U.S. Politics megathread (merged)

trex

2 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

Trump has been describing the press as "the enemy of the people" since day one. It's simply standard dictatorial/authoritarian practice to shut down any source of criticism. Stalin did it, Hitler did it, the post Stalin soviet Union did it and Putin does it.

I see what's beginning to happen now as a sinister development. Some polls are beginning to suggest that he may lose the election. If Trump loses the election he loses the protection of the office and may be open to criminal charges along a number of lines. He will do anything to avoid that.

He has said in the past "I have the 2nd amendment people behind me I have the bikers behind me". What in the world is that supposed to imply? Just recently in the middle of a global pandemic he has described gun toting anti lock down protesters as "great people" 

So what if he loses the election then refuses to leave office because "it's fake news, it's rigged". Hell he said that after the last election and he had won.

There are some very informed people who have a history of guessing right when it comes to US politics predicting that if he loses he will refuse to leave the office. So then what happens? All these gun toting nuts he calls "great people" come out to prevent him being removed from that office? We're heading towards frightening territory.

Listen to Bill Maher in this video, he is one of the very well informed people I referred to and he has been predicting for years now that Trump will refuse to leave office if he loses.

I've wondered if he could something along the lines of resign from the Presidency, give it to Pence, but on the assurance that Pence gives him a Presidential pardon. Not sure if that's even possible, but nothing really surprises me here anymore. 

• Replies 32.4k

• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Justin Z

• Watt-Zeefuik

Maple Leaf
1 hour ago, trotter said:

I've wondered if he could something along the lines of resign from the Presidency, give it to Pence, but on the assurance that Pence gives him a Presidential pardon. Not sure if that's even possible, but nothing really surprises me here anymore. 

That was exactly what happened when Richard Nixon resigned.  VP Gerald Ford took over and immediately pardoned Nixon, to considerable outrage.  But it was legal, so that was that.

However, Presidents can only pardon federal crimes.  That means if the State of, say, New York, wanted to press charges against ex-President Trump, the new president has no power to intervene.

2 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

That was exactly what happened when Richard Nixon resigned.  VP Gerald Ford took over and immediately pardoned Nixon, to considerable outrage.  But it was legal, so that was that.

However, Presidents can only pardon federal crimes.  That means if the State of, say, New York, wanted to press charges against ex-President Trump, the new president has no power to intervene.

That question has been discussed in the past and lawyers from New York have stated that when Trump is no longer President he will be investigated and probably charged with numerous offences involving his finances.

6 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

That question has been discussed in the past and lawyers from New York have stated that when Trump is no longer President he will be investigated and probably charged with numerous offences involving his finances.

This is just one of the things that convinces me there is a more than credible threat of Trump refusing to leave office. He's frankly been such a twisted deranged c*%t for the past 4 years there have to be many lining up to take revenge when he no longer has the shield of the office to protect him.

How many of his former sidekicks have ended up in jail recently? Well there's Michael Cohen for one.

Cohen was a vice-president of The Trump Organization, and the personal counsel to Trump, and was often described by media as Trump's "fixer"

Trump himself obviously has to be knee deep in the same activities that saw Cohen be jailed for 3 years. And that's just the tip of the iceberg.

Robert Mueller after delivering his report on accusations that the Trump campaign conspired with Russia to swing he 2016 election. Regarding which all of the worlds top intelligence agencies said Russia did indeed meddle in that election which Trump denies.

Mueller: “If we had had confidence that” President Donald Trump “clearly did not commit a crime, we would have said so,” 

They didn't say so, the clear implication being that Trump did commit a crime but that in the meantime with Trump holding the shield of office  Mueller doesn't want to talk about it. With a significant chunk of the report itself redacted when published. Meaning blacked out so we don't know what it says.

Around 7% of the entire report was redacted but if you focus on just the redacted sections themselves a huge proportion of the actual Russian/Trump collusion factor is blocked out.

Almost half of the section titled 'Russian Active Measures Social Media Campaign" is redacted, 46% of it to be precise. The section titled 'Russian Hacking And Dumping Operations' 23% and the section titled 'Prosecution And Declination Decisions' 31%.

You have to suspect there is some truly damning stuff in there Trump  would do absolutely anything to keep hidden.  Just yesterday he tweeted.

Will not allow what to happen? Will not allow fact checking of demonstrable lies? He's constantly pushing ever further the boundaries of what's acceptable in a democracy. We can only expect that tendency to ramp up even further if he looks set to lose the election.

