How Would You Vote in IndyRef2?

Highlander

SwindonJambo
30 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

That’s fair enough man your entitled to that opinion. I have no problem with anybody who will discuss it properly. 

The name calling (from both sides) and trolling is only cause deep divides it’s not what we need to be doing. 

One of the best posts of the thread. People forget that we are all Scots wanting the best for Scotland. We just disagree about what that is. I can easily see a nasty mud slinging campaign with neds on both sides making an arse of themselves. If Scotland does go its own way, it would be best if the vote was by a comfortable margin, say 60-40. With that margin of victory, the Union side would largely accept the result and get on board with the new arrangements, giving it its best chance of succeeding.

It’s not a Cup Final with the winning side enjoying the tears and snotters of the losing side. It’s an important business and it’s best done properly. A nasty campaign with a very narrow win (for whatever side) will only lead to nastiness and recriminations afterwards.

• Replies 2.6k

• ri Alban

• frankblack

• Boris

• JamboX2

Who_put_the_ball_in...
2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Well now they can fight for Scotland's Kings, Queens or Presidents. Depending who we chose. Not England's.

When do the schools go back?

8 minutes ago, Who_put_the_ball_in... said:

Anyhow if the separatist scum do win Indy ref 2 can we have a rerun in 5 years incase people have changed their minds? That’s how these things work is it not?

Yeah.

See if a party campaigned for it and it got the necessary majority who could argue. 

9 minutes ago, Who_put_the_ball_in... said:

Anyhow if the separatist scum do win Indy ref 2 can we have a rerun in 5 years incase people have changed their minds? That’s how these things work is it not?

Separatist scum.

At last decent political debate.

Sick of that wideo American and his ways.

18 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

One of the best posts of the thread. People forget that we are all Scots wanting the best for Scotland. We just disagree about what that is. I can easily see a nasty mud slinging campaign with neds on both sides making an arse of themselves. If Scotland does go its own way, it would be best if the vote was by a comfortable margin, say 60-40. With that margin of victory, the Union side would largely accept the result and get on board with the new arrangements, giving it its best chance of succeeding.

It’s not a Cup Final with the winning side enjoying the tears and snotters of the losing side. It’s an important business and it’s best done properly. A nasty campaign with a very narrow win (for whatever side) will only lead to nastiness and recriminations afterwards.

If Yes did win I’d like to see a healthy majority too. As we’ve seen with the 52-48 Brexit it’s left the U.K. badly divided. 

Adam Murray
1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

If Yes did win I’d like to see a healthy majority too. As we’ve seen with the 52-48 Brexit it’s left the U.K. badly divided. 

Unfortunately can't see it happening though, as that would need politicians from all sides getting their heads together an agreeing on some sort of formula where possibly a certain percentage of voters were needed to vote in the first place, with also a sizeable margin for any change to take place. As much as some won't like hearing this, why would the independence parties wish to change things when they finally believe they are getting their noses in front.

It is all just going to continue to become more bitter with the country becoming more and more divided.

53 minutes ago, Adam Murray said:

Unfortunately can't see it happening though, as that would need politicians from all sides getting their heads together an agreeing on some sort of formula where possibly a certain percentage of voters were needed to vote in the first place, with also a sizeable margin for any change to take place. As much as some won't like hearing this, why would the independence parties wish to change things when they finally believe they are getting their noses in front.

It is all just going to continue to become more bitter with the country becoming more and more divided.

Nope. We already had that pish in the late 70's when Scotland voted to go it alone only to be told that not enough folk voted.

Its only BECOMING bitter because the union supporters arses have collapsed and they are now resorting to type. Project fear MKII.

50% plus 1 is the rules.

Everybody knows this, its up to the electorate to get off their arses and down to the voting booth!

3 hours ago, Justin Z said:

If so, that would be correct.

You're better than to repeat this distortion one page after it got thoroughly debunked for about the 95th time.

dobmisterdobster
16 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Nope. We already had that pish in the late 70's when Scotland voted to go it alone only to be told that not enough folk voted.

