Edinburgh History

12 minutes ago, Worthing Jambo said:

I was just about to say they had animals up on the top floor. I remember some sort of wee monkeys?

Santa’s grotto at Goldberg’s was the place to go at Xmas.

Funnily enough, I got lost in Goldberg’s once too!😂

I remember going to an exhibition in the place next to Waverley station. What was it called? The shopping centre is there now.

Waverley Market

• Replies 19k

• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

13 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

City and Royal Burgh of Edinburgh

What constituted the Royal Burgh ?

1147614905_Mobilelibraries_Austin3tonvanrepainted.png.20678699d1b7a7cc46b11b1ad53530bc.png

Basically what is The City of Edinburgh council area now, with some exceptions like Currie, Balerno, S Queensferry and Kirkliston.  To the south, Straiton used to be in the Burgh of Edinburgh.

burgh.jpg

5 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

Basically what is The City of Edinburgh council area now, with some exceptions like Currie, Balerno, S Queensferry and Kirkliston.  To the south, Straiton used to be in the Burgh of Edinburgh.

burgh.jpg

Interesting Map

23 wards - The St Bernard's ward is strange how it goes round the Corstorphine and Cramond ward up by the river

Notice the Burgh of Musselburgh as well

Worthing Jambo
57 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

Waverley Market

Thanks Bob.

What sort of events did they hold?

I’m sure I was dragged along as a bairn to an ideal home exhibition.

5 minutes ago, Worthing Jambo said:

Thanks Bob.

What sort of events did they hold?

I’m sure I was dragged along as a bairn to an ideal home exhibition.

They used to have what we called the shows, rides etc. New car shows, actually anything where space was needed, conferences, sports events you name it they done it. The Ideal Home Exhibition a good example.

32 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

image (30).jpg

Portobello High St, opposite the junction with Adelphi Place. It's flats now.

2 hours ago, Worthing Jambo said:

I was just about to say they had animals up on the top floor. I remember some sort of wee monkeys?

Santa’s grotto at Goldberg’s was the place to go at Xmas.

Funnily enough, I got lost in Goldberg’s once too!😂

I remember going to an exhibition in the place next to Waverley station. What was it called? The shopping centre is there now.

When I asked Mrs F if I was dreaming about a zoo she mentioned birds and thought there were monkeys too.

2 hours ago, Sharpie said:

I look at that picture and find it hard to believe that the area of the Park, the Crags, Arthurs Seat were regular playgrounds and that we had absolutely no concept of risk or danger. We played rounders just down from the Echo Rock, further down the road under Jimmy Clarks school was a dip between the bottom of the slope coming from the Radical Road and the Park Road it was called the Basin. We played football there.  An older lad Billy Hughes used to play  and he was bigger than all of us and just bowled us over, somehow one day I was just in perfect position and tackled him on one of his rushes and he rolled for a long way. I was the hero for the moment for about a moment. We used to sledge from the Echo Rock on the road all the way down to near the Palace. Hunters bog had a shooting range that the Territorials used during the war. When no one was around we used to go and get the used rounds, lead bullets, would you believe we used to chew on the lead, no swallowing but some saliva I am sure went down. Further down was an area of small hills, we called it the Valleys, hours of cowboys and indians there especially if w had seen a recent western. Just one wee picture on a football forum but thats the value of JKB and the people on it.  I have just for a short time shed seventy eight years of my life,  had relief for a few minutes from my aches pains and sorrows because somebody posted a picture of three lassies siting on a rock. What a gift.

It truly is a gift Bob. If you are on Facebook then the Lost Edinburgh group may be of interest to you. Some cracking photos and many an old tale told. 

4 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

spaceout.gifspaceout.gifspaceout.gif

ST ANDREW SQUARE BUS STATION

Is that the old bus station before the St James Centre was built? Spent many an hour waiting for buses home there

1 hour ago, Sharpie said:

They used to have what we called the shows, rides etc. New car shows, actually anything where space was needed, conferences, sports events you name it they done it. The Ideal Home Exhibition a good example.