If he loses we can be guaranteed he will declare it false and that he actually won. Even if they did relatively easily force him out of office he's setting the stage for outbreaks of violence when his "second amendment people and the bikers" alongside those 'very fine people' of the KKK and the Nazis  enter the fray.

For that alone he should be charged with inciting crimes of violence when it happens. Anybody else inciting violence would be. 

For anyone in the dark about who Joe Scarborough is and why Trump is attacking him here is an insight. And while he's doing it inflicting massive pain on a family other than that of Scarborough.

The Malignant Cruelty of Donald Trump

Trump is defaming the memory of a woman who died nearly 20 years ago—and inflicting pain upon her family today.

“I’m asking you to intervene in this instance because the President of the United States has taken something that does not belong to him—the memory of my dead wife—and perverted it for perceived political gain.”

There may be a more damning thing that’s been said about an American president, but none immediately comes to mind.

This sentence is from a heartbreaking May 21 letter written by Timothy Klausutis to Jack Dorsey, the CEO of Twitter, asking Dorsey to delete a series of tweets by Donald Trump.

Klausutis is the widower of Lori Kaye Klausutis, who died nearly 20 years ago. (Timothy Klausutis, who never remarried, still lives in the house he shared with his wife.)

The autopsy conducted at the time of Lori’s death confirmed that it was an accident; she had fainted as the result of a heart condition, hitting her head on a desk. There’s not a thimble of evidence of foul play.

But here’s where things go from being tragic to being twisted.

When Lori Klausutis died, she worked for then–Republican Representative Joe Scarborough. Today, Scarborough is a fierce critic of the president from his perch at MSNBC, where he co-hosts Morning Joe. That is why the president has been peddling a cruel and baseless conspiracy theory that Scarborough had Klausutis murdered.

This is a topic most journalists are inherently reluctant to cover, given the danger that it will draw more attention to a vile lie. But with the president and his son Don Jr., who between them have more than 85 million Twitter followers, sending out lunatic tweets and calling for “the opening of a Cold Case against Psycho Joe Scarborough,” human decency requires a response.

That Donald Trump would resort to conspiracy theories to attack his perceived enemies is hardly a revelation. After all, Trump employed a racist conspiracy theory against Barack Obama, which helped him gain political prominence in the Republican Party, and later claimed that President Obama had wiretapped his phones.

During the 2016 primary, Trump linked Ted Cruz’s father, Rafael, to the assassination of President John F. Kennedy and retweeted a supporter who claimed that Marco Rubio was ineligible to run because his parents were not natural-born U.S. citizens.

Trump suggested that the suicide of Vince Foster, a former aide to President Bill Clinton, and the death of former Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia were murders; that childhood vaccines cause autism; and that windmills cause cancer.

He’s claimed that climate change is “a total and very expensive hoax” by China’s government, that a cybersecurity company framed Russia for election interference, that Ukraine was hiding Hillary Clinton’s missing emails, and that voter fraud cost him the popular vote in 2016. (Business Insider provided a useful summary of more than two dozen of Trump’s conspiracy theories in October.)

Conspiracy theories have long been evidence of Trump’s twisted psychology. He has always traveled quite easily from the real world to the twilight zone, depending on which reality suits his needs at the moment.

And when someone holds him accountable—when someone calls him out for his incompetence and ethical wrongdoing—conspiracy theories often become his weapon of choice.

At such moments, conspiracy theories are fine, but conspiracy theories with the added element of cruelty are even better. Which brings us back to the heartbreaking letter from Timothy Klausutis.

Donald Trump doesn’t merely want to criticize his opponents; he takes a depraved delight in inflicting pain on others, even if there’s collateral damage in the process, as is the case with the Klausutis family. There’s something quite sick about it all.

A lot of human casualties result from the cruelty of malignant narcissists like Donald Trump—casualties, it should be said, that his supporters in the Republican Party, on various pro-Trump websites and news outlets, and on talk radio are willing to tolerate or even defend.

Their philosophy seems to be that you need to break a few eggs to make an omelet. If putting up with Trump’s indecency is the price of maintaining power, so be it.

Will Trump’s white evangelical supporters—Franklin Graham Jr., Robert Jeffress, Eric Metaxas, Mike Huckabee, Ralph Reed—defend his behavior as the perfect embodiment of the New Testament ethic, the credo of Jesus, the message from the Sermon on the Mount? 

