be that nowadays football is far more stamina and fitness based and therefor more injuries occur. 

Scottish football being at the higher level of the scale in stamina/ physical attributes over technique stakes as well. 

Guys like George Best wouldn't make it nowadays tho at the top level, makes you think we're the priorities are when looking at a player. 

16 hours ago, Psychedelicropcircle said:

As the lad who told me has no reason to lie there’s a good chance I’ll be proved right & you’ll look like a ***** & not for the first time on here.

😂😂😂😂 touche!!

22 hours ago, Robbo-Jambo said:

You just need to look at the 85/86 season to see that. 

J C was a total freak of nature the way he used to be ready for the next week after being battered the previous one. 🙂

He used to "ride" what would now be career ending tackles every 15 mins! 😂

Pampering them clearly isnt working. 

Wage theivery IMO !!

Seen all sorts of posts re Naismith contract clauses like next manager, say in the next manager and just seen on fb that clause stating that levein has to stay until end of his contract. Is there any truth to any of them?

On 04/10/2019 at 11:40, Barack said:

"Hearts expect to have John Souttar back by early September."

2020...?🤔

Wow... they must have been told this by someone?

13 hours ago, Newton51 said:

Seen all sorts of posts re Naismith contract clauses like next manager, say in the next manager and just seen on fb that clause stating that levein has to stay until end of his contract. Is there any truth to any of them?

He is important but don't think that could be in a contract - think he would be a great manager one day

12 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

Levein now saying he may not make the game on Sunday. 

Shock horror 🤬

16 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

Surely not...

I wonder what 'Steven felt a bit tight' this week? Seems a bit early as it usually seems to be he trains all week then 'felt it a bit tight' on Thursdays.

Fed up listeneing to CL's deflections with regard to injuries, reads like he's just getting his excuses in early again. What I want to know from him is how he's going to get the best of what is actually available.  Loved the comments on JC earlier, different attitude in those days and I suspect more robustness physically and mentally, albeit as athletes they were less highly tuned.

Walker will be back before him at this rate, with a broken ****ing leg.  I think Naismith’s finished, but Levein’s scared to tell us the truth until our form turns round. Tight hamstring for 2.5 months, aye right.

45 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

What a huge shock. More shite from our ‘manager’.

49 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

😂😂😂😂  well I never.

decision made. Naismith really was the one person that would have made me think about going. 

Edited by 1971fozzy

46 minutes ago, Swanny17 said:

We've made a horrendous decision here with the 4 years . 

This is going to be the case for the length of his contract, hoping we can get him ready , eventually getting him ready , them getting news he's out for months again . 

A fit Naismith would have been a tremendous bit of business but this is never going to be the case imo . 

More bad luck I suppose. 

Lol.

Can we have a sweep on the How long it will be to the “Steven has an underlying problem requiring surgery which we can only discovered after sending him to 42 specialists” headline. 

im going next Tuesday! 

On 04/10/2019 at 11:29, busby1985 said:

I loved the Roy Keane interview with Gary Nev where he tore John Walters and Ward a new one for not being able to train due to “having a program”. Sounds exactly like Naismith. Cause he’s a senior pro and played at the top level he’s allowed to train away from the squad, do his own rehab and have his own “program”. Let’s hope that the “program” sees him come back fully fit this time. 

Also worth listening to that Keane interview just to hear the changes he made to his life, diet and training to try stay at the very top after his biggest injury. He felt he had started to get little niggly injuries and then he got a major injury and he felt he needed a change in lifestyle. 

You have praised Roy Keane for slaughtering those who "have a program" in your first paragraph, even using the word 'program' in quotations to suggest it is a bit of an empty word.

In your second paragraph you have praised Roy Keane (or found it interesting) that he "made changes to his life, diet and training" .  

Some "programs" are better than other programs, it would seem.  :lol:

1 hour ago, Swanny17 said:

Wouldn't surprise me if he wasn't available.

That said this could be a way of reducing any expectations of him being ready to go from the start and he will take a place on the bench.

On 04/10/2019 at 07:53, Nookie Bear said:

If our medical procedures are as cutting edge as the football we play, we are probably treating the players with leeches ^_^

Just pop four in your mouth in the morning and let them dissolve slowly. :thumb:

Anyway, I'm finding the Naismith slagging on the last few pages rather pathetic. I read this a week or two back. I hope it makes one or two people think.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/49845993

It's unfair to criticise Naismith. We all know that he will be more frustrated than any of us at his inability to contribute on the pitch. 

I do think it's valid to question the wisdom of the club in awarding a 4-year deal to a player whose body was already starting to show signs of breaking down.

1 minute ago, Cut The Crap said:

It's unfair to criticise Naismith. We all know that he will be more frustrated than any of us at his inability to contribute on the pitch. 

I do think it's valid to question the wisdom of the club in awarding a 4-year deal to a player whose body was already starting to show signs of breaking down.

His body is  showing signs breaking down....... 

Is he not 32?