Its only BECOMING bitter because the union supporters arses have collapsed and they are now resorting to type. Project fear MKII.

50% plus 1 is the rules.

Everybody knows this, its up to the electorate to get off their arses and down to the voting booth!

Yep. Most votes wins. It's not fair otherwise.

It's unlikely a decisive issue like Independence or Brexit would ever get 60:40 one way or the other.

Adam Murray
13 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

50% plus 1 is the rules.

That's exactly what i'm saying, the system is not going to change.

And as has been seen, more recently with the EU referendum, when it is such a small margin, some people just cannot bring themselves to accept it.

28 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

50% plus 1 is the rules.

Wrong. You need Westminster to approve an Indy Ref 2 before you have a chance of winning it. 

The Tories won't give you it, Labour are unelectable and the Lib Dems wouldn't allow it if they did a pact with Labour to get a minority government post GE.

The amount of delusion on this thread is staggering.  Be prepared for a world of disappointment. 👍

20 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Wrong. You need Westminster to approve an Indy Ref 2 before you have a chance of winning it. 

The Tories won't give you it, Labour are unelectable and the Lib Dems wouldn't allow it if they did a pact with Labour to get a minority government post GE.

The amount of delusion on this thread is staggering.  Be prepared for a world of disappointment. 👍

I dont think thats that last word on that Frank.

I have been in a (political) world of disappointment since I was born unfortunately.

But then theres absolutely NOTHING worse than brainwashed delusional Scots who love to be controlled, ignored and out-voted by another country to the detriment of their own!

It's THAT thats staggering!

Edited by Pans Jambo

48 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Oof, giving you the benefit of the doubt is a mistake I won't make again.

Imagine the seethe meltdown if the UK had to ask the EU's permission to to hold the Brexit vote in the first place.

The UK refusing to give the people of Scotland a vote that their elected representatives ask for would trigger a huge constitutional crisis, the vote would be run anyways with a huge surge for Yes then probably a UDI on the back of that if the UK refuses to acknowledge the validity.

Not even Boris is that fecking stupid.

2 minutes ago, Cade said:

Imagine the seethe meltdown if the UK had to ask the EU's permission to to hold the Brexit vote in the first place.

The UK refusing to give the people of Scotland a vote that their elected representatives ask for would trigger a huge constitutional crisis, the vote would be run anyways with a huge surge for Yes then probably a UDI on the back of that if the UK refuses to acknowledge the validity.

I’ve often wondered why Scotland seems a prisoner in this “union”. 

When we were first offered the Parliament again the papers were all scare stories (familiar eh) we voted for it though then when they had to give us it they set up the Scottish Parliament pretty much like a complete stitch up and intended to never let any party, particularly the SNP get a majority. We were never supposed to even get one indyref never mind on the brink of another. 

Labour and Lib Dems attempted to keep us in check and hold power over us forever. 

What is it they just can’t bare happening? Us governing ourselves? 

dobmisterdobster
23 minutes ago, Cade said:

Imagine Scotland voted Yes in 2014 and politicians then obstructed Scotland's exit from the UK. Demanding a second indyref and saying people got it wrong.

Kinda like what the SNP is doing right now.

9 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Imagine Scotland voted Yes in 2014 and politicians then obstructed Scotland's exit from the UK. Demanding a second indyref and saying people got it wrong.

It seems the SNP only respect democratic decisions if they go their way.  Respect of lack of goes two ways.

You cannot possibly conflate the two referenda situations unless you have a serious agenda to follow.

One of the key arguments for the Union cause was "The only way to make sure Scotland remains in the EU is to vote No"

That entire argument has been torn up, meaning a fundamental change of circumstances has happened.

Especially when it is an aspect of the situation which involves constitutional changes on a vast scale.

And even more so when Scotland voted far more heavily to Remain in the EU than it did to Remain in the UK.

You cannot simply say "we had the vote and that's that no matter what has happened since".

That's bollocks.

1 hour ago, dobmisterdobster said:

50 minutes ago, frankblack said:

It seems the SNP only respect democratic decisions if they go their way.  Respect of lack of goes two ways.