“Blessed are the brutal, for they shall inherit the Earth.”

Some people will argue that Trump’s promotion of this conspiracy theory is just his latest distraction, a shiny object to pull our focus away from the human and economic cost of COVID-19. Maybe. But I’m not at all convinced that this will help Trump politically.

Remember, Trump’s approval rating was often well under 50 percent even when the economy was doing well and America was at relative peace abroad. There’s plenty of evidence, including the 2018 midterm elections, that Trump’s dehumanizing tactics erode his support, especially among white suburban women.

And I rather doubt that people will have forgotten Trump’s reckless handling of the pandemic by November; defaming the memory of a woman who died nearly two decades ago and causing renewed grief for her family isn’t likely to help him with most voters, either.

But whatever the political ramifications of this current lie being promulgated by the president, the rest of us need to name it, and to make Trump supporters own it. They are his, and he is theirs.

In his letter to Jack Dorsey, Timothy Klausutis wrote that his wife’s death, in 2001, was “the single most painful thing that I have ever had to deal with in my 52 years and continues to haunt her parents and sister.” He added:

I have mourned my wife every day since her passing. I have tried to honor her memory and our marriage. As her husband, I feel that one of my marital obligations is to protect her memory as I would have protected her in life. There has been a constant barrage of falsehoods, half-truths, innuendo and conspiracy theories since the day she died. I realize that may sound like an exaggeration, unfortunately it is the verifiable truth. Because of this, I have struggled to move forward with my life.

And this:

The frequency, intensity, ugliness, and promulgation of these horrifying lies ever increases on the internet. These conspiracy theorists, including most recently the President of the United States, continue to spread their bile and misinformation on your platform disparaging the memory of my wife and our marriage.

Near the end of his letter to Dorsey, asking him to delete Trump’s tweets—which Dorsey has declined to do—Klausutis wrote:

I would also ask that you consider Lori’s niece and two nephews who will eventually come across this filth in the future. They have never met their Aunt and it pains me to think they would ever have to “learn” about her this way.

My wife deserves better.

There is a wickedness in our president that long ago corrupted him. It’s corrupted his party. And it’s in the process of corrupting our country, too.

He is a crimson stain on American decency. He needs to go.

https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2020/05/malignant-cruelty-donald-trump/612097/

56 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

This is just one of the things that convinces me there is a more than credible threat of Trump refusing to leave office. He's frankly been such a twisted deranged c*%t for the past 4 years there have to be many lining up to take revenge when he no longer has the shield of the office to protect him.

How many of his former sidekicks have ended up in jail recently? Well there's Michael Cohen for one.

Trump himself obviously has to be knee deep in the same activities that saw Cohen be jailed for 3 years. And that's just the tip of the iceberg.

Robert Mueller after delivering his report on accusations that the Trump campaign conspired with Russia to swing he 2016 election. Regarding which all of the worlds top intelligence agencies said Russia did indeed meddle in that election which Trump denies.

They didn't say so, the clear implication being that Trump did commit a crime but that in the meantime with Trump holding the shield of office  Mueller doesn't want to talk about it. With a significant chunk of the report itself redacted when published. Meaning blacked out so we don't know what it says.

Around 7% of the entire report was redacted but if you focus on just the redacted sections themselves a huge proportion of the actual Russian/Trump collusion factor is blocked out.

Almost half of the section titled 'Russian Active Measures Social Media Campaign" is redacted, 46% of it to be precise. The section titled 'Russian Hacking And Dumping Operations' 23% and the section titled 'Prosecution And Declination Decisions' 31%.

You have to suspect there is some truly damning stuff in there Trump  would do absolutely anything to keep hidden.  Just yesterday he tweeted.

Will not allow what to happen? Will not allow fact checking of demonstrable lies? He's constantly pushing ever further the boundaries of what's acceptable in a democracy. We can only expect that tendency to ramp up even further if he looks set to lose the election.

If he loses we can be guaranteed he will declare it false and that he actually won. Even if they did relatively easily force him out of office he's setting the stage for outbreaks of violence when his "second amendment people and the bikers" alongside those 'very fine people' of the KKK and the Nazis  enter the fray.

For that alone he should be charged with inciting crimes of violence when it happens. Anybody else inciting violence would be. 

Apparently he is set to bring out some new laws against social media outlets to safeguard free speech, by you know, censuring free speech...