This place is ****ing mental. 

How old are you? 

Forever Hearts

We gave Conor Sammon a three year deal so giving an injury prone player a four year deal should come as no surprise under this regime. 

4 minutes ago, Cut The Crap said:

I think the 4 year deal was more about the coaching side of things tbh.

Gordon Ramsay

Reckon he will retire from playing by the end of the season. His body is done. 

Poor decision to give him a 4 year deal. 

Another notch on Craigys crap decisions belt. 

So sweep wise I'm going for Thursday morning "Steven is not responding as we had hoped, his leg fell off yesterday after it being a little tight Wednesday after he walked to the cashline to see if his wages were in, we've sent the leg to a sports specialist at the arse-end-of-nowhere but early reports is the leg will be off for around 12-15 weeks" however "we are hopping it can return sooner"

If it wasn't so laughable you'd think someone is extracting the mickey!

3 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

His body is  showing signs breaking down....... 

Is he not 32?

This place is ****ing mental. 

How old are you? 

I think you're right about his age. I'm not sure what relevance my age has to this discussion though.

He came to us originally following a lengthy injury lay-off at Norwich. He was available for around 75% of our remaining games that season. Last season he was available for maybe around 50% of our games.

Even based on those stats, I thought awarding him a 4 year playing deal was fairly generous. The fact that he's managed maybe an hour of football in the first three months of this season does nothing to alter that view.

4 minutes ago, Cut The Crap said:

I think you're right about his age. I'm not sure what relevance my age has to this discussion though.

He came to us originally following a lengthy injury lay-off at Norwich. He was available for around 75% of our remaining games that season. Last season he was available for maybe around 50% of our games.

Even based on those stats, I thought awarding him a 4 year playing deal was fairly generous. The fact that he's managed maybe an hour of football in the first three months of this season does nothing to alter that view.

Body breaking down...... 

Tad dramatic. 

I asked your age as you're either really young and think 32 is old or you're older, if that's the case I was wondering if your body is breaking down at the grand old age of  32....

All Levein has said is he's not 100% and we'll see how he is as the week goes on.  Unless I'm being daft that at least suggests he's back training rather than just breaking down again.

Forever Hearts
2 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Body breaking down...... 

Tad dramatic. 

I asked your age as you're either really young and think 32 is old or you're older, if that's the case I was wondering if your body is breaking down at the grand old age of  32....

32 is getting on a bit for a professional athlete in the top league. 

Just now, Forever Hearts said:

He's always been a complete pro and looked after himself, and we're taking about the SPFL here not Serie A (where the best player in the league is 34)

Forever Hearts
2 minutes ago, Smithee said:

He's always been a complete pro and looked after himself, and we're taking about the SPFL here not Serie A (where the best player in the league is 34)

Regardless, at that age an injury you would have taken a week or two to recover from at 22 will have you out a bit longer. Times that by ten for a serious injury. 

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I suspect there is something in that.

The thinking may have been that in order to perform well in the Scottish Premiership he won't have to push himself as hard as he would in the Premiership or Championship in England.

It's a valid consideration, but the early signs are not encouraging.

4 minutes ago, Forever Hearts said:

You aren’t having a go at him but as usual some take it wrong. 

There’s younger players than him packing the game in because of recurring injury and wear and tear in the same areas they get those injuries. 

When over 30 it doesn’t matter how fit you are (as in stamina etc...) because nature takes over and more you keep breaking down with injury the tougher it becomes to recover. It’s just luck half the time as much as it being down to how well you look after yourself. 

Naisy will be hurt more than anyone about his constant niggles and I’m sure  will do everything to keep himself playing.  

Forever Hearts
2 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

You aren’t having a go at him but as usual some take it wrong. 

There’s younger players than him packing the game in because of recurring injury and wear and tear in the same areas they get those injuries. 

When over 30 it doesn’t matter how fit you are (as in stamina etc...) because nature takes over and more you keep breaking down with injury the tougher it becomes to recover. It’s just luck half the time as much as it being down to how well you look after yourself. 

Naisy will be hurt more than anyone about his constant niggles and I’m sure  will do everything to keep himself playing.  

Agreed. 👍

2 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

I wonder if it’s a case of not risking Naisy and others and keeping them back for games that Craig Levien considers more winnable?

At Heart of Midlothian football club EVERY home game should be seen at winnable. Therein lies the problem!

Edited by sjh1874

41 minutes ago, Gordon Ramsay said:

Reckon he will retire from playing by the end of the season. His body is done. 

Poor decision to give him a 4 year deal. 

Another notch on Craigys crap decisions belt. 

You realise if he retires we don't keep paying him, right?

1 minute ago, sjh1874 said:

At Heart of Midlothian football club EVERY home game should be seen at winnable. Therein lies the problem!

3 minutes ago, sjh1874 said:

It was only a guess by a poster. 

I disagree with it. Every game is looked on as being winnable. I’m pretty sure of that.

Edited by Boab