So why is there a pro Indy majority at Holyrood?

They (Holyrood) have the political mandate to ask (!) for another Indy ref. 

The people voted for that, amongst other things.

Given the omnishambles over brexit, Westminster has even given Holyrood the excuse!

Similarly, Brexit needs resolved, sensibly. A general election or another referendum seems, to me at least, reasonable options. Otherwise we are being railroaded into a decision that is a million miles away from what was even being debated back in 2016.

imo, of course.

SwindonJambo
1 hour ago, Boris said:

Given the omnishambles over brexit, Westminster has even given Holyrood the excuse!

Similarly, Brexit needs resolved, sensibly. A general election or another referendum seems, to me at least, reasonable options. Otherwise we are being railroaded into a decision that is a million miles away from what was even being debated back in 2016.

imo, of course.

I think we’re going to get another GE before the year’s out anyway. Rumours that a number of remainer Tories are strongly considering defecting to the Lib Dems, very vocally so in the case of Bracknell MP Phillip Lee. That would wipe out the Government’s working majority of 1!  A GE, a hung parliament with the Tories the biggest party and yet another Brexit postponement.

1 hour ago, Boris said:

The SNP used Green votes to put themselves into a majority.  The loony Greens were list MSPs who got into Holyrood as a consolation prize to balance votes.

Their mandate to demand another Indy ref is spurious based on the loonies pushing them over the line, and the country hardly needs this at a time that Brexi hasn't been resolved (a fact that the SNP are hardly blameless in as they have voted against everything put to parliament when the people gave the government a mandate for it).

The Brexit omnishambles is as much the fault of parties like Labour and the SNP holding it up.  Theresa May tried to derail it from the start too, which didn't help.

imo, of course.

We will see what happens with Boris trying to force the EU's hand to see who will blink first as a no deal approaches.  My gut feeling is the Germans will throw the Irish under a bus as no deal approaches to protect their own interests.

Alternatively the Tories could self-implode as SwindonJambo says so we will wait and see.

Edited by frankblack

dobmisterdobster
14 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

I think we’re going to get another GE before the year’s out anyway. Rumours that a number of remainer Tories are strongly considering defecting to the Lib Dems, very vocally so in the case of Bracknell MP Phillip Lee. That would wipe out the Government’s working majority of 1!  A GE, a hung parliament with the Tories the biggest party and yet another Brexit postponement.

The prime minister gets to choose any election date. November at the earliest. An snap election requires a two thirds majority. If Boris loses a confidence vote he is till PM for at least three weeks or MPs can find a credible replacement.

8 hours ago, frankblack said:

The SNP used Green votes to put themselves into a majority.  The loony Greens were list MSPs who got into Holyrood as a consolation prize to balance votes.

Their mandate to demand another Indy ref is spurious based on the loonies pushing them over the line, and the country hardly needs this at a time that Brexi hasn't been resolved (a fact that the SNP are hardly blameless in as they have voted against everything put to parliament when the people gave the government a mandate for it).

The Brexit omnishambles is as much the fault of parties like Labour and the SNP holding it up.  Theresa May tried to derail it from the start too, which didn't help.

We will see what happens with Boris trying to force the EU's hand to see who will blink first as a no deal approaches.  My gut feeling is the Germans will throw the Irish under a bus as no deal approaches to protect their own interests.

Alternatively the Tories could self-implode as SwindonJambo says so we will wait and see.

24 of the Tories 31 Msps are consolation prize winners. Labour have 21 from 24, lib Dems 1 from 5 and the SNP had 4 from 63, down to 62 with 1 independent.

Constituency seats won

SNP 59

Onionists 14

The Tories at wm at the 2015 election had 37% of the vote, seats the SNP at the 2016 Holyrood election had 47% of the vote.  You better tell the UK the EU vote and Tory Government don't have a mandate for Brexit. And still don't since they are propped up by the DUP. Loonies, eh?!?