11 minutes ago, trotter said:

Apparently he is set to bring out some new laws against social media outlets to safeguard free speech, by you know, censuring free speech...

And there for all to see is the absurdity and total insanity of Trump. In his view he's free to lie but anybody questioning the lie is limiting free speech. He's free to say whatever he wants but others are not free to dispute it?

Twitter haven't even removed the tweet. It's there for all to see, he 'freely' had his say. But don't dare question it.

On 27/05/2020 at 01:14, Barack said:

:glorious:

1st Amendment says..."Naw...ya willnae!"

Screenshot_20200527-011220_Twitter.jpg

Twitter should deplatform him for 2 weeks. That would both shut the fat zoomer up and make twitter a better place. 

Trumps relationship with his fixer. On Air Force One, I know nothing about any money he paid not to have a story printed saying I had an affair with a porn star. His lawyer when Trump had abandoned him showed the check Trump wrote to make the payment.  

Trump speaking during his campaign, Russia if you have the Hillary E mails lets have them. Would I suggest he if offered would accept Russian help if beneficial. A real man, not an aptly described little man would have said something to the effect Russia mind your own business now and when I am President interfere in American matters at your own risk.

I thought I'd leave responding.

I questioned linking Trumps response with condoning neo nazus.

Despite showing links to the press conference in full which showed he clearly condemned neo nazis and kkk as having no place in America.

I also question the theory of white skin privilege.

There are plenty of well educated views that argue against it.

They are easy to find.

That doesnt make me nazi or alt right.

Edited by jake
Posted too soon .

5 minutes ago, jake said:

Despite showing links to the press conference in full which showed he clearly condemned neo nazis and kkk as having no place in America.

They are easy to find.

I a

Trump quite clearly stated that there were good people in both groups, h certainly as he has done many times when the heat in the kitchen got too high made contrary statements to his original.

Maple Leaf
8 minutes ago, jake said:

They are easy to find.

That doesnt make me nazi or alt right.

Of course not, and no-one has suggested that.

I think it's beyond doubt that white Americans are treated differently from Black Americans. And by differently, I mean better. If that's what you mean by "white skin privilege" then, imo, it's a fact.

Just now, Sharpie said:

Trump quite clearly stated that there were good people in both groups, h certainly as he has done many times when the heat in the kitchen got too high made contrary statements to his original.

Bob.

Read the transcript.

Hes I'll informed and grasping but the line is totally out of context.

That doesnt mean I oppose the democratic decision to pull the statue down.

That's my kind of democracy.

Because like brexit it's a revolt through voting.

That's the idealic .

Being honest I'd rather Trump won with his administration than Biden with his.

Although I'd rather the presidency was done away with and the popular party had a leader.

Although the more I look at it the more I admire the American constitution.

There was a lot of input from Scots.

16 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

Of course not, and no-one has suggested that.

I think it's beyond doubt that white Americans are treated differently from Black Americans. And by differently, I mean better. If that's what you mean by "white skin privilege" then, imo, it's a fact.

It's dangerous to and it's wrong to assign skin colour.

It also reaffirms someone who is black that they cant succeed because they are black.

That's the point Maple theres a narrative that reaffirms things that are no longer true.

And it's coming from the left.

And it was a bit mate.

Without right saying it.

But that's an American thing I've noticed from debates I've seen although its recognised now.

😄

Sorry just havin a wee laugh to masel

Edited by jake
About the tos I'm not sure

Maple Leaf
7 minutes ago, jake said:

It's dangerous to and it's wrong to assign skin colour.

It also reaffirms someone who is black that they cant succeed because they are black.

That's the point Maple theres a narrative that reaffirms things that are no longer true.

And it's coming from the left.

And it was a bit mate.

Without right saying it.

But that's an American thing I've noticed from debates I've seen although its recognised now.

😄

Sorry just havin a wee laugh to masel

I agree about it being wrong to differentiate people based on skin colour.  Similarly, I'm uncomfortable with discussions about races, white, black, yellow, etc.  70,000 years ago all our ancestors were living in a small area of West Africa, roughly where Kenya is now.  The DNA similarities between any two individuals on the planet is something like 99.9% . The cliche is true ... there's only one race, the human race.

The sad reality is, whether we like it or not or whether we believe it or not, Black people have a more difficult life than whites, at least in the West.  Their unemployment rates are higher, their levels of poverty are higher, their life-expectancy is lower.  The percentage of blacks in prison is disproportionately high ... a fact that I think is linked to what I posted in the previous sentence.  Many Blacks live lives of quiet desperation, and much of the reason is due to factors they can't control.