Those were the days. 

Usually went to the shows on January 2nd.

Worthing Jambo
1 hour ago, Sharpie said:

I forgot about the shows!

My god, that was in the deepest recesses of my memories.

The waltzer sticks out for a reason.

Worthing Jambo
1 hour ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

Is that the old bus station before the St James Centre was built? Spent many an hour waiting for buses home there

The number 52 and Honest John the conductor.

Or the 51 if you wanted to have a look at THAT sign. 😁

1 hour ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

St Leonard’s Brewery ? Bob?

image.jpeg.8a9ba27a528bbb4aef8e77b5c992246b.jpegI

I remember the brewery but cannot remember the name, for example I remember Ushers, Deuchars, Maclachlans, Dryburghs and a few others that I heard would on occasion offer a polis a pint, don't recall that one being mentioned. I never partook because it was against regulations to drink on duty and I had been raised to be a good boy and always tell the truth.  Jeez for some reason a bolt of like lightning just whipped passed my chair.

Worthing Jambo
3 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

I remember the brewery but cannot remember the name, for example I remember Ushers, Deuchars, Maclachlans, Dryburghs and a few others that I heard would on occasion offer a polis a pint, don't recall that one being mentioned. I never partook because it was against regulations to drink on duty and I had been raised to be a good boy and always tell the truth.  Jeez for some reason a bolt of like lightning just whipped passed my chair.

8 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

Aye Bob we believe you

This might help

19-21 St Leonards St

St Leonard's Brewery, Nos 19-21 St Leonard's Street, Edinburgh This brewery was built in 1889-90 for G Mackay & Co Ltd, to designs by P L Henderson, an architect who specialised in designing breweries and public houses. As it had frontages to two important streets the façades were unusually elaborate. This shows the St Leonard's Street frontage of the brewery, which was the maltings, as can be seen by the tall kiln ventilator. The rest of the complex was ranged along the street to the right, East Crosscauseway. This was a victim of declining demand for beer as manual labour was ousted by mechanisation in industry. It escaped the wave of amalgamations that swept brewing in Britain from 1959, but did not survive the ensuing competition. The buildings were disused in 1969 and were demolished in the mid-1970s. 

image.png.68ed1f26e094ea4c87b334baca3c3416.png

Edited by The Frenchman Returns

4 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Aye Bob we believe you

This might help

19-21 St Leonards St

St Leonard's Brewery, Nos 19-21 St Leonard's Street, Edinburgh This brewery was built in 1889-90 for G Mackay & Co Ltd, to designs by P L Henderson, an architect who specialised in designing breweries and public houses. As it had frontages to two important streets the façades were unusually elaborate. This shows the St Leonard's Street frontage of the brewery, which was the maltings, as can be seen by the tall kiln ventilator. The rest of the complex was ranged along the street to the right, East Crosscauseway. This was a victim of declining demand for beer as manual labour was ousted by mechanisation in industry. It escaped the wave of amalgamations that swept brewing in Britain from 1959, but did not survive the ensuing competition. The buildings were disused in 1969 and were demolished in the mid-1970s. 

image.png.68ed1f26e094ea4c87b334baca3c3416.png

`

Yes that is a much clearer picture, its funny though I know it well by sight, and patrolled past it often day and night but I don't recall entering it for anything official or unofficial.

2 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Those were the days. 

Usually went to the shows on January 2nd.

I still remember a mate and I standing in front of that "laughing policeman" and absolutely peeing ourselves laughing for a ridiculous length of time.

Small minds, annat.

3 hours ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

This one threw me for a bit

Edinburgh West End Aerial

Rosemount Buidings, square block in the foreground, Rosebank Cottages and Gardners Crescent above.

Demolished West End railway station centre top, Usher Hall top right.

37 minutes ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

I still remember a mate and I standing in front of that "laughing policeman" and absolutely peeing ourselves laughing for a ridiculous length of time.

Small minds, annat.