As for a mandate from the people. :rofl:. Since when do the WM Government ever listen to anyone. Aye, but brexit is the will of the people. 

11 hours ago, frankblack said:

Tell me how you voted yes, again! An act of fiction, I deduct.

20 hours ago, Who_put_the_ball_in... said:

When do the schools go back?

How, do you work for the BBC?

The Gnats appoint someone to troll their cause at every opportunity on every message board - wonder who ours is ?

37 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

The Gnats appoint someone to troll their cause at every opportunity on every message board - wonder who ours is ?

Aye there’s just no pro union trolls anywhere eh :cornette:

Should try enter the debate yourself instead of trying to wind people up. It’s not going away. 

40 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

:rofl: crikey. 

47 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

You!

1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

Mate, its like being trolled by the Chuckle Brothers!

There are a couple on here who if you notice seem to be ignored by everyone including guys on their side.

15 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Utter horse manure.

The SNP DID respect the result. Nobody asked for a recount or said the 2014 result was wrong. Salmond fell on his sword.

If you recall it was Cameron on the steps of Number 10 the VERY NEXT MORNING that introduced EVEL. Then "the Vow" did not materialise, then we had the Brexit fiasco where Scotland voted to remain, were completely ignored by Westminster and wee fluffy got all foamy at the mouth just dreaming about what powers coming back from Brussels Westminster could keep hold of.

As for this "once in a lifetime" pish the unionists keep flogging, it was Salmond who said it (& hes not here anymore) and it was not written into any law. Just a throwaway comment in the heat of battle and in anycase, nobody seems to mention the "material change" thats happened since the last one (taken out of Europe against our will...yeah, thats a doozy!).

Keep yer knickers dry, another indyref is on the way despite the bluster coming from Westminster

12 hours ago, frankblack said:

Wow. Just wow!

Again, wow!

I reckon the EU will stand firm. If they do throw the Irish under the bus, what does that say to the other member states?

Yougov poll today puts the Tories out in front on 31%, Labour 22%, Libs 21%, Brexit 14%, Greens 7%, others 5%

But how that would play out in a GE is anyone's guess.

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

24 of the Tories 31 Msps are consolation prize winners. Labour have 21 from 24, lib Dems 1 from 5 and the SNP had 4 from 63, down to 62 with 1 independent.

Constituency seats won

SNP 59

Onionists 14

The Tories at wm at the 2015 election had 37% of the vote, seats the SNP at the 2016 Holyrood election had 47% of the vote.  You better tell the UK the EU vote and Tory Government don't have a mandate for Brexit. And still don't since they are propped up by the DUP. Loonies, eh?!?

As for a mandate from the people. :rofl:. Since when do the WM Government ever listen to anyone. Aye, but brexit is the will of the people. 

I do find a lot of your posts far too strident but this one is a great smack down to the unionist garbage 

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Oh my god, please tell me you are a kid. You unionists are getting more and more deranged as independence gets closer

52 minutes ago, XB52 said:

I do find a lot of your posts far too strident but this one is a great smack down to the unionist garbage 

I agree 100%. ri, if you want to have an impact, keep these up. Being "accidentally right" isn't a good look--posts like these are.

dobmisterdobster
3 hours ago, Boris said:

Yougov poll today puts the Tories out in front on 31%, Labour 22%, Libs 21%, Brexit 14%, Greens 7%, others 5%

But how that would play out in a GE is anyone's guess.

If I had to guess I would say double digit majority for the Tories who would lose some seats but gain others, Labour would lose seats, Lib Dems would make big gains and overtake the SNP, Brexit Party would probably have zero MPs.

Roxy Hearts
1 hour ago, dobmisterdobster said:

If I had to guess I would say double digit majority for the Tories who would lose some seats but gain others, Labour would lose seats, Lib Dems would make big gains and overtake the SNP, Brexit Party would probably have zero MPs.

Liar Dems wouldn't overtake the SNP in Scotland. Some Scots have intelligence. 

dobmisterdobster
6 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Liar Dems wouldn't overtake the SNP in Scotland. Some Scots have intelligence. 