Jake, if you think that what I've posted is wrong, I can be easily called out with some simple Google searches.

PS.  It's good to laugh!!  :thumb:

11 minutes ago, jake said:

Bob.

Read the transcript.

That's the idealic .

Although I'd rather the presidency was done away with and the popular party had a leader.

Jake I will accept many criticisms but not this one.I don't know what transcript you are talking about but I am referring to Trump on tv after the incident, not days weeks or months after, but in less than twenty four hours with a young woman in the mortuary clearly stated in his way that there were good people on both sides. I don't know about the other side  but the nazi saluting, jew baiting,,white hood wearing nazi swastika flag waving monsters had no dissenters in their midst, because if they had there was a good possibility with the mood prevailing they would have ended up in the morgue with the dead girl.

I also have to apologise at my bluntness because I know you are really not a bad guy but to suggest that there is anyone in this world that you would prefer Trump to really has to make me question the thought process. I have to say he is becoming to me the worst  world leading politician I have ever witnessed. Like Hitler he emotes his wartime leadership, but unlike Hitler who was a decorated soldier as well as a tyrant Trump doesn't even have that stained as it may be mark of service.

On 27/05/2020 at 01:56, Justin Z said:

It really does if you're in the habit of the most superficial engaging of your brain about issues, I suppose.

But, if you think about it with any depth or empathy for more than about seven seconds, that melts away. Godspeed. We'll be awaiting your triumphant return. :thumbsup:

I do think about it with depth and empathy.

I am sure you know the arguments against white skin privilege .

It's not really a discussion with you to be honest .

That's not entirely your fault.

I am nippy.

But you close it down .

American politics atm is worth a good look for a change.

And not because of the farcical Trump and Biden but because of them.

Allowing the shit journalism to go unchecked despite your bias is a bad thing.

Despite what you and others say I think the Amwtican voter sees through the circus and will judge Trumps administration and not Trump are better in the Whitehouse 

35 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

Jake I will accept many criticisms but not this one.I don't know what transcript you are talking about but I am referring to Trump on tv after the incident, not days weeks or months after, but in less than twenty four hours with a young woman in the mortuary clearly stated in his way that there were good people on both sides. I don't know about the other side  but the nazi saluting, jew baiting,,white hood wearing nazi swastika flag waving monsters had no dissenters in their midst, because if they had there was a good possibility with the mood prevailing they would have ended up in the morgue with the dead girl.

I also have to apologise at my bluntness because I know you are really not a bad guy but to suggest that there is anyone in this world that you would prefer Trump to really has to make me question the thought process. I have to say he is becoming to me the worst  world leading politician I have ever witnessed. Like Hitler he emotes his wartime leadership, but unlike Hitler who was a decorated soldier as well as a tyrant Trump doesn't even have that stained as it may be mark of service.

I will send the link.

And Bob you can be blunt as a rubber anytime with me.

Yes this was 48 hours after.

Which he was criticised 

My concern us the relentless going after one line out of  the general message from Trump during this press briefing was condoning racists.

It wasnt.

And hes clumsy but from the start you can see the narrative of questioning.

Hes asked if racism has been worse under his presidency .

I will send the link Bob and discuss it later.

The fact is more black people are polling to vote Trump than any other Republican president.

This is down to grassroots black conservatives who make very good arguments about the democrats.

Also seen that california had a wee upset because of that.

Anyway will post the link and get tae bed .

Hud oan I'm havin difficulty 😄

On 27/05/2020 at 01:11, JFK-1 said:

While everyone being entitles to their views is a fine idea in general terms that can't be applied universally. How about the Nazis and Islamists? Their view is the Jews should be genocided. Are they entitled to that view.

Former KKK wizard and Trump fan boy David Duke indisputably has his views on blacks which also indisputably wont be much different if any from the views of the pre civil war Southerners who were enslaving them. Is he entitled to his views? Or should they be outlawed?

For me of all (perceived to keep it fair) posts that was snide it was this.

Straight in there and no doubt about its intention.

My opinion fwiw

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

I agree about it being wrong to differentiate people based on skin colour.  Similarly, I'm uncomfortable with discussions about races, white, black, yellow, etc.  70,000 years ago all our ancestors were living in a small area of West Africa, roughly where Kenya is now.  The DNA similarities between any two individuals on the planet is something like 99.9% . The cliche is true ... there's only one race, the human race.

The sad reality is, whether we like it or not or whether we believe it or not, Black people have a more difficult life than whites, at least in the West.  Their unemployment rates are higher, their levels of poverty are higher, their life-expectancy is lower.  The percentage of blacks in prison is disproportionately high ... a fact that I think is linked to what I posted in the previous sentence.  Many Blacks live lives of quiet desperation, and much of the reason is due to factors they can't control.

Jake, if you think that what I've posted is wrong, I can be easily called out with some simple Google searches.

PS.  It's good to laugh!!  :thumb:

There is no doubt that black Americans  have in the past suffered crimes dispensed at the hands of white people

Most sane people have empathy with the outrage .

Theres slavery still going on around the world.

To base any political thought or a way to view the world on skin colour(not religious outlooks,not culture,not political,not environmental(which by the way was most likely explanation of the flawed study carried out by the author) can only be wrong.

White skin privilege.

It's been heavily criticised.

And especially as a redress for the descendants of the perpetrators.

It's really concerning to see a theory based on such shit composition and adopted as a view accepted.

I'm sure anyone whose interested knows the arguments.

I think this sort of thing will cause Trump to have a meltdown. It might even tip his health over the edge if he consumes many cheese burgers to soak up his facist tears. 

I'm more offended by this weird 90s marketing style video he's put up as a pinned tweet 

wtf :lol: Americans lap this shite up aswell don't they. Put some dramatic MERICA music over the voice guy and you can convince them of anything. ****ing backwards shitehole. 

I'm glad Twitter appear to be refusing to be intimidated by his threats. What he's trying to do is cow them into allowing him to freely dispense any insane conspiracy shite he likes in the run up to the election.

_112550759_fbb61cd4-d21d-45f4-8cb0-8bf0c

Twitter has hidden one of President Donald Trump's tweets from his profile, saying it violates rules about glorifying violence.

But instead of being deleted, it has been replaced with a warning and can be viewed by clicking on it.

The warning says "Twitter has determined that it may be in the public's interest for the Tweet to remain accessible."

5 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

_112550759_fbb61cd4-d21d-45f4-8cb0-8bf0c

Twitter has hidden one of President Donald Trump's tweets from his profile, saying it violates rules about glorifying violence.

But instead of being deleted, it has been replaced with a warning and can be viewed by clicking on it.

The warning says "Twitter has determined that it may be in the public's interest for the Tweet to remain accessible."

it is disgraceful the one sentence in it about shooting people

7 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

I'm glad Twitter appear to be refusing to be intimidated by his threats. What he's trying to do is cow them into allowing him to freely dispense any insane conspiracy shite he likes in the run up to the election.

President or not this clown should be sectioned.

In fact being President is more the reason to have it done.

Trump encouraging violence and death on their media platform. Surely that should be an instant deletion of account? 

13 hours ago, jake said:

Bob.

Read the transcript.

That's the idealic .

You're not alone there.

3Man.gif

The US is heading in a very, very dangerous direction.

Would they have arrested a Fox "News" reporter?

Edited by Lovecraft

I am reading Bob Woodwards book Fury at the moment.  Its amazing, people removing letters left for him to sign, and he has forgotten he asked for them. They prepare discussion books for him and he doesn't read them. He watches hours of TV and doesn't start work until 11.00am. He is it seems seen as an idiot without a clue, if you argue with him you are fired, many have absolutely no use for him, but they cover, support, and enable him, why?, that is what I cannot understand what do they expect to gain, I can see the advantage of having a fop that can be manipulated to do what you want but this is not the case here, you have a bully without a clue that they allow to make decisions and then do what they can to stop them from being acted upon, so the whole leadership system is in chaos.

8 minutes ago, Tazio said:

His latest tweet is just the word CHINA in nice big capital letters. Who even ****ing knows anymore? 

What a nutter.

Now have a mental image of him jumping (or climbing laboriously) onto the desk in the white house and shaking his fists screaming CHINAAAA. 

22 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

I am reading Bob Woodwards book Fury at the moment.  Its amazing, people removing letters left for him to sign, and he has forgotten he asked for them. They prepare discussion books for him and he doesn't read them. He watches hours of TV and doesn't start work until 11.00am. He is it seems seen as an idiot without a clue, if you argue with him you are fired, many have absolutely no use for him, but they cover, support, and enable him, why?, that is what I cannot understand what do they expect to gain, I can see the advantage of having a fop that can be manipulated to do what you want but this is not the case here, you have a bully without a clue that they allow to make decisions and then do what they can to stop them from being acted upon, so the whole leadership system is in chaos.