SNP will still be the largest party in Scotland. I meant the Lib Dems will be the third largest party in the commons.

11 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

SNP will still be the largest party in Scotland. I meant the Lib Dems will be the third largest party in the commons.

SNP are on course to take 55 seats. Will the lib Dems take that many?

Roxy Hearts
4 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Liar Dems are a bunch of hopeless no marks. What the hell goes on in people's minds, voting for those hypocritical charlatans. 

dobmisterdobster
2 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Liar Dems are a bunch of hopeless no marks. What the hell goes on in people's minds, voting for those hypocritical charlatans. 

I don't know. I won't be voting for them. I'm just guessing based off the yougov poll.

LibDems have returned to their natural position of being the main party of protest in England&Wales.

Don't like Tories? Don't like Labour?

LibDems for you.

Shame the Greens don't get more votes tbh, they've dropped their more ludicrous policies over the years are are now offering a viable alternative protest vote to the LibDems.

SNP will continue to get about 40% of the Scottish vote with the other 60% spread around between Labour, Greens, LibDems and Tory.

1 hour ago, Cade said:

LibDems have returned to their natural position of being the main party of protest in England&Wales.

Don't like Tories? Don't like Labour?

LibDems for you.

Shame the Greens don't get more votes tbh, they've dropped their more ludicrous policies over the years are are now offering a viable alternative protest vote to the LibDems.

SNP will continue to get about 40% of the Scottish vote with the other 60% spread around between Labour, Greens, LibDems and Tory.

That's how I view it... 

45% want what's best for Scotland, independence.

20% are rabid Yoon British isolationists  rangers fans who enjoy a flute band.

35% Scared who don't like change. But thanks to Brexit, a large percentage now want independence.  

Think that's about right... 

Edited by jumpship

9 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

It’s not really that complicated. People will vote for them as they like their policies, pretty much the same as any party, and more so with their stance on the EU. They are the clear remain party in UK politics, which in the current climate will make them popular with people; particularly south of the border.

Though none so blind that those that won’t see, I guess😉

True, but I think they liked their policies post coalition, too.

3 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

This is a simplistic and fictional reflection on what is happening.

The most concerning thing for me, is how come there isn't a coherent vision? 

The nos at all cost and the doom mongers were helped by the rUK and EU residents in 2014. People talk about the silent majority, bollox, The majority of Scots voted for Independence, and next time with the EU vote gone,(if so, so should the rUK) or going to the yes vote and with no propaganda to cause any doom. The loyalists (Not Unionists) will be steamrollered.

7 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

This is a simplistic and fictional reflection on what is happening.

The most concerning thing for me, is how come there isn't a coherent vision? 

In my opinion anyone who is unionist wants some version of a plan so they can try tear it down and mock it, no other reason. I think it’s difficult to give anything of the sort when as we seen last time the British government refused to talk about pretty much anything other than you won’t have BOE as lender of last resort. In circumstances like that what sort of plan can you make? 

Like anything we’ll have to give and take but ultimately(like Brexit)some sort of deal makes sense for everyone.

Pragmatism comes into play. 

So like 2014 its Tories bad - lets have an indy ref - oor oil is worth a fortune (maybe)- curency will be erm - we will sort something out - taxes will remain higher than UK - austerity will get worse for a while - jobs fecked - get back under the heel of Europe - hard borders - but its FREEEEEEEEEEDOM - gees a big feather !

Just now, manaliveits105 said:

So like 2014 its Tories bad - lets have an indy ref - oor oil is worth a fortune (maybe)- curency will be erm - we will sort something out - taxes will remain higher than UK - austerity will get worse for a while - jobs fecked - get back under the heel of Europe - hard borders - but its FREEEEEEEEEEDOM - gees a big feather !

Under the heel of Europe?

Jeez....

3 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Give me 1 thing that would mean tories are not bad. 

Then give me an example of how Europe has the UK currently “under its heel”?  

What law are you looking forward to NOT obeying when the EU boot is removed from our neck? Name me just 1.