I think you've answered your own question there. The turnover of staff is unprecedented, any resistance to Trump ends in dismissal.

He's a sociopath, narcissist and a sadist,

it's impossible judge him by normal standards.

Here's an article by his ghost writer on The Art Of The Deal.

Interesting but not optimistic.

https://gen.medium.com/amp/p/aa10ab2165d9

14 minutes ago, Tazio said:

His latest tweet is just the word CHINA in nice big capital letters. Who even ****ing knows anymore? 

In times of crisis voters tend to rally around the flag. It's almost like he's trying to manufacture a crisis 

🤔

19 minutes ago, fancy a brew said:

I think you've answered your own question there. The turnover of staff is unprecedented, any resistance to Trump ends in dismissal.

That is an interesting very descriptive article. Could you imagine if that amount of mental disturbance was identified in Court during the Trial of some individual  charged with crimes they would be locked away in an institution for life. Instead in the USA of today we have a man ho has been identified with all these problems who is also seeking and has ambition for a life term, but he has stated that openly  that he should/could be President for life just like Xi. Terrifying but possible with the support he ha been getting from his Republican Senate.

34 minutes ago, fancy a brew said:

Thanks for posting that. Interesting read. 

2 hours ago, Sharpie said:

That is an interesting very descriptive article. Could you imagine if that amount of mental disturbance was identified in Court during the Trial of some individual  charged with crimes they would be locked away in an institution for life. Instead in the USA of today we have a man ho has been identified with all these problems who is also seeking and has ambition for a life term, but he has stated that openly  that he should/could be President for life just like Xi. Terrifying but possible with the support he ha been getting from his Republican Senate.

As it says in the article, the only constraint on his behaviour is what he thinks he can get away with. So it is indeed worrying that he ran the president for life idea up the flagpole, no doubt to gauge the reaction and plant the seed of the idea.

I can't see him going quietly if he loses the election, which no doubt he'll do everything in his power to skew in his favour.

I just have no interest in going to America at all these days. I remember growing up and thinking it was this great place because of the way it was sold in the movies etc, but the reality is just so horrifying. Donald Trump has a huge following but it isn't as if he created them - these sorts of people have always existed. They just have someone in the White House who is as stupid and ignorant as them now.

Sadly America looks destined for some sort of civil war and those leading the way are the sort who haven't broadened their understanding of the world and humanity. They are living in virtual realities in a way - dismissing what is real and creating a bubble where they are always correct, their way of life is fine etc.

After this potential civil war, you'll have a few rich white ***** trying to eat their money because they have nothing else. No intelligence, no skills to fend for themselves.

With his recent out of control comments on China a civil war might be seen as easier than the increasing possibility of armed conflict with China, and then their ally North Korea. I am reaching a point of almost insanity with my inability to ses what the Pences, Lindsey Graham, et al see in this man that they follow so blindly.  Pence highly religious does he not as they used to say in my Edinburgh want to boak when they hear him talk about The Lord and prayer. One Republican Senator in the Impeachment voted for conviction its a mystery.

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Lovely Trump supporter here. 

There aren't enough :cornette_dog: and :facepalm: to go around for that feeble-minded woman.

King prawn

He’s a ****ing lunatic who needs to be removed from office. Wouldn’t want to ever be associated with someone who supports him now after the previous 4 years. 

3 minutes ago, Boof said:

There aren't enough :cornette_dog: and :facepalm: to go around for that feeble-minded woman.

Her, and millions like her, have been craving a messiah like the trumpet to give them reason to slither from under their rocks.

She should hope once they get tired of abusing blacks, Latinos and other assorted "inferiors", that they don't then turn their "attention" to moronic, loud mouthed fatties, 'cos she'll be right up there.

14 minutes ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Her, and millions like her, have been craving a messiah like the trumpet to give them reason to slither from under their rocks.

She should hope once they get tired of abusing blacks, Latinos and other assorted "inferiors", that they don't then turn their "attention" to moronic, loud mouthed fatties, 'cos she'll be right up there.

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (title updated)
  • Maple Leaf changed the title to U.S. Politics megathread (merged)